RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 3)

interesting 2 hour meeting held by melton south tonight with about 60 in attendance. my impression is they'll be staying in the BFL.

It's all gone so quickly, but we are this week facing the final round of the RDFL regular season... Even after 17 rounds it all comes down to this week.. Four teams, with a win or loss seperating them from finals...

Wallan FNC Vs Romsey FNC
Greenhill Reserve - Wallan
The Magpies miserable 2nd half of the year will finally be put to rest this week with a clash against rivals Romsey... The Magpies have had all sorts of trouble in the second half of the year, with injuries and suspensions and this culminated in their most disappointing performance of the year last week against Centrals. On the other side of the table, the Redbacks continue to fire. Another dominating performance last week against the Rams and keeping themselves within striking distance, the Redbacks need to control the controllable this week and get the job done against the Magpies, everything else is out of their hands.. No matter what happens in other games they cannot afford to drop this game, otherwise finals won't be an option anyway. In saying that, the Magpies are depleted, are down so the Redbacks should be able to easily account for them here.
Romsey by 50 points

Rockbank FSC Vs Sunbury Kangaroos FNC
Ian Cowie Reserve - Rockbank
The Kangaroos are preparing for the assault on the finals, the Rams will be looking to finish off the season on the highest of notes. The game itself doesn't hold much significance.. The Roos would need a massive win and a decent loss to Lancefield to snatch 2nd place on the ladder, while the Rams ladder position is unlikely to change. The Roos will use this game to fine tune while the Rams should use it as a celebration of the season.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 35 points

Kilmore FNC Vs Woodend/Hesket FNC
JJ Clancy Reserve - Kilmore
The finals are knocking for the Blues, but they will need to lift on last week's performance. The Blues had issues through the middle of the ground as the Burra were able to slow them up and shut down the drive, and when they did go forward the Blues were unable to capitilize on the big guy up forward, regularly bombing from long range. The Blues are still in the box seat though, a win here will guarantee them 4th place on the ladder, but dropping this one would see them possibly miss. The Hawks would be disappointed with last weeks performance against the Roos, in essence, they were demolished. Look for a much improved performance here as they would love nothing more than shaping the finals with a win over the Blues. To do so though, they must do what the Burra managed to do last week and control the middle of the ground. Diggers made it their domain, the Hawks need to do the same. They have guys that are certainly capable of doing so, but can they do it over the 4 quarters to gain a win, that is the question.
Kilmore by 40 points

Melton Centrals FNC Vs Riddell FNC
McPherson Park - Melton
Centrals would be on top of the world after their great win against the Magpies and will be looking to finish the season off on a great note.. That won't neccissarily be a win here against the Bombers, but a strong showing would be enough. Expect the Bombers to rest a few if they can and prepare for the big top of the table clash next week.
Riddell by 35 points

Macedon FC Vs Broadford FNC
Tony Clarke Reserve - Macedon
The Cats only need a win to gain a finals spot, a percentage booster means they might finish better placed. In reality, its like the Riddell game, the Cats should rest anyone that might need to and prepare themselves for a game next week where questions are surely going to be asked of them.
Macedon by 50 points

Match of the Round
Lancefield FNC Vs Diggers Rest FNC
Lancefield Park - Lancefield
The clear standout game of the round as the entire season rests in the balance for several sides depending on the outcome here.
The Burra were impressive last week and are coming home with a flurry, leaving no stone unturned in putting themselves in a position to play finals. They have a side very capable of matching it with the Tigers but cant afford an early lapse like last time these sides met. The Burra went down by only 2 goals but had allowed the Tigers to get out to a 40+ point lead. The Burra's best will be up and about here and this clash will be well worth the watching.
The question on everyones lips is, what do the Tigers do. The talk of tanking the game, well, it will offend the Tigers players who have more integrity than that. But for the sake of a game that won't decide the fate of the Tigers (it would take a heavy loss and a massive win for the Kangaroos to drop out of 2nd) do they go into this one all guns blazing, or just ensure that anything that needs to be right heading into the first week of finals is right, anyone with a niggle should be rested and anyone that is a fringe senior player get his chance to stake a claim for finals. Whatever the outcome, the Tigers will not make any decision based on the fact that a loss to the Burra could well see Romsey miss the finals. The more important factor for the Tigers will be next week and the start of finals, make no mistake there. They will meet a side that is desperate for victory and the hope of playing finals football in their own right, but the Tigers have more to look at than just proving that the result this week has nothing to do with Romsey. Yes, they hate the Redbacks and that hate is well and truly reciprocated. But in reality, the Tigers should do what is best for them, simple as that. The players that run out won't be throwing a game, you can be assured of that, but they may lack the overall class and polish, especially if a couple of key players just need that week off to be cherry ripe for finals, and especially coming up against a side that will be desperate to nail down their position in the 2010 race.
Diggers Rest by 14 points

IMS, Understand this, I don't have a beef with you. I just like to express an opinion on here. But when you pose questions on a certain thread then close the thread. Well it reflects against you. I love the banter. Cos I know you are as rovers as i am. (that reflects on how far we both go back nothing against the current committee)

Any who... My argument with Joeb can continue. But it will be finished with this..... Nick maxwell plays full back but was named hbf. Simon Goodwin Plays on ball but was named hbf.. Also the great J. Brown was named forward pocket. But he plays.......... Come On I can tell your smarter than that.
IT PROVES... that if you don't get the key positions in any any team of the year.. You get the consolotation prize...

