RDFL Thread

Thats_Special said:
Sorry, just read my post and it confused me... After half time the game was excellent, the crowd got involved and it made the day... The first half was boring was what I was trying to say... This week should be excellent though, really looking forward to 3 great games of football

TS once again you have let yourself down by saying that the first half of seniors on sat was boring. Beautiful weather, beautiful ground and a great crowd ensured the footy was anything but boring as Woodend jumped a typically cocky Diggers outfit in the first half. Lacey was burning again at CHF (still cant believe RDFL Coaches selected Burlak in front of Lacey as CHF in Team of Year), big Darko was pushing both Walker & Marchewka aside and marking like they were u/12's and young Fennel was picking up the scraps and kicking accurately. For Diggers , Sims was well on top of his tagger Stevens and set up many shots at goal through his precise delivery into forward line only to see forwards miss many kickable goals. Ruane was being well held by Jubes and went off with what appeared to be season ending injury. As a result of better conversion and intense running the Hawks lead got out to 40 points, however just before half time you could see the pendulum beginning to swing which ensured nobody left early as we all knew Diggers would mount a charge at some stage in 3rd quarter.
That they did, Jose started having some influence in the ruck (strangely opposed to the hawks best forward in Darko) and the midfield of Sims, Kilty & Tyquin began to win much more of their own ball. The hawks actually had much of the play early in the quarter but without the big man (Darko) up forward the Diggers backs looked much more comfortable and repelled attacks easily. The second half of quarter belonged to the burra and both Ruane and Tyquin kicked a couple of pearlers and Laurie was beginning to show his class as they went into the last change with their noses in front.
The last quarter started much the same way as the previous ended with Diggers dominating play and looking like they would run away with match, however the gutsy hawks came again through some outstanding individual efforts. Young Stacey (must have taken 10 contested marks in last quarter, many against leagues best ruckman in Jose) and Jimmy Forrest and Darko (back in goal square now opposed to Green) made their opponents look silly at times as the Hawks regained lead and looked likely victors. With just minutes to go they led by 13 points. After rushing a behind (foolishly in hindsight) the hawks then saw the burras slam on 2 quick goals to level scores. The second one from Laurie was pure magic. Sims again was the catalyst out of middle before Laurie took a diving mark and then bounced to his feet and drill one from 40 out much to the delight of Diggers crowd behind the goals.
In extra time it was all Diggers, Payne finally made the most of his mismatch and bobbed up with a couple and the hawks were out on their legs.
Awesome game from start to finish, with great crowd interaction and worthy of a GF. Both clubs were outstanding on the day and should be complimented on the spirit in which match was played. A big pat on back to umpires too for the best performance ive seen in years (definitely contributed to quality of match). My only criticism is reserved for RDFL administration - they dont seem to have a clear plan re extra time. Having timed both quarters, first one went for 5 min exactly (obviously no time on whatsoever) whereas second one went for 6min 33secs (clearly inc time on). This is not good enough - there must be time on for both quarters. I still vividly remember a 2's final at romsey about 4 years ago that went to extra time on a day with howling wind going straight down ground. Once again first quarter went for exactly 5 min and second one for just over 8 min. No coincidence that the team kicking with wind in 2nd extra time quarter won the match.
Lets hope they get it right sooner rather than later!

Essendon Nissan Cup Grand Final

The game everyone predicted at the start of the season, but a build up that provided twists and turns, its time to play....

