Resigning

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

My last job in Victoria I had an exit interview. I knew I was moving to Queensland and already had a job there so nothing to lose. The school sucked and the principal was an arseh*le and I told them that in no uncertain terms.
Didn't know you did Crossfit mate!

Howd the principal react?

He wasn't there. It was a parent-controlled private school so it was a panel made up of parents mostly. I heard from someone that the principal resigned not long after. I like to think I had something to do with that.

What a rip off

At my old school (which i left due to my contract ending and loss of funding) i heard they got a new principal not long after i left and she was a nightmare apparently. So dodged a bullet there.

I had a long term staff member in his mid fifties who would often use a sick day on a Friday or Monday, or sometimes both in the same week, and it was fairly obvious that he was taking the piss. He always provided a certificate though so we couldn't do anything about it. He did it at least once every 8 weeks or so. He ended up getting very unwell and was hospitalised for a few months and no sick leave accrued.

I'm pretty sure superannuation insurance kicks in for a prolonged illness if you have no sick leave.

Private schooled people bragging about their office job and how liked they are at work and how much more money they’ll make. It’s a bit galling and braggy and hard to take for people who have shit, blue collar jobs.

I know. And what really gets me on this place is all these West Coast supporters talking about footy. It's comes off as really braggy, some of us have shit footy teams, they should spare a thought for us.

In case you're interested, with the possible exception of if you play old boys football and your teams are rivals in the same section, nobody gives a stuff about where a co-worker went to university, let alone high school. Just in case you were wondering.

As someone who has interviewed a lot, when a potential employee asks about culture you will always receive one of the two answers that the two people provided.

A) Culture is good, or;
B) The culture use to be below standard but since <insert a new high level position member> arrived it has changed a lot.

Ask anyone about a recent interview they've had in the corporate world and they'll always tell you about the culture of the place.

As someone who has interviewed a lot, when a potential employee asks about culture you will always receive one of the two answers that the two people provided.

A) Culture is good, or;
B) The culture use to be below standard but since <insert a new high level position member> arrived it has changed a lot.

Ask anyone about a recent interview they've had in the corporate world and they'll always tell you about the culture of the place.
Are you on panels for your employer, or do you mean you've had a lot of job interviews?

On panels. Never forget after about the 4th interview one day the new CEO said "if the next candidates first question is about culture you all owe me dinner".

Always reminded me of the Super Troopers "Shenanigans" scene.

The employer is looking for an employee, so they're always going to tell you it's a good place to work especially as for the most part you are going to be releaving the workload on the person interviewing you.

I think it's a valid question to be honest. When I asked, I said, every employer tells us how good the place is to work, what are some of the drawbacks. And then they went on to talk about how the culture was poor but it improved etc

I took a 20k pay CUT once to get in the industry I wanted. Thankfully it all worked out in the end.
I cut my salary in half to change jobs. Made most of it back with overtime though as we used to be on call and do an average of 20 hours a week OT

I think it's a valid question to be honest. When I asked, I said, every employer tells us how good the place is to work, what are some of the drawbacks. And then they went on to talk about how the culture was poor but it improved etc
A lot of people think the same but it's basically the "what are some of your weaknesses?" question for employers. If someone asks something you haven't heard before you remember them. Had a guy ask "what do I have to do to get your job?" once and that was impressive, albeit a little cocky.

I can most definitely assure I did not go to a private school. My school fees were $600 a year or something.

At best I was raised in a middle, middle-class household.

I had a shit blue collar job too mate. I worked at Maccas for nearly 8 years and was unemployed for 6 months until I found the job I just left.
Fair, I just assume everyone from Essendon is like that.

Was this your first serious job then?

A lot of people think the same but it's basically the "what are some of your weaknesses?" question for employers. If someone asks something you haven't heard before you remember them. Had a guy ask "what do I have to do to get your job?" once and that was impressive, albeit a little cocky.

I had someone put me on the spot and ask “based on my responses to your questions, do you think I’m good fit for your business?” He caught me off guard so he got a very honest answer.

Great question, would have caught you off guard. Did they get it?

I asked them what procedures do they have in place to ensure guidelines are met. I could see from the look on their face they were mightily impressed by it.

Fair, I just assume everyone from Essendon is like that.

Was this your first serious job then?
Ha, mate. I did not grow up here. I only purchased an apartment here. I grew up around the Tullamarine area. Hardly screaming wealth out that way.

Yep, first proper job. Hence why it was so hard to leave and a big deal (to me).

I asked them what procedures do they have in place to ensure guidelines are met. I could see from the look on their face they were mightily impressed by it.

Ha, mate. I did not grow up here. I only purchased an apartment here. I grew up around the Tullamarine area. Hardly screaming wealth out that way.

Yep, first proper job. Hence why it was so hard to leave and a big deal (to me).

Some of this shtick is seriously straight out of Office Space right?

I had someone put me on the spot and ask “based on my responses to your questions, do you think I’m good fit for your business?” He caught me off guard so he got a very honest answer.

what did you tell him? "Seeing as how you've just been released from prison for stabbing your previous employer, I do not think you'd be a good fit to run our creche"

And what was the response?

They called me, chat was positive, had a phone interview, they raved about me, and offered me the job on Monday.

The first phone call took place mid December, and the phone interview mid Jan.

Skype?

An industry/position specific question is something that most employers love. Even a token "big picture"question is good, anything that shows commitment really.
And what was the response?
"work 12 hour days, 7 days a week".

No chance of giving them the job, not giving someone with that much ambition a position and potentially lose out on a promotion myself.

Job interviews are funny.

The interviewer asks you dumb, template questions. You give a half-bullshit answer that you read off some "Top 50 most asked job interview questions and how to answer them" article on a careers advice website. You ask the interviewer a question about the workplace culture. They give you a bullshit answer about how great it is to work here, even though they most likely hate their job and have to down a glass of wine a night to get through the week. The successful candidate is the one who can give the most realistic-sounding bullshit answers and can fake enthusiasm for the potential job the best.

Zoom.
An industry/position specific question is something that most employers love. Even a token "big picture"question is good, anything that shows commitment really.

"work 12 hour days, 7 days a week".

No chance of giving them the job, not giving someone with that much ambition a position and potentially lose out on a promotion myself.
Yeah, I had two or three which impressed them. Guess it shows I did my homework too rather than asking boring, generic shit.