RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)

Re: RDFL 2010 Season - Round 8

Match of the Round
The Feline Cup
Lancefield FNC (3rd, 6-1) Vs Macedon FC (5th, 4-3)
Lancefield Park - Lancefield
The battle of the Felines will be the match of the round this week with both sides having so much at stake. The Tigers have been on a roll since their big round one loss to the Bombers, 6 wins straight and full of confidence for this weeks big one. Like Sunbury, a win here will almost sew up a top 4 spot and put paid to another top 4 contender. The Tigers are starting to put things together. Ben Talbot shouldn't be far away from returning, while the experienced players are in great form. Travis Smith, Chris Collins and Tommy Waters have dominated recent weeks and will want to continue that form against the Cats, who have been disappointing in recent weeks. The opportunity at really pushing the top 4 presented itself to the Cats last week at home and they were blown away by the Blues. The Cats have talent to burn, there is no doubt about that, but again, the question has been asked, can they stand up to the physical battering that opposition sides hand out, so far, it is questionable. There is no doubt that they miss Andrew McArthur and will be ultra keen to see him return as he adds the contested ball factor, at the moment, it is being left to James Wright and Darren Goodwin to carry the contested ball workload for the Cats, that is just not enough. This week they find themselves up against one of the best contested ball teams in the competition. It is time to stand up and be counted for the Cats, otherwise, the Tigers might just put a dent in the armour big enough to still witness come finals time.
Game Key: Contested football. Ok, so I already mentioned it, but it is just so important this week for the Cats. Lancefield are an excellent contested ball winning side around the stoppages, if the Cats let them do as they please they will find themselves chasing Tiger tail all afternoon.
Lancefield by 22 points.[/quote]

Twas in fact James who broke his arm.

Re: RDFL 2010 Season - Round 8

Twas in fact James who broke his arm.

Just goes to show you can't trust anyone who coached Diggers and Melton Centrals and wore number 7 :eek:

I reckon he may have big Jamesy on his mind, Kilmore are a real chance this week IMS, this game could be the bombers biggest test this year so far, then again maybe not.:confused:

Agree mate.. They faced an underdone Lancefield in Round 1 and have gone on their merry way since.. This is definitely the biggest test they have had to face so far this year, the Blues are well and truly up and about and will be a dangerous proposition.. Can't wait to get up there and see this game... :thumbsu:

Ps.. I know young Climmo had to line up against someone big Jamesy's size when he was playing in the VFL, might be a flashback this week, I think they guy kicked 8 or so... :p

Agree mate.. They faced an underdone Lancefield in Round 1 and have gone on their merry way since.. This is definitely the biggest test they have had to face so far this year, the Blues are well and truly up and about and will be a dangerous proposition.. Can't wait to get up there and see this game... :thumbsu:

Ps.. I know young Climmo had to line up against someone big Jamesy's size when he was playing in the VFL, might be a flashback this week, I think they guy kicked 8 or so... :p

I was at OMNI's place on Wednesday evening and I think he has computer issues at home. I think Riddell will win, but everyone is right, this will be their biggest test of the season thus far.

will definitely show where the blues boys are at! good luck to them and hopefully it is a cracker of a game!!

That is probably my fault too, from what I have heard in recent times I am the cause of all trouble on the internet.... :p

He told me about all that. But then I showed him my new shoes and it cheered him up. I'm sending him down a pair ASAP.

smash700.jpg

Where's OMNI?? Been a bit quiet this week pal??

Sorry champ, have had to deal with an unsettling amount of cyba stalking on here of late, from a contingent of small minded purile individuals which unfortunately has taken my focus away from the more positive aspects that are "Bigfooty" !
Rest assured though the matter is well in hand. :thumbsu: & should be resolved very very shortly ! :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Sorry champ, have had to deal with an unsettling amount of cyba stalking on here of late, from a contingent of small minded purile individuals which unfortunately has taken my focus away from the more positive aspects that are "Bigfooty" !
Rest assured though the matter is well in hand. :thumbsu: & should be resolved very very shortly ! :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

any truth to the rumour omni that you will be coming out of retirement to play full back tomorrow?:D

I reckon he may have big Jamesy on his mind, Kilmore are a real chance this week IMS, this game could be the bombers biggest test this year so far, then again maybe not.:confused:

Your spot on there Sprechy old son. This match IS a real test for the Bombers this week. Having said that, Riddell have shown so far this season that they have a real capacity to "lift" when a challenge presents itself.
There have been some big games for the Bombers thus far - First up v the reigning Premiers Lancefield. Then coming up against the undefeated & unknown Wallan outfit. Then playing Rockbank & Romsey after losing to them both last season in their previous encounters. All huge challenges, where the Riddell team has stamped their authority on the contest. I am looking forward to tomorrow as being of no less importance in the context of the 2010 season.
I will say this though, I am a real Full Forward fan, so I wont mind seeing one of the best in full flight tomorrow if that is what transpires. If big A.J. kicks 10 & Riddell win I will have had a great day at my beloved local R.D.F.L. footy. :thumbsu:

Your spot on there Sprechy old son. This match IS a real test for the Bombers this week. Having said that, Riddell have shown so far this season that they have a real capacity to "lift" when a challenge presents itself.
There have been some big games for the Bombers thus far - First up v the reigning Premiers Lancefield. Then coming up against the undefeated & unknown Wallan outfit. Then playing Rockbank & Romsey after losing to them both last season in their previous encounters. All huge challenges, where the Riddell team has stamped their authority on the contest. I am looking forward to tomorrow as being of no less importance in the context of the 2010 season.
I will say this though, I am a real Full Forward fan, so I wont mind seeing one of the best in full flight tomorrow if that is what transpires. If big A.J. kicks 10 & Riddell win I will have had a great day at my beloved local R.D.F.L. footy. :thumbsu:

please omni spare us all the melodromatics. when riddell disposed of douta stars preseason i doubt that they would consider games against rockbank and wallan as HUGE CHALLENGES. why dont you just say what you really think, rather than playing your team down just incase the coach gets upset:eek:
The underdog tag just doesnt cut it pal

please omni spare us all the melodromatics. when riddell disposed of douta stars preseason i doubt that they would consider games against rockbank and wallan as HUGE CHALLENGES. why dont you just say what you really think, rather than playing your team down just incase the coach gets upset:eek:
The underdog tag just doesnt cut it pal

They were !!! Wallan WAS undefeated ! Riddell didnt know how good they were ??? Rockbank by all accouts HAD improved... & the Rams HAD beaten them in their last encounter pal ???
You know what the problem really is champ ??? Some :rolleyes: people on here keep pumping the Riddell side up to be like some unbeatable juggernaut that no team in the RDFL can match it against.
But that just isnt the case ! As games against Macedon & Diggers prove. The Bombers are just a good unit that goes about their business in a very workmanlike fashion, meeting each challenge on a weekly basis as it presents itself.

They were !!! Wallan WAS undefeated ! Riddell didnt know how good they were ??? Rockbank by all accouts HAD improved... & the Rams HAD beaten them in their last encounter pal ???
You know what the problem really is champ ??? Some :rolleyes: people on here keep pumping the Riddell side up to be like some unbeatable juggernaut that no team in the RDFL can match it against.
But that just isnt the case ! As games against Macedon & Diggers prove. The Bombers are just a good unit that goes about their business in a very workmanlike fashion, meeting each challenge on a weekly basis as it presents itself.

Did u notice the mighty kangas finally got caccamo and geary cleared????
Theres no need to play things down omni, just get excited pal:thumbsu:

Jason Allen is an out an out star of the competition. Has been for years. The reason why he doesn't try and outmuscle opponents every week? Because his body isn't built for that! Instead he uses his footy nous to read the play, along with his athleticism, to nullify opponents.

Poor attempt at trolling.

did i say he cudnt play ? nah
said if he plays body on body he gets smashed simple

caccamo.......very good player. never lived up to his potential though

kwame im sure everyone knows or knows of someone that could of or should of played A.F.L
Dave is more than likely one of them, But as a coach im just happy to have him playing for the kangas. :thumbsu:

So much for Riddell being an unstoppable juggernaut. The Bombers were rolled by Kilmore today. Seven points the final margin. Not sure how many AJ kicked.