RDFL Thread 2011 (Part 2)

PROBABLY out of your control but what happened today in the netball/umpires change rooms was absolutley farciacal...umpires trying to get readyfor games and members of public just coming in using the rooms/toilets..i know we are only umpires but we do need our own space..seemed every 2nd person came into toilets and wanted to take a dump..the paint on the walls was starting to peel after a few of them...one bloke came in amongst the umpires gear and changed his kids crappy nappy...people standing outside the door smoking...not an ideal preparation for those umpires waiting to go out to fight for their g/f spot on the up side ground excellent except where the goal umpire stand dirt shiffting underfoot made life a little difficult....catering excellent and reasonably priced

That is unfortunate, the conditions of the day forced the Netball games inside which obviously meant crowding around the area the umpires need to prepare.. Hopefully that issue won't come up again next week and we get the beautiful spring day that finals footy deserves :thumbsu:

totally agree the conditions didnt help but would have thought that some of the leagues board would have got of their asses and their haeds out of the trough and organised the chaos

Unfortunately I believe that they might have been let down a little by Security.. From what I can gather, the Netty co-ordinator and the league GM sent Security to man the front door and also the umpires change rooms but they disappeared.. So at least an attempt was made.

Security is there for crowd controll, anything else is irreilvant, dont blame security!

Which is what they were requested to go there for :confused:

Don't shoot the messenger :cool::p

Great win by Redbacks today. They proved today, you just have to keep working hard at the little things and play as a team, and you get rewarded. Just a shame that the broadcast on the radio was so hoping that Macedon would win ( not so much 2 of them, but, certainly the older guy which spoilt the broadcast and I had to turn it off). In the end the wind had nothing to do with the win, it was the Redbacks desperation to win that was the deciding factor. Well done Redbacks, a great win!

Thanks for tuning in mate.. Kenny and I backed the Cats by a whisker while the more intelligent member of the team with more common sense than us lads, the stunning Jess backed the Redbacks.. females always make the right judgement in the end.. haha =P Sorry that you tuned off mate.. Kenny had work commitments and he had to fly.. KD worked hard as a replacement at short notice. It's been exciting to see all the finals over the last few weeks.. the Roos were mind blowing on Saturday in a really good team effort.. they're exciting.. yesterday we saw two evenly matched teams fight it out and the home crowd made the atmosphere remarkable! I hope we get this next week and on grand final day.. unbeatable! The Romsey guys did a perfect job hosting on the day.. we love it out there, the atmosphere in the social rooms afterwards is always warming.. can't wait for Sunday.. best of luck to all teams on the day.. :):)

Just a couple of things guys great 3 games today, the under 18s was great for 3 quarters with Sunbury running away in the end..... The 2nds was a white wash in the end were the bombers had to much class and pity the POOR bugger they play next week.....The big one??? i thought the game was played at a good pace BIG AL MELDRUM has a lot to work with next year with these kids.. well done to Macedon the kid on the wing CLOUGH can play big games he turns it on i tell you super talent that boy..... and to our boys i was rapt about the pressure we put on tough and smashed bodies really started to hurt the young of Macedon..... a bit of work to do but very proud as a v/pres and to the coaching staff they just got back on the horse and kept going------ well done everyone...... also anyone got anything to say how we are going running the R D F L finals hows the food, is there enough, what about grog cold enough, and the coffee truck was great to, we will have the BIG DEFENSE truck there again next week with plenty of give a ways for everyone kids as well, so drop in and see the boys....thats what its all about great boys them ones,,,,, if we can improve in any way off the ground with any ones needs??? let me know i try??? WHAT ABOUT THE SURFACE FIRST CLASS EVERYONE SAYING AND LOOKS A PICTURE... but lets get down to business and BRING NEXT SUNDAY AT THE HOME OF THE MIGHTY REDBACKS.kick 9.40 for the under 18 footy and netball all day... ROB GELL & LIVINIA NIXON TELLS ME NEXT SUNDAY 21 DEGREES AND SUNNY AND NOT A BREATH OF AIR .....ccccoooonnnaaallliinnnkkcccoooo you beauty....BRING IT ON..... ALSO GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE AT THE BOWEN MEDAL THIS WEDNESDAY......NIGHT my choice matty davo the little bubble bloke from Romsey.... SPECHEN YOU HAVE A GOOD DAY BUDDY???
Al.. thanks for putting us up again good mate.. we always look forward to heading down to the mighty Romsey ground.. the playing deck was remarkable.. love the work put in.. a small idea.. I'd love to be the one sitting on the back of a ride on mower towing a trailer with light refreshments in the back, driving around the ground.. with warm weather on Sunday.. it would be a dream :) .. thanks again for the wonderful hospitality :)

