Aston Villa
Mark Stevens in Hard Boiled from the HUN - Rising Star Revisited

17. Reece Conca (Richmond)
Stiff to be so low. Underlines talent in the 24. Seen a bit of him at half-back, but would like to see more through the middle. Will be very good, but was he worth the No.6 national draft pick Richmond used? Jury out.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...vertaken-already/story-e6frepkx-1226306446365
On December 17, Sam Reid signed an extraordinary five-year contract extension with Sydney, ensuring he would remain a Swan until the end of 2017.

He had Batch at 21.

He missed games at the end of the year and was made to play accountable defence (as opposed to others higher on the list) on guys like Milne at the start. So its somewhat understandable why he placed so low, but i have a feeling that even by this seasons end it'll be quite clear why we got him at 6 and the bolded part will seem like just another Bay 13 flog question.

Anyway, here's hoping!

So Reid shoots up because of a big contract... Gaff goes backwards, even though he's just signed a huge contract.
Go figure.

If anyone can tell me exactly why Jones & Reid are *that* far apart I'd be willing to hear it.

He's right on one thing though, it's a ridiculously strong list.

To have basically 3 tlal forwards hold down a spot all year, 2 in finals sides; 2 tall backs hold down spots (1 in a finals side); a ruck and about 12-15 smalls hold down spots all year makes for a bloody deep field.

There have been plenty of years when a year like Conca had would put him 2nd/3rd.
Just that many guys came in and had a big impact.

To have basically 3 tlal forwards hold down a spot all year, 2 in finals sides; 2 tall backs hold down spots (1 in a finals side); a ruck and about 12-15 smalls hold down spots all year makes for a bloody deep field.

There have been plenty of years when a year like Conca had would put him 2nd/3rd.

No doubt it's a strong group, but Conca had a better year that a few on that list, and will be a better player that a lot. IMO

You have to remember that quite a few of those on the list were not in their first year. Some not even in their second (eg. Shuey).

Jones v Reid is a funny one. I agree that Jones is probably underrated by most. They both have questionable kicking for goal. But if you asked 100 people from other clubs which one they would prefer to have at their club, I *think* 90+ would say Reid.

I don't think the list overall is that far off the mark. I'd probably have Savage higher, and Dalhaus lower. I think Savage's year was close to top 10 going by that list.

I don't really have a problem with either of Conca or Batchelor's position.

No doubt it's a strong group, but Conca had a better year that a few on that list, and will be a better player that a lot. IMO
As I said, I'd have him about 10th.
He'd definitely go ahead of Matera, Dalhaus, Fasolo for mine, and half a dozen others are line-ball.

I'm not completely convinced he'd go ahead of Jones on the open market, even though he probably is a better footballer. Sides do tend to pay overs for talls. Darling & Smith clearly the best two talls there, but Jones & Reid would also be pretty high up the order IMHO.

Not really sold on Christensen and a few others like Fasolo. Surrounded by stars they get to play their own game and be relatively unaccountable. Noted both of these guys have been ordinary in the preseason when surrounded by other rookies.

Seems to be biased towards players that get on the tv a lot. EG. Goalscorers.

Is he worth pick 6?? I must have missed where all those picked after him apart from Heppell and Darling out performed him in the first season!

The reality is just because it seemed like a left field selection from Richmond and our previous history with drafting the media and general football public will long question this decision and fail to notice since 06 we have absolutely nailed all out 1st round selections.

Anybody who watched conca against collingwood last year would have realised it was all there. Poise, class, great decision making and very clean skills. The only thing that I felt was a let down was his goal kicking ability.

THE list is ridiculous .... so Reid is better by virtue of signing a 5 year deal?
face it, Heppell was a clear-cut Rising Star winner ... one of the more emphatic winners of the award throughout its history. He deserves to be number one until such time as proven otherwise.
Agree with Darling ... a real impact player.

If Matera is rated seven, Conca must be five and Batchelor six, as both are better and have more upside.

Dalhaus will be the next Nason .. one year wonder!

To me, Liam Jones largely struggled last year, not to say he won't be any good.

Shane Savage "close to his optimum". Stevens couldn't be more wrong. I reckon Sabage has a lot more upside than most of these guys!

Conca will be a very good footballer. A lot of journos suffer from Dustin-Martin-Syndrome. They expect top 10 picks to come in and dominate from day 1.

We have ourselves a footballer. Smart, neat skills, poise and throws his body in too. A nicely well rounded player. He might not be the Cotchin or Martin esque superstar, but he will play a very handy support role for the next 10 years.
Happy to have him.

THE list is ridiculous .... so Reid is better by virtue of signing a 5 year deal?
face it, Heppell was a clear-cut Rising Star winner ... one of the more emphatic winners of the award throughout its history. He deserves to be number one until such time as proven otherwise.
Agree with Darling ... a real impact player.

If Matera is rated seven, Conca must be five and Batchelor six, as both are better and have more upside.

Dalhaus will be the next Nason .. one year wonder!

To me, Liam Jones largely struggled last year, not to say he won't be any good.

Shane Savage "close to his optimum". Stevens couldn't be more wrong. I reckon Sabage has a lot more upside than most of these guys!

While I agree with you about a lot of this Goldy - I think you're wrong on Dalhaus. His only similarity to Nason is his hair. Given his pre-season form, he's primed to take a big step this year.

Reece has shown potential but has to both improve and perform consistently this year.

Reid is interesting, I think he's got all the tools but will be interesting to see if he addresses his kicking.

Heppell, Shuey and maybe Darling are the only players to perform in any meaningful way at this stage. We can only hope Heppell is the new Daniel Rich - but I don't think he will be.

Shuey & Heppell were a clear top two last year. As I said at the time, could've gone either way and been a deserved winner.

I don't really know how anyone can say anyone's already gone past anyone else, since there's not been a ball kicked in anger yet; but the "value on the open market" idea is worth thinking about. About 15 people have posted and about 15 completely different points of view.... bigger range of views than I'd initially thought.

I quite like Dahlhaus, but maybe he shouldn't be quite so high. He's far more the complete package than Nason.

Conca will be a very good footballer. A lot of journos suffer from Dustin-Martin-Syndrome. They expect top 10 picks to come in and dominate from day 1.

We have ourselves a footballer. Smart, neat skills, poise and throws his body in too. A nicely well rounded player. He might not be the Cotchin or Martin esque superstar, but he will play a very handy support role for the next 10 years.
Happy to have him.

Spot on. He's not likely to total more than about 40 brownlow votes for his entire career. He's tough and he just keeps it simple. Nothing flashy, no histrionics, no ego, no blistering pace, no 35 possession games, just gets to the contest, puts his head over it and gets it done. I haven't heard what Tommy Hafey thinks of him but I reckon he'd like him alot.

One thing that pleased me about Conca was the report a few weeks back.

Whatever the rights and wrongs of the report, it's good to have a kid with that bit of physicality/mongrel that means opposition players always keep an eye out for if he's around.

Spot on. He's not likely to total more than about 40 brownlow votes for his entire career. He's tough and he just keeps it simple. Nothing flashy, no histrionics, no ego, no blistering pace, no 35 possession games, just gets to the contest, puts his head over it and gets it done. I haven't heard what Tommy Hafey thinks of him but I reckon he'd like him alot.

I think he will have 35 possession games but he will be outshone by lids, cotch and dusty. He is our Luke Power, Joel Corey, James Kelly, Matthew Braun or Jude Bolton.

Shuey & Heppell were a clear top two last year. As I said at the time, could've gone either way and been a deserved winner.

I don't really know how anyone can say anyone's already gone past anyone else, since there's not been a ball kicked in anger yet; but the "value on the open market" idea is worth thinking about. About 15 people have posted and about 15 completely different points of view.... bigger range of views than I'd initially thought.

I quite like Dahlhaus, but maybe he shouldn't be quite so high. He's far more the complete package than Nason.

:thumbsu:Exactly Slats .... this list is even more ridiculous than Sheehan's Top 50, which is way out of whack too. I seriously can't see how you can go past those two - Heppell and Shuey - as the top two. They were a long way ahead of the pack. I would be astounded if Heppell doesn't improve again and continue to do so, he looked a gun from day one.
But he seems to have plumped for Reid as he was handed a huge contract. Would Conca be number oe if the Tigers signed him for five years????
Of course Dalhaus will be better than Nason, but I think he will find it harder going with the spotlight on him.

So Reid shoots up because of a big contract... Gaff goes backwards, even though he's just signed a huge contract.
Go figure.

If anyone can tell me exactly why Jones & Reid are *that* far apart I'd be willing to hear it.

Far be it for me to defend a journo but I totally disagree with you that it's because of the contract. Although the contract is relevant to the discussion, in that the Swans know he's gonna be something special and thats why they threw this 5 year contract at him.
The reason he chose Reid as #1 is simply because Reid is gonna be an absolute gun. When a one-grab KPF comes along everyone notices because they dont come along every day.
The world went mad about Butchers games late last year because he grabbed everything.
I seen Reid play against Tiges last year - I asked a mate "who the hell is this bloke marking everything?" He didnt know and had to check the Record. Now we all know who he is. If he wasnt such a shit kick that day he wouldve won it for them singlehandedly.

Might not come along every day but from what I've seen, Reid Jones and Darling will all be bloody good big forwards.
Jones took just about as many marks as Reid. (Took 9 marks against you guys).

I think he will have 35 possession games but he will be outshone by lids, cotch and dusty. He is our Luke Power, Joel Corey, James Kelly, Matthew Braun or Jude Bolton.

Probably jumping the gun a bit but I see him as part of our 'Fab 4' midfield quartet - Deledio, Cotchin, Martin and Conca. In a few years, this could be the best midfield in the comp :thumbsu: