RDFL Thread - 2013

Playing any night game at that tine will result in dew/ wet weather type football, so of course skills will be down a bit, but that has to be expected. All in all though from what I'm told it seemed like a well organised night and hopefully clubs/the league look at future fixtures. Not sure Hendo's black eye will look great at the tribunal though. Was hall offered a set penalty?? Or straight to the tribunal! Not sure striking to the chest region will hold up on this one.

Article I read said thathe was offered a set penalty but the club have chosen to take it on at the tribunal

What article? I'd be very surprised if they don't just take the week. Four umpires surely one will want to hang Baz, I reckon it's Russian roulette unless an advocate like Findlay is representing.

Herald sun and The Age both had articles online this arvo. Herald Sun had a link to the Weekly Times that mentioned it as well

Rang Doona on Sunday to see if our ticket won the $10,000, was disappointed to hear he felt obliged to leave the function early but good on him for continuing to lead by example. There’s no shame in saying sorry, so what he did last Thursday night in front of the entire club (apologising for leaving Woodend early) as well as walking away Saturday night no doubt has you even more respected by those who actually “want” to play for you.

The guys in charge up at Kilmore are on the right path, despite what some around the town might say, Doona, Rysa, Pecks, Goudgey and Wally are doing a great job under difficult circumstances and there is no doubt that things will turn for Kilmore in the future.

Playing any night game at that tine will result in dew/ wet weather type football, so of course skills will be down a bit, but that has to be expected. All in all though from what I'm told it seemed like a well organised night and hopefully clubs/the league look at future fixtures. Not sure Hendo's black eye will look great at the tribunal though. Was hall offered a set penalty?? Or straight to the tribunal! Not sure striking to the chest region will hold up on this one.
Blakey Hendo copped the black eye in the first quarter

Mate we dont have to explain to people who dont know the full story, we know that Barry Hall has given to the RDFL what no other AFL player ever has, on Friday night he was fantastic and it's a shame that he was reported, people can say what they like but there is one thing i know"" If Baz had have wanted to hit someone, then they would have had to call a second Ambulance to the ground or just throw a shovel out there!

What hat are you wareing today!you should know better!You had a front row seat!

Hey I loved it.. The old "Don't sit in my hole" trick... :thumbsu:

Free kick, advantage, it was the right call.

Word I'm hearing is that Broadford took a week for Baz due to the fact the hearing couldn't (or wouldn't) be heard tomorrow night (Wed) - if that is the case then that's pretty pi$$ poor if you ask me. The guy has lifted the profile of this league immensely in a short time, if its not too late I'm free tomorrow night if it helps!!!

Broadford took the week offered as due to barrys media commitments on Tuesday and Thursday he was unable to attend the tribunal to contest the report
Broadford asked to have 1.. The tribunal for either Wednesday night or Friday night which the tribunal said they could not do. So 2.. They asked for Baz to give his evidence by phone which they also wouldn't do..
What amazes me is the tribunal were addiment that Baz must sit before them.. On a minor striking charge
Maybe they wanted his autograph

Broadford took the week offered as due to barrys media commitments on Tuesday and Thursday he was unable to attend the tribunal to contest the report
Broadford asked to have 1.. The tribunal for either Wednesday night or Friday night which the tribunal said they could not do. So 2.. They asked for Baz to give his evidence by phone which they also wouldn't do..
What amazes me is the tribunal were addiment that Baz must sit before them.. On a minor striking charge
Maybe they wanted his autograph

So from the past 4 posts, from respected contributors to this forum and the league, we have gone from Baz shouldn't have special treatment, but really he should receive special treatment????

All tribunal cases are held on a Tuesday, if there were Tribunal members unavailable for the hearing, then it could be held the following week, but it would mean sitting out the game anyway until his case is heard, the same as everybody else, we already ask our tribunal members to ensure that they are free every Tuesday to hear cases, yet now we want them to ensure they make no other commitments during the week in case Barry gets reported??

Any player that has to front the tribunal needs to front, again, Baz is no different there to any other player.

I am sure I will see the influx of posts in support of Barry and the anti Tribunal sentiment here, but that won't change my opinion, nor the facts on the matter, the Tribunal has done the right thing in this instance.

There is no questioning that Baz has lifted the profile of the league, he was fantastic on Friday night as well, but that has very little to do with a striking charge from the game.

Mate are u to tell me that the tribunal couldn't take his evidence over the phone and they do have that prerogative .. And it's in their power to also ask him to sit before them
And I dont think the average person or leagues officials would see that as SPECIAL TREATMENT by having his evidence heard by phone
The bloke could and does earn thousands of dollars within the media and unfortunately our tribunal see fit to sak him to front on both of the nights he has these commitments and they ask him to front on a MINOR striking charge it beggars belief...
And if u really think about it he is a little different to the average bloke
U only have to look what he did for romsey and the league on Friday night
Who else would pull a crowd like that to a home and away game
So as far as the tribunal hearing goes surely there is exceptional circumstances there
Not preferential treatment as some may seei it
Like yourself

Mate are u to tell me that the tribunal couldn't take his evidence over the phone and they do have that prerogative .. And it's in their power to also ask him to sit before them
And I dont think the average person or leagues officials would see that as SPECIAL TREATMENT by having his evidence heard by phone
The bloke could and does earn thousands of dollars within the media and unfortunately our tribunal see fit to sak him to front on both of the nights he has these commitments and they ask him to front on a MINOR striking charge it beggars belief...
So as far as the tribunal hearing goes surely there is exceptional circumstances there
Like yourself

Your argument is hypocritical in itself.

Whether it's a minor striking charge or not, the Broadford FNC chose to contest the charge, minor or major, it's a striking charge that the club chose to contest, our tribunal sits on a Tuesday night, this isn't the AFL, there is no "via satellite" here. The Tribunal offered up an alternate night, even though they were not required to, the onus is on the player, they didn't choose the nights because Baz has commitments, they chose the nights because that was when they could sit.

None of us have an understanding of why these nights suited the members of the Tribunal, but your post makes it seem like the Tribunal got together and colluded to pick the hardest and most difficult night for Barry to attend. I am sure that the tribunal members would have attempted to make it possible for Barry to attend a hearing, but there are other factors than just Barry at play here, we don't see the tribunal members on here attacking Barry for having other commitments on the nights that they were available.

It's delusional..

I'm pretty sure that some of the work that ROMSEY put into Friday night played a role in making it the night that it was too, or did you forget they were the ones that put the work in to create the event.. But that's just my view.

All tribunal cases are held on a Tuesday, if there were Tribunal members unavailable for the hearing, then it could be held the following week, but it would mean sitting out the game anyway until his case is heard, the same as everybody else, we already ask our tribunal members to ensure that they are free every Tuesday to hear cases, yet now we want them to ensure they make no other commitments during the week in case Barry gets reported??

I guess when you explain it like that .....

Just browsing through the thread and noticed Paul Harrison from Edfl wanting a Clearance to Broadford, pretty sure he dominated the comp in the early 90's Playing for Riddell. Also saw Curly Bajric's name mentioned, he didn't have much luck with premierships but did play some great footy with Darley and Melton. Has Gav Langbourne played a game yet? Looks like he's put on a bit of beef me old mate Langas, rarely beaten 1 on 1 in Craigieburns 93 premiership year.

Like yourself
Sorry to all my Broadford friends but you can't change the rules for one person, no matter how much he is doing for the league or what his other commitments are. If you bend the rules for one person every other club will expect the same treatment. I'm sure there are quite a few players out there who work shift work or part time jobs that Tuesday night doesn't suit either.

Your argument is hypocritical in itself.

Whether it's a minor striking charge or not, the Broadford FNC chose to contest the charge, minor or major, it's a striking charge that the club chose to contest, our tribunal sits on a Tuesday night, this isn't the AFL, there is no "via satellite" here. The Tribunal offered up an alternate night, even though they were not required to, the onus is on the player, they didn't choose the nights because Baz has commitments, they chose the nights because that was when they could sit.

None of us have an understanding of why these nights suited the members of the Tribunal, but your post makes it seem like the Tribunal got together and colluded to pick the hardest and most difficult night for Barry to attend. I am sure that the tribunal members would have attempted to make it possible for Barry to attend a hearing, but there are other factors than just Barry at play here, we don't see the tribunal members on here attacking Barry for having other commitments on the nights that they were available.

It's delusional..

I'm pretty sure that some of the work that ROMSEY put into Friday night played a role in making it the night that it was too, or did you forget they were the ones that put the work in to create the event.. But that's just my view.
What's your view on Jobe Watson & what should happen to your beloved Bombers?

Honestly who would of came to watch romsey and Broadford if Baz didn't play ??
Maybe 500 max
And if u get ur facts right Broadford chose not to fight the charge they took the 1 week
They explored all options before making their decision not to contest the charge
No I didn't imply that the tribunal colluded not to hear the case .. U did..
Also u obviously did read my post properly
The tribunal have the prerogative to hear his evidence by phone and that is all Broadford was asking
Why wouldn't that be a reasonable thing to do

Maybe 500 max
And if u get ur facts right Broadford chose not to fight the charge they took the 1 week
They explored all options before making their decision not to contest the charge
The tribunal have the prerogative to hear his evidence by phone and that is all Broadford was asking

Would have been interesting if he got 3. I am sure he would have made time to attend. Best behaviour is required now.

Maybe 500 max

Do you even know what you are typing anymore?? Or has your blindness comprimised everything you say or do now?