- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
- Elsternwick AFC
Ball has bigger fish to fry. Hayes has talked about returning to Sydney.

Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 5
SuperCoach Rd 5 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 5 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
Yeah, I would not be at all surprised to see Hayes become a Giants assistant coach when he finishes playing.Ball has bigger fish to fry. Hayes has talked about returning to Sydney.
I know this will not be popular but please no. I hope that we never hire a St Kilda champion as head coach unless he has already succeeded as a head coach somewhere else.
The board of the St Kilda football club have enough issues on their plate, without having to deal with a head coach that is so loved by the members that they cannot do their job of reviewing his proformance correctly. Nor is there an relationship between being a great player and a great coach.
Just look at the issues at Essendon are having with Hird. If it was not Hird not only would things not have been allowed to get so out of whack but they would have been able to sack him as he deserves.

You got me!!! Magic thinking yes, tradition yes, game day underpants yes!
Time will tell with Essendon, their legals have them covered. They were just the unlucky ones to get caught with their pants down.... Essendon was just in the wrong place at the wrong time. If the government wasn't performing an investigation into drugs in sport... this would have been swept under the carpet.
Never replaced Michael Gardiners impact on games
Ball has bigger fish to fry. Hayes has talked about returning to Sydney.
Great call. The "Big Show" was a legend. Still remember that pack busting grab against Geelong at Etihad round 14!!!! (from a Luke Ball kick mind you). According to many players he hit the pack harder than anyone. Tap work sublime. If he had played the whole granny for us then I have no doubt we would have won.
http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-06-17/bains-looks-to-plug-hole
A lack of retention has left a hole in the Saints list. The club has a range of talented youngsters that have filtered into the senior team in the past 18 months, and a host of experienced stars that continue to perform at a high level. Sandwiched between these two generations are a handful of players, but not enough.
Bains “It has been a conscious decision to have those guys come through who have mature bodies. We are lucky in a sense that three of our better players have come through the draft in that period. Ben McEvoy, Jack Steven and David Armitage have all emerged. But … there is a little bit of a gap there.”
“I think [free agency scouting] has become as crucial now as general recruiting,” Baines said.
“About 50-60 per cent of the draft over the last few years continues to come from Victoria and the bulk of that is from the TAC. We see that as one of the most critical competitions around the country and we’ve always got scouts at each of the game.”
Watters “We need to increase the depth of our midfield and increase our defensive stocks.”

Thanks, I reckon I'd be up for it. Lost most of my hair already, so I don't think it would go grey... Maybe the beard, but anyway, it's actually 'lenny_07' but thats OK.Hi Guys first post, would love to see Lenny7 coaching in 2017
poor bloke had more balls than cousins and ended up being the fall guy for him
did really well at claremont prior to being drafted
Yeah - he played on one leg for about 6 years. his knee was stuffed. He came over here and was a model citizen. At least one good thing came out of the Lyon era. It reminds me of the Cousins video when he is at Etihad in a Saints Jumper after telling him he was drafted only to then be told it hadn't been ratified by the Board. I wonder if Cousins in our side in 09 would have been the difference? Imagine cousins in the rotations instead of Raph Clarke? I saw Cousins, Roo, Dal, Gardy and a couple of others at MSAC. Going for a swim and discussing how Cousins would fit in with the rest of the team. all buddy buddy stuff. 2 days later the axe fell on the deal.
Lyon axed that deal, said to the players that if he brought in Ben they'd expect a miracle and not do the work themselves. Nicky Dal was super keen on Ben so he could 'learn' off him.
Would it have made a difference, no idea mate. Lyon may be many things but he is not dumb. We did just fine without Ben but i have also had the 3 a.m thought that things might have been different/ maybe/ somehow /who knows/...I wanted him to come to us cos everyone needs a second and third chance in life, did not care about the footy aspect. God knows i have done some stupid things. And then done them again.
As for this talk about Lenny coming back here to Syd for GWS...are people just talking or have they heard the Simon Black/Lenny Hayes rumour going around up here?
Starting to get really irritated when I am just hearing blame, excuses and spin. 2008 - 2010 was one of the productive and successful periods of St Kilda's history and to use it to blame our current predicament is wearing thin... with me anyway![]()
Lyon axed that deal, said to the players that if he brought in Ben they'd expect a miracle and not do the work themselves.
Think that might have been the suggestion that they move on quickly and not concern themselves with what might have been.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/lyon-down-the-law-cousins-inspires-saints-20091124-j763.html
The late November morning after the St Kilda board - mindful of Cousins' decision to rid his body of all meaningful hair, an impending poor financial result and a nervous and heavily back-ended sponsorship agreement - decided that the player was not worth the risk.
Lyon has never confirmed reports that he was unwilling to take a risk on Cousins, but he agreed that he was determined to end the debate swiftly once the board had acted.
"He was a panacea for us," said Lyon, "to get us to where we needed to go. But it was important they (the players) understood they couldn't rely on anyone else. That's the reality of the situation and I think it resonated through the group."
Think that might have been the suggestion that they move on quickly and not concern themselves with what might have been.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/lyon-down-the-law-cousins-inspires-saints-20091124-j763.html
The late November morning after the St Kilda board - mindful of Cousins' decision to rid his body of all meaningful hair, an impending poor financial result and a nervous and heavily back-ended sponsorship agreement - decided that the player was not worth the risk.
Lyon has never confirmed reports that he was unwilling to take a risk on Cousins, but he agreed that he was determined to end the debate swiftly once the board had acted.
"He was a panacea for us," said Lyon, "to get us to where we needed to go. But it was important they (the players) understood they couldn't rely on anyone else. That's the reality of the situation and I think it resonated through the group."
Never replaced Michael Gardiners impact on games
And tongue. Don't forget the tongue. Flipping scary.late to this but gardiners impact in games in 09-10 was massive, he played some ripping games (eg winning mark and goal against the cats, etc)
i have no doubt in my mind, getting ben cousins would have been disastrous for ben cousins and terrible for us
people are living a pipe dream if they think he would have been the difference between us winning a flag in 2009 and not.
http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-06-17/bains-looks-to-plug-hole
This is piece of work started out by:
FROM the end of 2008 to the end of 2010, St Kilda recruited 26 players via rookie drafts, trades, and the AFL National Draft. Just five of these players remain – Tom Ledger, Farren Ray, Rhys Stanley, Arryn Siposs and Tom Simpkin.
This is how I would have reported it:
FROM the end of 2008 to the end of 2010, St Kilda played in three grand finals. Finishing 4th, 1st and third on the ladder after the home and away season winning a total of 48 games out of 66.
Starting to get really irritated when I am just hearing blame, excuses and spin. 2008 - 2010 was one of the productive and successful periods of St Kilda's history and to use it to blame our current predicament is wearing thin... with me anyway
Most of our games this year have been lost in the dying moments, if we still had Goddard and Gram ... the results could and would have been different.