I still have the utmost respect for any player named in the 2010 RDFL team of the year....

This is why i said you should of named the key posi's first..

Diagram to come .... lol

Sixteen teams with two divisions doesn't solve anything. A couple of years ago I thought it was worth exploring, but now I think the RDFL is the perfect size.

Let's say we had these 16 sides, split into two divisions.

Gisborne
Kyneton
Melton
Melton Sth
Riddell
Lancefield
Sunbury Kangaroos
Kilmore

Romsey
Woodend-Hesket
Macedon
Diggers Rest
Melton Central
Rockbank
Wallan
Broadford

It just wouldn't work. The four current RDFL clubs in Div 1 might go okay in the first season, but in time, the likes of Gisborne and the Meltons would spend more than our teams can afford. Lancefield no longer has the rivalry matches against the likes of Romsey and therefore gate takings etc. go down.

Div 2 would be a bloody close competition, but again, Romsey has no rivalry with Lancefield, Diggers likewise with the Kangas. At the moment, Broadford, Rockbank and Centrals are struggling to beat anyone, so that isn't going to solve their problems.

Plus it will be like the 90s, where the Div 2 premier won't be able to compete in Div 1 because there'll be massively different budgets and standard in play.

Keep the comp as it is, work closely with the bottom three clubs (in particular Broadford) and in five years time the RDFL will be one of the strongest comps going around, IMO.
the comp was best size wise befor wallan and broadford came in everyone played each other two times over the 18 rounds the more teams that start coming in the least fair the draw becomes

Simple, drag it out to 22 rounds, or would that see some club budgets blow out by another $10-$15k for the extra 4 rounds??? For the league they could even tack on say another $3-4k in their already high league fee's. Two more gates, two more canteen's, two more bar lots of bar takings - everyone's a winner :thumbsu:

On a more serious note, whats gunna happen at Lancefield today? Conflicting stories depending on which camp you talk to - Some Romsey folk honestly feel their rivals might "tank", personally I reckon they'd love to settle the 1-all scoreline with a decider thru the finals. Was thinking about going to Lancefield for a bit this arvo after work - Tiger fans is it worth me while???

Are the rumours true? did woodend beat kilmore allowing the redbacks to sneak in?

They certainly are.. Woodend by a point with the last kick of the day.. Some say contentious, but the fact is, it happened

Diggers by 21 points - No tank, they just wanted to win more..

Kangas by 3 goals

Romsey by 10 goals.

IMS, Understand this, I don't have a beef with you. I just like to express an opinion on here. But when you pose questions on a certain thread then close the thread. Well it reflects against you. I love the banter. Cos I know you are as rovers as i am. (that reflects on how far we both go back nothing against the current committee)

Any who... My argument with Joeb can continue. But it will be finished with this..... Nick maxwell plays full back but was named hbf. Simon Goodwin Plays on ball but was named hbf.. Also the great J. Brown was named forward pocket. But he plays.......... Come On I can tell your smarter than that.
IT PROVES... that if you don't get the key positions in any any team of the year.. You get the consolotation prize...

I still have the utmost respect for any player named in the 2010 RDFL team of the year....

This is why i said you should of named the key posi's first..

Diagram to come .... lol

Whether I did the key position first or not is a choice for me because I am the one taking my time to do it.. :D

As for closing the thread off, it had nothing to do with your response, I have closed all of the threads when the poll closes... Hope you didn't take it personally.. It happens by design...

They certainly are.. Woodend by a point with the last kick of the day.. Some say contentious, but the fact is, it happened

Kangas by 3 goals

Romsey by 10 goals.

Lancefields plan backfired.The worst thing those dogs could do was lay down. Lets hope they meet Romsey in the finals. The rivalry just went to a new level with these F---------------ts:mad:

if anyone thinks that the last goal that put woodend in front was a point is dreaming, clear goal and jamesy played every minute, fact is kilmore got rolled by the better team on the day, goes to show money doesnt always by a premiership, sucked in kilmore

As usual the RDFL site has not yet posted the results and ladder for round 18. As I am not in a position to get the full results, could someone post them on this site please.

Thanks

As usual the RDFL site has not yet posted the results and ladder for round 18. As I am not in a position to get the full results, could someone post them on this site please.

Thanks
Wall 8.12 Rom 17.16, Roc 7.8 SK 9.15, Kil 14.9 WH 14.10, La 4.9 DR 7.6, MC 7.7 Rid 14.12, Mac 15.8 Br 3.3

Results For Wallan MVP as voted by the players

1st. Shane Jacobs (5)

2nd. Matt Bell (27)

3rd. Jamie Hollingsworth (20)

Finals venues for next week

Saturday
Romsey Park Qualifying
Riddell FNC vs Lancefield FNC (SEN)
Riddell Vs Macedon (RES)
Macedon Vs Kilmore (U18)
Netball
Centrals Vs Romsey (A)
Riddell Vs Wallan (B)
Romsey Vs Riddell (C)

Sunday
Eric Boardman Reserve Sunbury Elimination
Sunbury Kangaroos FNC vs Romsey FNC
Kangaroos Vs Romsey
Riddell Vs Romsey
Netball
Lancefield Vs Riddell
Lancefield Vs Centrals
Centrals Vs Wallan

Sunday
Ian Cowie Reserve Rockbank Elimination
Diggers Rest FNC vs Macedon FC
Kilmore Vs Diggers Rest
Diggers Rest Vs Woodend
Netball
Macedon Vs Wallan
Romsey Vs Macedon
Sunbury Vs Macedon

All senior matches starting at 2:30

Romsey Park Qualifying
Riddell Vs Macedon (RES)
Macedon Vs Kilmore (U18)
Netball
Centrals Vs Romsey (A)
Riddell Vs Wallan (B)
Romsey Vs Riddell (C)

Kangaroos Vs Romsey
Riddell Vs Romsey
Netball
Lancefield Vs Riddell
Lancefield Vs Centrals
Centrals Vs Wallan

Kilmore Vs Diggers Rest
Diggers Rest Vs Woodend
Netball
Macedon Vs Wallan
Romsey Vs Macedon
Sunbury Vs Macedon

What day/days will these be contested?

Whether I did the key position first or not is a choice for me because I am the one taking my time to do it.. :D

As for closing the thread off, it had nothing to do with your response, I have closed all of the threads when the poll closes... Hope you didn't take it personally.. It happens by design...

IMS, If you know me like i think you do, I take nothing personally. Just love the SK's and will not take a backward step from anybody with my opinions:thumbsu:

Kangas by 3 goals

Romsey by 10 goals.

contentious mate it split the middle a 132 point turn around from last time they played just shows the spirit of woodend and romsey owe woodsy a few slabs kilmore would never have won the premiership any way

if anyone thinks that the last goal that put woodend in front was a point is dreaming, clear goal and jamesy played every minute, fact is kilmore got rolled by the better team on the day, goes to show money doesnt always by a premiership, sucked in kilmore

Gracious win gboi u c*ck...it wasn t a goal but all woodend ppl will say it was and all Kilmore ppl will say it wasn t...at the end of the day the blue boys didn t play to the level they are capable of and Woodend made the most of their chances...heartbreaking for the boys but losing 4 of the last 5 was where they missed the finals...not the last kick of the day on Saturday...but thats football

Saturday
Romsey Park Qualifying
Riddell Vs Macedon (RES)
Macedon Vs Kilmore (U18)
Netball
Centrals Vs Romsey (A)
Riddell Vs Wallan (B)
Romsey Vs Riddell (C)

Sunday
Kangaroos Vs Romsey
Riddell Vs Romsey
Netball
Lancefield Vs Riddell
Lancefield Vs Centrals
Centrals Vs Wallan

Sunday
Kilmore Vs Diggers Rest
Diggers Rest Vs Woodend
Netball
Macedon Vs Wallan
Romsey Vs Macedon
Sunbury Vs Macedon

All senior matches starting at 2:30

Amazing..... Rovers get to play thier finals at HOME!!! Bit of an advantage you would think!!! Redbacks couldn't be too happy.

Surely the league could move this game to Rockbank and Burras /Cats to Boardman.... whoever did this fixture must have the also done the AFL...... so the pies could play thier last 7 at the MCG!!!

Amazing..... Rovers get to play thier finals at HOME!!! Bit of an advantage you would think!!! Redbacks couldn't be too happy.

Surely the league could move this game to Rockbank and Burras /Cats to Boardman.... whoever did this fixture must have the also done the AFL...... so the pies could play thier last 7 at the MCG!!!

It continues to amaze me how our league administrators botch even the easiest of tasks. Why has Sunbury 1's and 2s got a home final? There were so many alternatives. I guess we just have to shake our heads in frustration and move on. I cant help but think the rdfl is very keen on seeing the rovers/roos win their first senior flag.

Gracious win gboi u c*ck...it wasn t a goal but all woodend ppl will say it was and all Kilmore ppl will say it wasn t...at the end of the day the blue boys didn t play to the level they are capable of and Woodend made the most of their chances...heartbreaking for the boys but losing 4 of the last 5 was where they missed the finals...not the last kick of the day on Saturday...but thats football
Sheafie, Its hard to be gracious with a win like that, especially in the circumstances. Shame for ur blokes not making finals, the club must have spent a fortune to finish seventh. Will the bigfella be back next year or will the club make it fair for the rest of the players and spread the cash around abit next year?