Diggers have had a stellar finals campaign, after a narrow loss to Woodend in the first final, Diggers bounced back for wins against the Kangaroos and the Woodend in extra time to earn the right to take on Riddell.
The Burra have a much vaunted midfield that has wraps around the league as one of the better midfields. Sims, Hildebrand, Walshe and Hoare have dominated and throw in Bowen Medallist Ruane, who for the past 2 weeks has started at CHF and the Burra have superb running power. Nolan and Kilty on the wings have give Diggers drive into a forward line that has had Payne and Davis firing all year, but not so much during this finals series.. These 2 need to stand up if the Burra are to win. Cole Laurie has been the Diggers Rest shining light throughout the finals series. In the first final against Woodend he almost turned the game on his own, in the 2nd Final against the Roos, he almost certainly turned the game. Suggestions have been made that Kar Weng played well on Cole on Saturday, if he kicked straight, he would have kicked 8. He is the Diggers key, will be interesting to see if he starts forward or across half back as he did in the first final. Diggers need others to stand up to win.. It cannot be left on the shoulders of Sims, Laurie and Ruane to win this one.
The Burra have also been well served by Shane Marchewka in the past couple of weeks. Chewy was sensational in the ruck against the Roos, and again as a backup and a backman on Saturday against the Hawks. He could hold the key for Diggers.

The Bombers are the favorites.. As they should be. In the first final against Woodend, they were able to easily account for the Hawks without the input of star Lee James and Heath Wadden.
Leigh Harrison was a standout on the day as was Dean Besanko as the Bombers buried the Hawks.
The key to the Bombers is the midfield, it is my belief that while people put wraps on sides like Diggers and the Kangaroos midfields, Riddell has the best on ballers in the competition, that is why they are on top.
Aaron Blade has had an exceptional season, and will look to take that form into this week, Justin Bellville always gets alot of the football as does Mark Andrews, who just keeps going.
Add to that midfield a dynamic running backline with Mark Peatling and Jason Allen leading the way and of course a forward line containing James and Wadden and you can see why they are so hard to beat. The Under 18 players also hold a key to the Bombers. Petran up forward and Leitch down back have been superb this year and continue to get in the best for the seniors.

All in all a well balanced side, and with James having no impact in his last game, watch out for him to be in a menacing mood this Sunday.

All promises to be a fantastic game of football.. In my view a hard fought, physical contest.

Riddell to win by 11 points..

footyhead18 said:
TS once again you have let yourself down by saying that the first half of seniors on sat was boring. Beautiful weather, beautiful ground and a great crowd ensured the footy was anything but boring as Woodend jumped a typically cocky Diggers outfit in the first half. Lacey was burning again at CHF (still cant believe RDFL Coaches selected Burlak in front of Lacey as CHF in Team of Year), big Darko was pushing both Walker & Marchewka aside and marking like they were u/12's and young Fennel was picking up the scraps and kicking accurately. For Diggers , Sims was well on top of his tagger Stevens and set up many shots at goal through his precise delivery into forward line only to see forwards miss many kickable goals. Ruane was being well held by Jubes and went off with what appeared to be season ending injury. As a result of better conversion and intense running the Hawks lead got out to 40 points, however just before half time you could see the pendulum beginning to swing which ensured nobody left early as we all knew Diggers would mount a charge at some stage in 3rd quarter.
That they did, Jose started having some influence in the ruck (strangely opposed to the hawks best forward in Darko) and the midfield of Sims, Kilty & Tyquin began to win much more of their own ball. The hawks actually had much of the play early in the quarter but without the big man (Darko) up forward the Diggers backs looked much more comfortable and repelled attacks easily. The second half of quarter belonged to the burra and both Ruane and Tyquin kicked a couple of pearlers and Laurie was beginning to show his class as they went into the last change with their noses in front.
The last quarter started much the same way as the previous ended with Diggers dominating play and looking like they would run away with match, however the gutsy hawks came again through some outstanding individual efforts. Young Stacey (must have taken 10 contested marks in last quarter, many against leagues best ruckman in Jose) and Jimmy Forrest and Darko (back in goal square now opposed to Green) made their opponents look silly at times as the Hawks regained lead and looked likely victors. With just minutes to go they led by 13 points. After rushing a behind (foolishly in hindsight) the hawks then saw the burras slam on 2 quick goals to level scores. The second one from Laurie was pure magic. Sims again was the catalyst out of middle before Laurie took a diving mark and then bounced to his feet and drill one from 40 out much to the delight of Diggers crowd behind the goals.
In extra time it was all Diggers, Payne finally made the most of his mismatch and bobbed up with a couple and the hawks were out on their legs.
Awesome game from start to finish, with great crowd interaction and worthy of a GF. Both clubs were outstanding on the day and should be complimented on the spirit in which match was played. A big pat on back to umpires too for the best performance ive seen in years (definitely contributed to quality of match). My only criticism is reserved for RDFL administration - they dont seem to have a clear plan re extra time. Having timed both quarters, first one went for 5 min exactly (obviously no time on whatsoever) whereas second one went for 6min 33secs (clearly inc time on). This is not good enough - there must be time on for both quarters. I still vividly remember a 2's final at romsey about 4 years ago that went to extra time on a day with howling wind going straight down ground. Once again first quarter went for exactly 5 min and second one for just over 8 min. No coincidence that the team kicking with wind in 2nd extra time quarter won the match.
Lets hope they get it right sooner rather than later!

Ill cop yr spray, Ill stick to MY OPINION, that the 1st half of the game was boring

Your right i had very similar times on my clock
The rules actually state.
In the event of a draw in any of the final series of matches up to and including the preliminary final, the match shall continue under the rules of extra time until one team can be deemed the winner. At the completion of official time both goal umpires will confer and confirm to the field umpire the scores are level and if this is confirmed both teams will change ends and play for five (5) minutes (no time on). After five (5) minutes (no time on), both teams will again change ends and play for five (5) minutes (no time on) at which time both goal umpires will confer again. During such extra play, coaches are not permitted to address their players. This process (2x5 minutes) shall be continued until a winner can be declared. If scores are level after full-time in a Grand Final, the game will be replayed at a time and place the following week.

A time keeper from both clubs is in the box, not the league so they are not to blame, last week at kilmore a 1/4 when diggers were going with the wind went for about 40 min the next for a little over 30. The league must take full control of the clock in finals to eliminate any controvesy.

Halffullonfence said:
The mighty Macedon Cricket Ground is the best place for a can and watching good footy. Especially on the "members hill"!!!

Total 65 plus slabs and a dozen slabs off JB's approx.

Thanks to all not to much rubbish to clean up afterwards.

Good to see local footy at it's best all day.

Can't wait for Sunday.

i reckon ts and the mongrel contributed to at least two of those jim beam slabs.what a football venue.the best days footy for the year in my opinion.i tell ya halffullonfence,that ground seems bigger than eva.or maybe im just too fat and old to run around on it these days. anyway have a drink ready 4 me this sunday pal,and maybe we can pour it into our premiership cup

Should be an interesting grand final this weekend, the much hyped diggers midfield against the best all round team in the competition. I thought Riddell had a few weaknesses down back, but they were clearly expelled against Woodend, their seem to have an abundance of quality middle sized players, who carry the ball and use it by foot, guys like Ash and Leitch get under your guard because you are too busy worrying about Allen and Peatling.

Diggers will find it hard to score as their forwards have been dissapointing, Payney got them over the line on the weekend but he and Arnel have been from what I have seen in the previous few weeks not quite able to carry the forward line. to quote TS Cole Laurie is the key, but I still think he is not finding enough of it, he is having a massive impact on games in spurts, but for Diggers to win he needs to find it ten more times than he has in the games I have seen, I dont think Allen will start on him, but if he starts to find it, Riddell may be forced to use their captain on him, which then robs Riddell of the best rebounder.

The other worry for Diggers, is how do they stop harrison and James, espicially if Hoare does not play as he would get one of the big guns, Bevan probably goes to Harrsion, but would need to improve on his finals display so far. I dont think they have anyone who could contain James, if Belville and Blade get the ball in space the Diggers backline are going to be pushing %hit uphill.

