Toast Reece Conca

• Thread starter Thread starter Grockadoc

I watched the replay yesterday and one of the most impressive possessions he had was in the last minute of the game (he was brilliant through that last quarter). His pass from the forward pocket, under pressure to Maric dead in front 30m away with crows all around him was - hate to say it - centimetre perfect. It was also going like a tracer bullet. The ball never got above Ivan's eye height on its way to him off the boot. It almost left a vapour trail.

uh huh, sure mate. Can't understand why people have this lingering need to justify selection. If you think he's good, good. Why rubbish a very good player to make yourself feel better? I don't get it.
Downhill skier at this stage. Just look at the Melbourne game.

He met and had a good chat with Reece & mentioned how reece was loving his place at tigerland and really feeling good about his development and the 1 thing that Reece mentioned to him was that he actually grew a couple of cm last year.
In height? Or.................

lol, you mean the game where he was a clear best on ground, had 36 possession (11 contested), and was at his best when the game was up to be won?
Did he get the first kick of the game?

Thats the one, also happened to be against witches hats, a nice training drill.
You can only beat who they put in front of you.

Did you miss his game the previous week where he was in the best against Adelaide? Or that just doesn't suit your argument?

Also, you're talking up Conca after a game against the Saints. Hardly the best opposition either...

uh huh, sure mate. Can't understand why people have this lingering need to justify selection. If you think he's good, good. Why rubbish a very good player to make yourself feel better? I don't get it.
I'm guessing it's just a trigger to see if any Essendon fans are reading the thread... don't take it too seriously.

Not sure if you bother to pull anyone up who sees it the other way around?

You can only beat who they put in front of you.

Did you miss his game the previous week where he was in the best against Adelaide? Or that just doesn't suit your argument?
In the best? Coaches loved him as he polled well in the AFLCA, but i thought ordinary tag job, then just a good ordinary game when freed up, nothing special. 23 touches most uncontested, but that was his level. Easily satisfied out at Tulla you lot are.

I'm guessing it's just a trigger to see if any Essendon fans are reading the thread... don't take it too seriously.

Not sure if you bother to pull anyone up who sees it the other way around?
actually I'm on record many times as saying how much I like Conca as a player. Feel free to check my posting history if you can be ****ed. The more astute Richmond supporters will be able to back this up though. I've said it many times.

My issue is more around the needy reflex to bag other players to make your own player look good. I don't get it. I don't do it. If I talk about how much I love Heppell (I do) and how good he is (he's awesome) I never talk about Conca or Atley when I'm doing it. Probably because I have no insecurity about it. I wish Conca and Atley well. Fine players who I would also love if we'd picked them.

Hairpull. Fair dinkum.

In the best? Coaches loved him as he polled well in the AFLCA, but i thought ordinary tag job, then just a good ordinary game when freed up, nothing special. 23 touches most uncontested, but that was his level. Easily satisfied out at Tulla you lot are.

Oh really?

1.3 7.5 13.7 18.9 (117) ADELAIDE 3.4 4.9 8.14 11.16 (82)
GOALS Essendon: Howlett 4, Davey 3, Goddard, Stanton, Dempsey, Myers, Hocking, Melksham, Watson, Hibberd, Kommer, Crameri, Bellchambers. Adelaide: Walker 3, Douglas 2, Mackay, Johncock, Jenkins, Petrenko, Porplyzia, van Berlo.
BEST Essendon: Watson, Howlett, Fletcher, Heppell, Davey, Myers. Adelaide: Jaensch, Jacobs, Reilly, Sloane, Wright, Douglas.
ADELAIDE 3.4 4.9 8.14 11.16 (82)
ESSENDON 1.3 7.5 13.7 18.9 (117)
GOALS
Adelaide: Walker 3, Douglas 2, Jenkins, Johncock, Mackay, Petrenko, Porplyzia, van Berlo​
Essendon: Howlett 4, Davey 3, Bellchambers, Crameri, Dempsey, Goddard, Hibberd, Hocking, Kommer, Melksham, Myers, Stanton, Watson
BEST
Adelaide: Wright, Sloane, Douglas, Reilly, Vince​
Essendon: Watson, Howlett, Heppell, Dempsey, Myers, Hibberd, Kommer, Merrett, Carlisle
When Adelaide threatened to mount a late charge in the final term, Watson showed strength and a cool head particularly in defence to weather the storm.
Even more pleasing for Bombers fans was that as good as Watson was, his understudies in Dyson Heppell and Ben Howlett weren't far behind him.

ESSENDON 1.3 7.5 13.7 18.9 (117)
ADELAIDE 3.4 4.9 8.14 11.16 (82)
Best: Essendon: Howlett, Watson, Heppell, Stanton, Dempsey, Bellchambers. Adelaide: Reilly, Wright, Douglas, Thompson.
The Age, The Herald-Sun and AFL.Com. All had him in the best, most in the top 3. I can't be ****ed looking any further.
You might want to watch a bit more footy mate.
EDIT: got no idea why the quoting is so ****ed up, tried to edit it three times, no dice. Sorry.​

actually I'm on record many times as saying how much I like Conca as a player. Feel free to check my posting history if you can be screwed. The more astute Richmond supporters will be able to back this up though. I've said it many times.

My issue is more around the needy reflex to bag other players to make your own player look good. I don't get it. I don't do it. If I talk about how much I love Heppell (I do) and how good he is (he's awesome) I never talk about Conca or Atley when I'm doing it. Probably because I have no insecurity about it. I wish Conca and Atley well. Fine players who I would also love if we'd picked them.

Hairpull. Fair dinkum.
Atley is ordinary, you'd have no need to be insecure about it. :p Tbh I'd be just as happy with either of them on our list now that Heppell is playing as a genuine midfielder. They're both going to be very good players. Care factor has hit very low levels. About as much interest as North and the Doggies now.

Oh really?

The Age, The Herald-Sun and AFL.Com. All had him in the best, most in the top 3. I can't be screwed looking any further.
You might want to watch a bit more footy mate.
EDIT: got no idea why the quoting is so screwed up, tried to edit it three times, no dice. Sorry.​

As i said, easily pleased, and its more if an indictment on the rest of your mids that he is up in your best. And i wonder if he didnt have that poncy standout girls hair-do if he would be noticed as much.

actually I'm on record many times as saying how much I like Conca as a player. Feel free to check my posting history if you can be screwed. The more astute Richmond supporters will be able to back this up though. I've said it many times.

Hairpull. Fair dinkum.
Fair enough, take your word for it. But if you pull up every poster on every board for this kind of skull-duggery, you'e gonna be very busy :)

Bazzar just pulling your chain obviously. I mean he may not rate Heppell, but I'm pretty sure the whole play on names is just to get up your goat. I read somewhere on a board Richmond written as Ninthmond... I mean, can you believe it? :rolleyes: :D

Hairpull. Fair dinkum.

If you have no insecurity about it, why come on the richmond board, in a reece conca thread, and argue with people saying conca is better than heppell, and include stats and games where heppell played well?
Tbh couldn't care less about heppell, conca is tracking extremely well. Can't wait to see what he can do next year with a full uninterrupted pre-season.

I'm going to continue to call Heppel a show pony until he cuts his hair, because that's the measure of a good footballer.

Conca has nice, sensible hair.

heppell is a good player and i do like him but tbh i think Conca suits our needs more atm with
Newman,Houli,Grigg,Batchelor,Ellis,and even Dea doing the role Heppell would of played at Richmond also Helbig,McIntosh in the wings

But that hair is a bit far out

Probs best to leave this thread to Conca and leave Heppell out of it. Both clubs got super talents by the looks of it so lets just be happy with that hey.

Great game by Reece. Finding consistency at a similar level is so important for us to be successful going forward as while sides can try and shut down one or two of Cotchin, Deledio or Martin our second tier needs to and should make hay. Need Vlastuin to come in and be a force at the stoppages but with secondary stoppages being reduced dramatically so far this season its really important that we can bring through some more silky runners. Conca could be so good as he can crack in and use the ball on the outside.

First tier of Cotchin, Deledio, Martin and Tuck

second tier of Conca, Edwards, Grigg, Ellis, Vlastuin is decent but to make top 4 we need this second tier to really come on.

Add in a fit Foley to this group and we should be looking at winning a lot more than we lose this year.

This is one thing we lack. Reckon Brad Helbig looks like he might have it too. For far to long we have been a side of Pussycats with Push up the only one with a bit of mongrel about him. Slowly but surely we are starting to see it creep into players which is great

Snap x 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000.