Player Watch Reef McInnes

• Thread starter Thread starter jsdsgn

I'd say Josh is the Sidebottom equivalent and replacement, at least stylistically. Ed is the likely Mitchell replacement, who tbh I think might not last as long as we might hope, at least in comparison to the likes of Pendles and Sidey. Doesn't have the positional flexibility, and he will at some point within the next year or two find it difficult to maintain the midfield minutes he would require to stay in the team.
Despite having the positional flexibility Sidey and Pendlebury have played as mostly full time midfielders late in their career.

Seems to be increasing his CB attendances as the season progresses.

giphy.gif

I'd say Josh is the Sidebottom equivalent and replacement, at least stylistically. Ed is the likely Mitchell replacement, who tbh I think might not last as long as we might hope, at least in comparison to the likes of Pendles and Sidey. Doesn't have the positional flexibility, and he will at some point within the next year or two find it difficult to maintain the midfield minutes he would require to stay in the team.
There’s two wings on the ground though…Daicos can’t replace Side ottom when he’s already covering the opposite wing.

In terms of seniority of the wingmen, importance to the team, and skills he brings he can. The real question is who will be the next Josh Daicos in terms of staking a claim as the other wingman. I wouldn't rule out Josh Daicos getting more centre square time though so we could end up looking for 2 wingmen when Sidey retires.

I reckon WHE is an ideal Wingman. His endurance is elite, he's a great contested mark and can deliver on either foot. Weeks away from the game with a broken hand is not ideal and he is in the twilight of his career but he still adds value and the Wing is where that can be maximised.

In terms of seniority of the wingmen, importance to the team, and skills he brings he can. The real question is who will be the next Josh Daicos in terms of staking a claim as the other wingman. I wouldn't rule out Josh Daicos getting more centre square time though so we could end up looking for 2 wingmen when Sidey retires.
There’s a fairly long queue for centre square time at the club. Good issue to have.

I think reef needs more exposure at senior level. A bit more faith as well. It's hard with a team as impressive as ours.

Spot on play one drop one that's happened with him even when he came on as sub and done well for the time allocated.

Needs a bit of faith from the coaches and let have a block of games, weirdly they let certain flawed types get the run of games in before conceeding but not so for some others.

How'd he go last weekend Jen?
I watched the game at home - I think the replay will still be available on-line from the VFL site - he was definitely amongst the best on ground, took some nice marks and kicked 4 goals from memory (gave off at least one too) - he looks a cut above VFL level once he gets the ball, especially when he gets the ball and runs - would be nice to see him get it a bit more.

Cheers mate.

Hopefully next season he gets shown the faith they gave AJ this year and let him consolidate a bit.

With Schultz coming in I think its finally time to train Reef up as a midfielder. Tell him to get as fit as he can over the next 8 weeks, and if he does he'll be standing next to De Goey in the centre square all preseason match sim.

I think he would be better off as a hybrid tall forward. Shows he has a knack for goals and surprisingly strong in the air.

Let him eventually take Elliotts spot

Reef is required but a midfiedler not so sure.

IMO Beau has more mid field time and Ginnni comes up high half fwd more.

I dunno how Reef gets a regular game ... but the same with Ash too.... other than form or opportunity. Its a good problem to have.

Reef is still only 20, has played 11 games, and next season will he his fourth on our list.

Hard not to judge his progress against that of McCreery and Ginnivan who were also drafted in 2020, but Reef’s injuries have held him back. Also concerned that while he has AFL attributes, he’s not outstanding in any one area or has a strong distinguishing attribute - e.g. Beau’s ferocious tackling and pressure or Ginni’s goal sense and football IQ.

I dunno how Reef gets a regular game ... but the same with Ash too.... other than form or opportunity. Its a good problem to have.
My guess is that Beau, Hill, Schultz, Mihocek, Elliott and McStay will be locks when fit. Beau and Hill may play some mid and wing respectively as well. Ginnivan, Lippa, Reef, Harrison will be fighting it out for one or two spots in the 23 and first in line as injury cover. I really liked WHE in defence and hope that continues, meaning he might be out of the equation for a wing/forward chop out role.

Reef was recruited as a midfielder.

Reef is still only 20, has played 11 games, and next season will he his fourth on our list.

Hard not to judge his progress against that of McCreery and Ginnivan who were also drafted in 2020, but Reef’s injuries have held him back. Also concerned that while he has AFL attributes, he’s not outstanding in any one area or has a strong distinguishing attribute - e.g. Beau’s ferocious tackling and pressure or Ginni’s goal sense and football IQ.

I think he has strong hands, I recall him taking a terrific one-handed mark possibly even on debut. He is very strong through the core and will be able to one day shed tacklers like Crisp can.

I definitely don’t think he lacks attributes, I am just not sure of his ideal role. His kicking is a bit too suspect for half-back like Crisp, so half-forward projecting to midfield seems most likely.

Also, “Ginnivan” and “footy IQ” shouldn’t be used in the same sentence after the finals series.

I think he has strong hands, I recall him taking a terrific one-handed mark possibly even on debut. He is very strong through the core and will be able to one day shed tacklers like Crisp can.

I definitely don’t think he lacks attributes, I am just not sure of his ideal role. His kicking is a bit too suspect for half-back like Crisp, so half-forward projecting to midfield seems most likely.

Also, “Ginnivan” and “footy IQ” shouldn’t be used in the same sentence after the finals series.
Agree, certainly he has good goal sense, seemed to get lost/confused when he played the high half forward role

Agree Ginni had a poor GF, but I will say he’d played less than two full quarters of footy over the preceding six weeks. He only played in the GF because of McStay’s injury.

Did he though?

Had McStay played, Frampton likely would not have, but I think Ginnivan’s inclusion was probably a reaction to Lipinski’s poor PF.