ORANGE UMP
Yeah no worries mate.
I got a little theory on why the players are making so many ball skill errors too CTL. I reckon it is the Ball we use. The Burley ball I'm told by ALL the players I speak to is extremely inferior to the Sherrin. Its more difficult to kick correctly, it floats around in the air, harder to mark. Bounces around erratically on the ground. Perhaps its even harder to bounce for the Umpires too ?
I am told the Burley is cheaper & that's why we use it, but if we want quality standard of footy played then we should bite the bullet & go with the best ball available.....& that is the Sherrin by ALL accounts.
Nothing that's cheap is ever good, & nothing that's good is ever cheap !
Lets have everything going in our favour I say !![]()
![]()
Ballarat use sherrins and i must say when I used to bounce I much preferred them. Burley balls lack shape before they get kicked around. Long and narrow. When I umpired diggers one game last year, every time Tuckey would have a shot he would tell me how much he hates burleys and how they just float. He would then predict the direction his miss kick would take. He was actually right most of the time. As for Sunday, the ball provided was a touch flat and unfortunately there was only a hand pump at the ground which provided very little additional air. Hence numerous floaters. Might bring my car pump tomorrow.