Thanks for tuning in mate.. Kenny and I backed the Cats by a whisker while the more intelligent member of the team with more common sense than us lads, the stunning Jess backed the Redbacks.. females always make the right judgement in the end.. haha =P Sorry that you tuned off mate.. Kenny had work commitments and he had to fly.. KD worked hard as a replacement at short notice. It's been exciting to see all the finals over the last few weeks.. the Roos were mind blowing on Saturday in a really good team effort.. they're exciting.. yesterday we saw two evenly matched teams fight it out and the home crowd made the atmosphere remarkable! I hope we get this next week and on grand final day.. unbeatable! The Romsey guys did a perfect job hosting on the day.. we love it out there, the atmosphere in the social rooms afterwards is always warming.. can't wait for Sunday.. best of luck to all teams on the day.. :):)

She may well be good on the eye Chris, but it is after all radio ! Did happen to catch a little of the call on Saturday & it went something like this -

Chris - "& what do you think happened there Jess" ?
Jess - "Well Chris, Riddell had the ball then something happened & then Sunbury got the ball....... I dunno" !

Riveting special comments right there pal ! :confused: ..................... I then switched off !!! .......cause something happened ! I dunno....... Also ! :cool:

She may well be good on the eye Chris, but it is after all radio ! Did happen to catch a little of the call on Saturday & it went something like this -

Jess - "Well Chris, Riddell had the ball then something happened & then Sunbury got the ball....... I dunno" !

Riveting special comments right there pal ! :confused: ..................... I then switched off !!! .......cause something happened ! I dunno....... Also ! :cool:
Thats not a nice thing to say Omni, Jess is a loverly girl and better looking than the rest of them!

Omni.. woah, woah, woah.. ease up.. for someone who hated football until they met me, to putting her hand up and giving it a go to spend more time with me during the footy season and getting some time behind the mic.. I think she does a damn good job.. and in regards to that example.. point the finger at me.. special comments come in on their own terms, I threw to her on the hop..
I don't have the pleasure of knowing who you are off the bat but crickey, she's giving it a go and that says more than what most people in the football and local community are prepared to do.. to see a girl having a crack at broadcasting footy.. a hard gig mind you.. it's nice to see one get involved.. I'll extend the offer out to your awesome self to join the broadcast team next year.. until then, Jess owns you! :D
Yeendy and Omni's first meeting.
Omni.. "Hi, I'm (so and so)"
Yeendy.. "Zzz.. oh, you said something."
But thanks for tuning in!

Generally speaking.. I'll be upfront and honest in saying that's pretty disheartening that we're getting a bit of flack for what we do or don't do when it comes to broadcasting matches.. yes, we're open to feedback, positive or negative.. yes, we've been broadcasting all year.. these comments would've been handy during the season so that we can refine our product for the finals.. now we're getting it.. we're getting new listeners on board during the finals.. thats great, but I don't know what you expect.. we're no Triple M or Fresh FM or who ever broadcasts the footy on commercial radio.. I know its important to do home work and listen to other stations or TV channels during their call of the footy but this year, I've seen more RDFL than I have AFL and I listen to maybe 20 minutes of a match every month on a Saturday night and I just don't have the time to do more..

As far as I'm concerned.. we're interviewing members from clubs such as coaches.. presidents.. players.. volunteers and special guests.. bringing more interaction with the league than any form of media.. we've also got a best on ground award where the winner gets bottles of wine kindly donated by the Hanging Rock Winery.. it's going over great guns with the players.. we're giving it a crack and if you're wanting to jump on the keyboard and give us some flack, that's your pleasure.. we're looking at new presenters next year, do what we do every week.. we've seen every team at least once.. many of us are from Woodend and we don't get to see our boys play much.. get involved.. we're at Romsey and Lancefield over the next two weeks.. if you have any form of feedback.. I'm the guy doning the red hat and runners.. talk to me.. I'd love to hear from you.. :)

Thats not a nice thing to say Omni, Jess is a loverly girl and better looking than the rest of them!

