Banter RDT 162 - Gimme, Gimme, Gimme A Man After Census Night

Back to something a bit drier - for those interesting in my tax return drama, apparently they literally just put my refund on hold because I had changed the bank account that I wanted it refunded into, compared to the one I had used in previous years.

So I called the ATO hotline, sat on the phone on hold for 25 mins and then, after it had to be escalated to some bloke called Bernard, they literally just asked me to confirm the name of the bank and that was it. Now it’s moved along the workflow and supposedly will be in my account within a week.

I asked Bernie if it would have progressed had I not have called them, and he was like ‘probably eventually’.

Moral of story: toasted > untoasted

I've changed banks before/accountant used old, closed bank account, and the ATO just posted me a cheque instead. I'm still convinced your door is gonna get kicked in.

On ATO news, I'm now being stung extra for childcare and stuck owing Centrelink CCS backpay because we moved out of our house into a rental and put tenants in our place. Seems to have pushed us over the edge of some bracket I wasn't aware of, and now I'm paying silly amounts for child care until the wife has bub #2. Very sucky, and my own oblivious fault.

Hoping they quickly process her revised income now she's taking a year off and the costs return to something a little more normal. 😬

I've changed banks before/accountant used old, closed bank account, and the ATO just posted me a cheque instead. I'm still convinced your door is gonna get kicked in.

On ATO news, I'm now being stung extra for childcare and stuck owing Centrelink CCS backpay because we moved out of our house into a rental and put tenants in our place. Seems to have pushed us over the edge of some bracket I wasn't aware of, and now I'm paying silly amounts for child care until the wife has bub #2. Very sucky, and my own oblivious fault.

Hoping they quickly process her revised income now she's taking a year off and the costs return to something a little more normal. 😬
You can change your income estimate through MyGov can't you?

The childcare subsidy scheme is ridiculous; "we'll rebate you based on your PREDICTED income. And then sting you like a ma****er come tax time if you go over." Not ideal for people who work casual jobs or want to take the over-time opportunities if they come up. So little incentive to get mother's back to work considering the costs.

My wife and I were both working full-time and needed before and afterschool care for our first. Basically I could go part-time and we'd still have the same take money in our pocket and I get to drop the kids at school and pick them up instead.

So if you're ever wondering why I may seem like my posting is slurring at 3:30pm you've got your answer.

You can change your income estimate through MyGov can't you?

Correct. The prompts to do this were going to my wife, who has barely a moment to breathe, let alone process, consider, or allocate such things to someone else to handle. Totally our fault, but also impossible to predict income versus investment losses until the end of the financial year. Paying off the principal on the houses seems to be what undid us, as our claimable interest has been reducing.

I’ve never had the pleasure of meeting a real life Bernard

You might know them better as Nursie
Bqt6o_7IEAA1ZOd.jpg

Back to something a bit drier - for those interesting in my tax return drama, apparently they literally just put my refund on hold because I had changed the bank account that I wanted it refunded into, compared to the one I had used in previous years.

So I called the ATO hotline, sat on the phone on hold for 25 mins and then, after it had to be escalated to some bloke called Bernard, they literally just asked me to confirm the name of the bank and that was it. Now it’s moved along the workflow and supposedly will be in my account within a week.

I asked Bernie if it would have progressed had I not have called them, and he was like ‘probably eventually’.

Moral of story: toasted > untoasted

No worries man glad i was able to help with your Tax probelm

Kind Regards

Chris_" Bernard"_6678

Rent a minivan and have a designated driver?
Thought of that but don’t really know any of the other guys well, and I don’t really want to ask them. I guess I could take one for the team but my mate would be disappointed.