RDFL Thread - 2013

V
ery frustrating today at Riddell when a player is sent from the ground for 15 mins for a hip & shoulder, like Luke Hodge & Murphy except no injury to either player, I thought the rule was brought in to eject a player from the ground who was out of control not for a bump, big penalty!
I agree Slyone, free kicks should be paid instead of send offs unless it is a serious incident. I realise the umpires have a very difficult gig, but from what I have seen they are having way too much impact on game results than what is warranted. On another note, Lancefields touch up of Diggers today must be the biggest upset of the season to date.

Congratulations to rockbank on the off field celebrations today. Really well run and something to build on going forward. Hope the injured rockbank player recovers quickly. On field unsure what all the hype was about. They were very disappointing from the first bounce and to be 7 goals down with the conditions the way they were and without the Brennan boys makes it hard for the rams to make finals.

Rupertswood terrible today and if they are going to go forward in this competition need to work harder. Tuckies day made alot easier by lack of midfield and defensive pressure. Looked on one leg aswell.
You have some good days and you have some bad. Today was a bad day for the young Rams who are looking to improve each week.

Absolutist fantastic day out at Rockbank today. Well done to Leighroy, Lynchy and crew for organising a great celebration of indigenous culture. Too bad the game was cut short due to an unfortunate event. Keep pushing guys you have a club on the rise under Leighroy.

Lancefield very very good today. Simply wanted it more than Diggers. Right the Tigers off at your own peril. Were hard at it all day and Chris Collins was simply awesome and clearly B.O.G.

Was a great result by lancefield was out at the riddle game thought that the day was held in good spirits speaking to people there romsey reserve side was like dads army but had a crack.
They are a well coached club and also there senior side was depleted believe if they can get it together per finals will be hard to beat.
Petrero was fantastic and trigg with there kids they where ok,
The outs are brewer ,farmer, Austin,burlack,mills Henderson,quiltart,Conan,just to name a few and with Blair and lever available will make them a hand full
Riddle look good strong midfield couple big forwards but will they stand up under finals pressure from experienced campiners .

V
ery frustrating today at Riddell when a player is sent from the ground for 15 mins for a hip & shoulder, like Luke Hodge & Murphy except no injury to either player, I thought the rule was brought in to eject a player from the ground who was out of control not for a bump, big penalty!
Yep saw that umpires seem to be focused not on the way the game flows inconstant decisions all dy bth ways umpire the gme as it unfolds and reduce the theatrics
The game of football has basic rules ie push in the back. Holing the ball high tackles py them not a hold of the jumper TNT has no reliance to the game till it cots a goal KISS theory makes a better game

I think the Umpiring this season has been pretty damn good on the whole. Yes, there has been the odd mistake here & there (like the 2 deliberate out of bounds decisions against Riddell yesty that delivered Romsey 2 very dubious soft free kicks !) but otherwise the Umpiring has been of a very high standard as opposed too years gone by. I think the Umpires are getting it right in the majority of cases. There isn't any Grandstanding anymore, & you always get a good performance out of the Umpires when you don't seem to notice them in the context of the contest. This has been my experience so far this season.
Keep up the good work guys............ I notice it when we don't notice you !!! :thumbsu:

Full marks to sunbury today got the job done, but must say the two senior umpires were disgraceful. Free kick count in first half must've been 30 to maybe 4 or 5 in the Kanga's favor. No taking away from subury as they played well and certainly are a top side. But how the two umpires can umpire a seniors game is a joke. Paying holding the ball free kicks to players who have just taken possession ?? And when the kilmore captain questioned it hewas sent off didn't swear or raise his voice. Won't name the two officials as they were both as bad as each other.

I didnt want to get on last night as I was pretty $hitty. I have always got on here, and when coaching told my footballers that we will always make far more the amount of errors than the umpires on any, and yesty was no different.

At qtr time, half time, 3 qtr time I kept emploring to keep our mouths shut, but even I lost it with about 5 minutes to play after free kick #58 was awarded for the day. To his credit, one of our leaders Rick Saunders come within earshot of the bench and told me to cool my jets but when you consider we play 80 minutes or actual game time that is an outrageous amount.

I've known Goudgie for a long time, 2 years now in a close football sense now and to have him sent from the field in the manner he was really got my back up. Show a yellow card and point the bloke off, but don't run with him the enitre 45-50m in a Hitler like sense and be a dead set w***er about it.

Cuffey says to me after the game not to be angry or upset at Adam coz he didn't swear and basically said "you gotta be joking." In the social club after the game I'm at the bar getting a drink and hear that it has been suggested to a Sunbury player "he's always been a loud mouth that bloke" ..... are you f**king kidding me!!!

I think I have a good rapport with the Umps, always have and always will, but yesterday was really frustrating for me. I don't expect (or want) Kanga's posters to get on here and support me as you have bigger fish to try and fry but with 4 games to go I'd love nothing more than to hopefully see a couple of our better officials do a Kilmore game, maybe 2 ;).

I ask for this coz I get the impression "its only Kilmore" ..... but yesterdays interpretation of "prior opportunity" make it near impossible for players at times to decide whether to go for the ball or be led to the ball and then tackle.

Don't even get me started on the comment "don't complain I'm doing enough for you blokes already"

Got a suggestion do the umpires review the games videos from red onion to help improve

Wht do we think of finals week one sat day final sat night final or Friday night ??

I think the Umpiring this season has been pretty damn good on the whole. Yes, there has been the odd mistake here & there (like the 2 deliberate out of bounds decisions against Riddell yesty that delivered Romsey 2 very dubious soft free kicks !) but otherwise the Umpiring has been of a very high standard as opposed too years gone by. I think the Umpires are getting it right in the majority of cases. There isn't any Grandstanding anymore, & you always get a good performance out of the Umpires when you don't seem to notice them in the context of the contest. This has been my experience so far this season.
Keep up the good work guys............ I notice it when we don't notice you !!! :thumbsu:

I think the Umpiring this season has been pretty damn good on the whole.

...... but otherwise the Umpiring has been of a very high standard as opposed too years gone by. I think the Umpires are getting it right in the majority of cases. There isn't any Grandstanding anymore, & you always get a good performance out of the Umpires when you don't seem to notice them in the context of the contest. This has been my experience so far this season.

99.999% Agree OMNI :thumbsu:

Great idea, start the ball rolling. Cuffie is the perfect nominee. Good luck.

Agree with this thought too, in fact I reckon the RDFL should even consider striking and award (or medal) named in Cuffey's honour. He is such a good ambassador in every way. Quite often its the squeaky wheel that gets the oil, not the guy who just "heads down, bum up" goes about his business. Enjoyed the chat with Cuffey last night, think it was about 6pm when I looked at me watch and hit the road. His knowledge and passion hasn't dwindled one bit .... well if it has I woulda loved to have crossed paths with him 10 or so years ago :thumbsu:

Got a suggestion do the umpires review the games videos from red onion to help improve

Wht do we think of finals week one sat day final sat night final or Friday night ??

In one of the other comps I've coached in we'd get forms to provide feedback in regards to communication, positioning and several other points of criteria. It was never a bag out process but from all reports it helped us all get on a level.

Twice last year I spoke with fellow coaches and someone with a league involvement, and both times I was encouraged not to speak up as it may "go against you" for the rest of the year.

As for night finals, good idea. Logistically the problem would lie in 18's/reserves on the Friday as games would have to start in the arvo around 3.30pm, same I guess on a Saturday leading into a 7.00/7.30pm senior game. Saturday wouldn't be as tough to facilitate ....

Any news on new coach candidates for kilmore

You been reading my facebook mate? I literally just put this up ....

Going through some notes from footy yesty and I keep coming back to what a wise man once told me. "Footy reveals so much" he said, and the way the young Kilmore lads have stuck together through a bloody tough period speaks volumes about every single one of them in my opinion.
Mark my words boys, not just in football, but in life too you lads are all gunna get so much out of season 2013 without even realising it. Just keep rocking up and trying your very best boys for the next 4 weeks, that's all we ask for ....