Thanks mate.. she's a huge fan of you.. more so now that she knows who you barrack for.. thanks for that offer on the big night too.. we'll suss out our finances and if its all good, we're in!! :)

omni.. Woah, woah, woah.. Ease up.. For someone who hated football until they met me, to putting her hand up and giving it a go to spend more time with me during the footy season and getting some time behind the mic.. I think she does a damn good job.. And in regards to that example.. Point the finger at me.. Special comments come in on their own terms, i threw to her on the hop..
I don't have the pleasure of knowing who you are off the bat but crickey, she's giving it a go and that says more than what most people in the football and local community are prepared to do.. To see a girl having a crack at broadcasting footy.. A hard gig mind you.. It's nice to see one get involved.. I'll extend the offer out to your awesome self to join the broadcast team next year.. Until then, jess owns you! :d
yeendy and omni's first meeting.
Omni.. "hi, i'm (so and so)"
yeendy.. "zzz.. Oh, you said something."
but thanks for tuning in!

here here big fella... Shes having a crack i think its great to have our games broadcasted and for those people to get involved... Maybe big boy you can pull up a chair and give them a chop out???? On sunday it would be nice to hear your voice on the air waves .... Lets all give them the support they need ....well i say and plenty off others say keep up the great work chrissy>>>> big rexxy huntis out of a job now call me if you need his number???? What a get that would be .... Ccccooonnnnaaallliiinnnkkkkoooo you beauty

security is there for crowd controll, anything else is irreilvant, dont blame security!

hey champ who ever you are?????? I am blaming the security so there.... Cccoooonnnnaaalliiinnnnkkkoooo you beauty thumbs up to you who ever you are..........................

ROB GELL & LIVINIA NIXON TELLS ME NEXT SUNDAY 21 DEGREES AND SUNNY AND NOT A BREATH OF AIR .....

You should know better than to believe those free to air people - go check the BOM site. Sunny, 26 degs and northerly winds averaging 45 KPH

I tend to agree, too tough on these guys who are giving their time to provide air time to our great competition....

Actually OMNI, you have the perfect head for radio, and now you have an invite onto the airwaves, even better!!! :thumbsu:

No. 7 for macedon gave a great team talk at 3qtr time to the players, not 1 word from Flea. What coach doesnt address their team at the last change of what could be the last game of the year?. Very strange, and as it happened Romsey smashed them in the last qtr. Go Figure:confused:

Are you for real??? You don't know who the coach of Macedon is?? Haven't you read this site or the papers for the last 12 months??? And you obviously weren't in any mental state to watch the last quarter properly either - It was Romsey 3.5 to Macedon 3.3 and Romsey has the 4 - 5 goal breeze (gale). You must have been hitting the turps too hard!

Hey, your in a bit of a mischievous mood today Sly ! Have a good week-end or something mate ???.......... & WHERE did I say anything untoward about the girl ??? :confused:
Young Rex Hunt there has been crowing for weeks that he wanted some feed back on the call......... All I did was give him some ! :confused:
.......We could still carry on with the equine theme,.... If you'd prefer ? :D

I think it is fantastic that people who cant get to the game can listen to what is going on. Its not the AFL and broadcasters getting paid big dollars to make sure they know every player and their stat history.
I must admit i have 1 critisism :D. I drove around sunbury for 5 minutes on sunday listening to 2 radio stations on the same frequency. Lol.
It would be great if the station could get together with Sunburys 3NRG for next year or even the next 2 weeks, that would fantastic for the leagues exposure.:thumbsu:

Oh and for the record in that 5 minutes i heard the scores and margins a couple of times.:thumbsu:

Omni.. woah, woah, woah.. ease up.. for someone who hated football until they met me, to putting her hand up and giving it a go to spend more time with me during the footy season and getting some time behind the mic.. I think she does a damn good job.. and in regards to that example.. point the finger at me.. special comments come in on their own terms, I threw to her on the hop..
I don't have the pleasure of knowing who you are off the bat but crickey, she's giving it a go and that says more than what most people in the football and local community are prepared to do.. to see a girl having a crack at broadcasting footy.. a hard gig mind you.. it's nice to see one get involved.. I'll extend the offer out to your awesome self to join the broadcast team next year.. until then, Jess owns you! :D
Yeendy and Omni's first meeting.
Omni.. "Hi, I'm (so and so)"
Yeendy.. "Zzz.. oh, you said something."
But thanks for tuning in!

Generally speaking.. I'll be upfront and honest in saying that's pretty disheartening that we're getting a bit of flack for what we do or don't do when it comes to broadcasting matches.. yes, we're open to feedback, positive or negative.. yes, we've been broadcasting all year.. these comments would've been handy during the season so that we can refine our product for the finals.. now we're getting it.. we're getting new listeners on board during the finals.. thats great, but I don't know what you expect.. we're no Triple M or Fresh FM or who ever broadcasts the footy on commercial radio.. I know its important to do home work and listen to other stations or TV channels during their call of the footy but this year, I've seen more RDFL than I have AFL and I listen to maybe 20 minutes of a match every month on a Saturday night and I just don't have the time to do more..

