RDFL Thread 2011 (Part 2)

Third year is a row for Macedon V Diggers in an elimination final which is remarkable. Do you think the Cats are better placed this year to change the result of the last 2 years?

Is it 3rd year in a row or 4th year?? Have a feeling it might be 4 in a row.

If Macedon can dish up what they did in the 1st half, they are going to be a very competitive in the game.

An announcement on the Senior Finals venues will be made by close of business on Friday 26th August.

In saying that, it would take a few massive results for the ladder to change too much from here. So the first week of finals look like this

Qualifying Final - Romsey Vs Riddell
1st Elimination Final - Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Wallan
2nd Elimination Final - Macedon Vs Diggers Rest

I know the senior ladder wont change mate :D

All 6 of our senior teams (footy and netball) will be playing finals and I was curious about how spread out they will be. Will just have to wait till Friday to find out.

I know the senior ladder wont change mate :D

All 6 of our senior teams (footy and netball) will be playing finals and I was curious about how spread out they will be. Will just have to wait till Friday to find out.

Yeah, the balancing act of trying to keep sides together at this stage of the season will have to take place as per normal, so while the grounds might be announced, the actual games and where they will be held might not be announced until Monday, the lower grades and netball are usually driven by the where the senior sides are playing as much as possible.

Is it 3rd year in a row or 4th year?? Have a feeling it might be 4 in a row.

If Macedon can dish up what they did in the 1st half, they are going to be a very competitive in the game.

It's the fourth year.. the first time around they played on the Bloods home ground at the same time the Bombers belted the Hawks in the Qualifying final at Macpherson park... when the Cats are hot, they're hot!

chris are you guys broadcasting the junior grandfinals this week:)

In a dream world mate.. we had a few of the Romsey junior lads with us at half time talking up their win to advance through to the big dance.. with a bit of luck.. we'll get a few winners along over the first week of the finals! :p hopefully we get some ripping games this sunday!

Was there enough tissues at the ground on satday to wipe the egg off pedos face when cousins didn't fly in, in the helicopter, he must of been keen as mustard to play, changing his number and all
Gday mate!, Jouno's will do & say anything for a story, they have fed off this story for months now, they ask questions digging for things that may or may not be their, when it comes to Ben you know where their heading most of the time, so when a question is fired at you, that you dont want to answer, you have to be very carefull in what answer you give. No egg here mate, just happy to have graced his company!

Well said old son.:):thumbsu:

Any chance of getting it up for next season mate ? If so, you would think the scheduling could be managed a whole lot easier pre- the 2012 draw being done. ie - getting the big game up on a Sunday.......& against a worthy opposition ! ;)
Anyway pal, kudos to you for at least having a crack in the first place. :thumbsu:

Any chance of getting it up for next season mate ? If so, you would think the scheduling could be managed a whole lot easier pre- the 2012 draw being done. ie - getting the big game up on a Sunday.......& against a worthy opposition ! ;)
Anyway pal, kudos to you for at least having a crack in the first place. :thumbsu:

Agree totally OMNI :thumbsu: Did you get over to Broadford on the weekend? I watched the 3rds, had a quick yarn to Porky then headed north to Avenel. Ground looked in reasonable nick, with the forecast it should be in good shape for ya Qualifying Final Satdy week. I look forward to a chat on the day. A mate behind the bar said several Riddell chaps commented on Satdy they're more worried about Sunbury Kanga's than Romsey, is that true???

Dont know what he is doing next year, if it's possible would be great.If you dont try, you dont get.

Looking at the ladder, there is really only one realistic change that could take place after this round of games and that is 2nd and 3rd spot.

Riddell have a slight percentage advantage over Sunbury at this stage, so the results of those two games will be the ones with the most interest.

Reckon Lancefield hosting Rockbank could give the Tigers their first and only win of the season, the way the Rams have been travelling.

Does anybody know where venues have been selected for the finals? I read someone say we find out friday but clubs would know so they could start finding helpers you would think?

Agree totally OMNI :thumbsu: Did you get over to Broadford on the weekend? I watched the 3rds, had a quick yarn to Porky then headed north to Avenel. Ground looked in reasonable nick, with the forecast it should be in good shape for ya Qualifying Final Satdy week. I look forward to a chat on the day. A mate behind the bar said several Riddell chaps commented on Satdy they're more worried about Sunbury Kanga's than Romsey, is that true???

Yes I made the decent trek up to sunny Broadford on Saturday Doon'. (Did the right thing & left a few $$$ at the local pub TAB too ! :cool:) I reckon it must be over 30 years since I've had reason to visit the reserve up there ! The ground did indeed look pretty good, although I was later informed that it was a little slippery under foot. Facilities looked ok. I wish the club all the best with their hosting of the upcoming Final. :thumbsu:
Had a chat to Finchy before the start of the seniors. Seems like a really nice bloke........Plus "HE" knows how to pick a winner, at very good odds as well !
I must say Doon' I havent heard any of the Riddell boys expressing a preference on who they would or wouldn't like to play come Finals time. :confused:
That type of mindset is pretty counter-productive I would have thought anyway...... Focus on the job at hand, & then you wont have any unexpected surprises come game day........ It aint rocket science ! ;)

Anyway pal, look us up on Quali' day up there....... I'll be the bloke drinking Johnies, eating darts, & standing in a pile of no good tote tickets pulling his hair out !!! :eek:

Looking at the ladder, there is really only one realistic change that could take place after this round of games and that is 2nd and 3rd spot.

Riddell have a slight percentage advantage over Sunbury at this stage, so the results of those two games will be the ones with the most interest.

Reckon Lancefield hosting Rockbank could give the Tigers their first and only win of the season, the way the Rams have been travelling.

What type of margins do you think pal would see Sunbury leap frog Riddell on the ladder ?

Yes I made the decent trek up to sunny Broadford on Saturday Doon'. (Did the right thing & left a few $$$ at the local pub TAB too ! :cool:) I reckon it must be over 30 years since I've had reason to visit the reserve up there ! The ground did indeed look pretty good, although I was later informed that it was a little slippery under foot. Facilities looked ok. I wish the club all the best with their hosting of the upcoming Final. :thumbsu:
Had a chat to Finchy before the start of the seniors. Seems like a really nice bloke........Plus "HE" knows how to pick a winner, at very good odds as well !
I must say Doon' I havent heard any of the Riddell boys expressing a preference on who they would or wouldn't like to play come Finals time. :confused:
That type of mindset is pretty counter-productive I would have thought anyway...... Focus on the job at hand, & then you wont have any unexpected surprises come game day........ It aint rocket science ! ;)

Anyway pal, look us up on Quali' day up there....... I'll be the bloke drinking Johnies, eating darts, & standing in a pile of no good tote tickets pulling his hair out !!! :eek:

Finchy is a top fella, gave me an opportunity to work with him in his first ever coaching gig 10-11 years ago when it's fair to say I was coming out of a pretty bad period in life. I wouldn't have had the fun, a bit of success, met some really great people or still be dabbling in footy now if it wasn't for Matt. His family have had a few handy runners over the years, his dear old mum has bred a few so yeh . . . he does know a little bit about them.

I'll be sure to come say hi Satdy week :thumbsu:

Enjoyed your chat with Finey, Sly. Well Done, represented the redbacks and the league nicely:thumbsu:

Couldn't agree more, great interview and what a great advertisement for the RDFL by Peddo then :thumbsu: . . . and good to hear Finey and Paul Daffy ask the question as to why the bloody hell we are deemed a metro footy league ;)

Thanks Sprech! Someone informed me that the RDFL was financially better off as metro, didnt want to say that on radio as may not be fact!
HI GUYS JUST TO LET PEOPLE NO THAT THERE WILL BE 4 GRAND FINALS FOR THE JUNIORS ON SUNDAY AT ROMSEY PARK STARTING AT 9.20 FIRST GAME AND THE MAIN GAME WILL KICK OFF AT 2.15 BEING THE UNDER 16 WOODEND V ROMSEY WILL BE A CRACKING GAME... SOME OF THE NAMES AND PLAYERS IN IT ARE, AND NOW STARS :thumbsu:ROMSEY HAS NATHAN BLAIR TRAINED WITH VIC METRO AND A GUN, ANGUS STOREY BIG STRONG AND SUPER STAR, RICKY WOOD VERY VERY GOOD FOOTBALLER, JAKE THE (SNAKE) LEVER I WONT SAY TO MUCH ABOUT HIM PEOPLE NO WHY, ALSO JACK BURLY STAR IN THE MAKING:thumbsu:AND FOR WOODEND:thumbsu: DANIEL TUNN WILL GO BIG PLACES AND GREAT KID BRIGHT FUTURE, MICK CROZIER SUPER TALENT AND WAS BEST ON GROUND LAST WEEK AGAINST RUPO FOR MINE.... MATRICATI LITTLE FELLA WITH HUGE FUTURE SO GUYS AND GIRLS FROM ALL CLUBS IF YOUR NOT DOING ANYTHING ON SUNDAY COME TO ROMSEY PARK AND WATCH THESE KIDS OF THE FUTURE YOU MAY WELL BE PLAYING WITH THEM OR AGAINST THESE KIDS BEFORE YOU NO IT, SUPPORT THE KIDS AND THE AND THE R.D.F.L GO REDBACKS P.S :thumbsu:THE UNDER 16 BOYS LOVED THE NIGHT OUT WITH PEDO... AND BENNY TALBOT ON WEDNESDAY NIGHT THEY TOOK IN EVERYTHING YOU BOTH SAID AND DONE FOR THEM CHEERS COOONNNNAAALLLIIINNCCCOOO YOU BEAUTY.....

Round 18

The final round of the season, and although not much can change ladder wise, it is a big round for some sides looking to finalize their preparations for finals and some that want to end 2011 on a high note.

Kilmore Vs Woodend/Hesket
Both of these sides would need to win by a massive amount and hope that Wallan faces the same fate to make it.
With not too much riding on the game, the Blues have the Premiership Reunion on for the day, this might be enough inspiration to see them finish off the season on a high note and win this week.
Kilmore by 15 points

Diggers Rest Vs Romsey
Romsey win

Lancefield Vs Rockbank
Can the Tigers pick up their only win for the season, on recent form of the Rams, you could suggest so, a loss here could consign Rockbank to 2nd last on the ladder, a very disappointing end to the season. At home, the Tigers should be able to spread and open the game up giving them every chance, but the Rams will want to finish off the season on a positive, they probably have just too many classy players for the Tigers.
Rockbank by 12 points

Riddell Vs Wallan
The Magpies have all but wrapped up a finals spot with the big win last week, but they need to go into finals with their tails up if they are any chance to get past the first week. A big loss here wouldn't be the best preparation.
The Bombers have peaked at exactly the right time, they head into the finals the in form side.
Riddell by 40 points

Melton Centrals Vs Broadford
Centrals have had a rough year, but would love to finish on a high note, a win would see them finish only 1 game outside the six, which would be a great result considering the injuries they have had this year.
Broadford could hoist themselves out of 2nd last place which would highlight how much they have improved in 2011. Should be a great game for the fans.
Centrals by 5 points

Match of the Round
Macedon Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
The Cats will be looking to back up last weeks big win in front of their home crowd, a disappointing effort against the Kangaroos the first time around will be the motivation.
The Kangas are headed toward a big finals series, a big win here could see them force their way back into 2nd spot, so plenty rides on this contest.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 20 points.

1st Week of Finals

Saturday 3rd September
Qualifying Final
Harley Hammond Reserve Broadford
1st Vs 2nd

Sunday 4th September
1st Elimination Final
Boardman Reserve - Sunbury
3rd Vs 6th

Sunday 4th September
2nd Elimination Final
Diggers Rest Recreational Reserve - Diggers Rest
4th Vs 5th

Re: Round 18

1st Week of Finals

Saturday 3rd September
Qualifying Final
Harley Hammond Reserve Broadford
1st Vs 2nd

Sunday 4th September
1st Elimination Final
Boardman Reserve - Sunbury
3rd Vs 6th

Sunday 4th September
2nd Elimination Final
Diggers Rest Recreational Reserve - Diggers Rest
4th Vs 5th
[/B]

Geez you'd have to consider Romsey a bit stiff!!! Or perhaps Wallan and Macedon more stiff for drawing the Kanga's and Diggers with the luxury of home finals - whilst the Redbacks have to travel to the bush to play their first final.

Tend to agree whole heartedly with you there Doon'. :confused:
WHY are some clubs getting HOME Finals ???
This fixturing for the first week is baffling to say the least !
Why isnt the Sunbury v Wallan game being played at Diggers & the Diggers v Macedon game being played at Sunbury ??? :confused:

And by the way, I am still hearing that Lancefield DID NOT put in for ANY Finals this year ! (anyone from Lancefield wanna clarify this ?)
If this is true, it makes a real mockery of the Leagues "so called" tendering process thats for sure !!! :cool:

Any danger of some scores today please? Can't get 100.7 too well up here in Bendigo!