RDFL Thread - 2013

Yeah no worries mate. :thumbsu:
I got a little theory on why the players are making so many ball skill errors too CTL. I reckon it is the Ball we use. The Burley ball I'm told by ALL the players I speak to is extremely inferior to the Sherrin. Its more difficult to kick correctly, it floats around in the air, harder to mark. Bounces around erratically on the ground. Perhaps its even harder to bounce for the Umpires too ?
I am told the Burley is cheaper & that's why we use it, but if we want quality standard of footy played then we should bite the bullet & go with the best ball available.....& that is the Sherrin by ALL accounts.
Nothing that's cheap is ever good, & nothing that's good is ever cheap !
Lets have everything going in our favour I say ! :thumbsu: :footy:

Ballarat use sherrins and i must say when I used to bounce I much preferred them. Burley balls lack shape before they get kicked around. Long and narrow. When I umpired diggers one game last year, every time Tuckey would have a shot he would tell me how much he hates burleys and how they just float. He would then predict the direction his miss kick would take. He was actually right most of the time. As for Sunday, the ball provided was a touch flat and unfortunately there was only a hand pump at the ground which provided very little additional air. Hence numerous floaters. Might bring my car pump tomorrow.

Really?, no wait, really?. If true Orange Ump then why do we bother?. A flat footy for a final?, with no pump?, really?

With all due respect to Riddell, I reckon that's silly. BT might have a contact at Sherrin to supply balls, but why would you train with a ball that you don't use on game day?

I wouldn't have a problem with the RDFL playing with yellow Burleys on game day to cut costs on clubs as match balls can then be used at training. They also do that in the WAFL. Would come in handy during those final quarters in June, too!

Pretty simple pal. Sherrins hold up much better thru out wet winter nights and allow players to learn to kick with a real footy. It's disgraceful we are still using burleys.

Well done to D Goddwin and Macedon footy club for winning club of the year again. I hope they go outside to find there next coach cause Flea and Al have done great job developing local boys and building club from ground up now its time they spend up and get some stars from outside and a new coach with new ideas. I am glad to hear the Hawks are about to do the same.

You sure your not an umpire OMNI, you seem to know what going on with the umps more so than we do. Either that or your getting some inside information (if its true), guess we will find out Sunday. Maybe Ice stole your identity, that would explain the water comment earlier. We could have done with a drink on a few more occasions Sunday I must say. I will just say i really enjoy umpiring with Ice, always know what to expect, which goes along with what everyone is saying above. Interested to know why you want to watch woody so closely?

Hahaha. No mate, but as I have said before I have MANY friends that are Umpires. (past & present) Don't know Icely personally just a fan of his work. And the ONLY person I have promised my identity to is the great man Yeendy when I comfortably decide to fade back into obscurity. (Which may be not that too far away ! :( )
With regard to my Umpire waterboy suggestion, I just observed the other twin trying to get the attention of one of the Clubs waterboys on Sunday so as he could get a drink. I just then thought you blokes SHOULD have your own waterboys as well. And I'm sure one of the Umpires that didn't get a start on the day could do it. That's how the Clubs get their waterboys sometimes. Geez I even saw Jamie Cuffe running water for his boys in one game this season. I guess that just reinforces what a great ornament to the game the bloke is !
I cant believe one of his own doesn't agree with me on here that we should be honouring him in some way..........Guess that says plenty about that bloke too ! :cool:

Arrrrr Woody eh ? Well I just think he is one of the guys that is trying a little too hard to get noticed of late. Over Umpiring I guess, paying too many INCIDENTAL soft free kicks, that's all pal. He's obviously ambitious & is seeking a gig on Grand Final day ! Trouble is he may be getting just a wee bit enthusiastic in his quest to achieve that. That's why I'll be keeping my eye on him.............& others tomorrow.
Hope you gotta gig tomorrow pal, & if so good luck, hope you have a good one. :thumbsu:

Riddell simply awesome...

Congratulations to Jamie Cuffe on an outstanding career, a true champion both on and off and the field and to watch both sides line up and applaud the champion off the ground showed that sportsmanship still lives in football.. It was a fantastic gesture.

Riddell simply awesome...

Congratulations to Jamie Cuffe on an outstanding career, a true champion both on and off and the field and to watch both sides line up and applaud the champion off the ground showed that sportsmanship still lives in football.. It was a fantastic gesture.

For a fantastic bloke:thumbsu:

The grand final most predicted is now a reality. Should be a cracker next Sunday, I just hope for OMNI's sake they get the umpire appointments correct :D

How'd they perform today mate?

Congrats to riddell on getting all 3 teams into the GF. Having said that I will be going for rupo and diggers to spoil the party. Looking forward to 3 cracking games at lancefield on Sunday.

Well done to D Goddwin and Macedon footy club for winning club of the year again. I hope they go outside to find there next coach cause Flea and Al have done great job developing local boys and building club from ground up now its time they spend up and get some stars from outside and a new coach with new ideas. I am glad to hear the Hawks are about to do the same.
I think they will give joffa another go.

For a fantastic bloke:thumbsu:

The grand final most predicted is now a reality. Should be a cracker next Sunday, I just hope for OMNI's sake they get the umpire appointments correct :D

How'd they perform today mate?

Yes, very very good mate. Right across the board. Even the "Twin" put in another good performance. I think we are gunna be alright with ANY of those guys getting a gig next Sunday. :thumbsu:

Even if the big man Icely cant get a last minute reprieve. :(

And I'd like to add my voice to the Congratulations to Jamie Cuffe. Well done big fella on a brilliant career. The RDFL wont be the same without you !!! :thumbsu:

I'd also like to make mention of Rupertswood entering our Comp' this year. Well done fellas....& gals. It must have been a massive decision for you to change leagues. Let me say your inclusion to the RDFL has been a breath of fresh air for the Competition & you have definitely hit the ground running. Absolutely fantastic !!! Keep up the good wook Sharks, I think we will be seeing quite a lot of your teams come Finals time in the future. :thumbsu:

Congrats to jamie cuffe. Ive always admired his football from a distance and was always amazed at his resounding endorsement from almost every person who would comment on him. When i was a teenager at romsey and his name bobbed up in a conversation, i can distinctly remember some of the the older blokes like dippa, mick mcCarthy, sparra,etc, who had played with him when he was at Romsey, speaking of him in a fashion that gave a ,pmental picture of a 8ft 140kg hulking unstoppable ground covering open play and stoppage dominating machine. Nowadays though after seeing him do his thing and do it well so often, i know i was wrong. Hes closer to six foot and im guessing around 100 kg's.
just think if they do name that trophy in his honour. I wouldnt be suprised if over the next ten years if father gets a few messages from son reading, hey dad, won your trophy. Those boys are jets and prove the apple dont fall far from the tree. Two thumbs up to both clubs for the show of respect afterwards too. Made me smile. Good luck to all netball and footy sides next week down at tigerland. Only one things guaranteed. Its a day you will never forget now you have made it. But for good or bad reasons?. I think of the losing ones in vivid detail and at least five times over for every one thought of the day i played in the winning one. Unfortunately thats footy. Amongst the crowd and noise and streamers and baloons and banners, take a minute to reflect on the times back in dec/jan, when there wasnt a person in sight except you and your teamates. Doing the work, getting it done. Because premierships are really won back when that was happening. They only give the cup and flag away grand final day. Might seem thats a bit profound and emotional on my part but its also the truth. Well done again to Cuffe and all grand finalists. How good is the footy!

Congratulations to Sean Tobias on his appointment as Lancefield coach. I hope he can take the Tigers onto some further success on the back of some hard work Paul Tilley put in over the last few years. Well done Tills, you have done a great job and left the Tigers in a healthy position for the future.

What have you heard nothing but facts?

Really quiet leading into the biggest game of the year. I tipped the Bombers to beat Sunbury by 31 but the post was deleted for some reason. I am doubling up and picking the Bombers by 31 again this week. If they can do a Sunbury and keep Tucky to 2 then it will go a long way to winning the match.

Bombers to get 2 out of the 3 - missing out to Rupo in the under 18's.

Riddell to win by 40+ in the 1s Ant Sammut best on.
Diggers rest to win the 2s Danny Mcabe (diggers) best on.
Rupo to win 18s Ben Hunter (Rupo) to kick 5.

Id back Brayden in. To many strengths all over the ground Riddell, plus your mosquito fleet is unbelievable. Should be a ripping game hopefully a lot closer than some think. Am I correct in saying that this will be the 4th time these two sides have met in a granny over the last 10years with riddell winning every encounter?

RDFNL Under 18.5 Grand Final
Rupertswood Vs Riddell
Two fantastic Under 18.5 sides go head to head in what promises to be a fantastic physical contest for the biggest prize.
Rupertswood had an outstanding season, dropping only 1 game all season on the way to the Grand Final. The Sharks have an extremely talented list of youngsters that have ensured they go into this game as the raging favorites for the flag. From the opening bounce of season 2013 when the Sharks disposed of the Kangaroos by 52 points, the Sharks have been the dominant performer, despite their 1 point loss to the Bombers in Round 9.
The Sharks talent runs deep, a sure sign of the enthuisiasm within the club for the future. Ash Millane won the clubs goal kicking with 43 goals for the season, while Lachlan Muir finished runner up in the league Best & Fairest.
The Bombers have a fantastic spread of talent that has proven it is capable of pushing the Sharks all the way. Despite finishing the season in 3rd spot, the Bombers have, in the opinion of most, been the 2nd best side all season.
Matthew Panuccio is an exciting talent for the Bombers future, the young gun still qualifies for the Under 16 side, but chose to play Under 18s to further his development, he finished 3rd in the League Best & Fairest and was a major player in the Bombers performances through the finals series so far.
Brenton Stancombe was the Bombers leading Goal Kicker in 2013, he has booted 36 goals to date.

The Game:
The Bombers were awesome early in the game last week, they struggled with injuries over the course of the game, but were able to hold strong when the Kangaroos got a bit of momentum late in the game. They were strong around the contest and were able to make the most of any opportunities that presented themselves, they will need to ensure they do so this week.
The Sharks play an exciting brand of football, they like to attack the game in waves and find players in space to use the ball forward, allowing one on one contests inside forward 50 at worst.
The Bombers are going to need to work defensively to shut down the space and give themselves a real opportunity in this contest.

Players to Watch:
Rupertswood
Ash Millane - The talented forward/on baller has caused many a headache for opposition sides this year, he is elusive and good in the air an on the ground.
Ben Hunter - Big strong forward who can have a huge impact on the contest, strong in the air and an accurate kick.
Riddell:
Matthew Panuccio - The pint sized midfielder knocks up winning the ball and as he showed last week, is capable of doing the freakish at times.
Harrison Taylor - Talented midfielder that has the ability to change the course of the game. Has only managed 10 games this season, but is a key player for the Bombers this week.

Prediction:
The Sharks have been the standout side all season, they have excellent depth for an Under 18 side and have been looking forward to this game all year, hard to see how the Bombers can get them.

Rupertswood by 35 points.
BOG Medal - Ash Millane (Rupertswood)