RDFL Thread

Coming from an outsiders point of view, the 2 years that James originally received is ridiculous. When I heard this I thought he must have belted an umpire, because that is the only report that I thought should come with such a harsh penalty.
But to be given 2 years for threatening behavoiur is laughable.

billylid said:
2 very serious accusations against DRFC there Thats special , just hope u some factual evidence of those 2 accusations another wise its pretty bad for statements like those to be thrown around on a public forum.

I didnt name names... But for thier behaviour I should... There were several witnesses... But I dont need to name names, they know, as does everyone else at our club now....

i think the two years is harsh, but they do look at threatening behaviour as more serious as Kilmore had a player done for 2 years back in 2003 i think it was, when Wayne Quinn did a similar thing to James over at Melton Central, the umpire was in his face as he was sent off so he also took a quick step at the ump - who ***** himself - and was also then suspended for 2 years.

As for copping it from the crowd, i think we all agree the rocks issue is disgraceful, but what player in this competition, esp the top players in each side, doesnt cop it week in week out. Someone of James calibre should be used to it having played at the top level, and should know that reacting is just going to egg the crowd on even more, as it did Sunday when i noticed the crowd continue after his send off where he ended up hurling a water bottle at the crowd in front of the bar at Kilmore. I think it the end people were filing through the gates paying there $8 to watch him lose the plot, hence the crowds reaction on Sunday!!!

Hawker28 said:
Aaron was told not to have a go back at the player attacking him, and mention it to the umpire, in doing so get's reported for abusive language because they won't do anything about it. Tim Geery was the goal umpire, and saw the whole thing but continued on as though nothing happened, oh and as for spitting at a spectator, he was 10 metres inside the field of play. If he spat 15m (10m to the goal line + 5m to the fence) then that a new world record.

Oh come on, Aaron is known for his reputation of listening to team instructions you cant be serious. I reckon he was not hit at all and was just trying to intimidate and suck the umpire in but unfortunatley copped one of the more experianced and better umpires in the comp that wouldnt put up with his rubbish.

goblues09 said:
i think the two years is harsh, but they do look at threatening behaviour as more serious as Kilmore had a player done for 2 years back in 2003 i think it was, when Wayne Quinn did a similar thing to James over at Melton Central, the umpire was in his face as he was sent off so he also took a quick step at the ump - who ***** himself - and was also then suspended for 2 years.

As for copping it from the crowd, i think we all agree the rocks issue is disgraceful, but what player in this competition, esp the top players in each side, doesnt cop it week in week out. Someone of James calibre should be used to it having played at the top level, and should know that reacting is just going to egg the crowd on even more, as it did Sunday when i noticed the crowd continue after his send off where he ended up hurling a water bottle at the crowd in front of the bar at Kilmore. I think it the end people were filing through the gates paying there $8 to watch him lose the plot, hence the crowds reaction on Sunday!!!

Where you teasing him James? I think the water bottle was heading for you if i recall! How many weeks did you recieve for abusive language? Is it round 6!

could well have been as i was drinking at that bar - and for the record it was 7 weeks for "repeated swearing" - its a joke, i may aswell have hit somone and got 2 for striking!! Plus it was swearing at Simmo so surely exceptions can be made haha!

Thats_Special said:
Mick Werner was one of the biggest snipers this league ever saw... Oh, by the way, Mick Werner belted a bloke in the crowd and then ran to his car.. He had no class...

As for you, you have to try to go back 8 years to find your snipe...

Ill tell you right now, I dont approve of nor applaud the behavior toward the umpire, but rather than looking at it as an isolated incident, maybe you should pull that pathetic head out of yr clacker and look at why it occured, I can tell you right now, that not one player I know anywhere would put up with rocks being thrown at his head, then being continually cheap shotted throughout a game and in the end ONLY tell an umpire that he was "gone" after the game??? As far as im aware the umpire in question did leave the ground, so theoretically he was right there too...
You just lost me T.S , that is a disgraceful comment about Werner , the only one sniping and throwing cheap shots around here is you .:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

bearsboy said:
You just lost me T.S , that is a disgraceful comment about Werner , the only one sniping and throwing cheap shots around here is you .:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

Pipe down BB, just another germ putting his 5 cents worth in, deal with the facts or hit the road!

bearsboy said:

I watched him do it... Although he was copping a bit on the day, and probably had the right to give it out...

1 Sunbury know who the players sorry spectators are who were throwing rock and they are not welcome at sunbury's club.

2 Tell me how can a player punch another player in the head while the umpire is standing 2 feet away and the umpire say "their is nothing in that" is a punch not a punch

3 how can a umpire warn a least 3 players during the day on 3 or more occasion for swearing and abuseing and not report them yet they give jame 1 warning and then a report it this not discrimination.

4 the biggest issue is being overlooked the RDFL tridural is a disgrace yes james should have been suspended, but for two years, can anybody tell me if it was john doe would he have got the same treatment. the answer is NO and i bet the league reps are all going into hiding today. you cannot give this much power to a small group without consequences all club in the RDFL need to now take a stand because if they get away with this then their power will be absolute.

In closing this was a good test for the league, it's clubs and it's supporters to see if you can handled big names in the competition.

YOU ALL FAILED :thumbsdown:

wannakick said:
1 Sunbury know who the players sorry spectators are who were throwing rock and they are not welcome at sunbury's club.

2 Tell me how can a player punch another player in the head while the umpire is standing 2 feet away and the umpire say "their is nothing in that" is a punch not a punch

3 how can a umpire warn a least 3 players during the day on 3 or more occasion for swearing and abuseing and not report them yet they give jame 1 warning and then a report it this not discrimination.

4 the biggest issue is being overlooked the RDFL tridural is a disgrace yes james should have been suspended, but for two years, can anybody tell me if it was john doe would he have got the same treatment. the answer is NO and i bet the league reps are all going into hiding today. you cannot give this much power to a small group without consequences all club in the RDFL need to now take a stand because if they get away with this then their power will be absolute.

In closing this was a good test for the league, it's clubs and it's supporters to see if you can handled big names in the competition.

Best comment all day! Wannakick, do you work? because with those smart's, could be a job as a GM in local footy league coing up ;) !

Oh if ya don't play footy, any chance you could umpire next year?:thumbsu:

Hawker28 said:
Pipe down BB, just another germ putting his 5 cents worth in, deal with the facts or hit the road!
Hey c*ck sucker i believe you were about 10 years old when Werner was kicking 15 goals every week [probably more against your rabble]i dont remember him visiting the tribunal very often for a bloke that was supposedly the biggest sniper the leagues ever seen . So i'd suggest you deal with the facts and pipe down F**ck wit .:eek:

bearsboy said:
Hey c*ck sucker i believe you were about 10 years old when Werner was kicking 15 goals every week [probably more against your rabble]i dont remember him visiting the tribunal very often for a bloke that was supposedly the biggest sniper the leagues ever seen . So i'd suggest you deal with the facts and pipe down F**ck wit .:eek:

Lets just remember that Mick was in the "power club" at that stage... Can just leave that one there now... This is not about Mick, or the Gissy footy club

bearsboy said:

You got no idea, i saw the likes of Werner running round, and yeah i believe he's up there! I would almost put him in the same catergory as Luppo, in his hay day! Only thing that's 10 years old is the filthy trash rambling from your mouth! What makes you say im form Sunbury? What because i believe he was unfairly treated make me a Roo? Like saying because someone has no teeth their from the other side of the bridge!

wannakick said:

excuse my naiveness but arent the tribunal are seperate body to the powers that be of the RDFL. And id just like to clarify that some people could suggest from reading all the posts that it was a dirty game well im for one who would stand up and say thats crap , its was great as a spectator to see both AJ and MW shake hands at the end of the game showed both guys are very good sportsman

The penalty was harsh- not doubting that. However it would serve James better if people wouldn't continually excuse his ordinary behaviour. Granted, if rocks were thrown at him it is a disgrace and the league should investigate-perhaps even had security down there a bit sooner. But lets not excuse James poor record of behaviour in our league and others he's played in-If that's the type of high profile players we're going to attract, then maybe, just maybe we're better off without them. He is a loose canon and needs some help if he is to be of any great value to future clubs.

Watching him play on a few of occasions he doesn't seem to set the greatest of examples for the young blokes at your club on the field.
Sunbury needs to improve their discipline and more stability among their playing group if they are to take the next step, not blokes who have the ability to win and LOSE matches off their own boots. The perfect example was the amount of silly free kicks that they gave away on Sat. I’m sick of people talking about the free kick count like they were poorly dealt with. The fact is that the Sunbury players either by over exuberance or stupidity gave away a number of free kicks that could have been avoided.
If it is true that he threw chairs at the tribunal then that is also a disgrace. If he held his nerve and anger (as hard as it may of been) then he could of had grounds on which to appeal. As it seems now, that option may be lost.

Hawker28 said:
You got no idea, i saw the likes of Werner running round, and yeah i believe he's up there! I would almost put him in the same catergory as Luppo, in his hay day! Only thing that's 10 years old is the filthy trash rambling from your mouth! What makes you say im form Sunbury? What because i believe he was unfairly treated make me a Roo? Like saying because someone has no teeth their from the other side of the bridge!

Your a dead sh it. You were in grade 4 when Werner was playing so the only way you can comment is by listening to your old man speaking about him. Your Ruppo scum so that makes you from Sunbury. Get a melways out if your still trying to work out what town you come from.
I thought Sunbury Hill had closed but it looks like they still have a lot of window lickers still left in Sunbury.:confused:

No one person thinks 4 years is fair so lets wait for the appeal before getting hysterical.

No way Werner can be spoken about in the same breath as Dean Lupson, Admittedly was only about 15 when i watched him play for Gisborne but Lupson was a dirty thug, Werner was an honest footballer and IMO the best player to ever play in the RDFL. I grew up supporting Melton so totally unbiased opinion.

Thats_Special said:
I didnt name names... But for thier behaviour I should... There were several witnesses... But I dont need to name names, they know, as does everyone else at our club now....
TS thanks 4 notifying all the players at the club who the spineless pricks that threw the rocks were.i dont condone threatening umpirers full stop.but if i had ********s throw rocks at me when i played,they would be burying those maggots in a closed casket.u wanna talk about james bringing disrepute 2 the league,well LISTEN UP RDFL,
Firstly where is the fu##ing security that was promised? why put diggers social members in as umpires 4 their own games?and that double standard umpiring added to the drama that unfolded during the game.who gives a **** that he is 6 foot 5.he was punched numerous times early in the game with absolutely no help from the umpirers.then he had rocks thrown at him,again he had no help from security.if it was me i would have snapped too.perhaps next time the rdfl could organise neutral umpirers to prevent such a disgrace re-occurring.and once again it will be everyone elses fault but the RDFL

Woody07 at no point has anybody condone what James did or that he should not have been suspended what we are saying that the sentence is a joke
Also you should look in your own backyard before you start judging others.

wannakick said:
Woody07 at no point has anybody condone what James did or that he should not have been suspended what we are saying that the sentence is a joke
Also you should look in your own backyard before you start judging others.
Wanna kick at no point did i say anyone condoned James actions but rather were making excuses for him i.e rocks were thrown, he was hit several times, he was being crucified by the umpires, the crowd always gets stuck into him e.t.c. If you read the last four five pages i'm sure you'll agree that their are some that are making excuses for him. I wasn't passing judgement but merely adding an unbiased opinion (seen that i dont support Diggers or Sunbury) to the forum based on watching the game on Sunday which is what this forum is supposed to be all about. As for the looking in my own backyard comment-i'm a little bewildered on what that means. Maybe you could explain.

BrownDog2 said:
Your bias is sickening.
If you don't think what James did was worse than what Wadden did your clearly stuipd.
Wadden swore at an umpire.

James: Spits on a spectator
James: Hits a spectator
James: Tells the goal umpire "he's gone after the game" after the goal umpire reported him after James did the above two things.
James: Tells the field umpire "he's gone after the game"
James: Runs up to the umpire as he was sent of, it looked like he was going to belt him.

James cops 2 years, then throws chairs around the tribunal room so he cops 4.

Good riddance James, your a sook and you won't be missed by any.
Time to take your medicine.
Actually you have a lot of time on your hands now, perhaps you can start a pre season for the 2011 season.
Be very careful DOG!!!
What's your name???
Don't hide behind an alias.
Give me a private message and tell me who you are and if you like we can talk about your SMARTMOUTH man to man.
What do you think HERO???

TIGERS2323 said:
Be very careful DOG!!!
What's your name???
Don't hide behind an alias.
Give me a private message and tell me who you are and if you like we can talk about your SMARTMOUTH man to man.
What do you think HERO???

Bigman... You dont really think that BD2 would stand behind his comments do you... That would mean no longer hiding behind the name... Im sure he has some sort of validity behind his comment... But then again, he would have thought that he wouldn't get caught... Oops, bit of a slip up there...

woody07 said:
The penalty was harsh- not doubting that. However it would serve James better if people wouldn't continually excuse his ordinary behaviour. Granted, if rocks were thrown at him it is a disgrace and the league should investigate-perhaps even had security down there a bit sooner. But lets not excuse James poor record of behaviour in our league and others he's played in-If that's the type of high profile players we're going to attract, then maybe, just maybe we're better off without them. He is a loose canon and needs some help if he is to be of any great value to future clubs.

Watching him play on a few of occasions he doesn't seem to set the greatest of examples for the young blokes at your club on the field.
Sunbury needs to improve their discipline and more stability among their playing group if they are to take the next step, not blokes who have the ability to win and LOSE matches off their own boots. The perfect example was the amount of silly free kicks that they gave away on Sat. I’m sick of people talking about the free kick count like they were poorly dealt with. The fact is that the Sunbury players either by over exuberance or stupidity gave away a number of free kicks that could have been avoided.
If it is true that he threw chairs at the tribunal then that is also a disgrace. If he held his nerve and anger (as hard as it may of been) then he could of had grounds on which to appeal. As it seems now, that option may be lost.

Great post.

Although the RDFL tribunal have said that the case against James for spitting and hitting a spectator was thrown out they have clearly still punished him for it. Weather thats right or wrong I don't know.