RDFL Thread - 2013

No raw nerves, just don't have time for gossips and people who like to make up stories. On this forum you do a lot of I HEAR from a good source.
Sorry 'One Eye', I didn't realise that a little gossip and innuendo was not allowed on this forum. I will ensure from now on that all my future posts will be completely 100% factual and verified by at least two independent sources.

Finally, something for Kilmore fans to cheer about ha ha!!!

Geez Doon' with "Glamours" like that getting around in the KFC social rooms mate after the game you should have no trouble getting recruits for next season !!!..............

Gotta stop the lads putting roofies in the girls bevies though pal !!! ;)

Geez Doon' with "Glamours" like that getting around in the KFC social rooms mate after the game you should have no trouble getting recruits for next season !!!..............

Gotta stop the lads putting roofies in the girls bevies though pal !!! ;)

Ha ha maybe that's it, we're on the wrong gear!!!

Can I say how appreciative we were of Wheels and all the Centrals guys coming in last night. It was a prick of a day weather wise and no one woulda had issue if ya's got in the cars and got home but it was a great aftermatch so thanks.

Personally wanna thank Wheels too who wanted to meet my wife and thank her for letting guys like me coach local footy. My wife thinks a bit of Peddo and also Al Meldrum who also says hi to her, but Brian left an everlasting impression on her purely for going out of his way and showing an interest and asking a few questions. Probly highlights how much our girls give up, tolerate and put up with so we get to do what we love.

Despite the conditions, our game I thought was evenly contested all day. Big Fenton the difference with 4 majors, but I think my kids fought hard all day long, won enough of their own pill, applied pressure to get it back in our hands heaps too but lacked the presence of a big man (possibly Simon Heather) inside our fwd 50m. For me Gillman was amazing at the stoppages, and Kellett #8 was good all day as well. I lost me $hit for a minute when Fredrickson challenged Zane Collier about getting a hard footy, the kid earnt 31 hard touches ha ha but I must admit Freddo was pretty good too :thumbsu:

Y
Ha ha maybe that's it, we're on the wrong gear!!!

Can I say how appreciative we were of Wheels and all the Centrals guys coming in last night. It was a prick of a day weather wise and no one woulda had issue if ya's got in the cars and got home but it was a great aftermatch so thanks.

Personally wanna thank Wheels too who wanted to meet my wife and thank her for letting guys like me coach local footy. My wife thinks a bit of Peddo and also Al Meldrum who also says hi to her, but Brian left an everlasting impression on her purely for going out of his way and showing an interest and asking a few questions. Probly highlights how much our girls give up, tolerate and put up with so we get to do what we love.

Despite the conditions, our game I thought was evenly contested all day. Big Fenton the difference with 4 majors, but I think my kids fought hard all day long, won enough of their own pill, applied pressure to get it back in our hands heaps too but lacked the presence of a big man (possibly Simon Heather) inside our fwd 50m. For me Gillman was amazing at the stoppages, and Kellett #8 was good all day as well. I lost me $hit for a minute when Fredrickson challenged Zane Collier about getting a hard footy, the kid 31 hard touches ha ha but I must admit Freddo was pretty good too :thumbsu:
Your a lucky man!

I want to put a big shout-out and thanks to the Sunbury Kangaroos football netball club for hosting us over the weekend.. like all clubs, the Roos provided great mateship, hospitality and support to all members and especially looked after us on the radio.. they do a remarkable job and Al and the team deserve all the on and off field success that comes there way.. we are spoiled for so many great clubs in the region.. we've been on the road a lot more this year and its exciting to get out and enjoy the company of these clubs.. having a beer afterwards and getting to know the people behind the scenes.. I make a big issue of all of us going in and having a drink afterwards and judging by the great people around all the clubs, its always worth it.. well done guys!

We're thinking very strongly about broadcasting all games during the finals series.. 18 matches from the 18s, Reserves and Seniors.. would this idea be received by the football fraternity who is it overkill? Would anyone be interested in hearing the 18s and Reserves every day of the finals?? plus the Seniors?

It works well in Bendigo. I'd go for it. Just make sure you promote the fact in the footy record. I know a lot of parents and friends of those in the dew kickers will want to tune in to watch/listen at the same time.

We're thinking very strongly about broadcasting all games during the finals series.. 18 matches from the 18s, Reserves and Seniors.. would this idea be received by the football fraternity who is it overkill? Would anyone be interested in hearing the 18s and Reserves every day of the finals?? plus the Seniors?[/quote]

Good idea, but how are you going to remember all those players, I guess there is homework involved, yuk, Doing a great job week in week out, keep it up.

We're thinking very strongly about broadcasting all games during the finals series.. 18 matches from the 18s, Reserves and Seniors.. would this idea be received by the football fraternity who is it overkill? Would anyone be interested in hearing the 18s and Reserves every day of the finals?? plus the Seniors?

Good idea, but how are you going to remember all those players, I guess there is homework involved, yuk, Doing a great job week in week out, keep it up.[/quote]

Thanks for the feedback.. I've been umpiring the Under 18s all year in the field so I've got a bit of an idea of who some of the stars are there.. but if its of interest to the public, we'd love to do it and all clubs in the RDFL will be able to pick up a signal from their area.. either the Kilmore frequency or the Highlands FM frequency.. we're just so excited to be involved in such an indepth capacity.. I've continued to encourage the guys to take time off if they want in their busy lives and they just keep on coming back.. they love it.. what a league we have :)

if he is not already...surely Jamie Cuffe should be considered for life membership of this league.....also have a medal named after him...suggest maybe a coaches mvp award

It would be interesting to see what grounds are in good condition. I know Melton is in ok condition and Riddell is better than this time last year. Have heard some of the grounds are really struggling at the moment. It would be interesting to know which clubs have or haven't put in for a final.

Thanks for the feedback.. I've been umpiring the Under 18s all year in the field so I've got a bit of an idea of who some of the stars are there.. but if its of interest to the public, we'd love to do it and all clubs in the RDFL will be able to pick up a signal from their area.. either the Kilmore frequency or the Highlands FM frequency.. we're just so excited to be involved in such an indepth capacity.. I've continued to encourage the guys to take time off if they want in their busy lives and they just keep on coming back.. they love it.. what a league we have :)

Get the boys from OKR FM in the box with ya's, they're rippa's :thumbsu:

It would be interesting to see what grounds are in good condition. I know Melton is in ok condition and Riddell is better than this time last year. Have heard some of the grounds are really struggling at the moment. It would be interesting to know which clubs have or haven't put in for a final.

Went up to Wallan training last night and the ground looked in pretty good knick to me.

OMNI'S R.D.F.L. Team of the Year -

..................................................................Forwards...................................................................................

Adam Fenton. (Melt)................................Brent Tuckey. (Digg)...............................................James Nolan. (Ridd)

Matt Darby. (Ridd)....................................Al Meldrum. (Mac)................................................Cam Dawson. (Rom)

Steve Fogerty. (Digg)..............................James Wright. (Mac)..................................................Matt Welsh. (Sun)

Jake Powell. (Sun)..................................Brett Carton. (Digg)...........................................Jesse Sheppard. (Wood)

Daniel Sahlberg. (Ridd)............................John Ryan. (Digg)................................................Daniel Gregory. (Sun)

..................................................................Backs........................................................................................

Followers. - Jamie Cuffe. (Sun)..................Cam Woods. (Digg)..........................................Ethan Foreman. (Ridd)

Interchange. - Leigh Fishendon. (Sun).......Matt Davidson. (Rom).......Aaron Blade. (Ridd).......Chris Collins. (Lanc)

OMNI'S R.D.F.L. Team of the Year -

..................................................................Forwards...................................................................................

Adam Fenton. (Melt)................................Brent Tuckey. (Digg)...............................................James Nolan. (Ridd)

Matt Darby. (Ridd)....................................Al Meldrum. (Mac)................................................Cam Dawson. (Rom)

Steve Fogerty. (Digg)..............................James Wright. (Mac)..................................................Matt Welsh. (Sun)

Jake Powell. (Sun)..................................Brett Carton. (Digg)...........................................Jesse Sheppard. (Wood)

Daniel Sahlberg. (Ridd)............................John Ryan. (Digg)................................................Daniel Gregory. (Sun)

..................................................................Backs........................................................................................

Followers. - Jamie Cuffe. (Sun)..................Cam Woods. (Digg)..........................................Ethan Foreman. (Ridd)

Interchange. - Leigh Fishendon. (Sun).......Matt Davidson. (Rom).......Aaron Blade. (Ridd).......Chris Collins. (Lanc)

Great on you for having a crack, mate. It's a hard ask. Jesse Shephard has spent most of the year up forward.. close to the mark though.. would put Alex Shipard in his position across half back.. substitute Cam Woods with Ti Cuffe from the Sunbury Kangaroos.. have only seen Diggers once this year so the cases for Cat's and JR would be good across the backline without over thinking it.. Romsey have had too main injuries this year to key players..
Dawso is a star when on song, but I'd take a fair stab and say that Tessari and Robbins have been their two best players this year and if Dan Sahlberg wasn't given the job in the back pocket, I'd move Shiphard into the back pocket and move Tessari to a back flank..
Mister versatile Matt Darby can play at either end.. awesome choice up forward..
If Dawso didn't get the job at half forward.. might press for Anthony Long, although he has played limited footy.. may throw in the likes of a Mitch Gaunt there..

FB - Alex Shiphard (WH) John Ryan (DR) Dan Gregory (SK)
HB - Ayden Tessari (Romsey) Matt Darby (Riddell) Jake Powell (SK)
W - Steve Fogarty (DR) James Wright (Mac) Matt Welsh (SK)
HF - Mitch Gaunt (Rup) Al Meldrum (Mac) Ryan Pretty (SK)
FF - James Nolan (Riddell) Brent Tuckey (DR) Adam Fenton (MC)
R - Jamie Cuffe (SK) Ti Cuffe (SK) Ethan Foreman (Riddell)
Bench - Chris Collins (Lancefield), Aaron Blade (Riddell) Leigh Fishendon (SK) Jake Armistead (Rockbank)

Might throw a bit of bias in at this point and say that Tom Mainey is the most underrated player in the competition, not making Team of the Year repeatedly over several years is a crime... Again this year he should be in the side. In terms of the Rams, good to see that you have Jake in the side Chris, and Shaun Wilson would give it a nudge as well.

I agree with Tessari, from the games I have seen from Romsey he should be in the side and just because Davo hasn't bagged a ton this year, doesn't mean he isn't deserving of a spot in the forward line either.

I would also have Todd Podolczak from Rupo as a certain starter.

Might throw a bit of bias in at this point and say that Tom Mainey is the most underrated player in the competition, not making Team of the Year repeatedly over several years is a crime... Again this year he should be in the side. In terms of the Rams, good to see that you have Jake in the side Chris, and Shaun Wilson would give it a nudge as well.

I agree with Tessari, from the games I have seen from Romsey he should be in the side and just because Davo hasn't bagged a ton this year, doesn't mean he isn't deserving of a spot in the forward line either.

Totally agree with Tom Mainey.. I've noticed that he's been in the best many weeks.. I know you had wraps on him before heading to the Rams :) hopefully he gets a look in this year.. Shauny has been awesome.. we've only watched him once but his run off half back and along the wing was exciting to watch.. he's great at the physical ball too..
I know what you mean with Davo.. there are some great forwards this year.. I think there has been some big pressure on him.. he has spent some time on the ball too.. I have very high expectations of him admittedly.. he is my favourite player to watch in the competition and when he hasn't got much of the ball, its disappointing.. TP is a star.. did great to represent the side in the Interleague..
Hoping .. praying.. demanding that Jamie Cuffe wins the Bowen.. I can't find a better player in the competition at the moment.. as straight forward as it is to say..

We are almost at that time... Anyone like to have a crack at team of the year???

Really ???...............My bad !!! Take him out then pal, put Chris Collins in & put Tom Mainey on the bench...........
How's that ?

...........Do you know what I have just read your post about Tom Mainey. I honestly put him in without reading your post pal !!!............So there you go, not so under rated by everybody !!! :rolleyes:

He would have been my next picked. Who would you put out for him to come in ???

OMNI'S R.D.F.L. Team of the Year - mark 2

Followers. - Jamie Cuffe. (Sun)..................Chris Collins. (Lanc)..........................................Ethan Foreman. (Ridd)

Interchange. - Leigh Fishendon. (Sun).......Matt Davidson. (Rom).......Aaron Blade. (Ridd).......Tom Mainey. (Rock)

He would have been my next picked. Who would you put out for him to come in ???

For Podolczak?? Everyone you named has merit and like every year there will be players that miss out that could mount a case to be in..