RDFL Thread

Dog Town said:
Just appeared to know the other roos posters. Easy mistake to make.

I agree Helmers played a very good game. I would know I played next to him and he was very humble on mad monday.

That is fine if diggers are not well liked it is not a popularity contest although I dont think we are that hated. Our biggest rival has always been Riddell and now Sunbury is coming along to and thats only healthy for the league. We definetly have some healthy rivalries with Romsey and Melton as well. Maybe we come across cocky but we are an extremely close group and maybe people mistake that for arrogance when we are all out together. I am not in a position to say either way. Certainly we havent said much lately if you read back through the pages.

i agree dogtown that it most definately isnt a popularity contest.and most of the players from both diggers and sunbury would love the fact that both clubs are building a rivalry together.on mad monday all the diggers players spoke with no anamosity towards me or the roos players.sure they were disappointed,but we all know THATS FOOTY.its just a shame that blokes like browndog2 try and speak on behalf of blokes he probably has never played amongst. ps. thanx DT for all the bruises from tackling me all day:thumbsu:

Blueboy16 said:
Diggers are the biggest Chockers of recent history

do you mean chokers? did you know that diggers had 4 of there best players out of the seniors granny, so 4 of the resies better players had to go up.
they were that desperate that the big coach even had to play(he was totally usless) must admit though i didn't think much of dan walsh as a coach(not a bad player) but he coached like god compared to this bloke. newmann should go back to melton centrals. as for the resies granny kangaroos deserved to win as they played much better wet wheather footy.
and after all the floggings they got in there early years,no one begrudges them from having sucess

Thats_Special said:
Wouldn't say any of this is right either.. Played several very good games in the one's this year, along with Dum Dum and Matty Welsh was able to qualify for the two's due to injury during the season.

have to agree there - the guys mentioned above along with almy would all prefer to have played in a senior Grand Final (win or lose) cos thats why guys like that, and I, play footy - to play seniors and get the best out of ourselves. Spoke to Salmy after the game and he seemed a little embarrassed with a reserves flag knowing hes a good ones player, but at thesame time a flags a flag and its only going to help the club.

rightfoot_sloth said:
Is there any news out of Maccy park who is going to coach the Centrals next year ?

Rumours going around that the club have gone running back with their tails between their legs to Shane Geddes. Always was the man for the job. IMO he should bare his arse at them and stay where he is. He is a great coach and will have a much better club in the near future.

Blueboy16 said:
Rumours going around that the club have gone running back with their tails between their legs to Shane Geddes. Always was the man for the job. IMO he should bare his arse at them and stay where he is. He is a great coach and will have a much better club in the near future.

Shane Geddes played at West Footscray this year yeah??? Apparently they have signed a new coach for 07. Maybe it's him.

twodogs13 said:
Shane Geddes played at West Footscray this year yeah??? Apparently they have signed a new coach for 07. Maybe it's him.

Why would Gedds go back to them ? He would have to have rocks in his head ! I reckon he would be better trying to find another senior gig elsewhere ? He did a good job at Diggers as a playing coach and was always a tough player to match up on.

Heard a strong rumour coming out of Ballarat that Neil SHarpe will be announced as the new Football & Netball Operations Manager of the Ballarat FL in next week or so.

If so, will be a huge loss for the RDFL as this guy has transformed the league and is a gun.

Whisper is he does the BFL Opertaions Mgr job for 12mths and then takes over the top gig.

Can anyone shed any light if this is true ? Hope the blue coats at RDFL house are doing all they can to retain him.

Have heard a similar whisper Sharpeman.

Didn't you bob up during Interleague? Pretty brazen alias you have.

How good is your source?

Could be a chance for Shocking Hocking to come back.

The Sharpe Man (RDFL GM) said:
Heard a strong rumour coming out of Ballarat that Neil SHarpe will be announced as the new Football & Netball Operations Manager of the Ballarat FL in next week or so.

If so, will be a huge loss for the RDFL as this guy has transformed the league and is a gun.

Whisper is he does the BFL Opertaions Mgr job for 12mths and then takes over the top gig.

Can anyone shed any light if this is true ? Hope the blue coats at RDFL house are doing all they can to retain him.

Matty Nicholls has done some work with the RDFL this season, has an obvious passion for footy - would be a nice gig to get I reckon

Neil Sharpe would be a great addition to the BFL and would leave very big shoes to fill but I also have it on good mail that the recruitment agency screening for this role has been in contact with a football manager from the WAFL who is looking at relocating to Victoria for more oppotunities in football.

I reckon there's a fair chance after what was in the paper today he might be signing on at the BFL. Have you heard whether there definitely is movement?

Looks like religion has made the papers again this time with the diggers boys coming out.
Heard Triple M last night and after that i will have to say
SPOONMAN 1 Diggers Rest 0
he made any callers from diggers sound like fools although jeremy backed himself up well.

You should know!!!!!!

blues12 said:
Looks like religion has made the papers again this time with the diggers boys coming out.
Heard Triple M last night and after that i will have to say
SPOONMAN 1 Diggers Rest 0
he made any callers from diggers sound like fools although jeremy backed himself up well.

Didn't hear any of this, would you like to give more details to this? Could be a good read.

Blueboy16 said:
Didn't hear any of this, would you like to give more details to this? Could be a good read.

I haven't seen it myself apparently in yesterdays paper, and on the radio yesterday different stations. walsh was looking at equal opportunties or something it was great to listen to, spoonman shut simms up he sounded like a fool to me.
Have you ever listened to spoonman on MMM i wouldn't want to argue against him he is good at making people look very dumb.

My question would be do the diggers boys realy need spoonman to make them sound like idiots?. Between them and there suporters, they do a good enough job themselves....

A few of the boys spoke on different stations yesterday. Glen Hopkins (Diggers Coach) spoke very well on sen. Spoonman pretty much makes his living by trying to make people look like fools and cuts anyone off if they get the upper hand so its a bit of a hiding to nothing. Bit of a storm in a tea cup to be honest. It is going to equal opportunity pretty soon I believe. Personally I have always preferred the saturday grand final even before all this. You play every other game of the year on a saturday and it gives premiership teams time to celebrate if they cant get the monday off work.

blues12 said:
I haven't seen it myself apparently in yesterdays paper, and on the radio yesterday different stations. walsh was looking at equal opportunties or something it was great to listen to, spoonman shut simms up he sounded like a fool to me.
Have you ever listened to spoonman on MMM i wouldn't want to argue against him he is good at making people look very dumb.

i also listened to the interview so by sims getting called by mmm and saying he respected all 3 of them and was behind them 100% , gee i would hate to have a captain like that, supporting his players what was is he thinking. i think you need to put your dislike of sims out of the equation. i thought all who have spoke on the radio have been very good. how did sm make him look dumb? please explain. all i can say is well done to the club and sims for supporting there players

so has anyone got any news on recruiting? is anyone going to be able to stop riddell in 2007, from what i watched they were sensational all there good players step up when it counts.
ive been away so well done to kangas and riddell both deserved their cups

can anyone tell me who is coaching romsey next year?

reading the EDFL thread someone is on there and has confirmed that Lee James is off to Strathmore (EDFL premiers 05, 06)....