As far as I'm concerned.. we're interviewing members from clubs such as coaches.. presidents.. players.. volunteers and special guests.. bringing more interaction with the league than any form of media.. we've also got a best on ground award where the winner gets bottles of wine kindly donated by the Hanging Rock Winery.. it's going over great guns with the players.. we're giving it a crack and if you're wanting to jump on the keyboard and give us some flack, that's your pleasure.. we're looking at new presenters next year, do what we do every week.. we've seen every team at least once.. many of us are from Woodend and we don't get to see our boys play much.. get involved.. we're at Romsey and Lancefield over the next two weeks.. if you have any form of feedback.. I'm the guy doning the red hat and runners.. talk to me.. I'd love to hear from you.. :)

Settle down champ, no need to have a conniption fit ! Sheeesh ! I love what your doing. :eek: But YOU did ask for feedback ??? Dont go shooting the messenger when someone goes & gives you some !!!! :confused:

PS........
I'm sorry pal, but I dont EVER remember making your acquaintance ! :confused:

Hey, your in a bit of a mischievous mood today Sly ! Have a good week-end or something mate ???.......... & WHERE did I say anything untoward about the girl ??? :confused:
Young Rex Hunt there has been crowing for weeks that he wanted some feed back on the call......... All I did was give him some ! :confused:
.......We could still carry on with the equine theme,.... If you'd prefer ? :D
Gday mate, I'm not being mischievous, just sick of people potting others on this forum, Chris hasn't met you and if your not happy about a few things, then have a chat with him on Sunday instead of bagging him on this forum, i think what they are doing is great for everyone concerned and its great to see someone show a bit of passion about their craft, however its your right to have your say, but i think your better than that, your feedback is mostly positive and you love the RDFL so it suprises me that you dont see what these guys are doing is for the benifit off all of us, even if you dont think they are good at what they do. For what its worth, i think they are having a go! just like the rest of us.

I tend to agree, too tough on these guys who are giving their time to provide air time to our great competition....

Actually OMNI, you have the perfect head for radio, and now you have an invite onto the airwaves, even better!!! :thumbsu:

Oh yeah, good on you ! I reckon I could do it. :thumbsu: But as if I'm gunna do a game whilst Riddell are still involved ??? :eek: THE ONLY way that would happen "chuckles", is if YOU were sitting right beside me doing it too !
Sorta open yourself up to howls of BIAS now dont you IMS ???
Not to mention giving up what little shred of anonymity we have left on HERE !
NOW thats something I need in my life again....... More sicko cyba stalkers, threatening PM messages & brain dead abusive texts !!! Oh great, bring that on again. :cool:

Oh yeah, good on you ! I reckon I could do it. :thumbsu: But as if I'm gunna do a game whilst Riddell are still involved ??? :eek: THE ONLY way that would happen "chuckles", is if YOU were sitting right beside me doing it too !
Sorta open yourself up to howls of BIAS now dont you IMS ???
Not to mention giving up what little shred of anonymity we have left on HERE !
NOW thats something I need in my life again....... More sicko cyba stalkers, threatening PM messages & brain dead abusive texts !!! Oh great, bring that on again. :cool:
Dont know what your on about mate, all im saying is i think its great to have them involved, thats it, in a nut shell, dont understand the part about cyba stalkers or threatening PM messages.

Gday mate, I'm not being mischievous, just sick of people potting others on this forum, Chris hasn't met you and if your not happy about a few things, then have a chat with him on Sunday instead of bagging him on this forum, i think what they are doing is great for everyone concerned and its great to see someone show a bit of passion about their craft, however its your right to have your say, but i think your better than that, your feedback is mostly positive and you love the RDFL so it suprises me that you dont see what these guys are doing is for the benifit off all of us, even if you dont think they are good at what they do. For what its worth, i think they are having a go! just like the rest of us.

Could'nt agree more mate. :thumbsu: Someone having a go, is always better than the alternative....... NOTHING !

Dont know what your on about mate, all im saying is i think its great to have them involved, thats it, in a nut shell, dont understand the part about cyba stalkers or threatening PM messages.

No, that was ment for IMS Sly........ I'm sure HE is being a little mischievous ! ;)