Coaching applications are now open, and if there's ever been a group of youngsters that deserve some love it's this group. I know plenty are laughing at the club's current predicament but there'll be some genuine diamonds come out of this "rough" period.

http://www.kilmorefnc.com.au/

Was a great result by lancefield was out at the riddle game thought that the day was held in good spirits speaking to people there romsey reserve side was like dads army but had a crack.
They are a well coached club and also there senior side was depleted believe if they can get it together per finals will be hard to beat.
Petrero was fantastic and trigg with there kids they where ok,
The outs are brewer ,farmer, Austin,burlack,mills Henderson,quiltart,Conan,just to name a few and with Blair and lever available will make them a hand full
Riddle look good strong midfield couple big forwards but will they stand up under finals pressure from experienced campiners .

Are you serious ???
WHO are the experienced campaigners here ???
The Bombers have many many players with multiple senior Premierships to their name/s. An ex AFL player. 2 ex V.F.L. players. A T.A.C. Premiership STAR. A multiple 100 goal forward. A Bowen medallist (that actually deserves his !!!) A 200 game Captain with 4 senior RDFL Premierships to his name.
Add this to our couple of BIG forwards (who are just kids anyway) with the other Riddell young players coming in this year, plus the couple of new recruits the Bombers have attracted & that should hold them in pretty good stead come Finals time !!!
Put it this way, I'd rather be in their position right now, (2 games clear + % on top of the Ladder) playing very good footy than ANY of the other contenders vying for this years flag...........................Even with the top line players they currently have on the sidelines - Allen, Puxley, P & G Robertson, Ruffell, Sahlberg, Hurst, Tobin & last years B&F & RDFL inter-league star Matt Sammut.
Riddell look very very hungry this season................ After all it has been 3 years since they last won the Premiership, & all signs to date seem to show EVERYONE is working in the same direction to rectify that !!!

You know I have seen this once or twice in the past. And I like what I am seeing NOW. Look out I think............... The Bombers are coming !!!! :)

Are you serious ???
WHO are the experienced campaigners here ???
The Bombers have many many players with multiple senior Premierships to their name/s. An ex AFL player. 2 ex V.F.L. players. A T.A.C. Premiership STAR. A multiple 100 goal forward. A Bowen medallist (that actually deserves his !!!) A 200 game Captain with 4 senior RDFL Premierships to his name.
Add this to our couple of BIG forwards (who are just kids anyway) with the other Riddell young players coming in this year, plus the couple of new recruits the Bombers have attracted & that should hold them in pretty good stead come Finals time !!!
Put it this way, I'd rather be in their position right now, (2 games clear + % on top of the Ladder) playing very good footy than ANY of the other contenders vying for this years flag...........................Even with the top line players they currently have on the sidelines - Allen, Puxley, P & G Robertson, Ruffell, Sahlberg, Hurst, Tobin & last years B&F & RDFL inter-league star Matt Sammut.
Riddell look very very hungry this season................ After all it has been 3 years since they last won the Premiership, & all signs to date seem to show EVERYONE is working in the same direction to rectify that !!!

You know I have seen this once or twice in the past. And I like what I am seeing NOW. Look out I think............... The Bombers are coming !!!! :)
Flags are not won in July they are a good team depending on availability to riddle romsey and kangaroos there could be some twists and turns come September many teams win lots of games but lots kids at riddell against harden final list and don't forget shrewd coaches lots to take place till then

Omnipotent obviously a riddle supporter I've been to many games this year watched riddle will say they look good but will be plan to break them down think as I said shrewd coaches talk together no other three caches well they communicate think riddle need to find a few tricks there numbers behind the ball is what creates there run but wont be allowed to do that come finals

Whilst I'm feeling in such a benevolent mood, I'd like to give my old sparring partner Yeendy a bit of a rap.
He deserves it !
For a few weeks now I've listened to his commentary of the game on 100.7 Highlands FM & I must say the lad has improved significantly. Chris's call of the game is becoming knowledgeable & intuitive. He is changing gears in all the right places & is naturally able to convey to the listener a genuine sense of excitement when the contest warrants it.
I had several friends at the game yesty & they in fact commented how great it was to watch the game & follow it & fill in the blanks on the radio at the same time.
Well done champ..............................................you have a great head for radio too pal !!! :eek: