Replacement forward (if needed)

• Thread starter Thread starter cooper6

It appears unlikely to me now that both Neagle and Gumbleton will make it. I think this is our biggest concern by a long way. With Gumbleton's injuries and Neagle's future as a Fevola-like forward looking very unlikely

I don't think anyone here thinks Neagle will turn into an absolute tosser. :confused:

still, gumby, neagle, daniher all potential to be good kpf. Not to mention ryder who in his breif time there has shown tallent. With hille back Ryder provides another leading tall forward. Not to mention Hurley. I beilieve dispite what people think we are not in need of another KPF as much as people suggest. unless there is a superstar Kpf (considerably best available) then we shouldnt be looking for one with high draft picks rather try to pick young tallents like we did with Still and see how they go.

I'm not ant555, but I'll post my thoughts on that matter anyway. Obviously if you're even remotely interested in the draft happenings, John Butcher (VC) is the head of the KP range at the moment. He is a lovely mark and can kick a nice goal. Played really well in last years Champs, and has done what is required this year to cement his spot in the top 3 you would think. Jack Fitzpatrick (VM) is another who is a nice KP/R prospect, versatile tall that can take a nice mark. Stands at 201cm, and is above average for his height in the speed department. Sam Day (WA) looks a nice prospect as well with his height (196cm) & agility combination, but he is a bottom-ager and you would suspect the GC might swoop on him in 2010. Matthew Panos (SA) has played at CHF for the majority of the carnival thus far, and has impressed a few people. Great marking capabilities overhead, quick off the lead and is quite an accurate quick for goal. Is available to be picked up this year, but unsure where he may be taken. Possibly early second round, but still plenty of time yet to make more accurate judgements. Troy Taylor (NT) is another likely KPF prospect that could feature early in this years draft. You could say the same for David Astbury (VC), who stands at 193cms but not quite as classy some claim.

Thanks for the info. Apart from Butcher who is odds on to go to Melbourne with either pick 1 or 2 I haven't heard much about the others as we get nil coverage of the champs in Tassie that i'm aware of and apart from what can be read on this board and others (most you can take with a grain of salt) the only access we have to how the kids are travelling is the few writeups the herald sun have.

I guess only time will tell if the others are worth a top 10 pick. I tend to get the feeling that when I guy like Cornelius goes from being a potential top 5 pick to landing at Brisbane at pick 57 that the key positions were raided hard last year for a reason thus my thoughts that this bunch may be mediocre at best outside of Butcher.

Outside of Butcher, there certainly is a bit of 'daylight' after him but there are still some nice, handy talls available as usual.

I think Fitzpatrick has been on Essendons Radar for a while. Depending on who we take early. If there is a gun Midfielder still available RD 1. we would be crazy not to take him. We might end up getting a Fitzpartrick 2nd round etc.

Good Western Suburbs boy too.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't Still selected as he would be a top 10 draft pick this year? Much like Reimers was?

As far as were all to believe.

Its hard to gauge how Still is going as he hasn't played a lot of footy this season.

However, He seems an exciting prospect. Im not sure whether our greatest dependency is in the forward line. My own thinking is that we need the best available Ruckman in the draft. Im not sure who he is.

I have no doubt that Neagle can become a star full forward, he just needs some fitness and some more experience. I assume Gumbleton will be fine but if things go bad with him I'd go with Laycock or Daniher as key forwards. Right now I'd stay persistent with Neagle and hope that he gets some fitness along the way.

are u kidding? ohhhh ok than
well u should definately trade gumbleton to richmond :)
if his not gonna make it we will give u lets say JON and a 3rd rounder?

i reckon u would be madddd to think gumby wont make a good player

are u kidding? ohhhh ok than
well u should definately trade gumbleton to richmond :)
if his not gonna make it we will give u lets say JON and a 3rd rounder?

i reckon u would be madddd to think gumby wont make a good player
we'd take Hughes + a second rounder

I am not talking about a replacement for our Gumby or Neagle.

We need to draft another genuine proven gun key forward to add depth & compete with Neagle & Gumby for a spot in the best 22. This new Key Fwd would also act as an insurance just in case neither of these guys reach there potential. Hey why cant this new guy be better than Gumby or Neagle ?
Well there should be an abundance of proven gun key forwards in the draft. Notwithstanding that only a very few of them have ever played seniors. Heavens above.
Talk about expecting too much! Exactly why some people get so angry when player XXX, who has been touted as John Coleman meets Jesus Christ, hasn't won a brownlow in their first year.
We'll probably draft a tall forward (we obviously don't need any more tall backs). But seriously... very few talls produce anything until 3 years in the system.