Analysis Reasons to be Cheerful (2019) - Part One.

My fondest memories of football all happened in that space between the races. So many characters. The agony. The sit down protest. The ecstacy. Plugger's hundreth and win against Footscray in 1987. Nothing has ever come close to it. Only a premiership will supersede it in my memories. I had a group of mates who weren't saints' supporters who would always be there. They came to watch Plugger, but stayed for the banter and ambience.
Yep plenty of drama
Loved giving the opposition players a spray as they came on
Colosseum like atmosphere
You can’t really explain it you just had to be there

I let myself get over pumped last preseason and as a result I think I let the reality of our atrocious season get the better of me in certain ways.
Next year I’m putting up my drawbridge.

I let myself get over pumped last preseason and as a result I think I let the reality of our atrocious season get the better of me in certain ways.
Don't let it beat you Saintos!
I have learned to discover that no matter how hard you try
You can Never get ahead of yourself Too many times!

It's the delusional hope and expectation that fuels the special kind of
Beast it takes to be a hardcore Saints fanatic!

I say we should embrace our obvious impediment! ;)

Yeah, yeah, all good.....until round 1. ;)

My fondest memories of football all happened in that space between the races. So many characters. The agony. The sit down protest. The ecstacy. Plugger's hundreth and win against Footscray in 1987. Nothing has ever come close to it. Only a premiership will supersede it in my memories. I had a group of mates who weren't saints' supporters who would always be there. They came to watch Plugger, but stayed for the banter and ambience.
Ah yes the Animal Enclosure was indeed a place for the purists in slinging
The funniest s**t I've ever heard sprayed at the footy!

Also remember quite distinctly that fateful day against the Dogs in 87
With Pluggers 100th and a thrilling victory which may have been our
5th in a row at the time! Twas quite the feral arvo at the footy!

Come to think of it I seem to remember hugging complete strangers and
Doing some sort of hybrid Sharpie/Disco dance that went on for some time!
I'm thinking the really Drunk Dude with the razor sharp Wit was Drake!
He had pissed himself. But that just reinforces my theory! ;)

And this other European looking guy who would sooner kill anyone than look at them
Also knew his s**t and was magnificent with the sledge!
I'm tipping that was VDS66 with hair! :p

I first ran across her professionally in the early nineties. She had a bit of a reputation even then. Coppers, crooks, whoever. She made the fatal error of treating her clients like friends and family. Lines weren't just crossed. They were obliterated. BTW, when were you at Springvale CIB? Tough gig back in the 80's and 90's IIRC.
77 to 81. Then Dandenong for a couple of years.

Ah yes the Animal Enclosure was indeed a place for the purists in slinging
The funniest s**t I've ever heard sprayed at the footy!

Also remember quite distinctly that fateful day against the Dogs in 87
With Pluggers 100th and a thrilling victory which may have been our
5th in a row at the time! Twas quite the feral arvo at the footy!

Come to think of it I seem to remember hugging complete strangers and
Doing some sort of hybrid Sharpie/Disco dance that went on for some time!
I'm thinking the really Drunk Dude with the razor sharp Wit was Drake!
He had pissed himself. But that just reinforces my theory! ;)

And this other European looking guy who would sooner kill anyone than look at them
Also knew his s**t and was magnificent with the sledge!
I'm tipping that was VDS66 with hair! :p
You've got the two of us mixed up, MM!

Yep. Footy has never been the same. I remember the game when Plugger outmarked Silvagni with minutes to go and 2 points down. He slotted his 10th and Saints beat Blues for first time in the 80s I think. I raised my fist and it hit the roof of the old coaching boxes behind the animal enclosure, broke my third knuckle, hurt like eff but I didn't care, it was going to be a very big night!

And so it was, Ricmel. I couldn't watch the Plugger kick. It was only my mates jumping all over me that signalled his success! Absolute pandemonium! My second favourite AE memory.

Gees I hope your predictions are correct Drake, it would be great to see players like Gresham, Acres Sinclair, Paton, Phillips and Billings starting to earn their keep through the midfield.

I know certain people are less than hopeful about Marshall becoming a full time ruckman, but I believe he has the tools to be exactly that.

I have major concerns in McCartin making it at all Im afraid. I cant see him having a consistent impact at AFL level. He is too slow and far too limited in his movement for a modern day key forward.[/QUOT
I wouldnt write McCartin off just yet.
His injuries may have left him bereft of Self Confidence and Belief.
Some Continuity in game time,hopefully allows him to produce his full potential.

R2 1989. 8 Apr 1989. Brilliant game. Plugger kicked 10.7. 27,796 crammed into Moorabbin.

Was it first time we beat Blues in 80s? If it wasn't the first I reckon it was only the second.

Yes it was only our second win against Carlton in the 80s. We beat them R16 1984 105 pts to 84. A few honourable mentions - 1 point loss R12 1987, 4 point loss R15 1988 and another 1 point loss in the return match in 1989.

1980 R10
Carlton 14.20.104
St Kilda 9.8.62

1980 R21
St Kilda 13.9.87
Carlton 20.16.136

1981 R5
St Kilda 10.13.73
Carlton 19.23.137

1981 R15
Carlton 6.14.50
St Kilda 5.5.35

1982 R6
St Kilda 11.14.80
Carlton 16.22.118

1982 R16
Carlton 21.13.139
St Kilda 9.9.63

1983 R8
St Kilda 12.17.89
Carlton 22.13.145

1983 R19
Carlton 25.18.168
St Kilda 8.13.61

1984 R6
Carlton 15.14.104
St Kilda 13.12.90

1984 R16
St Kilda 16.9.105
Carlton 13.6.84

1985 R2
St Kilda 2.17.29
Carlton 25.19.169

1985 R13
Carlton 20.13.139
St Kilda 16.11.107

1986 R3
St Kilda 10.9.69
Carlton 24.13.157

1986 R14
Carlton 24.19.163
St Kilda 11.10.76

1987 R12
Carlton 12.25.97
St Kilda 14.12.96

1988 R6
Carlton 10.12.72
St Kilda 4.8.32

1988 R15
St Kilda 9.11.65
Carlton 10.9.69

1989 R2
St Kilda 13.18.96
Carlton 13.14.92

1989 R20
Carlton 20.13.133
St Kilda 20.12.132

Was it first time we beat Blues in 80s? If it wasn't the first I reckon it was only the second.
Second from memory!
We beat them at Moorabin on a pretty wet deck in 84 I think!
Remember It well for the engrossing duel between a young Plugger and Bruce Doull!

The Flying Doormat ( now ain't that a wicked nickname ) prob shaded it
But Lockett still kicked 3 or 4 critical goals in the conditions!

Edit Well there you go! dct66 Sandra Sullied me!
Amazing how I remember s**t like that, but ask me what I did yesterday
No idea! :think:

Second from memory!
We beat them at Moorabin on a pretty wet deck in 84 I think!
Remember It well for the engrossing duel between a young Plugger and Bruce Doull!

The Flying Doormat ( now ain't that a wicked nickname ) prob shaded it
But Lockett still kicked 3 or 4 critical goals in the conditions!

Edit Well there you go! dct66 Sandra Sullied me!
Amazing how I remember s**t like that, but ask me what I did yesterday
No idea! :think:

You did it from memory though Mighty

Yes it was only our second win against Carlton in the 80s. We beat them R16 1984 105 pts to 84. A few honourable mentions - 1 point loss R12 1987, 4 point loss R15 1988 and another 1 point loss in the return match in 1989.

1980 R10
Carlton 14.20.104
St Kilda 9.8.62

1980 R21
St Kilda 13.9.87
Carlton 20.16.136

1981 R5
St Kilda 10.13.73
Carlton 19.23.137

1981 R15
Carlton 6.14.50
St Kilda 5.5.35

1982 R6
St Kilda 11.14.80
Carlton 16.22.118

1982 R16
Carlton 21.13.139
St Kilda 9.9.63

1983 R8
St Kilda 12.17.89
Carlton 22.13.145

1983 R19
Carlton 25.18.168
St Kilda 8.13.61

1984 R6
Carlton 15.14.104
St Kilda 13.12.90

1984 R16
St Kilda 16.9.105
Carlton 13.6.84

1985 R2
St Kilda 2.17.29
Carlton 25.19.169

1985 R13
Carlton 20.13.139
St Kilda 16.11.107

1986 R3
St Kilda 10.9.69
Carlton 24.13.157

1986 R14
Carlton 24.19.163
St Kilda 11.10.76

1987 R12
Carlton 12.25.97
St Kilda 14.12.96

1988 R6
Carlton 10.12.72
St Kilda 4.8.32

1988 R15
St Kilda 9.11.65
Carlton 10.9.69

1989 R2
St Kilda 13.18.96
Carlton 13.14.92

1989 R20
Carlton 20.13.133
St Kilda 20.12.132
Think you've mistaken this thread thread for the reasons to be pissed off thread :p

You did it from memory though Mighty
Cheers dct66!
Nice to be recognised for my useless talent!

That 1 point loss in 87 was at princess park with Tom Alvin kicking the
Winning goal after the siren!
I think the frenetic last quarter with Rocket Rod Owen going berserk he kicked 7 or 8
Went for about 5 hours! :mad: