RDFL Thread

Digger52 said:
Matt Walker played a Sensational game on A.J. Marchewka was great in the Ruck .And The Book also played well down back.
Would love to see walker get anywhere near james with decent conditions and good delivery and without him hanging onto james everytime the ball came there way. James got 4 frees should have got 10!!! Umpiring was a disgrace and they should be the one's on report not Jamsey.

From my sources report james didn't deserve most of the free kicks he actually got. Sure he was being held, but he was also doing a fair amount of holding himself. And when we say "being held", it wasn't actually doing a great deal to prevent his run. It's basically what every full forward and full back go through week in week out. Therefore, we cannot start blaming the umpires because Aaron James didn't kick 23 goals, he kicked 4-7 which is his own fault. The umpires could've actually kicked a couple of goals for him as they were that tight on the diggers back line apparently. I'll say it again so maybe this time people listen, the umpires didn't loose the game for the kangas, their lack of run and 1 dimensional style of football lost it for them.

OM man out!!!

OldMelburnian28 said:
From my sources report james didn't deserve most of the free kicks he actually got. Sure he was being held, but he was also doing a fair amount of holding himself. And when we say "being held", it wasn't actually doing a great deal to prevent his run. It's basically what every full forward and full back go through week in week out. Therefore, we cannot start blaming the umpires because Aaron James didn't kick 23 goals, he kicked 4-7 which is his own fault. The umpires could've actually kicked a couple of goals for him as they were that tight on the diggers back line apparently. I'll say it again so maybe this time people listen, the umpires didn't loose the game for the kangas, their lack of run and 1 dimensional style of football lost it for them.

OM man out!!!
Listen up champ!
Not saying he should have kicked 23 goals you idiot im saying if you know your football walker was doing all the hanging on why would the forward hang onto the backman. The forward is trying to mark the ball the backman is trying to stop the forward could i spell it out any clearer for you!!! Goodluck to walker for getting away with what he did but the umpires should be diciplined for that disgraceful effort 47-23 no games should be that one sided!!!

You listen up champ!!!
This is how the walker/james battle started and finished. The kangas would bring the ball into the forward line with 1 main objective, get the ball to james, as per usual. Walker knew this, so to combat his run he held james "SLIGHTLY" AS ANY BACKMAN TRYING TO STOP A GUN FULL FORWARD DOES. However, because Aaaron James is an ex afl player he gains alot of attention and spectators increase their focus on the battle happening right in front of them (im sure if you looked down the other end payne was being restricted also). To break away from the small grip walker had on james, james himself would hold walker and they would become tangled and james would be awarded a free kick in some instances. This is football buddy, a backmen must do something to gain an edge on his opponent. On sunday walker did it very well and shouldnt be penalised unless there is a reciprocate decsion down the other end of the ground, which there wasn't.

Why would a full forward hang onto a backmen? ummm how about to break away from the attention he is recieving and lead towards the footy? Do you not watch a full back and full forward hold eachother just before the ball is delivered! As i said, this is something that happens to all full forwards, and im not saying that walker didnt initiate most of the holding, what i am saying is that james shouldn't be given any special consideration just becuase he is an ex afl player. Open your eyes buddy and try to understand an umpiring decision with your head not your heart!!!

Why was the free kick count 47-23? because diggers rest were first to the contest and sunbury gave away stupid free kicks which was another telling factor in the kangas demise!

molly99 said:
Would love to see walker get anywhere near james with decent conditions and good delivery and without him hanging onto james everytime the ball came there way. James got 4 frees should have got 10!!! Umpiring was a disgrace and they should be the one's on report not Jamsey.

are u serious? james got reported 4 times before he got sent off. he should have been sent of before he got 4 reports. lets be serious his behaviour was nothing short of a 4 year old. everyone knows the rules you can't swear at the umpire and he continually did. walker doesn't have to worry about getting anywhere near james in good conditions cause the game is over. as for the dilivery well blame the midfielders who continually hang onto the football.
as for the free kick count diggers were first to the ball on almost every occasion thus getting the free kicks.

OldMelburnian28 said:
You listen up champ!!!
This is how the walker/james battle started and finished. The kangas would bring the ball into the forward line with 1 main objective, get the ball to james, as per usual. Walker knew this, so to combat his run he held james "SLIGHTLY" AS ANY BACKMAN TRYING TO STOP A GUN FULL FORWARD DOES. However, because Aaaron James is an ex afl player he gains alot of attention and spectators increase their focus on the battle happening right in front of them (im sure if you looked down the other end payne was being restricted also). To break away from the small grip walker had on james, james himself would hold walker and they would become tangled and james would be awarded a free kick in some instances. This is football buddy, a backmen must do something to gain an edge on his opponent. On sunday walker did it very well and shouldnt be penalised unless there is a reciprocate decsion down the other end of the ground, which there wasn't.

Why would a full forward hang onto a backmen? ummm how about to break away from the attention he is recieving and lead towards the footy? Do you not watch a full back and full forward hold eachother just before the ball is delivered! As i said, this is something that happens to all full forwards, and im not saying that walker didnt initiate most of the holding, what i am saying is that james shouldn't be given any special consideration just becuase he is an ex afl player. Open your eyes buddy and try to understand an umpiring decision with your head not your heart!!!

Why was the free kick count 47-23? because diggers rest were first to the contest and sunbury gave away stupid free kicks which was another telling factor in the kangas demise!

At the risk of getting involved in this conversation, OM man, you weren't at the game.... How can you comment?

Diggers probably did deserve more of the free kick count, no doubt, IMO though, they got the little ones that were there when the Kangas didn't, thats all... No ranting, no raving, the game has been won and lost and umpired, nobody is going to call the game back to be replayed now, lets just accept and move on. It was a cracking game though, the attack on the ball from both sides was super...

Please tell me this weeks Woodend Vs Diggers game isn't going to be the same as 2 weeks ago??? Hopefully the Diggers crowd can inject themselves into the game and spice it up a little, because, as much as the spray I am gonna cop off the Woodend guys for this...

Woodend is the most BORING side in the comp, seriously, I have watched more interesting games of soccer than games involving Woodend... Hopefully they can spice things up a bit too this week.. Just one hard ball get will be a start.... :thumbsu:

Good point TS, i was waiting for somebody to bring it up...unfortunantly molly99 can't read so i cancelled him out. My source called me several times during the match to give me updates, he has watched a lot of footy and i am commenting off his analysis because i know he gives an unbias account of events. I was particularly interested in Aaron james as most people there would've been and that's exactly how he described it by memory.

OldMelburnian28 said:
You listen up champ!!!

You are one of the dumbest people ever to comment on a game of football how can you hold onto someone to break away from the attention??? D U M B C U N T!!!
And as for commenting on a game that you didnt go to what a C O C K H E A D as per normal a person getting on their highhorse about something they have NO I heck I N G DEA about get off this thread heck W I T T!!!

molly99 said:
Listen up champ!
Not saying he should have kicked 23 goals you idiot im saying if you know your football walker was doing all the hanging on why would the forward hang onto the backman. The forward is trying to mark the ball the backman is trying to stop the forward could i spell it out any clearer for you!!! Goodluck to walker for getting away with what he did but the umpires should be diciplined for that disgraceful effort 47-23 no games should be that one sided!!!

I keep hearing about the free kick count - so what you are suggesting is that there were 70 free kicks paid for the match.

I must have been at a different game. Thought it was a pretty open and flowing game. Find that amount of frees difficult to comprehend.

Would love to see the video tape.

The Barometer said:
I keep hearing about the free kick count - so what you are suggesting is that there were 60 free kicks paid for the match.

I must have been at a different game.
No 47 + 23 = 70 BRAINS!!!

molly99 said:
You are one of the dumbest people ever to comment on a game of football how can you hold onto someone to break away from the attention??? D U M B C U N T!!!
And as for commenting on a game that you didnt go to what a C O C K H E A D as per normal a person getting on their highhorse about something they have NO I heck I N G DEA about get off this thread heck W I T T!!!

On cue, the person loosing the argument comes out with an abusive and offensive post. I really don't know why i am replying to this...i think i'll cancel it down to boredom but here goes anyway.

A forward will hold on and then push off in an attempt to break free of a grip, have your heard of newton's laws buddy? i think his 3rd rule is 'for every action there is a equal or opposite reaction' or something. Go figure! It will take you about 3 days im guessing.

I will get on my high horse because the person at the game who gave me this info is reliable. I have made many comments this year on a game without actually attending it. And you know what, not once hav i been pulled up. so i guess eventhough i recieve info from a secondary source its not far off the mark coming from me. Can you understand that molly99?

OM man out! And not replying to molly99 anymore.

On a different subject who do people think have been the recruit of the year in the RDFL, would have thought McLellan (spelling?) would have gone close? Couple of quality players have changed club within the league Harrison and Burlak, but who would be the best player first seen in the league this year?

And I guess James, 70 goals in 7 games is a pretty good effort.

OldMelburnian28 said:
On cue, the person loosing the argument comes out with an abusive and offensive post. I really don't know why i am replying to this...i think i'll cancel it down to boredom but here goes anyway.

A forward will hold on and then push off in an attempt to break free of a grip, have your heard of newton's laws buddy? i think his 3rd rule is 'for every action there is a equal or opposite reaction' or something. Go figure! It will take you about 3 days im guessing.

I will get on my high horse because the person at the game who gave me this info is reliable. I have made many comments this year on a game without actually attending it. And you know what, not once hav i been pulled up. so i guess eventhough i recieve info from a secondary source its not far off the mark coming from me. Can you understand that molly99?

OM man out! And not replying to molly99 anymore.
Newton's law heck O F F nerd this is football not science class DORK!!! This is the last time i will say this anyone who COMMENTS on things with secondhand info is a heck W I T T i don't give a heck if your so called source is the heck I N G pope good judges just dont do IT!!! Get a clue mate don't talk about footy anymore cos you don't have much idea do you? Now back to the science lab DORK!!!

Thats_Special said:
Diggers probably did deserve more of the free kick count, no doubt, IMO though, they got the little ones that were there when the Kangas didn't, thats all... No ranting, no raving, the game has been won and lost and umpired, nobody is going to call the game back to be replayed now, lets just accept and move on. It was a cracking game though, the attack on the ball from both sides was super...

Please tell me this weeks Woodend Vs Diggers game isn't going to be the same as 2 weeks ago??? Hopefully the Diggers crowd can inject themselves into the game and spice it up a little, because, as much as the spray I am gonna cop off the Woodend guys for this...

Woodend is the most BORING side in the comp, seriously, I have watched more interesting games of soccer than games involving Woodend... Hopefully they can spice things up a bit too this week.. Just one hard ball get will be a start.... :thumbsu:

TS i think u will find that i called that on saturday."they remind me of the sydney swans" they are very boring.they have 15 players around the ball at all times like under tens.it seems to be paying off 4 them,but it is horrible to watch and i felt sorry 4 ridells spectators on the weekend.they turned up 2 watch a champion team play a good brand of footy.instead they were served a main course of woodends rabble.just show us something woodend,u have the players so keep them in there positions and have a real go.

COUGHLAN!!@#37 said:
yes it is good riddell have 2 sides in the granny and most likely 3 after this week isnt it
thats a great effort to have 2 sides in a granny already coughlan.and yes the twos should be a walk up start to follow also.i have however heard that the kangas have a star studded line up awaiting them.can anyone tell me when james fronts the tribunal?coz i beleive he is available as well.should the hearing b next week,he will be playing

James got free kicks that any other FF would not have got purely because of the attention he recieves. Umps well and truly looked after him early.

You cant really name best players for Diggers because they were so even over the ground. Nolan is one that not many have mentioned but he smashed his opponents on the far wing all day. Heritage did a good job freeing Sims of his tagger.

I thought Bobby Johnson was the Kangas best by a mile other than the short period he spent on Cole Laurie which didn't suit him. Ben Burridge did a fair job down back.

Some of the stuff being suggested here (particulalry about the reserves game) is pretty offensive to be honest. Dont want to go into it but have some dignity people.

Where's the private school girlsc o c k gone??? C'mon Old melburnian got nothin else to say why's that i know cos you havn't spoken to your SOURCE yet so you can't comment can ya heck W I T T!!!

Mongrel said:
TS i think u will find that i called that on saturday."they remind me of the sydney swans" they are very boring.they have 15 players around the ball at all times like under tens.it seems to be paying off 4 them,but it is horrible to watch and i felt sorry 4 ridells spectators on the weekend.they turned up 2 watch a champion team play a good brand of footy.instead they were served a main course of woodends rabble.just show us something woodend,u have the players so keep them in there positions and have a real go.

They dont remind me of the swans at all actually Mongrel... I watched the Swans, they were capable of getting a hard ball....

I pray, for the sake of the league, that Diggers win this week, or we could be in for the most boring Grand Final day in the history of the league....

Dasher_23 said:
James got free kicks that any other FF would not have got purely because of the attention he recieves. Umps well and truly looked after him early.

You cant really name best players for Diggers because they were so even over the ground. Nolan is one that not many have mentioned but he smashed his opponents on the far wing all day. Heritage did a good job freeing Sims of his tagger.

I thought Bobby Johnson was the Kangas best by a mile other than the short period he spent on Cole Laurie which didn't suit him. Ben Burridge did a fair job down back.

Some of the stuff being suggested here (particulalry about the reserves game) is pretty offensive to be honest. Dont want to go into it but have some dignity people.

Thought Donovan was very good on Sims...

Best for Diggers IMO were Laurie, Hildebrand, Marchewka and Janner..

Thats_Special said:
They dont remind me of the swans at all actually Mongrel... I watched the Swans, they were capable of getting a hard ball....

I pray, for the sake of the league, that Diggers win this week, or we could be in for the most boring Grand Final day in the history of the league....

sorry ts i was probably a bit out of line there.and your right,the swans r still watchable.unlike woodend,they have some sort of game plan and woodend wouldnt know football structure if paul roos himself showed them

Mongrel said:
sorry ts i was probably a bit out of line there.and your right,the swans r still watchable.unlike woodend,they have some sort of game plan and woodend wouldnt know football structure if paul roos himself showed them

Dont get me wrong, for the RDFL's sake I really do hope a different Woodend outfit turns up on Sat.. Cos if they play like they did in the past 2 games the only fun going to be had on Saturday is who can smuggle a cow out of the ground.

Those going to Macedon on Saturday be on the lookout for a green 4 wheel drive and a black holden ute both speed camera cars. Seem to be in middle of speed blitz up this way during weekends of late. Normally on Main Rd and Honour Avenue.