ziad

May 2, 2009
True but I’d offer the ‘lesser/smaller’ clubs don’t have the reserve we have/had.

Despite their crowds I suspect they are closer to the wind than AFL, and the clubs themselves, would like.

Just on crowds - did I read somewhere crowd numbers are down on historical averages? If so, the noose just got a little tighter for some.
the live on:
Charity, and / or
Pokies

PS - TV pays most of the bills not mum and dad going to the footy

Jun 2, 2001
GWS
Victorian games are apparently a huge pain to get to atm in regards to signing in/zones of areas to sit and finding it harder to just decide to go to a game on a whim.

From my experience at a couple of Vic games this season, we've put up with much much worse here when it comes to COVID inconvenience.

On the Purples board in a discussion about the three players making hand gestures.

Each displaying his IQ.
True flogs, the lot of them, never change Wet Toast you low character, drug riddled arrogant scum.

From a moderator, no less. Loving the salt. So, so much salt that is apparently mod endorsed.

FKASC

Reid’s Like Copium
May 28, 2017
Crowds are well down on average, about 20% across the board excluding the outlier games such as the Derby & Cockburn vs North Melbourne.

Hard to put an exact finger as to why (price, COVID concerns, access to games on Kayo/Fox). Victorian games are apparently a huge pain to get to atm in regards to signing in/zones of areas to sit and finding it harder to just decide to go to a game on a whim.
In Melbourne a lot of people are used to just buying general admission sit anywhere tickets on the morning of the game. You haven’t been able to do that as much this year, in many cases having to book earlier in the week and having to wrangle the shitty Ticketmaster and ticketek sites to give you allocated seats in spots you like.

I’m sure that’s a deterrent.

once you’re there it’s pretty simple though, and not that different to being at a game normally. Unless something has changed in recent weeks

On the Purples board in a discussion about the three players making hand gestures.

From a moderator, no less. Loving the salt. So, so much salt that is apparently mod endorsed.
The whole board is damaged goods. The odd sensible one gets berated off there quick smart for failing to drink the purple kool-aid of victimhood

Surprised that Fritsch got off to be honest.

But the Melbourne fairytale needs to roll on so can understand the AFL giving whatever assistance they can to help perpetuate the narrative.
The footballing action of elbowing a campaigner in the head.

Odds of one of ours getting off that? Infinitesimal.

They'll have to move their board to Brisbane soon since they are so poor and fiscally fragile they need to sell games interstate to keep their rubbish club afloat.

Jul 25, 2007
Burswood Casino
SA Spurs, Dallas Cowboys
From my experience at a couple of Vic games this season, we've put up with much much worse here when it comes to COVID inconvenience.

As mentioned below the changes are more relative to 2019 as opposed to direct comparisons.

2019 you could walk up to almost all H&A games and get reasonable tickets at the MCG. Obviously this hasn't historically been the case for WCE home games.

Sep 25, 2007
As mentioned below the changes are more relative to 2019 as opposed to direct comparisons.

2019 you could walk up to almost all H&A games and get reasonable tickets at the MCG. Obviously this hasn't historically been the case for WCE home games.

Yeah deciding the morning of to go to a game is great. Annoying having to plan even for games with 30,000 at the MCG

Yeah, you won’t find the mods here making immature, salty comments

Well the other mods at least

Jun 7, 2015
Crowds are well down on average, about 20% across the board excluding the outlier games such as the Derby & Cockburn vs North Melbourne.

Hard to put an exact finger as to why (price, COVID concerns, access to games on Kayo/Fox).

It probably doesn't help that the big Victorian teams are all trash too. COVID hassle is a good excuse to avoid Collingwood, Essendon, Hawthorn and Carlton games without feeling disloyal, and even when they're winning no one really gives a s**t about the Bulldogs and Melbourne.

Aug 4, 2003
WA
Nah Melbourne's the home of sport, remember? They aren't going to let a little thing like their team going poorly or having to think ahead to attend or not having the game at the perfect time stop them.

Mainboard had a joker having a sook about having to prebook a seat at the same time as his mates so they could sit together at the footy. As if it was some kind of horrendous affront to the sporting public.

“They make you BOOK a seat and then you have to SIT THERE and can’t just go wherever you want!”

Aug 4, 2003
WA
The whole board is damaged goods. The odd sensible one gets berated off there quick smart for failing to drink the purple kool-aid of victimhood

Did get a chuckle out of this one though...

“Would like to know the breakdown of injuries sustained in weeks that we play West Coast.

If there is a clear pattern we should be going to the AFL for a 'please explain'.”

From the board that brought you ‘We need another Demolition Derby to put a line in the sand!’ 🤪🤪🤪

Yeah, you won’t find the mods here making immature, salty comments

Well the other mods at least
8B7CD8A0-0A8B-4CCF-96D1-29413712CFFF.jpeg

Brolga

Grumpy Old Git
Nov 20, 2011
Swan Districts
Surprised that Fritsch got off to be honest.

But the Melbourne fairytale needs to roll on so can understand the AFL giving whatever assistance they can to help perpetuate the narrative.

this has all the hallmarks of that St Kilda celebratory dvd from when they won 10 in a row in an ultimately wasted season.