Recruits for 2002

• Thread starter Thread starter Visro

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes:
Kerr and Read are both good but will never be superstars.

Kerr will be one of the best in the business if his early form is anything to go by.

There is arguments for and against whether to go for established players, or go for draft picks.

My personal choice is to get a bit of a mixture.

If you guys think Chick is out of the question, maybe we could for Rawlings. He can double up as a running back or as a tall back.

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup
visit the Easts Cricket Club
The ulitimate statistics reference

The Eagles must become more aggressive in recruiting and trading. Other clubs have used us a bit in the past and we seem to have been always given the worst deals.

I'd love to see the club really go after a player such as Nathan Brown or Joel Bowden as I mentioned earlier. Everyone here is talking about Chick or Rawlings. Another player from the club which has been in top form is Angelo Lekkas (he did get injured this week however).

Just a bit more news on Aaron Rogers:

In he first coming back from injury he kicked 6 goals in the TAC Cup for NSW/ACT against Bendigo.

I'm definetaly convinced that we should have a look at picking him up in the draft after this years.

He would compliment well into our side, as he can play at full forward and half back.

The only question is:
will he want to come to WA? Will he play well in WA?

[This message has been edited by WCE2000 (edited 30 April 2001).]

Well email the WC club about it suggesting they to talk to him. Saying we should recruit someone aint going to do much. Why doesn't the club recruit him at this years draft anyway?

Vis

well if he was born in 83 it means he is one year older than me and people in my year group will get drafted. By the time the draft comes around he would be nearly 18 so why not??

Vis

Anyone born in '83 will be eligible to be drafted in November this year. And with the eagles likely to get low picks(top5 almost a certainty) we could well pick him up. And the good thing is, whether he wants to play in WA or not if we draft him we'll get him for at least 2yrs anyway
biggrin.gif

And WCE2000, Kerr is a great player but he, to me atleast, seems like a Phil Read type player, who will be a good player for the team but never a superstar(like Hart and Evans in the early 90's)

But he is good nevertheless.

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

Anyone born in '83 will be eligible to be drafted in November this year. And with the eagles likely to get low picks(top5 almost a certainty) we could well pick him up. And the good thing is, whether he wants to play in WA or not if we draft him we'll get him for at least 2yrs anyway
biggrin.gif

But when you do that, it sometimes backfires.

When you bring players out of their home state, they often don't perform to their best.

If he goes into this years draft, i don't think he will go that early, because he is still only under 17 - i would say he Rogers would go around about pick 50 this year, next year, he would be a top 10 pick for sure.

------------------

he must be born in 84 if he is still only 16 then. Anyway email the club if you really want WC to have a crack at him and tell them about him. Maybe one of the scouts over there will have a word with him or something.

Vis

And WCE2000, Kerr is a great player but he, to me atleast, seems like a Phil Read type player, who will be a good player for the team but never a superstar(like Hart and Evans in the early 90's)

I think Kerr will become one of the best midfielders in the comp. The club has to make sure however that they dont burn him out after one season.

Vis

Originally posted by WCE2000:

These is a list of the players i mentioned we could look at a possible trade:
Johnathan Hay
Jade Rawlings
Trent Croad
Alistiar Nicholson
Daniel Chick
Nathan Brown
Adam Yze
Brett Moyle
Joel Bowden
Marcus Picken
Jason Akermanis

I have to agree with Bubba and TT on this one. All the above players are pretty much stars!! There clubs would be stupid to let them go.

I think i have learned a lot from my fellow bigfooty eagles supporters in this thread. A lot of you have no loyalty and a lot of you have no faith. Why trade Braun when he is 22 and can be a star??? Why trade Banfield, have any of you ever heard the words thank you!!! Im sure he would be real happy being traded, that would be a big thanks from WA
rolleyes.gif

Why trade Cummings?? Hes injured lets get rid of him??? CMON you saw what happened when he wasnt injured, he kicked 95 goals and won the Coleman. Why trade Jones?? This one is stupid lets get rid of Banfield and then lets get rid of Jones, then we'll have 0 quality taggers
rolleyes.gif

Whats wrong with some of you guys. We've got some youngsters and at the end of the year we will have some draft picks and im sure our club isnt stupid, they will be looking for key backmen.

Now someone take there finger off the panic button and lets play some footy!!!!!

Oh and WCE2000 if you want Rawlings and Chick and Hay and Croad so much go and be a Hawks supporter!

------------------
Use the force Luke ....

[This message has been edited by jod23 (edited 01 May 2001).]

And would everyone stop saying were stacked in the midfield. Matera and Kemp are gone soon and Banfield isnt getting any younger that leaves :

Cousins - all class.
Kerr - still very young and raw.
Fletcher - could be next big thing.
Braun - reliable contributor.
Jones - mainly a tagger.
Taylor - serviceable at best.

Read - isnt a midfielder, hes a backpocket.
Humm - hasnt even played a game yet.
Morrison - mainly a half back.
Wooden - useless.
Chambers - serviceable at best.

So really our midfield is strong now but in two years could be reliant on one man. So our midfield aint stacked.

why would we want rawlings
hes like 24, 25 this year, he would be 26 is his first year wtih us
no way
and i do beleive clubs would give low picks for
braun+jones, braun is very good, jones is reliable, i dont think we would have trouble getting a top 5 pick for them..., especially since freo are finishing at the bottom
smile.gif

The eagles ahve good youngsters coming up, we have nothing to worry about. I have always been proud of the fact that all the players on the eagles list were home bred(drafted). We almost never picked up used players.

Now recently it has all changed, we are doing a Kangaroos job. I don't want that. I want us to have players that WE drafted and WE developed.

And in conlusion, Braun and Jones will NEVER be traded. Cummings on the other hand might be, KJ has never really liked him(always benches and humiliates him) and he will probably get rid of him first chance he gets.

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

I can't believe it took 4 pages before someone mentioned that Chick doesn't want to come to Perth, he's made that very clear. Enough said on Chick.

I'd also like Hay, but again he has come out and said he doesn't want to come to Perth and wants to finish his career in Victoria. Enough said.

In saying that, I'm sure some players use the 'I'm looking at going to WCE/Freo (i.e Chick)' as leverage for a better contract with their current club. Perhaps we need to 'sell' our great state to some of them
biggrin.gif
IMO a player really has to WANT to come to WA, and not just financially, for a club to be able to get the best out of them on the footy field.

WCE2000 - Trade Banfield - you're joking right? I'm with Jod23 on this one.

Re: getting/trade deals to get some of the players mentioned so far - Yeah Right! You're Dreaming........ We've got about as much chance of getting Buckley for Humm & a draft pick as we have some of the players mentioned so far.

As much as I love West Coast, realistically we don't have the calibre of players to warrant any 'big' deals.

I also agree with whoever (Jod23?) said about being be happy to keep Judge for his recruiting, IMO, once that jobs done, bring in the real coach.

Im glad some of you (WA, ONE EYE) are agreeing with me. I mean i like WCE2000's creativity but there isnt much reality in it. I think we will be fine, lets just concentrate on the footy and when the season ends we will see where we are and what to do.

Oh and WA you said we dont have the calibre of players to warrant big deals. We do have the calibre of players like Cousins Wirrpunda Gardiner and so forth but we not stupid enough to trade them
wink.gif

Jod23 - I am as big a fan of Wirrpunda as from memory you are, Cousins I'm also a big fan of
wink.gif
and Gardiner has been a reasonably good member of my fantsy footy squad
smile.gif
Yes WC would be mad to trade them. BUT aside from a few, IMO we still don't have the calibre of 'tradable' (not sure if thats a word!?!) players to get 'big' deals - as in top tier players.

Hypothetically, which most of this topic has been anyway, apart from the 3 WC players mentioned, what club would trade any of their top say 3-4 players with anyone on our squad...

[This message has been edited by WA (edited 02 May 2001).]

WCE2000, all those players might be better players than Michael Braun, but I dont think you know what your talking about mate.

Michael Braun is an onballer ie midfielder - Croad, Hay, Brown, Chick, Akermanis are all backmen (and probably at least 5 inches taller than Braun!!!!) and the rest, well if you think they are all much better than Braun, I dont think we watch the same game! Maybe you have a short memory. Braun hasn't played a full game for about 12 months, so it's a bit too difficult for you to remember 1999 when he would have kicked half of those guys butts!!!!!

Originally posted by MDB:
Michael Braun is an onballer ie midfielder - Croad, Hay, Brown, Chick, Akermanis are all backmen (and probably at least 5 inches taller than Braun!!!!)

thats the whole point.

Why would you want to trade a midfielder for a midfielder.

In the midfield, i reckon we're going allright. In the backline, we're not going allright.

So we trade a player from a strong part of the field (midfield) for a player who plays in our weaker parts on the field (backline).

------------------

[This message has been edited by WCE2000 (edited 02 May 2001).]

Im not talking about the actaul positions you believe we should trade, more the fact that you reckon those 11 or 12 players are way better than Michael Braun.

And if you think our back line is no good, you should think again. It is what won us both the Fremantle and St Kilda games.

MDB you may be right about our backline's influence in winning the 2 games, but WCE2000 is spot on about Jakovich & McIntosh - like it or not, we do need to plan for their imminent departure.

Originally posted by WCE2000:
WA:

I'm not saying a one on one swap with players.

All of those players mentioned are much better players than Michael Braun.

But if you throw a draft pick in, and maybe another player, than it may intice that club for a trade.

Maybe............