RDFL Thread - 2013

G'day guys, I know the season has just finished, but whats everyone's thought on night games next year? I know I had a few conversations with Romsey this year and now considering that several clubs including the Kangas are getting lighting upgrades what are people's/players thoughts on actually scheduling night games like the BallaratFL do?
Also like to wish Micky Allen a speedy recover from what looked liked a nasty leg break.

Personally, I would like to see more night games played during the season. Just means we get to watch more RDFNL footy!!!! :thumbsu:

G'day guys, I know the season has just finished, but whats everyone's thought on night games next year? I know I had a few conversations with Romsey this year and now considering that several clubs including the Kangas are getting lighting upgrades what are people's/players thoughts on actually scheduling night games like the BallaratFL do?
Also like to wish Micky Allen a speedy recover from what looked liked a nasty leg break.

I reckon there's a lot of merit in it mate :thumbsu:

I too hope Mick's surgery went well and he has had the chance to join his team mates to celebrate their victory.

The key to night games is to have them early/late in the season. No one wants to go to a local game of footy at night time if its freezing cold and raining.

The odds of getting more favourable conditions are higher in April and August. I also wouldn't mind seeing clubs experiment with a structural change, either, where the reserves would play at 2pm, the under-18s at 4pm and the seniors at 6.15pm (allowing spectators to catch the second half of the Saturday night AFL match).

Friday night footy is OK, but its a big job for volunteers who have to back up the next day for the under-18s and reserves as they can't be played on the Friday.

Heard recently that the BFL wants to change the set up for finals next year and bring the RDFL into line with their way of doing the finals.
Basically they will have a rotating roster and different clubs will be allocated for different tasks eg Riddell may get the bar, Diggers gets the canteen and then say Romsey gets the BBQ's
Not sure if its only for the GF or for all finals
and then those three teams wouldn't get an allocation for say another ten years
Whats the thoughts out there Good idea or not ?

Heard recently that the BFL wants to change the set up for finals next year and bring the RDFL into line with their way of doing the finals.
Basically they will have a rotating roster and different clubs will be allocated for different tasks eg Riddell may get the bar, Diggers gets the canteen and then say Romsey gets the BBQ's

Load of $hit if you ask me. I think they do alright already out of the initial league fee's, fining a club coz the coach was late getting his side out of the quarter time huddle etc etc :D

Well I agree but unfortunately it's true it will happen
Also clubs will be accountable for there finances etc
The clubs decided to be a part of afl gold fields
It will however give strength to he association long term

The Bendigo and Maryborough leagues have this in place and it works a treat.. every club gets a go during the finals and it works well.. it also means that the best venue can be used multiple times :)

Rumour silly season, any big names coming into our league ? Romsey hold their list together ?
Big Bad Barry running around again ?

hi fallas....... rumour mill already!!!! heard either demon or mongrel to coach rupo?woodend to change coach.bford and Romsey advertising for new coaches.sunbury riddle rbank melton to keep same coaches.

Lancefield got a new coach also Sean Tobias as Tilley is hanging up the coaching reins. So there are a few on the move

Riddell – Troy Scoble
Diggers – Jamie Elliot
Sunbury – Chris Meacham
Romsey – TBA
Macedon – Geoff Andrews
Rupo – TBA
Centrals – Brian Wheelahan
Lancefield – Sean Tobias
Broadford – Skip Bray
Rockbank – Leigh Sporle
Wallan – Trevor Frost
Kilmore –TBA - Doona2 do you know what is happening here?
Woodend – Glenn Hopkins

Mongrel is an ex rupo legend ( If I'm not losing my mind I think we still have photo's up of the blonde bombshell ) Geez it would be nice to get him back to our club.

Riddell – Troy Scoble
Diggers – Jamie Elliot
Sunbury – Chris Meacham
Romsey – TBA
Macedon – Geoff Andrews
Rupo – TBA
Centrals – Brian Wheelahan
Lancefield – Sean Tobias
Broadford – Skip Bray
Rockbank – Leigh Sporle
Wallan – Trevor Frost
Kilmore –TBA - Doona2 do you know what is happening here?
Woodend – Glenn Hopkins
As far as I know interviews are being held this week. Whilst I'm not privvy to any info, I'm of the belief there are 3-4 candidates after one withdrew last week due to being offered a job already. The sooner the better I say, then they can get on with things and get back some of the boys that left whilst I was there and aim at winning Rd.1 to get 2014 off to a flyer :thumbsu:

Was joking today with Shauny Gordon about how bad I'm travelling .... Jayco wins Craigieburn's B&F, Kingy cums 3rd, Shaun won their two's B&F, Swinny then wins Lancefield's and young Crowler plays in a flag with West Preston 19's. Thought I was stiff not to get nominated for coach of the year but now I understand ha ha :D

In all seriousness though, that Rupo gig would be a beauty so whoever gets it are in for an enjoyable ride I reckon.

Unfortunately I could not watch the big game on Sunday. How did the umpiring compare to last year. Were there a lot of free kicks to any one side in the last 4 minutes or did the whistle get put away.?
Hey One Eye, I 'here' Romsey have some issues at the moment. Any truth in that rumour or should I have it verified by independent adjudicators before posting this skulduggery?

Asking the wrong person
Where have you been man there have been issues and major ones for a long time !
The people who had the ship pointed in the right direction had no choice to leave good people !
There was a mutiny because the ???s club not getting there way arrrr talking about skulduggery
AGM will be interesting lots questions will be asked
This club needs to be given back to the community and clarity shown
A step or two backwards is needed
As we all know this has been coming now for years ,,,,
Who is now going to sook over this
Conalinko how are you haven't herd any thing lately what's happening
Sambooka man they need you back baby ,!

The problems at Romsey need to be sorted as problems at any club aren't good for the comp or other teams. We need every team up and running so the footy flows.
Hope things are sorted out soon and we can get on with 2014 planning/. Best of luck redbacks.

The problems at Romsey need to be sorted as problems at any club aren't good for the comp or other teams. We need every team up and running so the footy flows.
Hope things are sorted out soon and we can get on with 2014 planning/. Best of luck redbacks.
Hi lads and also BLUE BOY 67 ? just to put a few things to BED i.e rumors about our great club at ROMSEY we have had a great response for the coaching senior job in 2014 with 7 applicants, which they will all be interviewed this week and early next, 1being x VFL/AFL STAR and another being x AFL STAR so we have a hard decision to make in the next week, we have a 8 man panel to decide,also have heard from four X 2011 premiership players on wanting to return to the club, the club finances, membership,personnel and supporters and all other things off the field is in a great spot a really great spot WITH GREAT PEOPLE WHO HAVE BEEN THERE FOR YEARS and also a new bunch of people wanting to jump on board, so yes it will be a great AGM!!!! we will be working with our juniors and have a program in place for the kids to transgress from the under 16 to senior football which is vitally crucial for ALL clubs so im not to sure about all these RUMORS!!!! but as they all say its silly season now i suppose and there is some silly people out there who just can not MOVE ON???........ALSO blue boy 67 heard a lot of rumors about LANCEFIELD footy club and some real shockers to, with the new coaching app???players are on the move they want out????? they are unhappy and filthy ,as Paul cook a loyal man from Lancefield never got the job as there was only 2 applicants and he missed out to a coach who has only coached at under 14s level, his to mates did the interviews, i would be shattered to if that happened to me to as Paul, is no loyalty at your club?? i ask, all the players they have got last year all returning to there previous clubs also talked to Chrissy C and he is not sure now what he will do, just had a baby and said he will see what happens, BUT as i said before BLUE BOY 67 it is silly season and they could be all just rumors?????? u tell me. and there is alot more but ITS SILLY SEASON:thumbsu:

Just look on ROMSEY FOOTBALL/NETBALL club face book pages to see how our club is going what a great last 2 weeks everyone at the club has had and the support we are getting from all involved and around town :thumbsu: