RDFL Thread

Iceman27 said:
Although the RDFL tribunal have said that the case against James for spitting and hitting a spectator was thrown out they have clearly still punished him for it. Weather thats right or wrong I don't know.

Now this I agree with

Now everyone can see why Melton, Sunbury, Melton sth, darley, craigieburn, jacana, Wallan and gisborne have f ucked off fom this putrid comp ran by uneducated football people. That decision on AJ is an absolute farce. They have turned a once powerful comp into a joke.

The RDFL have definently done their best to send the comp back a few years. With recruits like James, Gadsten, Wadden, B.Johnson etc many sides were starting to field quality sides. Now after a possible 4 year ban for James what well known/talented footballer in their right mind would play in the RDFL.

OldMelburnian28 said:
The RDFL have definently done their best to send the comp back a few years. With recruits like James, Gadsten, Wadden, B.Johnson etc many sides were starting to field quality sides. Now after a possible 4 year ban for James what well known/talented footballer in their right mind would play in the RDFL.

Spot on i have backed the league the last few years by saying that it is on the up, and it is, but after taking so many steps forward it is unfortunate that 3 incidents in one day of the finals series when all eyes are looking at what should have been one of the show cases of the series, it took a few steps back. Pity.
I believe the league needs to do something about the tribunal system for how many years now has this league been known to have one of the harshest panels in victoria.

far canal said:
Now everyone can see why Melton, Sunbury, Melton sth, darley, craigieburn, jacana, Wallan and gisborne have f ucked off fom this putrid comp ran by uneducated football people. That decision on AJ is an absolute farce. They have turned a once powerful comp into a joke.

COULDNT HAVE SUMMED IT UP BETTER far canal.perhaps sunbury should leave this putrid comp too.leave all these ****wits at the rdfl 2 play with themselves.i hope they take note of how many non kangaroos supporters posting their threads of disgust with the whole james saga.hopefully common sense will prevail with the appeal,and james can get a fair hearing this time,and a more appropriate penalty.at least then we can all be witnesses 2 the certain officials of the league with egg smeared all over their faces

bearsboy said:
Hey c*ck sucker i believe you were about 10 years old when Werner was kicking 15 goals every week [probably more against your rabble]i dont remember him visiting the tribunal very often for a bloke that was supposedly the biggest sniper the leagues ever seen . So i'd suggest you deal with the facts and pipe down F**ck wit .:eek:

Of corse werner was kicking heaps of goals at gisborne.how could he not?gisborne were forking out 70000 a year in players,while all the other gun clubs moved to tougher competitions.and all werner was left to play against were basically the division 2 sides of old.not knocking his ability,gosh who would,but just explaining the quality of player he was up against wasnt up to the level where he should have been playing

can I please ask all posters to tone it down a bit I have young children and frankly the language is apauling
every one keeps slaging off about "certain League officials"dragging the league back 10 years
I am sure from what I have read over the last 12 months that we are all above personal abbuse and threats.
I to was at the game on sunday and thought at times A.J. was treated was a bit ruff however his language on several occassions was not nescesary Maybe If what we have been told "losig it " at the tribuneral is true A. J may need anger management classes:eek:

hawkeye60 said:
can I please ask all posters to tone it down a bit I have young children and frankly the language is apauling
every one keeps slaging off about "certain League officials"dragging the league back 10 years
I am sure from what I have read over the last 12 months that we are all above personal abbuse and threats.
I to was at the game on sunday and thought at times A.J. was treated was a bit ruff however his language on several occassions was not nescesary Maybe If what we have been told "losig it " at the tribuneral is true A. J may need anger management classes:eek:
Mate if you think he's language was bad so be it but i don't think he would just turn to the crowd and hurl abuse at people do you?
I think he's just trying to defend himself after the idiots in the crowd abuse him and his family for no reason.Put yourself in that position and think how it would feel you say you have young children what would you do if a whole bunch of drunken idiots started calling them obscene names aswell as your wife and mother?

One thing that has to be set straight is why was there an umpire that is a member of a club competing in an important match, the showcase of the league, umpiring on the day.
Umpires firstly dont really care about who wins in reality to be honest, however common sense should have provailed about the appointments, because this way then if three umpires who have no association with the clubs, not such fuss would be giving
the tribunal on the other hand is a joke, throwing chairs firstly shouldn't be condoned, i agree with that, but for the amount of S H I T A.J copped on sunday was absolutely rediculous!, and if the tribunal considered the **** he has copped week in week out, such a penalty wouldnt have been handed out!
it was nothing but a joke!

i find the last couple of pages funny, lets not make excuses for him. as for the rock throwing incident please i was there, and there was not one rock thrown. as for the punching in the back of the head 8 times TS please he got hit once in the first quarter. if he got hit 8 times wouldn't he have been punching on with matt walker before the first half had finished. james is not well known for his anger management skills so if he was hit 8 times it would have been on very early. don't lie about what happen on the weekend. everyone is angry he got two years. as for abusing his team mates that happened a lot. and talking to sunbury kangaroo players they were ashamed with james behaviour, and talked openly about it after the game. that is a fact. 2 years is harsh and know one expected that lengthy suspension. it is very easy to blame the umpires when your team lost, and if that what makes you feel better then so be it, but it had no impact on the game diggers were better on the day

i agree, diggers were the best on the day, the rock throwing, i was also there, and i must have been wearing sunnies or somethin, caus i saw different to you. however with that being said i think its the fact that it was the tribunal everyone is argueing about, because thats what it comes down to, clearly jamesy should have been reported for what he did say to the umpire, but to cop such a penalty is rediculous

whiteout said:
i find the last couple of pages funny, lets not make excuses for him. as for the rock throwing incident please i was there, and there was not one rock thrown. as for the punching in the back of the head 8 times TS please he got hit once in the first quarter. if he got hit 8 times wouldn't he have been punching on with matt walker before the first half had finished. james is not well known for his anger management skills so if he was hit 8 times it would have been on very early. don't lie about what happen on the weekend. everyone is angry he got two years. as for abusing his team mates that happened a lot. and talking to sunbury kangaroo players they were ashamed with james behaviour, and talked openly about it after the game. that is a fact. 2 years is harsh and know one expected that lengthy suspension. it is very easy to blame the umpires when your team lost, and if that what makes you feel better then so be it, but it had no impact on the game diggers were better on the day

WHITEOUT this is the first time i disagree with u on one of your points.the rock throwing definately took place.and hence the all in brawl behind the goals moments after.all your other points are valid though.

blues12 said:
Spot on i have backed the league the last few years by saying that it is on the up, and it is, but after taking so many steps forward it is unfortunate that 3 incidents in one day of the finals series when all eyes are looking at what should have been one of the show cases of the series, it took a few steps back. Pity.
I believe the league needs to do something about the tribunal system for how many years now has this league been known to have one of the harshest panels in victoria.

Totally agree blues12. Our tribunal system has been very poor for as long as i can remember. No matter what you are reported for in our league you are better off taking the set penalty (if offered) 99% of the time. The tribunal obviously does not like being called out on a Tues night because they never take into account the players testimony of events (or even that of the player on the receiving end) and generally always whack you with more than you would have had you taken set penalty.
It is time for an overhaul of not only the tribunal but the whole administration of the league. Its time for some younger and more in touch board members to step up and take the reigns.

And as someone who has done some umpiring i am reluctant to umpire bash but some of the blokes who continually pop up in white (or fluoro orange)come finals time astounds me. To see the likes of Semmo, Freeman and the guy with disfigured hand officiating games (even reserves) is simply not good enough. They are amongst the worst umpires in our league and should be pensioned out. There are decent young umpires such as the solid red-head they call 'ice' i saw a few times through the year who should be given opportunities.

OldMelburnian28 said:

probably a well known footballer who can keep his head, or one who knows that responding to crowds only increases the crap that is dished out!!!

whiteout said:

I never once said Diggers were not the better side on Sunday, nor did I bring up the umpiring other than to state where his frustration came from concerning the umpire...
As for the punches, we all saw it, including you... Either that or you were being ignorant to the fact...

Overall, I may need to sum up my position again for you..

1 - Diggers won the game, they played better football and deserved it.
2 - Aaron was punched several times in the head, building his frustration, but instead of lashing out at the puncher, lashed out at the officials placed on the ground to control that behaviour.
3 - Rocks were certainly thrown, several of them, and we have the names of the throwers..
4 - Although the umpiring IMO, and last time I checked, I was allowed an opinion, although IMO the umpiring was poor, I dont expect everyone to agree with my opinion...
5 - I believe, as someone else also mentioned earlier, that the clubs and the tribunal have shown, that as a league, we cannot go forward and grow, as we cannot handle high profile players, if we have to personally and physically abuse them to the point that they flip a lid, how do we draw them to our comp.. I got an almighty spray this time last year for calling someone a hangout, and telling another guy he wasn't up to it.. They cried about that... What about a guy having his girlfriend and his mother abused while he is trying to play football, having your family threatened while you are just out trying to get a kick... Think about it...

Thats_Special said:
I never once said Diggers were not the better side on Sunday, nor did I bring up the umpiring other than to state where his frustration came from concerning the umpire...
As for the punches, we all saw it, including you... Either that or you were being ignorant to the fact...

Overall, I may need to sum up my position again for you..

1 - Diggers won the game, they played better football and deserved it.
2 - Aaron was punched several times in the head, building his frustration, but instead of lashing out at the puncher, lashed out at the officials placed on the ground to control that behaviour.
3 - Rocks were certainly thrown, several of them, and we have the names of the throwers..
4 - Although the umpiring IMO, and last time I checked, I was allowed an opinion, although IMO the umpiring was poor, I dont expect everyone to agree with my opinion...
5 - I believe, as someone else also mentioned earlier, that the clubs and the tribunal have shown, that as a league, we cannot go forward and grow, as we cannot handle high profile players, if we have to personally and physically abuse them to the point that they flip a lid, how do we draw them to our comp.. I got an almighty spray this time last year for calling someone a hangout, and telling another guy he wasn't up to it.. They cried about that... What about a guy having his girlfriend and his mother abused while he is trying to play football, having your family threatened while you are just out trying to get a kick... Think about it...

hear hear

I do agree our tribunal needs an overhaul, I have no doubt in that actually, but I do think that the actual officials do a pretty good job of running the league, they are independant to the tribunal, although at times I do think the "power" clubs get the benefits of some of the decisions, the officials do work hard to ensure the success of the league, but someone has to be held responsible... And as these officials are the face of the league, they generally will be...

footyhead18 said:
And as someone who has done some umpiring i am reluctant to umpire bash but some of the blokes who continually pop up in white (or fluoro orange)come finals time astounds me. To see the likes of Semmo, Freeman and the guy with disfigured hand officiating games (even reserves) is simply not good enough. They are amongst the worst umpires in our league and should be pensioned out. There are decent young umpires such as the solid red-head they call 'ice' i saw a few times through the year who should be given opportunities.

the problem is umpirers arent exactly lining up to do the job.the red headed fella u are referring to is adam icely.the reason he is very good at umpiring is because he has played a lot of footy himself.infact he was at the western jets 4 three years.about time we gave him some big matches rather than the peanuts umpiring at the moment.especially the diggers social members umpiring diggers games

roge_3 said:
the problem is umpirers arent exactly lining up to do the job.the red headed fella u are referring to is adam icely.the reason he is very good at umpiring is because he has played a lot of footy himself.infact he was at the western jets 4 three years.about time we gave him some big matches rather than the peanuts umpiring at the moment.especially the diggers social members umpiring diggers games

Is someone going to identify these Diggers Social club members that are umpires? lots of talk but no names.

scoot said:
Power 1000 to one as for not bringing kids thru 10 different under 18 played this year for a total of 52 games.Thats why we finished on top .Would love to compere budgets with other clubs,u would find we would b under alot of other clubs.
scoot who will make way for gadsden & wadden for the GF?:rolleyes:

Mongrel said:
WHITEOUT this is the first time i disagree with u on one of your points.the rock throwing definately took place.and hence the all in brawl behind the goals moments after.all your other points are valid though.

i stated in an earlier post that if rocks was thrown it was a disgrace but i can only comment on what i saw and i didn't see any get thrown.
as for the abuse he cops granted it is more than i have ever seen a player cop but the big boy is very well looked after. for a 1000 dollars + a game you can call me what ever you want for 2 hours (i know he isn't on that much at the roos) but previous clubs were paying alot of money for AJ and well deserverd to but he also has to understand for 2 hours work on a saturday/sunday that is great money!! everyclub loves to bag the other teams best players and there is none bigger than james.
2 years was way over the top i thought he might get 10 weeks. but when the sentence was handed down he should have just walked out and taken his case to the appeals board, and i would think it would get reduced, but if all the rumours are true about throwing a chair and what not he has seriously hurt his chances for the appeal.
in saying all that i hope it does get reduced but i just don't like his chances

whiteout said:
WHITEOUT or WHITEANT???
Name the sunbury players who were bagging james after the game.