For Diggers to win, they need to dominate in the guts, Cox will tag Sims, did a reasonable job last time but should get found out when Sims goes forward. Both these midfields run hard forward of the ball. Bluey will be key to Riddell as he wins it in close, this alows Belville and Blade to be effective peeling forward of the contest. Sims hurts you going forward but will he see enough of it? If I was hopkins Ruane plays in the guts wins it hard and releases Heritage, Sims and co to get in front of the ball, Roo hasn't had as big an influence up forward as Laurie has, Put him in the guts and let him win contested footy, expose the only real weakness I think Riddell may have?

Mind you I have seen Wadden play much if he adds in that area then that hole is covered too. I really cant see Diggers shutting the Riddell stars down, and think towards the second half Riddell's second forwards will really start to dominate, in saying that Diggers are clearly gutsy got themselves up after having an ordinary first final when they had Woodend on the ropes, rolled Sunbury when the guns were out, and just found a way to win last week. Could Walker sit in the goalsquare and do a darko?Diggers will need it. Riddell to win by 30 points.

Interesting Rodriguez I agree Bluey is a key for Riddell. Riddell will murder any side if they win enough of it in close and Diggers pride themselves on winning it in close. Bluey has killed Diggers a few times.

Re: RDFL Reserves Grand Final

Thats_Special said:
A rivalry clash of mass proportions.. If any 2's clash could be a drawcard, even by itself, it is this game, Diggers Rest Vs Sunbury Kangaroos.. Ying Vs Yang...

The Burra have been good all season, hence the strength through both the 2's and 1's.
Marty Weaver has been the Diggers key for much of the season, he leads the league goalkicking and has 10 goals in the 2 finals matches thus far and has caused opposition sides major headaches...
Add to Marty the other dangerous forwards in Leigh Webster, Matt Reiffel, Mick Shehan and Tim Bourne and the Diggers side has some serious artillery up forward. The midfield of the Burra has also been good this year, and they will look to continue thier push toward the elusive flag that has eluded Diggers the past 2 years in the 2's.

The Kangaroos are appearing in thier first ever senior Grand Final, the buzz around the club is electric.
Benny Hunting has been good up forward as has Rick Scott and the ever reliable captain Paul Noonan.
The Kangaroos midfield has been superb the past 8 weeks, winning the football at will and once again will be looking to control the possession of the football this week.

Both sides will hold nothing back in this war of attrition.. It is a game to definately make sure that you catch this Sunday...

For me..... The Kangas to win by 26 points.

I tend to agree... sunburys 2's are a very team orientated bunch of guys considering the way they tore riddell to shreds in the last quarter... matthew welsh and rick scott were exceptional both unbelievably quick off the mark with silky skills, and everyone knows noonan isnt scared to back into a pack n take a hard contested grab... sunbury will win this fairytale finals series with welsh and scott to break the game open in the second half like last week... when everyone else is buggered those two seem to just keep going like energiser batteries....

Halffullonfence said:
Check out Disgrace at Preston City Oval on VAFA Forum. Another great advertisment for the RDFL. Go RDFLUA !!!!!!

I think we should lay off the umpires. It's fair to say that in just about every football competition in the world that there are good umpires and not so good umpires. Even the best umpires in the country are scrutinised by fans, media and clubs each week.

We should count ourselves lucky that we have boundary umpires, field umpires and goal umpires in each match. While some are better than others, if the league doesn't encourage everyone to join up then they go backwards. I refer to some of the smaller boundary umpires as an example. Perhaps they make mistakes and their skill levels let them down at times, but in five years time they will be bigger, stronger and hopefully doing a marvellous job.

The goal umpires in this league do a good job. They look professional, they rarely make mistakes and are happy to say g'day when the ball is at the other end. There are plenty of leagues going around that have either amateur umpires or have supplied umpires from the clubs competing. We should consider ourselves lucky. I get frustrated on the field just like everyone else does, but at the end of the day whats the difference between me tackling a bloke too high, or an umpire missing a holding the ball decision?

