chewyonyaboot47
Draftee
- Apr 7, 2013
- AFL Club
- Richmond
have been told that Kilmore is not having a thirds this season, any truth in that? Would have thought there'd be enough young lads to field an u18.5?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
have been told that Kilmore is not having a thirds this season, any truth in that? Would have thought there'd be enough young lads to field an u18.5?
Spot on mate, seems a strange way of opening up your big footy account, hope you arent one of the lads who left trying to be funny. Between the graduating under 16s of 2012 (only 2 joined us) and those eligible still from last years finals side we had 30-31 names. Problem is as of last Tuesday only 13-14 had committed but I'm sure you're aware of that.
Dave Wightman is a cracking fella and to think there were 5-6 of "his" players from last year that didn't want to play for him is devastating, especially after all he did for them last year.
Been waiting for Baysixer to give me his spin, but he hasn't been sighted lately.
Another couple of big additions to the Bombers list just prior to the season starting.. Ant Sammut and Sam Sewell, added to some handy inclusions already.. The Bombers are looking the goods for 2013!!!
Don't even worry about division 1 mate![]()
Big inclusions for riddel, both have a fair amount of senior experience at sunbury lions. Diggers have quite few out this week, including a Bowen medalist or two. Should be an interesting game on the weekend. Looking forward to seeing how rupo go too. Heard they were pretty competitive on the weekend.Another couple of big additions to the Bombers list just prior to the season starting.. Ant Sammut and Sam Sewell, added to some handy inclusions already.. The Bombers are looking the goods for 2013!!!
Ridiculous post. Can't be bothered to explain why but in a few words we need umpires to play the game and for supporters to watch games, a shortage of them because of negativity is far from helping them take it up in their droves. Good/bad, just play and if your team is good enough, you'll win 90% of your matches... Always exceptions but get over it.
Not trying to be a smart arse but has this Baker bloke decided where he is actually playing this season? It I seems to be a saga each pre season
I don't want to get into a slanging match with you. Some players like Hall, Silvester, Tuckey, Farmer are probably paid very well and I'm sure heaps get nothing. Nothing to do with me. Good on the clubs that can pay. And good on all the people who support their club without financial help. I wish more would help.
That aside, all sports have paid umpires, referees etc. All I am saying is that we don't earn a lot to deserve in your words "a little criticism". A 14 yr old at maccas would take home more than me. All I'm asking for is a little support because we like you mainly do it for the love of the game and truly enjoy our league and only want to see it get stronger. And we need new umpires. We don't want to scare off 16 year old kids or guys that have just retired from playing because they think they will be criticised for what they do.
Also, we only get entry into the game we umpire and only get finals entry if we are umpiring. If a club wants to give us a drink its up to them. I think I got 2 cokes last season. Barely any extra incentive.
As I said, I don't want to get into a slanging match, just some support. Time to head out and umpire my first praccy for the year. Looking forward to it.
Rather than waste my time & effort on those intellectually challenged of you out there that dont have the capacity to carry on a civilised adult discussion & stay on topic OR those amateurish "Media Superstars" out there that revel in their own sycophantic self-promotion whilst actually making very little sense or worse still - constantly stating the bleeding obvious !
Instead of this negative drivel I will focus on something positive, something good, something of substance. I speak of course of "Barry Day" !
On Sunday I journeyed up the Hume Hi-Way to Broadford to see Barry Hall come back home & have a run around with his mates, in Broadfords opening round clash with Lancefield. In actual fact I had to be talked into going ! All the while on my trip up there I kept thinking Broadford v Lancefield......Lancefield v Broadford.....What the Hell am I doing, going to see this "Blockbuster" ???
After all, neither of these two sides will amount to much this season surely !
Thankfully I am glad I went. There was a bumper crowd in attendance & the atmosphere was fantastic. The venue had a real big game feel to it & the people of Broadford are to be commended for the effort they put in with their catering facilities.
I hope they made shit loads, $$$$ !
I would also like to say at this point (for all the UNDER paid pedants out there) that the Umpires on Sunday did a really great job. And whats more, I'll tell you WHY...
In a game pretty devoid of talent & skill. And with a plethora of errors & turnovers. The Umpires tried to keep the game flowing. They didn't grandstand on Barry's big day, & they only paid the OBVIOUS free kicks that were there. You did not notice them out there much at all.....And THAT is GOOD Umpiring IMHO. The ONLY blemish on what was an outstanding day for the officials was the ONE goal umpire who obviously was caught up in the moment & took it upon himself to award Barry goals on two separate occasions when his kicks were clearly off target.
Anyway, Barry Hall was sensational ! He genuinely looked enthusiastic about his commitment to the team. Yes, he kicked 10 goals, but his team play was exemplary, and a massive feature of his performance on the day. He shared the ball around with his team mates. He put on blocks & shepherds, & he even "Flew the Flag" when one of his team mates was felled in a crude shirtfront in the second quarter.
Big Bazza was fantastic ! And clearly was the difference on the day between the two sides with Broadford taking the points over the battling Tigers.
Its quite ironic actually, that the 3 blokes hounded out of the AFL by the system & the media - Brendan Fevola, Jason Akermanis & Barry Hall are now doing more for grass roots footy than arrogant Demetriou, his massive football machine - the AFL, or the majority of the lazy arse kissing media could EVER hope too !
Well done Broadford & well done Barry Hall. It was well worth the trip up the Hi-Way to see the show.
So you're telling me that Aker and Fev's sole purpose and mission is to do it for 'grassroots' footy or is it for themselves- just a question but my opinion (for what it's worth) is that much like their AFl existence it is about themselves... Correct me if I am wrong?
Didn’t realise there was bad blood between the Kilmore blokes playing at Lancefield. Was walking past a group of people after the game on Sunday
when I overheard a “f**k Kilmore”, turned around it was young Rowe. What’s the go there Doona, obviously someone has upset him?
Not here to argue dude but in that case explain the irony of it?Did I say ANYWHERE it was their SOLE purpose ???
I really have NO idea about their "existence" at all, selfish or otherwise....I doubt very much whether you do either !!!
Unless you know them personally..... Do you ???
I said THEY were doing more for grass roots footy than....... Its up there, anyone can see what I said.
Spectators are going along in droves to watch these guys strut their stuff & Clubs are making a shit load of cash into the bargin !!!
I'd say THAT is pretty good for grass roots footy ! Wouldn't you ???
Couple of late clearances into Wallan im guessing under 18 players from kilmore but one name athos Hryslakis is it the same guy who played at collingwood in the 90s?
I already have in my earlier post. I am not in the habit of repeating myself. Try & keep up please if you wanna play the game !Not here to argue dude but in that case explain the irony of it?