5.00 Sunbury
7.00 Wallan, Romsey
10/1 Rockbank

Under 18s
1.50 Riddel
2.80 Sunbury
3.50 Woodsy
50/1 Macedon, Lancefield, Wallan

. On top of paying for the right, club's also have to foot the bill to give all the cronies a feed at half time.

There are comps around that actually "lease" venue's from it's club's come finals, with the money paid to the club's to host to also help cover of the half time "Refreshments". At the end of the year, the club's also get a dividend from the league's revenue made throughout those 4 weeks.

Apparently some clubs have asked to no longer host half time president lunches during the season, that was dissapointing to hear. putting it down to cost.
The presidents lunch should cost you nothing, If clubs ar serious like most are. You send a couple of guys around with the raffle tickets making sure you get everybody buy a ticket, The raffle should easily cover the costs. unless your serving prawns, Lobster and crown Lager.
Also dont give the tickets out to people that dont support your club.
As for the lunch in the finals everybody in there is picked by the league and generally will put there hand in their pocket.
unless you serve fish fingers and tooheys:D

Odss for the flag
(not really taking any moeny!)

1.60 Romsey
2.20 Riddel
5.00 Sunbury kangas
20/1 Diggers, Macedon
100/1 Wallan

Twos
1.60 Riddel
2.00 Macedon
5.00 Sunbury
7.00 Wallan, Romsey
10/1 Rockbank

Under 18s
1.50 Riddel
2.80 Sunbury
3.50 Woodsy

Week one finals:

Riddell to defeat Romsey by 14 points
Macedon to defeat Diggers Rest by 5 points
Sunbury to defeat Wallan by 38 points

Apparently some clubs have asked to no longer host half time president lunches during the season, that was dissapointing to hear. putting it down to cost.
The presidents lunch should cost you nothing, If clubs ar serious like most are. You send a couple of guys around with the raffle tickets making sure you get everybody buy a ticket, The raffle should easily cover the costs. unless your serving prawns, Lobster and crown Lager.
Also dont give the tickets out to people that dont support your club.
As for the lunch in the finals everybody in there is picked by the league and generally will put there hand in their pocket.
unless you serve fish fingers and tooheys:D

Onya blues12 :thumbsu: yeh it shouldn't cost ya if the raffle covers it. My problem with clubs pulling the pin on it could effect supporters. I know a few times in 2009 when we asked people to do jobs they couldn't because they "had to attend the half time" :eek:

Why can't it be done after the final siren, get both playing groups in there as well and put refreshments on then????

Following on from Bomba's prediction's I'll have a stab at

Romsey by 29pts
Sunbury by 55pts
Macedon by 4pts

From all reports there's plenty of that going on between Wallan and Kilmore at the minute after the untimely tribunal hearing this week. Just another case of how well the RDFL is travelling, 6-7 weeks after the event a hearing takes place.......not good enough :thumbsdown:

Can anyone confirm if there's been enough successful "tenders" to host the remaining finals? Im hearing maybe not. On top of paying for the right, club's also have to foot the bill to give all the cronies a feed at half time.

There are comps around that actually "lease" venue's from it's club's come finals, with the money paid to the club's to host to also help cover of the half time "Refreshments". At the end of the year, the club's also get a dividend from the league's revenue made throughout those 4 weeks.

Of course there hasn't been Doon', its as obvious as the nose on ya face !
The Finals fixturing so far this season has been a joke. :thumbsdown:
RDFL website has had no news on it ! Venues have been gazetted as hosting finals, then they have been changed ! STILL some Finals venues TBA !
All this while two of our very BEST & CENTRAL venues lay idle this Final series !
Mind boggling stuff indeed ! :confused:
Its time for the head honcho Ollie Mathews to show some leadership here and FIX the impasse...... & FIX it FAST !!!
Its all right strutting around like peacocks & sticking your snouts in the trough at half time & on Bowen night. But when there is an issue of this magnitude. IT NEEDS FIXING NOW !!! :mad:
No more passing the buck to the paid full timers. No more duck shoving. No more playing the blame game ! Just get out there Ollie, TALK to the Club Presidents, show some proper conciliation skills, & get this situation sorted.............. & if you cant, maybe its time you stepped aside & let someone else have a crack !

Yes I'm pissed off !!!
All because we dont get to see OUR best footy played at our BEST venues ! :thumbsdown:
How many more years does this have to go on for ??? :confused:

Oh & onto the stuff that gives us ALL the reason to get fired up & without which a whole lotta people out there would be out of a job !

Riddell by 16pts over the Redbacks.
Sunbury by 98pts over Wallan.
& Diggers to once again prove to Macedon that you cant go to sleep after half time & still expect to win. Burra by 25pts.

Good luck to ALL involved in Finals this Week-End.

Hope the wind that is being predicted doesnt spoil what should be a good contest between the top 2

Romsey by 36pts
Sunbury by 48pts
Macedon by 15pts

Of course there hasn't been Doon', its as obvious as the nose on ya face !
The Finals fixturing so far this season has been a joke. :thumbsdown:
RDFL website has had no news on it ! Venues have been gazetted as hosting finals, then they have been changed ! STILL some Finals venues TBA !
All this while two of our very BEST & CENTRAL venues lay idle this Final series !
Mind boggling stuff indeed ! :confused:
Its time for the head honcho Ollie Mathews to show some leadership here and FIX the impasse...... & FIX it FAST !!!
Its all right strutting around like peacocks & sticking your snouts in the trough at half time & on Bowen night. But when there is an issue of this magnitude. IT NEEDS FIXING NOW !!! :mad:
No more passing the buck to the paid full timers. No more duck shoving. No more playing the blame game ! Just get out there Ollie, TALK to the Club Presidents, show some proper conciliation skills, & get this situation sorted.............. & if you cant, maybe its time you stepped aside & let someone else have a crack !

Yes I'm pissed off !!!
All because we dont get to see OUR best footy played at our BEST venues ! :thumbsdown:
How many more years does this have to go on for ??? :confused:

Oh & onto the stuff that gives us ALL the reason to get fired up & without which a whole lotta people out there would be out of a job !

Riddell by 16pts over the Redbacks.
Sunbury by 98pts over Wallan.
& Diggers to once again prove to Macedon that you cant go to sleep after half time & still expect to win. Burra by 25pts.

Good luck to ALL involved in Finals this Week-End.

Omni, not sure which 2 grounds your talking about, but i'm sure your correct. Romsey took on an extra game this week, and I think there is still a vacant semi.
Not sure why Diggers let go a home final, and not sure why Romsey took on an extra game if fees are too high!!

Romsey/Riddell - draw
Sunbury - 7 goals, due to predicted rain
Diggers - 6 goals - same reason

Good luck to all and the RDFL

Seniours
Riddell over Romsey by seven points
Sunbury over Wallan by 69 points
Diggers over Macedon by thirteen points

Reserves
Riddell over Macedon by sixteen points
Sunbury over Romsey by 27 points
Rockbank over Wallan by five points

I hope the league change the finals system next season. i think that 6/12 to make finals is ok but if we did the same system as the Alberton League. I still feel that the 3rd placed side in RDFL has a better advantage of making the GF in 2 games than the second placed side.

Anyway this is how it should look like.

Week 1
Macedon vs Diggers Rest
Sunbury vs Wallan
Romsey and Riddel week off

Week 2
Romsey vs Riddel for GF spot
winner of Macedon/Diggers vs winner of Sunbury/wallan

Week 3
Loser of Romsey/Riddel vs winner of other match

Week 4 Grand final

This system gives the top 2 teams a much better advantage.

Anyway my tips for today
Seniors
Riddell over Romsey by 15 points
Sunbury over Wallan by 26 points (sunbury to have 1 qtr to blow wallan out but wallan to stay with them for the rest of the match)
Macedon over Diggers by 20 points

Reserves
Riddell over Macedon by 21 points
Sunbury over Romsey by 40 points
Wallan over Rockbank by 31 points

Great win by Riddell today. Now the pressure in on Romsey to win 3 games in a row - most likely against Sunbury, Riddell and one of Macedon or Diggers if they want the 2011 flag. From Black Cavier to My Little Pony in the space of a few weeks!!!!

tuned in to highlands 100.7 fm to listen to romsey riddell game after 15 min and no score given turned off:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Yes Oldie, agree 100%. while it is good to have games we can listen to, its not good heraring the actual callers, not giving scores and chatting about things totally away from the game. They must learn the players names and call the game as it is played and not let themselves out of that. Take this as constructive critism gents as there is plenty of room for improvement. Tune into 105.1 and listen to Sth Bendigo v Sandhurst tonight as the boys on fresh fm do a great job.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Romsey have to the do it the hard way now, but surely their best is still good enough. Couldn't believe my ears in the crowd, the same blokes who 3-4 weeks ago were saying how good things are going were the same $hitcanning everyone.

To play that poorly and just go down should still have the fires burning in the Romsey bellies. Riddell looked swtiched on, had greater numbers at the majority of the contests and actually supported each other with blocks, shepherds etc. If Romsey get that "team first" factor into their play for the next 3 weeks and they're still good enough IMO.