Both are mistakes, umpires just cop more attention for their errors.

matt_nicholls said:
I think we should lay off the umpires. It's fair to say that in just about every football competition in the world that there are good umpires and not so good umpires. Even the best umpires in the country are scrutinised by fans, media and clubs each week.

We should count ourselves lucky that we have boundary umpires, field umpires and goal umpires in each match. While some are better than others, if the league doesn't encourage everyone to join up then they go backwards. I refer to some of the smaller boundary umpires as an example. Perhaps they make mistakes and their skill levels let them down at times, but in five years time they will be bigger, stronger and hopefully doing a marvellous job.

The goal umpires in this league do a good job. They look professional, they rarely make mistakes and are happy to say g'day when the ball is at the other end. There are plenty of leagues going around that have either amateur umpires or have supplied umpires from the clubs competing. We should consider ourselves lucky. I get frustrated on the field just like everyone else does, but at the end of the day whats the difference between me tackling a bloke too high, or an umpire missing a holding the ball decision?

Both are mistakes, umpires just cop more attention for their errors.

Matt... Umpires dont make mistakes, especially in our league... Just ask them

Thats_Special said:
Matt... Umpires dont make mistakes, especially in our league... Just ask them

Haha. Good call.

There may be a few people who are like that but generally umpires, their advisor and other league officials are all but too happy that they make mistakes. Certainly from my experience anyway. Consistency may be an issue, but one umpire sees a contest different to the next, thats understandable. I think the umpiring standard is only going to get better in the league. The more people bag them and put them down, the less likely we are to attract new umpires.

matt_nicholls said:
Haha. Good call.

There may be a few people who are like that but generally umpires, their advisor and other league officials are all but too happy that they make mistakes. Certainly from my experience anyway. Consistency may be an issue, but one umpire sees a contest different to the next, thats understandable. I think the umpiring standard is only going to get better in the league. The more people bag them and put them down, the less likely we are to attract new umpires.

Certainly agree with that to an extent... All but the advisor being happy to admit any mistakes... Never happens

Thats_Special said:
Certainly agree with that to an extent... All but the advisor being happy to admit any mistakes... Never happens

bit like you not conceeding an inch that Aaron James may have been a tiny bit at fault at Kilmore? I'm not saying 100%, but say 5%?

BrownDog2 said:
bit like you not conceeding an inch that Aaron James may have been a tiny bit at fault at Kilmore? I'm not saying 100%, but say 5%?

I was just looking back trying to find where I condoned the actions... Couldn't find it.. You just cant let go can you??? You have a big trap and unfortunately cant back it up...

BrownDog2 said:

you still cant get the big fella out of ya mind bd2? it seems everyone else has moved on and just want to enjoy this finals series but u.maybe your a bit queir? i didnt see the great browndog2 carrying a box of kleenex at the game on saturday either.u just stick to your computer and hide behind ya alias,coz u obviously have no balls.perhaps seeing u forgot 2 hand them 2 the bloke wearing number 1,u should hand them to james instead this sunday

Anyways.. Back to the footy..

BOG medal tips

If Riddell player - Bellville, Roughie - Nick Ash
If Diggers player - Laurie, Roughie - Damien Janner

Reserves

If Diggers Player - Weaver, Roughie - Mick Shehan
If Kangas Player - Janetzki, Roughie - Trevor Castignini

Under 18's

If Riddell Player - James Climas, Roughie - Barker
If Romsey Player - Burgess, Roughie - Hartley

this post has nothing to do with footy apologies in advance !!!
OMNIPOTENT_1 said:
What a day though, 3 great games, sensational ground and what about that surface, perfect, no wonder the footy was so good ! If that aint the best ground in the comp' I dont know what is. There was even an atmosphere there. Will be hard to match at Lancefield. Oh & lets not forget the Umpires they did a quallity unobtrusive job all day, [as it should be done]. Best days footy entertainment in many many years who needs the A.F.L. with their " keepings off " style of footy, we had contest after contest all day. Cant wait for the first bounce at 9.45am next sunday. I'll be the one on the fence with a Frothy in one hand & a Stiffy in the other !
well it seems that the great mans cover may have been blown due to an intergation session not even seen by saddam hussain at the moment by a fence sitter ! dont worry oh strong and mighty o1 your secrets safe with us ! but for those wishing to know who is behind such intelligent and well worded posts take a trip down romsey lancefield road on sunday arvo and you will see the great o1 riding his pony with his budgie smugglers on drinking from an under age cup on his way down to the world famous crazyhorse cinema to visit the goo cubicle and release the tension from the so called stiffy he will be packing onto the wall of shame inside the dimly lit bat box!! keep up the great posts o1 you keep me well entertained with your perfect choice of words !:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

OMNIPOTENT_1 said:
What a day though, 3 great games, sensational ground and what about that surface, perfect, no wonder the footy was so good ! If that aint the best ground in the comp' I dont know what is. There was even an atmosphere there. Will be hard to match at Lancefield. Oh & lets not forget the Umpires they did a quallity unobtrusive job all day, [as it should be done]. Best days footy entertainment in many many years who needs the A.F.L. with their " keepings off " style of footy, we had contest after contest all day. Cant wait for the first bounce at 9.45am next sunday. I'll be the one on the fence with a Frothy in one hand & a Stiffy in the other !

Going to the game late pal.

I would think someone with such a grasp of everthing would at least know what time the games start you TOSSA.

I am starting to think you are just a scrabble nerd who fell into this thread while googling for somthing else.

marbles_r_red_2 said:
i heard yothu yindi will be singing the national anthem at the granny this week :D
Here we have not 1 but 2 clear cases of excess by individuals obviously deluded by their perseived grandeur. The first of over imbibeing. then posting. The second, of the same, and a total lack of mastication control, which must be placing an inordinate strain on his vital aorta !

OMNIPOTENT_1 said:
Here we have not 1 but 2 clear cases of excess by individuals obviously deluded by their perseived grandeur. The first of over imbibeing. then posting. The second, of the same, and a total lack of mastication control, which must be placing an inordinate strain on his vital aorta !
thats the stuff im looking for ominpotent 1,your use of big words is a marvelous please post more of them.but insted of overloading your ever expanding brain may be you could concentrate on a few words driver-duck hook, driver-slice and double figure scores on easy holes maybe you should concentrate at this sport no need to go into to football as you have dominated the game like no other, or perhaps you should turn to journalism as your posts read better than anything that caroline (i drink from the furry cup)wilson has ever written ! keep up the good work o1 your the best thing that has ever happened to big footy :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

marbles_r_red_2 said:
i heard yothu yindi will be singing the national anthem at the granny this week :D
I heard Ollie Mathews is doing a lap of honour in a Bat Mobile wilst Adam Isley sings a moving rendition of " We cant be beaten ". And apparently Neil Sharp is entered in the half time dash sporting full length lycra running suit [a-la Cathy Freeman style] only with unbridled wobbley bits !

OMNIPOTENT_1 said:
I heard Ollie Mathews is doing a lap of honour in a Bat Mobile wilst Adam Isley sings a moving rendition of " We cant be beaten ". And apparently Neil Sharp is entered in the half time dash sporting full length lycra running suit [a-la Cathy Freeman style] only with unbridled wobbley bits !
heard the same only along different lines, the tribunal members will be there dressed as the wiggles and there bringing there big red car along to chair mr mathews around the ground for a lap of honour,mr sharpe will also be there but i doubt he will see much of the game as he will have a tupperware stall going just besides the canteen and mr isely will not be singing we cant be beaten he will be singing dream the immpossible dream a song which describes his quest for football greatness to a tea ! good umpire though :thumbsu: should be a cracker of a day cant wait :thumbsu: