RDFL Thread - 2013

There must be only one massive place to enjoy football and netball this weekend.. Riddell.. all six games have a massive bearing on the make up of the finals.. excitement at fever pitch!

OMNI'S (Last & Final !) LADDER PREDICTION ..........mark V111.

Diggers Rest....................................56.
Riddell.............................................56.
Sunbury...........................................56.
Romsey............................................40.
Macedon...........................................36.
Rupertswood.....................................32.

Melton.................................................32.
Lancefield............................................28.
Broadford............................................28.
Rockbank............................................24.
Wallan................................................24.
Woodend..............................................4.
Kilmore................................................0.

Biggest Improver.......................Lancefield.
Biggest Slider............................Woodend.

Grand Final..............Diggers Rest v Riddell.
Premiership...........................Diggers Rest.

Lee James Medal......................Brent Tuckey. (Digg)
Bowen Medal...........................Brent Tuckey. (Digg)
Rising Star..............................Steve Fogarty. (Digg)

It has been a while since I have been on here but felt compelled to say something before the end of the year...

Our last home and away match for this year proved to be a ripper against Romsey and it's unfortunate we let 2013 slip away from us, as we grasp onto a very, very slim chance of finals. But hey, isn't that footy!? You must take the good from the bad and learn from the experiences but feel we may have wasted an opportunity this year. As a whole club, I feel we have improved but we already know what we need to do to get better and I'm excited for what is in store for Centrals!

Our boys, both reserves and seniors, got to play in front of a great crowd. Our supporter group were very vocal and packed in the marquee. The weather was typical MacPherson Park weather, all four seasons put into one, but we were lucky enough to have sunshine for the majority of the day. The reserves had a great win against a side loaded with senior talent. Our seniors finished the year on a high, fighting hard for a good lead, then were challenged when scores were locked going into the last and digging deep to get over the line. It was fantatic football and something I was proud to witness.

I am very disappointed with Romsey however. I like to thank the people who work behind the scenes, who came into the luncheon at half time as I know they are doing it tough at the moment for whatever reasons. I also like to thank Pedo, a past coach of Centrals, who made the effort to come into the rooms and buy a beer. I'd also like to thank maybe 2 or 3 players who also came in and bought A beer. But I don't know what happened to the rest of the players, reserves or seniors... I know it was a massive talking point afterwards as we pride ourselves on supporting opposition clubs after games. Romsey did not support our club and it will be remembered next year. Two years in a row is not good enough!

Thank you also to Doona! Made his way down to Maccy Park to have a beer with the boys after hearing we got the win! It was great catching up with you pal and look forward to seeing you in the future. All the best in the next few weeks/months.

This year has been a great year for the RDFL, I've met some unbelievable people at all clubs who are doing amazing work! Thank you to those for your support, you know who you are. Good luck to all in the finals.

Nick Sheldon for Rising Star, agree with the others though :thumbsu:

I am very disappointed with Romsey however. I like to thank the people who work behind the scenes, who came into the luncheon at half time as I know they are doing it tough at the moment for whatever reasons. I also like to thank Pedo, a past coach of Centrals, who made the effort to come into the rooms and buy a beer. I'd also like to thank maybe 2 or 3 players who also came in and bought A beer. But I don't know what happened to the rest of the players, reserves or seniors... I know it was a massive talking point afterwards as we pride ourselves on supporting opposition clubs after games. Romsey did not support our club and it will be remembered next year. Two years in a row is not good enough!

Thank you also to Doona! Made his way down to Maccy Park to have a beer with the boys after hearing we got the win! It was great catching up with you pal and look forward to seeing you in the future. All the best in the next few weeks/months.

This year has been a great year for the RDFL, I've met some unbelievable people at all clubs who are doing amazing work! Thank you to those for your support, you know who you are. Good luck to all in the finals.

Wouldn't expect anything less from Peddo he's a good man, was hoping to catch both him and Wheels but lucked out on both fronts. Never mind I'm sure an opportunity will present in the coming weeks to rub shoulders with a few guys thru the finals it's a great time every year :thumbsu:

Like everyone else I'm eagerly awaiting announcement of finals venues, obviously Lancefield already know they've got the granny but I need to plan my movements to make sure I see HDFL, GVFL, KDFL and Bendigo FL games too.

It has been a while since I have been on here but felt compelled to say something before the end of the year...

Our last home and away match for this year proved to be a ripper against Romsey and it's unfortunate we let 2013 slip away from us, as we grasp onto a very, very slim chance of finals. But hey, isn't that footy!? You must take the good from the bad and learn from the experiences but feel we may have wasted an opportunity this year. As a whole club, I feel we have improved but we already know what we need to do to get better and I'm excited for what is in store for Centrals!

Our boys, both reserves and seniors, got to play in front of a great crowd. Our supporter group were very vocal and packed in the marquee. The weather was typical MacPherson Park weather, all four seasons put into one, but we were lucky enough to have sunshine for the majority of the day. The reserves had a great win against a side loaded with senior talent. Our seniors finished the year on a high, fighting hard for a good lead, then were challenged when scores were locked going into the last and digging deep to get over the line. It was fantatic football and something I was proud to witness.

Yep, I agree with your sentiments. Apart from Pedo and a couple of others I haven't seen the Romsey crowd grace the after game gatherings too often.

Where did Woodend finish up last year Omni? Is it possible that Romsey may end up the biggest slider?

Woodend finished 8th in 2012 & now will finish 12th this season. A drop of 4 places.
Romsey finished 2nd in 2012 & now will finish 4th. A drop of 2 places. Even if they lose first final that still only drops them down to 5th.........So no, I don't think they can end up with the "Biggest Slider" tag. :oops:

Nick who ??? One of yours is he Doon' ? .......You do know mate, that unless you come from Sunbury, Romsey, Rockbank or Macedon you have NO hope of winning that little award !!! :cool:

What an idiotic comment

Yep, I agree with your sentiments. Apart from Pedo and a couple of others I haven't seen the Romsey crowd grace the after game gatherings too often.
Ow well that's nothing new
Hi boys the lady's back
So let's talk turkey only 3 possibillitys of teams winning flag any predictions on upsets
Perhaps rupiah can win a final or 2 ??

Apologise from the real romsey people

I think its because there are no drinkers in Romsey Georgie !!! :eek:

Havent been on here for a little while and theres some good reading to catch up on. last game this week i think wallan can beat nacedon also do we know where the finals grounds will be yet? reading the local paper and it seems doona may not coach kilmore next year as positions are advertised no ads from wallan and broadford so does that mean both coachs are going again. are there any other expected movements?