RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)

Re: RDFL 2010 Season - Round 11

[quote=Sacrificial Lamb;18186882]i reckon Mort Hasslett from Lancefield played around the 400 mark. Ian Piggin played 370 odd at Macedon ..would be a few that played through the 70s/80s etc that would have racked them up with a fair few playing 2s and 1s in the same day[/quote]
I know that Mort played 400 for Lancefield as did Bluey Malone because I played in both milestone games in the late '80's.
IIRC Blueys 400th was at Lancefield and there was a headcount late in the game with the opposition side having an extra man on the field.

Umpires.... , is it embarresing umpiring along side the dirty fossell semmens? He is disgraceful. Why is it ok for him to abuse players? He bates players and when they respond he pays 50m? He isn't rational at all. He has been getting away with this garbage for bloody years, it is not acceptable. Do the RDFL ever review its umpires? Cut him out of the loop and the RDFL umpiring standard would not be questioned.

Heard a few residents in the Clancy Reserve vacinity thought they were in South Africa yesty - can someone at the Kilmore v Romsey clash confirm if one of those vuvuzela's was getting a workout???

Geez, all that niggle 4 weeks ago and with Aaron James not far from his 100 it sure makes for a mouthwatering return bout at Riddell in a fortnight dont it - first time all year I wouldn't have minded getting along to a RDFL game.

Hows is your rep side shaping up?

Why would the rdfl give an umpiring job to a bloke who is from that town. Now I would never ever ever say that an umpire cost a team a game ( that is the easy way out, so settle down IMS) But Rhys's effort today was pure filth.
Example A. If a Sunbury player "hit the hips" and slung a bloke around in a 360 and the oppenent had prior opp and chose to take on the tackler Rhys called played on.

But when a Macedon player half grabbed a sunbury player in the middle of making a clean disposal Rhys said holding the ball. It happened more than once (x4)

Sorry guy's I know I sound I am payin out on the umpires. But I know IMS was there and I would love to here what he says!

Why would the rdfl give an umpiring job to a bloke who is from that town. Now I would never ever ever say that an umpire cost a team a game ( that is the easy way out, so settle down IMS) But Rhys's effort today was pure filth.
Example A. If a Sunbury player "hit the hips" and slung a bloke around in a 360 and the oppenent had prior opp and chose to take on the tackler Rhys called played on.

But when a Macedon player half grabbed a sunbury player in the middle of making a clean disposal Rhys said holding the ball. It happened more than once (x4)

Sorry guy's I know I sound I am payin out on the umpires. But I know IMS was there and I would love to here what he says!

Are you serious??? You would have no umpires to umpire Melton and Sunbury!!

Sorry RMFO.... I thought the job Reece did was solid, he was clearly the best umpire on the ground... The other guy may need a crash course in consistency and in judging the pace and tempo of a clash between two good football sides if he is to umpire in our finals series this year, he unfortunatley injected himself into the game a little too much (especially in the ethralling ruck dual between Fish and Ash, just let em ruck ffs) But Reece was consistent and umpired well, just my opinion, overall, the umpiring was pretty good on a tough day for everyone, possibly emotion may be involved in the questioning of some decisions and I am sure the umpires are the first to admit that they don't get it right 100% of the time, for the holding the ball that you quoted, I also seen a Macedon guy dive on the ball in the last quarter (which in the conditions happened all day) and was pinged for holding the ball which I thought was a bit stiff, so personally, I thought that the umpiring played no part in having an affect on the game, if anything, for the difficulties the umpires faced, I thought they were good...

What a day for football on Saturday, sunny Tony Clarke was at it's best for the Cats Vs the Roos and the conditions allowed for a perfect day of football... :p

The first quarter saw both sides trying to slip slide their way to adjust to the conditions and the Cats hit the board first, from their the Kangaroos took control of the first quarter. Chris Meacham looked very dangerous up forward with two first quarter goals and when Fenton marked and dished off to Hatty, the Kangaroos looked well on top, unfortunately for the Roos, Hatty missed and the Cats were able to rebound and a cracking goal from Dylan Wright put them back in front at the quarter time break.
The second quarter was all the Cats, although they didn't put the Roos away, they kicked 2.5 for the quarter while the Roos could only manage a goal through a Jamie Cuffe tackle, it was a James Wright masterclass, the Roos had no answer for the talented on baller as he kicked both of the Cats goals for the quarter and had countless clearances, if he had kicked straight when switched to full forward late in the quarter he would have kicked 5 for the term and it would have been game over, he kicked 2.3 and the Cats were well on their way.
The third term saw the Kangaroos dominate the early play, but they could only muster 1.4 from that possession time and after an Aaron Christianson goal followed by goals to Al Meldrum and Dylan Wright (another ripper), the Cats were home. The Roos just didn't seem to have the answers, and while Matt Welsh, Simon Clarke, Matt Leonard and Adam Walsh were trying hard, their just was not enough contributors.
The final term was very much going through the motions as the Cats were able to kick an early goal through Al Collins and another to Meldrum. The Roos kicked the final goal of the game after the siren but they were completely outplayed and out hustled by the Cats in difficult conditions.