Can't remember the last time a team kicked a half decent score (any idea OMNI) against Riddell though, meaning whoever wants to crack them must find away to challenge a real lock down mindset.

Yes Oldie, agree 100%. while it is good to have games we can listen to, its not good heraring the actual callers, not giving scores and chatting about things totally away from the game. They must learn the players names and call the game as it is played and not let themselves out of that. Take this as constructive critism gents as there is plenty of room for improvement. Tune into 105.1 and listen to Sth Bendigo v Sandhurst tonight as the boys on fresh fm do a great job.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Hey guys!
Thanks for the feedback.. always appreciate it and thankful for anyone that tunes in, even for a minute.. instead of listening to the call on Fresh FM, I went back and listened to the tape.. will admit it wasn't the best performance by yours truly on the day but would love to acknowledge the outstanding efforts of Jess and KD who stepped up as special comments for the first time this year with our other special comments legends tied up with other volunteer gigs over the weekend.
Amen on the lack of scores.. I'd received a lot of feedback during the week on the opposite.. not making reference to the margin ahead of the scores, its all about creating an even balance and its a bit of hard work, but we'll get there :) I know we do a pretty good job as a collective group of volunteers to bring the action with recollection of all players and getting in deep with the interaction of all areas in the league.
It's a first genuine crack at this year and we're probably at a disadvantage with the BFL running alongside the RDFL to listen to how Fresh do it and lets be honest, we could listen to night games but we're hanging out in the social rooms after each game and more often than not, get kicked out afterwards for closing up and for mine, I love it.. we have a bit of fun and we meet more people around the league on any week than most do in a season... why sit back and watch the footy when we could be in the heart of it?
Thanks for the ongoing support.. our aim is not to just bring footy to the people, its more about bringing a community radio station to the people.. if we get a few members, presenters and more sponsors out of being in the face of the public, we're doing our job. I hear a lot of feedback daily from those that tune in, all different people.. those who sponsor us are getting some pretty good exposure I'd say =)
Thanks for the constructive criticism.. we got the ball rolling a bit with scores/margins/time/quarter/frequency/scorer all wrapped into 10 seconds and the special comments team have a harder job. We'll be fired up over the next three weekends and we're looking at doing all three games for the Grand Final.. =)

Odss for the flag
(not really taking any moeny!)

1.60 Romsey
2.20 Riddel
5.00 Sunbury kangas
20/1 Diggers, Macedon
100/1 Wallan

Twos
1.60 Riddel
2.00 Macedon
5.00 Sunbury
7.00 Wallan, Romsey
10/1 Rockbank

Under 18s
1.50 Riddel
2.80 Sunbury
3.50 Woodsy

What are the latest odds for the senior flag, I reckon they've shifted a bit over the weekend.

Hey guys!
Thanks for the feedback.. always appreciate it and thankful for anyone that tunes in, even for a minute.. instead of listening to the call on Fresh FM, I went back and listened to the tape.. will admit it wasn't the best performance by yours truly on the day but would love to acknowledge the outstanding efforts of Jess and KD who stepped up as special comments for the first time this year with our other special comments legends tied up with other volunteer gigs over the weekend.
Amen on the lack of scores.. I'd received a lot of feedback during the week on the opposite.. not making reference to the margin ahead of the scores, its all about creating an even balance and its a bit of hard work, but we'll get there :) I know we do a pretty good job as a collective group of volunteers to bring the action with recollection of all players and getting in deep with the interaction of all areas in the league.
It's a first genuine crack at this year and we're probably at a disadvantage with the BFL running alongside the RDFL to listen to how Fresh do it and lets be honest, we could listen to night games but we're hanging out in the social rooms after each game and more often than not, get kicked out afterwards for closing up and for mine, I love it.. we have a bit of fun and we meet more people around the league on any week than most do in a season... why sit back and watch the footy when we could be in the heart of it?
Thanks for the ongoing support.. our aim is not to just bring footy to the people, its more about bringing a community radio station to the people.. if we get a few members, presenters and more sponsors out of being in the face of the public, we're doing our job. I hear a lot of feedback daily from those that tune in, all different people.. those who sponsor us are getting some pretty good exposure I'd say =)
Thanks for the constructive criticism.. we got the ball rolling a bit with scores/margins/time/quarter/frequency/scorer all wrapped into 10 seconds and the special comments team have a harder job. We'll be fired up over the next three weekends and we're looking at doing all three games for the Grand Final.. =)

great post mate. :) will be tuning in :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Romsey have to the do it the hard way now, but surely their best is still good enough. Couldn't believe my ears in the crowd, the same blokes who 3-4 weeks ago were saying how good things are going were the same $hitcanning everyone.

To play that poorly and just go down should still have the fires burning in the Romsey bellies. Riddell looked swtiched on, had greater numbers at the majority of the contests and actually supported each other with blocks, shepherds etc. If Romsey get that "team first" factor into their play for the next 3 weeks and they're still good enough IMO.

Can't remember the last time a team kicked a half decent score (any idea OMNI) against Riddell though, meaning whoever wants to crack them must find away to challenge a real lock down mindset.

Yeah, I must say it tests my memory there too Doon'.
Look, I spose Riddell just play an accountable style of footy where each Bomber player MUST also have a defensive side to their game, locking onto their opponent. This tends to contain their opposition, "throttling" them, if you will, until the other side breaks. Then the Bomber boys just go on their merry way. To Romseys credit yesterday though, they just kept coming & coming. So the fact that the game turned out to be a bit of a low scoring affair is no surprise................ On the up side, I did just happen to pick the result & margin for the clash too. :)

Facilities & hospitality at Broadford were first rate too mate, although the surface of the ground was extremely harder, patchy & less forgiving than it was 2 weeks ago. To be quite honest I dunno HOW it got signed off on, for play on the day ??? :confused:

What are the latest odds for the senior flag, I reckon they've shifted a bit over the weekend.
IMO:

Seniours
Riddell $2.10
Sunbury $2.50
Romsey $4
Macedon $16

Reserves
Macedon $2
Riddell $3
Sunbury $3.50
Rockbank $16

Went out to the car at half time at Romsey to grab my phone and on the way back in was accused of sneaking in and nearly harassed into paying again. RDFL gestapo at their best. Anyway, how the hell, 7 days out from the Romsey V Macedon Semi can the venue still be TBA???????, What the hell is goin on?:confused:

yes buddy where you went today to watch your young under 18s that were it will be buddy>>>> will be placed on web site tomorrow just got a phone call and we are all happy to host it:thumbsu: was a great day for all sides at Romsey park hope you were happy did you get one of the BIG BURGERS OR A COLD ONE???? but all up good crowd good people and good place for footy and netball:thumbsu: we say bring on next week..... cccccooooonnnnnaaallliinnkkkcccoo you beauty :D

Good to hear prez, romsey a great venue for finals, ground in great nic (except for the light stands), must be for the boys for training?, good to hear ull have a home final, had 2 burgers and a few nice cold ones. Go Hawks

AS I SAID YESTERDAY MATE THANK WEBBY AND THE BOYS AND TO YOU TO, FOR HAVING US TUESDAY NIGHT AND SAT, IT WAS GREAT:thumbsu:THE RESULT WAS NOT:thumbsdown:....BUT I WOULD BE PRETTY UPSET IF OUR CROWD WAS UP TO THAT:thumbsdown: AS A PRES WE DONT NEED THESE KIND OF HANGERS ON.... WIN/LOOSE/DRAW WE ARE A CLUB AND THAT SHOULD GO FOR EVERYONE ?? EVERY CLUB AND EVERY SIDE:) RESPECT IS A HUGE WORD IN FOOTY AND IN LIFE EVERYONE...... SHOULD LEARN FROM THIS..... ONCE AGAIN THANKS AGAIN IT WAS A PLEASURE BEING ON YOUR GROUND CHEERS CCCCOOOONNNAALLIIINNCCKKKOOOO YOU BEAUTY :thumbsu: ONE WISE MAN TOLD ME ONE DAY IF YOU DONT WORK HARD ITS NOT WORTH HAVING........:footy:

Good to hear prez, romsey a great venue for finals, ground in great nic (except for the light stands), must be for the boys for training?, good to hear ull have a home final, had 2 burgers and a few nice cold ones. Go Hawks
CANT DO MUCH ABOUT THE LIGHT STANDS, AND THEY WORK GROUSE FOR TRAINING???WILL SEE HOW THE WEATHER GOES AND MAYBE WATER AT THE END OF THE WEEK JUST SEE HOW IT PANS OUT NOT TO BAD UNDER FOOT THE BOYS WERE SAYING TODAY..... GOOD TO HERE YOU HAD A GOOD FEED:thumbsu:.....AND I HOPE YOUR YOUNG FELLAS GO ALL THE WAY....JUST FOR THE BIG GUM:thumbsu:

What are they for then???, light stands i mean?, and as far as the big Gum goes, every Hawk win is for him, Go hawks