Oppo Camp Regular Non Eagles Discussion V2

Geelong were ultra impressive tonight. Even without Stewart they set up so well behind the ball and make it difficult for their opposition going forward. Re: Curnow tonight, he jagged some early goals but it was more out of chaos than hit up leads. McKay was completely nullified also.

Blicavs was fantastic and both of the De Koning brothers shone. Maybe pushing the King brothers as hype young tall sibling pair?

Still think they will get overrun through the middle come September though. Really carrying some players, namely Rohan and Miers, gee whiz.

As much as we all hate him, Chris Scott is a hell of a coach.

Tactically a genius imo. Breaks down oppo systems better than anyone. Where I think they get it all wrong is showing their cards during the regular season.

As much as we all hate him, Chris Scott is a hell of a coach.

Tactically a genius imo. Breaks down oppo systems better than anyone. Where I think they get it all wrong is showing their cards during the regular season.
He also tends to flip out in finals. Some of his selections and tactics on the big days are bizarre.

I'll give him credit though, he is one of the only coaches who can actually adapt and have multiple systems. Most of the others just stubbornly stick to "our way" of playing and "back their system".

I think AFL still has huge room for innovation and growth with coaching and strategy.

Sat behind the goals tonight and noticed the exact same thing. Clear change at half time and Freo looked listless 2nd half. Couldn't reverse the trend and never looked like it. Game has never been more determined by tactics/coaching/fitness staff than now imo. Talent wise the top 12 or so sides aren't that different.
Coach cannot toughen players in a game break.

mm
Ah right. Went at pick 39 when we entered at 57 or something for LEdwards wasn’t it. Hmmm would cost us an arm and a leg to get him back now when his current contract is up

Don`t tell Chump there are good mids beyond Pick 5

haven't watched vfl 360 in a few years but definitly can't wait to see jack riewoldt on the show this week

Its all good and well to change tactics mid game but its not a video game where everything goes perfectly. The players have to be able to change their thinking too. Would be difficult for some players to change things up I reckon. Some only know one way.

Thanks for rolling over Fold Coast and allowing Port to move up a spot despite losing. Pushes our bonus second round pick to 26.

Thats fold coast out of finals contention now.

Classic essington, show some "form" towards the back end of the season.
Yep they needed to win today to make it imo and they'll lose some valuable percentage as well. We could pick up a win against them if they are officially out of the running, a bonus.

Thats fold coast out of finals contention now.

Classic essington, show some "form" towards the back end of the season.
If Richmond hadn't lost I'd agree.
But even with a loss next week to Bne, if Richmond lose to Freo and the Dogs lose to Melbourne they'll still be in the running when they play us. Only a game and doable % (or 2 games but better % over STK) off 8th.

It's become unlikely, but they are just still in it.

Yep they needed to win today to make it imo and they'll lose some valuable percentage as well. We could pick up a win against them if they are officially out of the running, a bonus.
Who cares mate, we got the player we wanted plus netting another pick in the 20's.

Port made the prelim the past two seasons and im sure were betting they will do the same again this year. Their not playing finals, perfect result for us. Cant be too greedy, Port are playing good footy and are a top 8 team.

We now have 2 picks in the 20's and will have the opportunity to use our 3rd pick before most clubs get to use their 2nd pick.

If we can get creative we can even package those two picks and move up.

Say we finish last or even second last and Ashcroft doesn't nominate brisbane. Was having a chat to a couple of the recruiting boys today at the champs and was told the Hawks are seriously into Hopper. GWS would receive first round compo.

I wonder what would tempt GWS into trading picks 4 & 5 as GWS are going to desperately want to replace top shelf quality with the absolute top shelf of this draft.