My votes

3 - James Wright (Mac)
2 - Jae Wilton (Mac)
1 - Tim Dettman (Mac)

What I learned from Round 11
  • The Kangaroos are in real danger of slipping back to the pack and putting themselves in a situation where they could even miss the finals. It's time for the leaders to put their hand up.
  • The Cats are a top 4 side.
  • Lancefield continue on their merry way, the undefeated 2nd half of the season is looking good.
  • Wallan hold on to their slim finals chances
  • Romsey, no matter the result on the weekend are in turmoil, the question is if they can sure themselves up in the 2nd half of the year and pinch a finals spot.
  • The Blues are flying, next game against Riddell will be a ripper.
  • INTERLEAGUE THIS WEEKEND!!! Cant wait for the game and good luck to all that will represent our league with pride!!! :thumbsu:
Performance Ladder - Round 11
Kilmore
Macedon
Lancefield
Wallan
Riddell
Rockbank

Woodend/Hesket
Broadford
Melton Centrals
Diggers Rest
Romsey
Sunbury Kangaroos

Sorry IMS i would disagree I have seen him umpire on a number of occasions and would say he would be one of the best in the comp. I thought on Saturday in the conditions the game was over umpired.
As for your statement on the diving on the ball, the reserves were told before their game that it would be a free if anybody dived on the ball and held it up, perhaps the same message went to the seniors.

Sorry IMS i would disagree I have seen him umpire on a number of occasions and would say he would be one of the best in the comp. I thought on Saturday in the conditions the game was over umpired.
As for your statement on the diving on the ball, the reserves were told before their game that it would be a free if anybody dived on the ball and held it up, perhaps the same message went to the seniors.

It was only penalised once in the senior game, that was my point... I was only making an example...

That's the beauty of opinions, we can both have them, I agree, one of the umpires over umpired certain parts of the game (especially the ruck contest), but it wasn't Reece... In fact, if you take the emotion out of it, I thought that Reece's performance on Saturday was one of the better performances I have seen so far this year, but again, only my opinion...

It was only penalised once in the senior game, that was my point... I was only making an example...

That's the beauty of opinions, we can both have them, I agree, one of the umpires over umpired certain parts of the game (especially the ruck contest), but it wasn't Reece... In fact, if you take the emotion out of it, I thought that Reece's performance on Saturday was one of the better performances I have seen so far this year, but again, only my opinion...

Reece is clearly one of the best umpires in the comp. This years umpire stocks look good. There seems to be some new faces who are also good. The three umpires in the Sunbury game last week were solid as well.

As it hurts me to say i sorta agree with you ims!! i thought reece done a fantastic job after half time and a fairly good job in the first half.. however i think the free kicks were well and truely lopsided but that had no baring on the result fact!!!! we were beaten by a better more commited side on the day..

Can someone tell me how many the big fella jamesy has kickd so far, cheers

Well, there's a supporter I never thought I'd find, cheers Grub.

As for me Umpiring Macedon this stuff comes up every time I umpire them, yes I grew up in Macedon in fact I used to play there, that was almost 6 years ago. But if you're going to use that as a reason why I shouldn't umpire them, then we would struggle to have umpires for Sunbury, Diggers Rest and Melton games as this is where most of our umpiring population comes from, Brian's job appointing umpires to games is already a delicate enough balance with out having to worry about guys avoiding umpiring their local clubs.

If we're not going to recruit umpires locally (i.e. from towns that compete in the RDFL) where will we recruit them from???

Macedon will most likely be a heavy contender in September so I will umpire them 3, 4 possibly 5 times during the year, as I will Sunbury, Riddell, Kilmore, Lancefield etc.....They really are just another football team to me, I don't prepare for Macedon games any differently to what I do any other games, I'm there to do a job and I do that to the best of my ability every weekend.

As for Saturdays game, I think RMFO's estimations of free kick numbers is a little over zealous, I can only recall paying 5 holding the ball free kicks for the day and 3 of those were to Sunbury, one which resulted directly in a Sunbury goal.

I will agree with Grub and say that yes the free kick count for the day was lop sided, but hey sometimes that happens. As I said to Grub on the day, I thought Sunbury's attack on the ball was good, unfortunately they just made some small mistakes which resulted in free kicks.

Just remember guys it's hard for umpires to adapt to wet weather footy, as it is for players, something we haven't had to contend with much over the last decade, so just cut us a little bit of slack as I'm sure you do your own players on wet days :thumbsu:

As for me Umpiring Macedon this stuff comes up every time I umpire them, yes I grew up in Macedon in fact I used to play there, that was almost 6 years ago. But if you're going to use that as a reason why I shouldn't umpire them, then we would struggle to have umpires for Sunbury, Diggers Rest and Melton games as this is where most of our umpiring population comes from, Brian's job appointing umpires to games is already a delicate enough balance with out having to worry about guys avoiding umpiring their local clubs.

If we're not going to recruit umpires locally (i.e. from towns that compete in the RDFL) where will we recruit them from???

Macedon will most likely be a heavy contender in September so I will umpire them 3, 4 possibly 5 times during the year, as I will Sunbury, Riddell, Kilmore, Lancefield etc.....They really are just another football team to me, I don't prepare for Macedon games any differently to what I do any other games, I'm there to do a job and I do that to the best of my ability every weekend.

As for Saturdays game, I think RMFO's estimations of free kick numbers is a little over zealous, I can only recall paying 5 holding the ball free kicks for the day and 3 of those were to Sunbury, one which resulted directly in a Sunbury goal.

I will agree with Grub and say that yes the free kick count for the day was lop sided, but hey sometimes that happens. As I said to Grub on the day, I thought Sunbury's attack on the ball was good, unfortunately they just made some small mistakes which resulted in free kicks.

Just remember guys it's hard for umpires to adapt to wet weather footy, as it is for players, something we haven't had to contend with much over the last decade, so just cut us a little bit of slack as I'm sure you do your own players on wet days :thumbsu:
The game has become nearly impossible to umpire due to rule changes and grey area's within the rules, the AFL umpires struggle, so obviously every other comp is going to have dificulties, you only have to go to other blogs on other sites and it's the same story, we need to accept the umpires decission and get on with it. The umpire cant win, one side are happy whilst the other side is yelling abuse, just think about the game and how it has evolved over the last ten years, and if you understand the game of Aussire rules, then you should understand how hard the game has become to umpire. If players take it apon themselves to abuse an umpire, then they have no regard for the team and only themselves.

Onya Ump22 :thumbsu: No matter where you go the umps will have good and bad days, just like footballers. Where Ive been watching footy in 2010 there have been some ordinary umpiring also, in fact the highest count has been a combined 64 free kicks in one game. In saying that Im yet to see a game decided by an umpires decision in the dying stages due to the fact teams make countless amounts of errors over 100 odd minutes of play that could one way or another sway the outcome of a game of football - in second thoughts its much more easier to blame the umps when ya drop a close one :confused:

100.7 Highlands FM Broadcast INTERLEAGUE
Listen in to 100.7 Highlands FM this Saturday from 2pm as the Southern Football League plays host to the Riddell District Football League. In conjunction with 88.3 Southern FM, listen in for all the play by play action as the best footballers in the region team up to avenge the 2009 defeat. Tune into 100.7 Highlands FM on your radio dial right across the Macedon Ranges and if you’re unable to get reception, log onto the 88.3 Southern FM website www.southernfm.com.au and listen online! Get the word around!

Saturday 3rd July 2010
Springvale VFA Ground, Newcomen Road Springvale
Entry:
$10.00 Adults
$5.00 Under 15, Pensioner, Concession
$5.00 Car Parking
Colts (Under 18's) commence at 12:15pm
Seniors commence at 2:30pm

Well said mate.. it is one thing to keep the psychological focus on umpiring a game like that and another to keep focus on keeping your footing on such a muddy track, especially with those tyre marks stretching right across the scoreboard wing..

Umpiring is a tough gig in general and it's common to hear amoungst football circles that your name gets thrown around a bit as one of the best going about.. there is a great squad this year across all three areas and everyone is having a go and really enjoying getting out on the field..

Grub. Did your knock to the head (broken nose) make you forget what you saw?? My Sauces tell me you were more than upset with the umpires............

IMS, Once again I respect your post But the fact the Kanga's are digging deep right now (injury wise) Can't understand why you would put them last on the performance list.

Ok so i'm upset that the Rid Dicoulos Football League would give you a game against Macedon. That is not your fault. But what I saw Reece (apologies for the incorrect spelling,either now or before hand.) I honestly think you are better than that. Maybe that is why I am so harsh on your performance.

I'll leave you with this. You Finally Paid a free kick to Sunbury late in the first half and we all rose as one (both standing and in voice) Surely you heard this. It just proves I'm not making this shit up. And also That I'm not alone in the Assesment of your game on saturday.

P.S It's not the first time you have umpired the Kanga's this year. But results have been similiar (umpiring I Mean}

I'll Leave saying this... I expect fully for you to get final games... Maybe even a grand final. Just Be CONSISTANT and you will go along way.

I still stand by my earlier comments.