RDFL Thread - 2013

2518437_1_O.jpg

Honestly who would of came to watch romsey and Broadford if Baz didn't play ??
Maybe 500 max
And if u get ur facts right Broadford chose not to fight the charge they took the 1 week
They explored all options before making their decision not to contest the charge
No I didn't imply that the tribunal colluded not to hear the case .. U did..
Also u obviously did read my post properly
The tribunal have the prerogative to hear his evidence by phone and that is all Broadford was asking
Why wouldn't that be a reasonable thing to do

Can I ask a silly question ?.........Was big Baz EVEN available for selection this week ???

A week seems about right for what Baz did. Undisciplined act but not heavy contact. Seen worse hits get off though.

Amazing week of games. Will Welsh and Fish play for Sunbury this week? Pretty sure they have been out injured and that could be important.

A week seems about right for what Baz did. Undisciplined act but not heavy contact. Seen worse hits get off though.

Amazing week of games. Will Welsh and Fish play for Sunbury this week? Pretty sure they have been out injured and that could be important.

The Bombers will get a few back from injury again this week, but will still be missing a few, everyone is missing a few at this stage of the year though it seems.

The Sunday game will be a ripper and well worth the watch, agreed though, some fantastic games on this week around the league. :thumbsu:

If any ex-Riddell players from the 70's post here
there is a reunion -13 July at the Riddell-Romsey game from 12pm
$20 per person
contact G Nolan( Collis)
PM me if you want his emaill address

What's your view on Jobe Watson & what should happen to your beloved Bombers?
If you listen to anyone from the Olympic movement, if the AFL are playing by the WADA/ASADA rule book the Bombers are in deep trouble. If an athlete tests positive during competition they are stripped of anything they win, whether it is proven they took an illegal substance intentionally or not.

anybody else hear the call on sen yestrday about a group of braodford supporters having a go at the umpires after last weeks game? i was down near the goals so cant comment but it wasnt really talking about the spectators but more the lack of protection for the officials when these big games and crowd happen across all the leagues in general

Get ya hand off it!

Must admit I was in the car with my wife and we heard the call too. I sent a text to a few people I thought may have been listening to SEN 1116 to see if they heard it also.

The bloke said he went to the game Friday, and gave the impression he goes to a few of these one off type games that ex-AFL stars play in and then remarked about what he deemed would better assist the umpires on such occasions. Didn’t put it across in a way that painted anyone in bad light, reckon it was more along the lines of “as the umpires left the ground through the Broadford supporters, one bloke with a can in his hand followed them for a short distance”

One bloke is not a group as cal suggested was said.

I too saw the Broadford person he made reference to follow the umpires for a little bit as their made way to the changerooms. Agree in that It didn’t look good but the fact there was no complaint made goes to show that the umps didn’t feel threatened, perhaps the guy had a couple of hundred on the result - heavens forbid I've expressed disgust at a jockey or two over the years ha ha!!!

So again please, let’s not allow the actions of 1 overshadow what was a great night for the RDFL, Romsey did a great thing in coming up with the concept, Broadford supported it in a really positive fashion which meant Baz could play (he couldn’t had it been Satdy) ..... time to move onto Rd. 12 with some enthralling match-ups that can have a fair baring on things.

Diggers v Romsey; Sunbury v Riddell and also the Broadford v Melton and Rockbank v Macedon games have a lot riding on them. Come ot think of it Lancefield v Wallan would mathematically have the victor still dreaming of finals, and Rupo needs a win against Woodend to keep its hopes alive.

I’ll go with .....

Diggers
Sunbury
Broadford
Rockbank
Wallan
Rupo

So will Riddell finally lose this Saturday or will they be able to take down Sunbury at Boardman, whichever way, it's going to definitely be match of the round. I'm spewing that I can't get there to see it.

This weeks Sunbury V Riddell game is on Sunday at Boardman reserve. It's something the Riddell Footy club initiated last year which worked well for them as hopefully it does for us. Should be a big crowd and a cracking game. Diggers V Romsey on the Saturday should be a massive game too, be interesting to see who gets Tuckey?

Must admit I was in the car with my wife and we heard the call too. I sent a text to a few people I thought may have been listening to SEN 1116 to see if they heard it also.

The bloke said he went to the game Friday, and gave the impression he goes to a few of these one off type games that ex-AFL stars play in and then remarked about what he deemed would better assist the umpires on such occasions. Didn’t put it across in a way that painted anyone in bad light, reckon it was more along the lines of “as the umpires left the ground through the Broadford supporters, one bloke with a can in his hand followed them for a short distance”

One bloke is not a group as cal suggested was said.

I too saw the Broadford person he made reference to follow the umpires for a little bit as their made way to the changerooms. Agree in that It didn’t look good but the fact there was no complaint made goes to show that the umps didn’t feel threatened, perhaps the guy had a couple of hundred on the result - heavens forbid I've expressed disgust at a jockey or two over the years ha ha!!!

So again please, let’s not allow the actions of 1 overshadow what was a great night for the RDFL, Romsey did a great thing in coming up with the concept, Broadford supported it in a really positive fashion which meant Baz could play (he couldn’t had it been Satdy) ..... time to move onto Rd. 12 with some enthralling match-ups that can have a fair baring on things.

Diggers v Romsey; Sunbury v Riddell and also the Broadford v Melton and Rockbank v Macedon games have a lot riding on them. Come ot think of it Lancefield v Wallan would mathematically have the victor still dreaming of finals, and Rupo needs a win against Woodend to keep its hopes alive.

I’ll go with .....

Diggers
Sunbury
Broadford
Rockbank
Wallan
Rupo

I was one of those umpires on friday and i must say that the only thing that was said by that one spectator was "how dare you report a champion". There was no swearing and other than that he came towards us there was absolutely nothing threatening about. We as a group were not at all concerned and it wasn't even mentioned in the rooms.

Talking about large crowd games and support for umpires, Romsey provided not 1 as required but 2 very suitable ground managers that were with us every step we took outside our changerooms. They did an excellent job which we really appreciated. That was the 3rd game with a large crowd i have done this season. Broadford looked after us in rd1 very well and Bacchus Marsh in the BFL were also good when Fev came to town. So there has been no issue there.

So yes, that caller (not that i heard it) was a touch off the mark in my opinion.

I seen on "the local footy show" they are going to head to Diggers to film on Saturday. It should be a high quality game and great promotion for the league.
Looking forward to see the Romsey v Diggers game tomorrow. Diggers really looking like the team to beat, probably have the best midfield outside of the AFL.

Wow - not much shocks me on big footy but you managed to take things to a whole new level. Cracking 1st post!

RDFNL R12: Rup 16.10-WH 7.7; La 15.13-Wa 9.7; Roc 9.8-Mac 8.3; DR 12.13-Rom 9.11; Bro 12.8-MC 9.8.
Don't forget Sunbury V Riddell on Sunday.

Geez Melton let a big chance slip, race for 5th and not just 6th well and truly alive now. May come down to who gets the softer of the return fixtures. Correct me if I'm wrong but is it now ....

24 - Centrals (5th)
20 - Lancefield; Macedon; Rupo
16 - Rockbank; Broadford
12 - Wallan

I was looking forward to seeing what Diggers were like today, if thats the best side they can put out on the ground, September straight exit.:thumbsdown:

Wow - not much shocks me on big footy but you managed to take things to a whole new level. Cracking 1st post!
Yes one eye, long time reader, first time poster. Not sure if Davo was fully fit today, but the rub down pre game with a 100 pound note may have got him thru the game.

I was looking forward to seeing what Diggers were like today, if thats the best side they can put out on the ground, September straight exit.:thumbsdown:

Yep you might be right there,Diggers have"nt been really pushed since round 3 at Broadford till today.Great effort from Romsey to come back and at one stage were 1 point up. 6 rounds to get a heap of top players back on the park,that's the challenge now.