2nds Reserves 2012

• Thread starter Thread starter bedford

They won because of the rules limiting the amount of AFL listed players that could be named in the Swans team. No other factor including their attack on the ball or their coaching could have even half the impact on the result as that rule. Having several AFL listed players rested before the end of the game was the 2nd most influential factor. It is easy to underestimate how much of a detrimental effect it has when you are limited to playing top-ups that do not train together multiple times each week for an entire season

Rules have been around all year.

When you thumped Qbn by 41 points in June and 55 points 2 weeks ago.

Beaten by a better side on the day end of story.

They won because of the rules limiting the amount of AFL listed players that could be named in the Swans team. No other factor including their attack on the ball or their coaching could have even half the impact on the result as that rule. Having several AFL listed players rested before the end of the game was the 2nd most influential factor. It is easy to underestimate how much of a detrimental effect it has when you are limited to playing top-ups that do not train together multiple times each week for an entire season
Exactly shows what a joke it is and i hope Will Griggs will get his own one day, dog act from a dog

Rules have been around all year.

When you thumped Qbn by 41 points in June and 55 points 2 weeks ago.

Rules around reserves qualifiers for finals have bee around for eons, that's what happens when your reserves team plays against other senor teams. Restrictions exist for stand alone clubs in the VFL and finals rules for ressies players eligibility of all clubs is much the same across the VFL/SANFL/WAFL too. There is no point mentioning that, thems the breaks. I also dont think leaving Walsh on would have helped, he wasnt playing that well and was unable to effect the driving force that was the tigers half forward crush.

It hurts to lose but given the bagging this league often gets at the hands of some we should also be grateful of the lengths the Tigers went to this year to be combative, if they drive their fellow non league clubs on to play better the league gets stronger and that's better for us too.

Queanbeyan players cleverly knew they could get physical knowing a number of Swans players would be dragged over the coals for potentially leaving the seniors short over the next fortnight if something goes wrong.

But ABH other than know how much you love your club, the respect you show for football and in fact defending the Swans ressies on the NEAFL board by telling other teams to get stronger and stop sooking there here.

So for you, enjoy your flag.

Thats fine mate, but you can't do it anymore, if you could about 6 Williamstown players would have been put in comas yesterday.
The comp is a joke when so many players who have played most of the season in the NEAFL can't play in the big one.

And he got reported just like many before him and many after him.

Not bitter mate, the better team on the day one it , but its not a true reflection when the opposition can't play their best team available.
Maybe i'm bitter as well with the Swans not playing Lynch.
Look at the VFL today Nathan Vardy was able to play for the Cats and might have been the difference in their 5 point win over Werribee

Exactly shows what a joke it is and i hope Will Griggs will get his own one day, dog act from a dog

Think about this for a moment.

Hypothetically if Ted Richards gives Buddy one in the GF which causes Franklins influence to not be as it was and the Swans get up would you have the same opinion?

So now we resort to name calling, very mature of you.

Was merely providing an opinion.
I didn't call you anything, although I can see how you'd infer it. Like you, merely providing and opinion, im this case that going to opposition supporters and mewling that they aren't giving enough credit to the opposition is unbelievably sad. I've said it to supporters of many different clubs and if it upsets you then I can only humbly suggest you stop begging.

Okay just watched the replay of the Griggs hit on Lamb. It's 58:20 into the stream if anyone else is interested. Ball up Swans defensive 50, Cunningham gives Griggs a few shoves, one of them results in him bumping into Lamb, Lamb pushes him back has a few words, then Griggs takes a short swing into Lamb's stomach. Umpire bouncing the ball incredibly has seen this but doesn't pay the free, Nipper is incredulous at this so runs in has a shot at Griggs. The non-controlling umpire has seen it though and awards the Swans the free and implores Armstrong to play on quickly.

Even though the article said Irwin was also in trouble, I couldn't see him in the replay.

I think part of the issue that exacerbated the reaction of Nipper was that a few Swans players were harshly thrown to the ground in some vigorous tackles in the play leading up to this and didn't receive a free.

Im all for the NEAFL comp i think its great
but im starting to now believe the restrictions are costing the development of younger players in the team

This is not to take away from the tigers win yesterday as everyone has said they were the better team and im very impressed in their 12 month turn around from going bottom to top

But i agree not being able to field our best players in the biggest game of the season is pretty harsh
We played the same amount of games and put in the hard yards to reach the GF which we now havnt won for 4 years (with two GFS in the last two years) Maybe its time to look at it again? Ainslie and Queanbeyan can compete with us at the top level and Eastlakes arnt far off!

Im hoping that as the NEAFL develops more the swans will have more opportunity to play more games against the SUNS, Brisbane and NT Thunder and maybe a few more games against the top Canberra teams

Least that way they are hard fought games

As for the hit on lamb...idd be just as disgusted if it was Lamb hitting Griggs put the fits away and play footy wether it be Round 1 or the Grand Final its just not on

For what its worth as the competition evolves and the Canberra clubs continue to get better the restrictions should be eased.

However their must be some restrictions as you cant have amature footballers competing with proffessionals as this is not an even playing field either.

So clearly the best way forward is to have the Canberra/Sydney clubs continuing to improve so eventually the Swans have more of their listed players fronting up week in week out.

However their must be some restrictions as you cant have amature footballers competing with proffessionals as this is not an even playing field either.
Summary: Queanbeyan were the better side but please don't play your other listed players because it would be unfair for you to have a better side

For what its worth as the competition evolves and the Canberra clubs continue to get better the restrictions should be eased.

So clearly the best way forward is to have the Canberra/Sydney clubs continuing to improve so eventually the Swans have more of their listed players fronting up week in week out.
I think the gap in the restrictions between the regular season (18 in squad, 14 on the field) and the finals (12 in squad) is too great.

Summary: Queanbeyan were the better side but please don't play your other listed players because it would be unfair for you to have a better side

Yet only 2 weeks prior you beat us by 55 points......move on

I understand that there has to be some restrictions, but to have to use so many top ups is not on

Not sure what the magic number is mate but my guess and I am not in the loop is that it should be looked at.

I think the gap in the restrictions between the regular season (18 in squad, 14 on the field) and the finals (12 in squad) is too great.

I don't disagree grim, but you were there yesterday and it was one hell of a contest wasn't it