RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)

Overpaid? How would you know what players are getting paid buddy? Why would you have to open your mouth to say someone is overpaid anyway? If ya dont mouth off ya dont got any chance of having ya bugle tuned!

Not sure he was calling you overpaid mate.. Was suggesting that is what people are yelling at you from over the fence and that you shouldn't let that rubbish get to you...

As more than one umpire made the report ,he had to front the tribunal. I'm not sure how four umpires making the same report turns into four charges but I'm told this is the way it works.

What happened to the umpire who abused Moorcroft or is that ok. The RFC need to make a stand against the injustice that the Tribunal are handing out. Players are getting belted and certain umpires turn a blind eye. What a joke The RDFL have become

No official complaint was made against the umpire and I am told that Moorcroft did not take any whiteness to the tribunal so my guess is that it was never said.

The real issue here is the inconsistencies with the tribunal. IMO this should have simply been a fine or suspended sentence. Maybe 1 week at most.

No official complaint was made against the umpire and I am told that Moorcroft did not take any whiteness to the tribunal so my guess is that it was never said.

The real issue here is the inconsistencies with the tribunal. IMO this should have simply been a fine or suspended sentence. Maybe 1 week at most.
I don't think the tribunal is the place to make an official complaint against umpires.

This is where your arguments repeatedly fall down OEB... Stop, take a breath and don't write on pure emotion... The Umpires have nothing to do with the RDFL, the RDFL has nothing to do with the tribunal, the tribunal has nothing to do with the umpires.. All 3 are seperate entities that run as individual units...

Continue to hear this "players getting belted and umpires turn a blind eye" stuff.. The reality is, that yep, Gary gets clipped, but do you know what, Gerard Liddell gets clipped, Chris Collins gets clipped, Cam Dawson gets clipped, Moorcroft and the rest of the players in the RDFL are subject to this happening at times, they also have no qualms with giving the same treatment back... The implication that Gary or anyone else should be a protected species because of what their reputation or past may be is laughable, all players should be treated on a level playing field, and you know what, I truly think the umpires try to acheive this.. To say they single out individuals is truly a cop out...

This is where your arguments repeatedly fall down OEB... Stop, take a breath and don't write on pure emotion... The Umpires have nothing to do with the RDFL, the RDFL has nothing to do with the tribunal, the tribunal has nothing to do with the umpires.. All 3 are seperate entities that run as individual units...

Continue to hear this "players getting belted and umpires turn a blind eye" stuff.. The reality is, that yep, Gary gets clipped, but do you know what, Gerard Liddell gets clipped, Chris Collins gets clipped, Cam Dawson gets clipped, Moorcroft and the rest of the players in the RDFL are subject to this happening at times, they also have no qualms with giving the same treatment back... The implication that Gary or anyone else should be a protected species because of what their reputation or past may be is laughable, all players should be treated on a level playing field, and you know what, I truly think the umpires try to acheive this.. To say they single out individuals is truly a cop out...

Well said!!

The RDFL are a little star struck with ex-AFL players. Some people need to get out of the area and see some EFL or NFL where some teams have 3 or 4 ex AFL players in a side. It's great to have Gary and AJ, however the focus on them is over the top. They are just every day players like anyone else and I am sure umpires treat them like that.

common sense is a wonderful thing :thumbsu:

Im not saying that Gary should be protected. Most players can only cop so much, eg free kicks not being paid when obviously seen before they loose it and the frustration comes out. I just dont believe that swearing at an umpire deserves 2 weeks or any weeks, maybe just a fine.Was it only a clip that Liddell recieved at Kilmore?

& The problem with you pal is - You've been on here for 5 minutes & already your carrying on (rudely) like Moses, Leigh Mattthews & Albert Einstein all rolled into one ! :mad:

Well to be as pedantic as you appear to be - NO you didn't !
However what you did do was - Attempt to discredit a valued contributors opinion on here by questioning the veracity of his sources. You then blundered on in your rant by assuming you knew them all, who they were, what they were like & what they lacked in football achievements. Did you take some of your own advice here & speak to Matt personally for these “FACTS” of YOURS ???
I’d guess not !
God I love a good hypocrite – Don’t do as I do… Do as I say !... or - It IS, cause I say it is !
Here’s a bit of advice “Newbie” – Have some manners, show some respect, agree to disagree by all means. (politely) Then & only then will YOUR credibility carry the sort of weight you seem to envy and so desperately aspire too.

Or you can leave !

Einstein!! A physicist, not to sure what that has got to do with understanding English, especially considering he originated from a non- English speaking country. I do accept the broader compliment though.

I’m not sure but are you criticising me for being pedantic – I didn’t realise there something wrong with that?

I have known Pickles for many years and I would even go as to say I know him better than you – so yes, I do know where he gets some of his info. Did I speak to Matt personally? Didn’t need to, I based it on what he wrote, which I take as being his opinion, and what he has told me before about who he talks to and gets ‘updates’ on the RDFL (and we all know how much he loves to talk).

Because I have only been on here ‘for 5 mins’ doesn’t mean I don’t know anything about the RDFL or am less entitled to write about it. Just to check, I had another read of the rules and I can’t see anywhere I have said or done anything wrong. Stand to be corrected.

‘Then & only then will YOUR credibility carry the sort of weight you seem to envy and so desperately aspire too.’ How in the hell did you work that out? I didn’t know you were a psychologist as well.

The Tribunal is not there to "Back Up" or "Support" the Umpires pal !
(Or the clubs or players for that matter)
The Tribunal is an independent body, there to access all the available evidence put forward & come up with an informed, unbiased outcome, which is both fair & appropriate within the rules of the competition.
End of story !
Not an Umpire are you ???

Did I actually say the Tribunal ‘had’ to back the umpires? I don’t think I did. What I said was the tribunal didn’t back the umpires, meaning they believed the footballer’s statements versus the umpires, effectively the tribunal backed the players (side of events). The same thing happened in the finals last year – none of the umpire’s reports were upheld by the tribunal. I’m not saying that right or wrong, I’m just stating what happened and what the feeling is amongst the umpires (as I have been told by one of the umpires). Please don’t make out I’m saying things, that clearly I’m not.

As for being an umpire – isn’t everybody?

Are we getting back to football????

Did I actually say the Tribunal ‘had’ to back the umpires? I don’t think I did. What I said was the tribunal didn’t back the umpires, meaning they believed the footballer’s statements versus the umpires, effectively the tribunal backed the players (side of events). The same thing happened in the finals last year – none of the umpire’s reports were upheld by the tribunal. I’m not saying that right or wrong, I’m just stating what happened and what the feeling is amongst the umpires (as I have been told by one of the umpires). Please don’t make out I’m saying things, that clearly I’m not.

As for being an umpire – isn’t everybody?

Are we getting back to football????

Lets hope so cause your boring the shit outa me with your anal flip flopping & spin !!! :(

common sense is a wonderful thing :thumbsu:

Exactly what I think, if only some umpires had an ounce of this. If the umpires reported every player who let a few swear words fly at them we wouldnt have a competition. If players have to cop a few clips surely the umps can cop a bit of abuse

Yeah.. Its a tough one... But he still did hit back... I remember one of the toughest and possibly dumbest things I ever saw on a footy field was one of our blokes a couple of years ago, stuck up for a teammate that was hit by standing in the way of the bloke throwing cut lunches.. He just stood there and took 2 blows to the face, told the guy he hit like a girl and asked him to throw another one, he did, our bloke still stood unmoved, laughing at the punches he copped. I asked him after the game why he would do such a stupid thing, he said, it really didn't hurt much and he wanted to make sure this guy go suspended for throwing punches, no better way than by standing there and copping them without throwing back... :D

you wouldnt be referring to punches thrown by bdr68 would u ims????:D

Exactly what I think, if only some umpires had an ounce of this. If the umpires reported every player who let a few swear words fly at them we wouldnt have a competition. If players have to cop a few clips surely the umps can cop a bit of abuse

Why??? Why should the umpires be subjected to abuse?? Because you say so?? Football is a physical game, so for the players, physical contact is inevitable.. Umpire abuse from players is not.. We whine and complain about how our umpires treat us.. Have you not noticed the zero tolerance now displayed in the AFL?? That is where we are headed because of narrow minded opinions such as yours.. Lenny Hayes told an umpire on the weekend what he thought of him, much the same as Gary and copped a $1950 fine, Courtnay Dempsey told an umpire his decision was bulls**t and copped a 50m penalty that cost his side the game, our umpires in comparison are generally fairly leniant to our players undisciplined behaviours, and that is what it is - UNDISCIPLINED.. BTW All this talk of fining players within our league, IT CAN'T HAPPEN, the RDFL is not considered a professional league, I am pretty sure our tribunal CANNOT issue financial sanctions to individuals, only to clubs.

Just looked up the RDFL website to get some info on the interleague game, looked up the gallary to find photo's of Lee James, Aaron Blade(in a Macedon jumper) and photo's of the season launch of Fevola 09, heading in the right direction?

Whens the interleague side picked?
Can anyone tell me who is coaching staff, and who has been training with the squads i cant find it on that rdfl website?

As a coach in the BFL we have been very appreciative of the umpire support the RDFL have provided, and truth be told, they have been doing a pertty good job. I have to thank though the RDFL for sending over Semmo, who i remember umpiring my first game of senior football back in 1994 (we all thought he was past it then). When we joined the BFL we did not think we would see him again! Was an interesting day and the Ballarat boys definitely struggle to adjust tothe RDFl style of umpiring and play, which we actually enjoy as a past RDFl team. Fair dinkum though, AFL great John Swooper Northey nearly had 5 heart attacks he was that angry with semmo. We did not think swoop had that much life left in him, but he was pretty keen to catch up with the umpies for a chat after the game! Thanks Semmo, you were like life support for the old fella.