Reece Conca

Gaff was very poor in 2013.

Nope. That's just bigfooty group think. People see him getting beat up and physically man-handled and presume he is playing poorly. His stats were down to 20 possessions a game but considering the attention he was getting it was a very solid effort.

I don't really care about his stats. His lack of defensive pressure was shocking, going weeks without even sticking a tackle. Outside player or not his performance was poor.

Don't care what you think he wasn't very poor. If he was very poor he wouldn't have been tagged every single game.

If he was very poor he wouldn't have been tagged every single game.

He was very poor in part because he was tagged...

And still don't see how anyone could argue his 2013 was better than Conca's. Just because he was tagged it doesn't mean he was automatically better.

Gaff needs some mongrel, he needs to tackle and pressure. Until he does that he is just a below average player.

He was excellent for us in 2012. I don't think anyone disagrees that he needs to tackle more. But I think he played the role Woosha asked of him. He is an attacking player - or that's what his role should be. I expect Burns or our new coach to move him around more so the opposition can't clamp down on him so much.

Regardless of role, he needs to go harder at the ball and the put more pressure on his direct opponent. Every single player must take the responsibility to get the hard ball and do the tough things. He is an ok runner and good kick but that's about all he brings which isn't enough in modern footy.

He was very poor in part because he was tagged...

And still don't see how anyone could argue his 2013 was better than Conca's. Just because he was tagged it doesn't mean he was automatically better.

Conca is the 4th or 5th midfielder at Richmond and is given little to no attention by the opposition. There were times he was able to sneak forward and kick goals. Put Gaff in the same role at Richmond and he would do just as well, even better. Given their respective circumstances, Gaff still won more of the ball.

You're speaking hypotheticals.

Conca's 2013 was better than Gaff's.

Gaff's output to date has been more impressive than Conca's. Yes he struggled with greater attention in 2013 but he at least earned that attention. At this stage he lacks Conca's versatility but his upside is higher long term. He also doesn't have the injury concerns.

But the original point wasn't 'who is better'. Merely that their respective 'prices' would be comparable, which I probably agree with even if I think Gaff shades Conca as a player.

Gaff's output to date has been more impressive than Conca's. Yes he struggled with greater attention in 2013 but he at least earned that attention. At this stage he lacks Conca's versatility but his upside is higher long term. He also doesn't have the injury concerns.

But the original point wasn't 'who is better'. Merely that their respective 'prices' would be comparable, which I probably agree with even if I think Gaff shades Conca as a player.

I'm not sure his upside is higher but Conca is getting an awful lot of leeway here. He is the Des Headland of the Richmond midfield. He may well end up a gun but has yet to prove himself as a #1 midfielder.

Gaff needs to develop a right side.

Still don't get how professional's cannot spend the time to develop their opposite side. Would make them a much better and unpredictable player. It should be drilled into players from an early age - like soccer.

Gaffs value is higher due to the fact he is contracted ! If you we're looking for comparison gaff > conca it hard because they are different types of mids . Gaff has averaged more possessions but conca has had more contested possessions marks and tackles . Conca also gets to run around with no tag and gaff gets tagged 90% of the time this year ! This is also due to eagles lack of quality mids to tag :( we need more good mids to take the heat off gaff starting with conca !

Still don't get how professional's cannot spend the time to develop their opposite side. Would make them a much better and unpredictable player. It should be drilled into players from an early age - like soccer.

Exactly. Hell, there's heaps of AFL players that don't have the confidence to throw it on their wrong foot. Stuns me.

Gaffs value is higher due to the fact he is contracted !
That's not really a matter of "value" as much as it is about the bargaining positions of the clubs i.e. the club with the contracted isn't compelled to do a deal.

But sure, if Gaff was uncontracted right now, what would you expect in a trade for him?

If you we're looking for comparison gaff > conca it hard because they are different types of mids . Gaff has averaged more possessions but conca has had more contested possessions marks and tackles . Conca also gets to run around with no tag and gaff gets tagged 90% of the time this year !
Turn it up !

None of this invalidates a comparison between Gaff and Conca.

They're both third-year mids and both top 10 picks who have shown enough to suggest they would command a first-round pick in a trade. Do you think that their stats need to be identical for this kind of comparison to make sense?

Nope. That's just bigfooty group think.
As opposed to you just quoting statistics as though they're definitive?

Priddis averaged more disposals than Cotchin, Fyfe, Jack, Hannebery and Boak.

Does that mean he was better? Would it be 'BigFooty group think' to suggest otherwise?

Conca is the 4th or 5th midfielder at Richmond
What's Gaff at WC? The fourth or fifth midfielder?

I'm not sure his upside is higher but Conca is getting an awful lot of leeway here. He is the Des Headland of the Richmond midfield. He may well end up a gun but has yet to prove himself as a #1 midfielder.
Has Gaff proven himself as a #1 midfielder?

You are saying some weird shit.

What would be "fair value" for Gaff?

I reckon most of us would want a first-round pick. Same goes for Conca?

By that I meant fair value in the circumstances (uncontracted, potentially requesting trade home).
If he were contracted and not seeking a trade to a particular state or team, then his value would probably be around pick 5-10, Gaff around the same if not a touch higher.

By that I meant fair value in the circumstances (uncontracted, potentially requesting trade home).
If he were contracted and not seeking a trade to a particular state or team, then his value would probably be around pick 5-10, Gaff around the same if not a touch higher.
What about if Gaff was uncontracted and requested a trade to Victoria? What would be "fair value"?

Somewhere between pick 11 and pick 29 Richmond-wise.

Gaff+24 for Pick 11+29 wouldn't be too far off the mark in those circumstances.