List Mgmt. Request for AFL assistance in 2026

Ask for everything. We will not get anything but if you do not ask you will never know.
The media will get on their 'haven't won a game/final in X many millennia' soon enough. Then they'll do a review of our drafting and talk shit about that. Then they'll talk about how we've changed coaches and CEOs and presidents and GMs-Football more times than they can count. All the good players that have left or tried to leave. All the bad ones we drafted. We don't even need an Essendon media mafia to kick the shit out of us, the rest of the AFL landscape enjoy doing it anyway 'for the clicks'. Would like to see the argument made for why we shouldn't be assisted, if this season ends up being as woeful as it looks like being...

And actually, it's good timing for a bit of assistance before Tassie come along.

The media will get on their 'haven't won a game/final in X many millennia' soon enough. Then they'll do a review of our drafting and talk shit about that. Then they'll talk about how we've changed coaches and CEOs and presidents and GMs-Football more times than they can count. All the good players that have left or tried to leave. All the bad ones we drafted. We don't even need an Essendon media mafia to kick the shit out of us, the rest of the AFL landscape enjoy doing it anyway 'for the clicks'. Would like to see the argument made for why we shouldn't be assisted, if this season ends up being as woeful as it looks like being...

And actually, it's good timing for a bit of assistance before Tassie come along.
this is my gripe about the media, every f wit is quick to dig in but who here is actually putting up suggestions?

Cal Twomey (Riley Beveridge), Eddie McGuire?

anyone else....

Hi All,

While our previous seasons have never been North or WCE eagles bad we are hopefully going to finish 18th this year which in my opinion is needed as we require more elite talent on our list.

A hot take but i would happily trade one of our premiership cups for a wooden spoon this year and next as we have never ever embarked on a proper rebuild till now.

We have not won a final in over 20 years
Likely to go a year without winning a game
Tassie looms so the talent pool will be smaller

Surely we ask for some kind of assistance?
E.G Pick/s extra list spots for rookies

Apologises Lore if this thread isnt up to standard
Jesus Christ.

We should ask. Why wouldn't we? We're the least successful club in 22 years and one of the only VIC clubs to have never received a priority pick. More successful clubs have received assistance.

Tassie is coming in to compromise the draft and we'll be down the bottom. Our captain and best player requested a trade and he'll certainly request a trade again.

We are likely getting what I would consider a priority pick anyway, which will have the bonus of not needing to be traded.

But we should definitely ask for whatever we can get. The AFL wants us to be competitive at least, so I don't think it'll take much.

We are likely getting what I would consider a priority pick anyway, which will have the bonus of not needing to be traded.

But we should definitely ask for whatever we can get. The AFL wants us to be competitive at least, so I don't think it'll take much.

With the way the game has changed as well if your a bottom team side your going to be in alot more 50 - 80 point floggings with the how fast the ball is moved now and the stand rule

Prior to it you got the odd smashing but it was a lot more contested

Obsession with Solomon is odd

His our defensive coach and our defense has not been very good i would even say has gone backwards since Ben Jacobs went to our midfield coach
Actual results don't matter for Essendon People

No offence to the OP, but welcome to two years ago. There are 6-7 players on our list and 3-4 other clubs that should be nowhere near getting a game.
Bring in Tasmania and it will only get worse. Talent, if you can call it that is just not there.
But yeah, bring in another club to dilute the competition. Very amusing to observe.

I would expect that any struggling club’s list manager would be enquiring with the AFL on concessions in about June.

Why the hell wouldn’t you at least try, if you don’t ask you don’t get?

They mean nothing to me as i wasn't even born to experience it and you would you not trade one of them if it gave us the elite talent required so we can possibly win even more?
Absolutely not. You play footy to win flags.

Reasons we could get assistance

• - Wooden Spoon
  • No top 7 picks
  • - Scott surely has some relationships
  • - Pick before Bewick required
  • - Pick before Tasmania required
  • - Last years 3 player push back from 4 to 9
  • - Missing out on clear best 2 kids this draft even though we should be getting Cochrane

I am firmly in the camp against assistance how much better would it feel to get out of this without receiving any I think AFL assistance whether it’s priority picks etc should be reserved for the expansion teams or exceptional circumstance not just poor list management…..
Dont think its talked about or remembered too much in 10 years time, dont reckon Brisbane care too much now

Maybe its too insignificant now aswell to bother

The exceptional circumstances are there though with the acadamey/FS going when we should have them and our pick 4 which shouldve been CDT going to pick 9

Being a likely top 3 affected club by the new rules

Yes, I've been saying this for the past two years now.
We need the media to run with this to gain traction.

Its an ego thing. Essendon are too proud with a long history, so no current board member want to be involved in asking for help.

But they need to get with the times. The whole AFL system is concession based: ladder position draft picks, NGA's, new team concessions, compo picks, living allowances, the list goes on.

The footy public are desensitised to concessions now and forgets very quickly.

It wouldnt take much to convince the AFL to approve us draft picks. By not asking, we are effectively missing out on what other clubs recieve.

Absolutely not. You play footy to win flags.
Currently we arent and wont go close to it unless we start bringing in elite talent

No one wants to come to this club via Free agency or trade our only way to get elite talent is to draft and develop

No offence to the OP, but welcome to two years ago. There are 6-7 players on our list and 3-4 other clubs that should be nowhere near getting a game.
Bring in Tasmania and it will only get worse. Talent, if you can call it that is just not there.
But yeah, bring in another club to dilute the competition. Very amusing to observe.
Nothing offensive here i havent been on BF to share my opinoin but i was saying it two years ago that there are players on our list that are just not good enough and are on extremely bad and long contracts

Tassie is only going to dilute the talent pool further we really should have rebuilt after the saga sadly and the egos up top have lead us to this moment and us as supporters are likely to pay for it

The best way to get assistance this year would be not to attend essendon games

They see the fans dropping, theyre more likely to come calling
This will happen...
Why in god's name would anyone go to an Essendon game?
What is the payoff? We are a hard hard watch and have been for quite some time.
We are playing another sport when compared to the better teams in the comp.
And the list of teams we are comparable to is also dwindling.

Yes, I've been saying this for the past two years now.
We need the media to run with this to gain traction.

Its an ego thing. Essendon are too proud with a long history, so no current board member want to be involved in asking for help.

But they need to get with the times. The whole AFL system is concession based: ladder position draft picks, NGA's, new team concessions, compo picks, living allowances, the list goes on.

The footy public are desensitised to concessions now and forgets very quickly.

It wouldnt take much to convince the AFL to approve us draft picks. By not asking, we are effectively missing out on what other clubs recieve.
It is the same board members that have overseen this car crash.
Over-rating the list;
Sacking coaches & a refusal to see that action was required a long long time ago;
Strong focus on off field results over on field performance;
Allowing jobs for the boys for people who are clearly incompetent in their roles.

Us & Carlton are stuck in an old world footy mentality.
Look where it is taking us...

We should ask for assistance and then when it is offered throw it back in their faces.

That's how we show we are strong.

This will happen...
Why in god's name would anyone go to an Essendon game?
What is the payoff? We are a hard hard watch and have been for quite some time.
Good question.
No answer.
It’s in my veins I guess. I used to bag people for leaving early but at least they showed up in the first place.
Going to watch Essendon is a chore, it’s morbid, it’s surreal, it’s sad.
As nonsensical as it is, I’ll keep going.

Shocked at the suggestion we are "too proud" to ask for help. If we were proud we'd have pulled our finger out years ago. If we want to be proud in the future, ask for what could be a potential push start, don't sit there doing nothing to help ourselves and have another two decades in the abyss.

Good question.
No answer.
It’s in my veins I guess. I used to bag people for leaving early but at least they showed up in the first place.
Going to watch Essendon is a chore, it’s morbid, it’s surreal, it’s sad.
As nonsensical as it is, I’ll keep going.
I like your post - but even you will have a tipping point.
And that's my point...