Player Watch Reef McInnes

• Thread starter Thread starter jsdsgn

I’m asking the questions. I don’t know who played football this year and at what level that is remotely measurable.
This is personal opinion, but IMO Reef is sliding because at the start of the year he was ranked based on his potential as a mid. Given that he played the bulk of the year last year as a forward/defender, and only 3 games in the middle, him not playing this year has affected his ranking more than others who played an entire year last year in their preferred spot. That’s why we’re seeing guys like JUH, Phillips, Hollands etc, who played a full year last year in their main position maintaining their rankings while Reef is sliding. Recruiters just don’t have a big enough sample size to be sure he’s going to be that dominant mid worth a top 10 pick.

This is only a good thing if every other club gets it wrong on him. Misjudged his talent.
The 2km time trial did him no favours. The kid looks an athlete to me. I reckon he purposely came last. Hoping so

Worst athlete since Brayden Maynard!!!!

This is personal opinion, but IMO Reef is sliding because at the start of the year he was ranked based on his potential as a mid. Given that he played the bulk of the year last year as a forward/defender, and only 3 games in the middle, him not playing this year has affected his ranking more than others who played an entire year last year in their preferred spot. That’s why we’re seeing guys like JUH, Phillips, Hollands etc, who played a full year last year in their main position maintaining their rankings while Reef is sliding. Recruiters just don’t have a big enough sample size to be sure he’s going to be that dominant mid worth a top 10 pick.
Yep exactly right mate and I’ve been strong on that if we had footy this year he would have pushed the top 10 for sure. But without him playing there, there are just more kids that have done more that will get picked before him imo.

and that Works in our Favor

Grundy comes last in the 2km at Collingwood and he is Arguably our Best Player

Wait - 193 CM 2.78 Seconds 20m sprint?

wtf isn't that exceptional? Don't think too many actual AFL players can reach that level of speed, let alone a 193 cm player, let alone a DRAFTEE?

Looks to have tremendous potential, a guaranteed draft bolter, would be a miracle if bids came after our firsts

wtf isn't that exceptional? Don't think too many actual AFL players can reach that level of speed, let alone a 193 cm player, let alone a DRAFTEE?

Looks to have tremendous potential, a guaranteed draft bolter, would be a miracle if bids came after our firsts
Putting way too much stock in a 20m time there. Iirc Jono Marsh did a 2.8 20m sprint too, @193cm in his draft year. It means very little in the grand scheme of things, and certainly doesn’t turn him in to a ‘guaranteed bolter’.

No One in the Draft is a Guarantee Star

he’s slid purely on the fact he hasn’t played this year.

I don't think slid is the right word. I think its more a case of him not having risen like he may have with footy this year. By the sounds of it he has very good attributes, but doesn't yet have many runs on the board.

No One in the Draft is a Guarantee Star
Lies.

Matt Rowell was born a star from the womb.

I don't think slid is the right word. I think its more a case of him not having risen like he may have with footy this year. By the sounds of it he has very good attributes, but doesn't yet have many runs on the board.
No, slid is the right word imo. He was rated in the top 10 amongst most watchers at this time last year based on the potential he showed in his limited midfield time. He slid out of those calculations due to the lack of exposure he’s had in the role due to COVID.
I’m not sure there’s much other way to describe it.

Only “draftees” go through these tests...

... and it was significantly wind-assisted.

No, slid is the right word imo. He was rated in the top 10 amongst most watchers at this time last year based on the potential he showed in his limited midfield time. He slid out of those calculations due to the lack of exposure he’s had in the role due to COVID.
I’m not sure there’s much other way to describe it.

At the end of last season, I was reading the same range as now, but with the potential to move higher with him moving into a midfield role.

Lies.

Matt Rowell was born a star from the womb.

Only Been 1 Season

At the end of last season, I was reading the same range as now, but with the potential to move higher with him moving into a midfield role.
Where were you reading that? KM had him at 5, eDPS had him at 10. Can’t remember where Pie 4 Life had him. Twomey had him pretty high too from memory. I’d be interested to know which rankings you were reading?

I had him 15-20.

Yeah agreed seems to have some very nice athletic traits to him.

IMO who gives a shit about 2km results they can be worked on over preseasons typically within 3 or 4 preseasons it will be AFL ready.

It is something the club apparently learnt after letting Cripps fall through their fingers said they really liked him but Hine and Rendell thought he didnt have an AFL tank. They then picked Maynard the following draft despite the same concerns and before long he had an AFL tank.