RDFL Thread - 2013

Looking forward to see the Romsey v Diggers game tomorrow. Diggers really looking like the team to beat, probably have the best midfield outside of the AFL.
Big jim may overindulged a bit before posting here. Interesting game yesterday at diggers. Looking forward to a cracling finals series.

So, how did Riddell kick 10 in the 2nd against a team like Sunbury???

So Sunbury really let their guard down?

Riddell are the best side in it at the moment from what I saw on Sunday. Sunburys backmen were towelled up by Nolan and Darby............ Sutherland and Gregory were terrible. Both sides appeared to be missing some handy players but a win like that at Sunburys home ground looks like Sunbury are a fair way off the mark.
Riddell vs Diggers grand final almost a certainty with both sides flying at the moment

Riddell are the best side in it at the moment from what I saw on Sunday. Sunburys backmen were towelled up by Nolan and Darby............ Sutherland and Gregory were terrible. Both sides appeared to be missing some handy players but a win like that at Sunburys home ground looks like Sunbury are a fair way off the mark.
Riddell vs Diggers grand final almost a certainty with both sides flying at the moment
You would think so but the flawed final 6 system that we have could prevent this. Makes it harder for the team that loses the first final.

For me Diggers is clearly the best side in the comp at present - time will tell I guess. Battle for 5 & 6 has hotted up as a result of Saturday's results. Sadly, whoever fills the spots won't go very deep into September though.

Maybe they should dust off the old Division Two premiership trophy and let 5th and 6th play off for it as she'll be one way traffic for whoever draws them week one I reckon.

Who were Sunbury missing on Sunday ? They appeared to me to have pretty much their best side on the park.
I agree tho, Diggers and Riddell clearly ahead of Sunbury then a long gap to Romsey who are playing like rubbish and are probably no better than Macedon, Melton, or Rupertswood. They could easily be out in the first week of finals.
Harsh statement in my opinion. Romsey still the bench mark at full strength. They might not get some of the players back but even undermanned yesterday they pushed Diggers. With the flawed finals system it actually opens right up for them if they win the first week. Sunbury too. If anything I don't think the top 4 has ever been more of a raffle. We have 4 extremely well balanced sides all with different strengths.

Having said all that the league really needs to work on the finals system. Riddell deserve to be rewarded for such an impressive season.

Who were Sunbury missing on Sunday ? They appeared to me to have pretty much their best side on the park.
I agree tho, Diggers and Riddell clearly ahead of Sunbury then a long gap to Romsey who are playing like rubbish and are probably no better than Macedon, Melton, or Rupertswood. They could easily be out in the first week of finals.

I have only seen a handful of games this year but noticed Standouts missing were their captain Powell, Welsh and Murphy , also Ploog but i dont think he is expected to return. there may have been a couple of others but if they are players to make an impact im not sure.
Riddell also had there best and fairest and a couple of others missing.

On another note, i noticed Dylan Murphy amongst the goal kickers for Rupertswood on Saturday, has he been injured or no longer playing at Coburg?

Every club has there injuries mate (I agree Romsey have a lot more than others) but the truth is Flags are won depending on you can cover your losses. Make no mistake Riddell are a top side as are Diggers and Romsey, are they unbeatable? I was really impressed with young Darbs and Nolan, and yes some of my back an were down, but Riddells strength in that 15 minute 10 goal period was their midfield. Paul Salburg, Ethan foreman and Ant Sammutt were on fire and we really did struggle to contain them. They are a really impressive side and with the likes of Casson, Robertson, Climas, Cox and M Sammutt to come back in maybe they will go all they way. Long way to go until the final Sunday game and I am still really confident that we will be there defending our Premiership.

I have only seen a handful of games this year but noticed Standouts missing were their captain Powell, Welsh and Murphy , also Ploog but i dont think he is expected to return. there may have been a couple of others but if they are players to make an impact im not sure.
Riddell also had there best and fairest and a couple of others missing.

On another note, i noticed Dylan Murphy amongst the goal kickers for Rupertswood on Saturday, has he been injured or no longer playing at Coburg?
He has been injured. This was his first game for some time. Not to sure how long we will have him for though or if he will be needed at coburg. I for one would love to see him in the yellow and blue more often though.

Anyone know why it's only 1 game going up in the website lately. Would have been nice to see some highlights from 1 of the 2 games between the top 4 from the weekend.

The second game from the weekend was to be Sunbury Vs Riddell, but the provider had technical difficulties and was unable to do the game.

Thank goodness for Sunbury and Romsey footy clubs that you have no idea what your talking about roy. Obviously your dribble was intended to start a debate but I can assure you that if Romsey lose a very tight game against diggers at diggers without at least 10 guns playing they are right in the mix. You should leave the expertise up to the coaching staff because they obviously know a lot more about footy than u do. Plus blind freddy could see that Sunbury had star players missing on sunday but u couldn't see any missing players.lol. Stick to chess cos u know nothing about footy

Any 4 can win it this year. Injuries, suspensions and finishing 1,2 or 3 is crucial come September. Not sure how many of the missing Romsey player will be back come finals but they have the best list IMO. Sunbury the reigning premiers also now know how to win it so putting a line through these 2 teams is a recipe for disaster. Round 16 should be massive. The winner of the Sunbury V Romsey game will be in the box seat for 3rd. Riddell and Diggers look like they have done enough for top 2.

Fantastic post!!!!! Im more than confident Romsey will have all players available well b4 finals time. Those players to come into the side are fairly average players too.lol. Austin, Streeter, Brewer, Farmer, McNaughton, Mitchell, Burlak, Blair, Lever, Broos, Harrison, Mcinerney, Petroro and Gerard:eek:

Jake Lever is on the cusp of being drafted, would be very surprised if he played for Romsey this year

Id be surprised if Lever got drafted this year ghost. Correct me if im wrong but he is only 17 and wont be eligible???? He will play, so will Blair!!!! Both qualify without having to play an RDFL game this season.

I tend to agree with ghost, I hope the lad does play though.. But I tend to think the AIS might advise against it, but I could be wrong there.

Can't say I agree with this situation, but if the rules allow it so be it. I just don't like seeing a loyal player who has contributed all season getting tipped out of the side when someone who hasn't played all year swans in come finals time.