Restaurant Dis-Honorable Mentions

portentous said:
Cafe Primo-Semaphore. Service was crap, food was very ordinary. It took nearly an hour to get our food on a pretty quiet night. At no stage did anyone even approach us while we were waiting, nor apologise afterwards. (or offer us some bread or anything) They didn't even offer us a free drink to make up for the delay. Had my 2 boys with us and they're very lucky that my kids are well behaved. The serves, when they arrived were pitiful.

Have been to Cafe Primo at Golden Grove and Tea Tree Plaza, which were about 5 times busier, the food got to us in less than half the time and the serves were about twice the size.

If Semaphore is a franchise, then the owners really need to have a look at themselves. Location IS NOT everything!
Primo :thumbsdown: Says it all really.

ExTasDeeMan said:
We all know which are the best restaurants, but which ones have recently given you the irrits. These are Vic ones.

1. Steakout, the new 'steakhouse' in Crown. Would never have gone there in a pink fit normally, but as a friend wanted to grab a feed before watching the Brumbies/Hurricanes game. Steak - well ordered a medium rare scotch fillet. Ended up with a steak which bordered on well done. Also they forgot our appetiser order of garlic bread.

Geez, I regret that I didn't recall this getting a mention in this thread when I went with a group of friends down to Crown last night. We considered going to 'The Pub' but because it was a shorter waiting time we chose the Steakout.

The 'well done' porterhouse I ordered was about as bad a porterhouse I've had in a restaurant, totally lacking in flavour. And others I was eating didn't think much of their steaks either.

But the really annoying part was when the bill came around and it totally confused us as the prices on the bill didn't add up to the total cost. Eventually we worked out that the individual prices of the food and drink didn't incorporate GST (although the total bill did) and we then had to get a calculator out (as well as the original menu back) to work out what each of us was required to pay.

The only upside of the place was I was able to keep updated with the cricket scores at the Sportsbar (or whatever its called these days) from my seat.

wagstaff said:
Went with a few mates to Vinni's Cafe, a pizza restaurant in Keilor Road in Niddrie on Friday night. To say we were unimpressed by the place would be an understatement.

I went there a few months back and I wasn't too impressed with their food or their service. Pizza took too long to cook and it arrived burnt, so they had to make another one only after I pointed out that the base was like charcoal. :(

portentous said:
Cafe Primo-Semaphore. Service was crap, food was very ordinary. It took nearly an hour to get our food on a pretty quiet night. At no stage did anyone even approach us while we were waiting, nor apologise afterwards. (or offer us some bread or anything) They didn't even offer us a free drink to make up for the delay. Had my 2 boys with us and they're very lucky that my kids are well behaved. The serves, when they arrived were pitiful.

Have been to Cafe Primo at Golden Grove and Tea Tree Plaza, which were about 5 times busier, the food got to us in less than half the time and the serves were about twice the size.

If Semaphore is a franchise, then the owners really need to have a look at themselves. Location IS NOT everything!

Yes, Semaphore is a franchise. The owner of the Cafe Primo company owns Salisbury, Tea Tree Plaza and Im sure that he also owns Golden Grove.. Will have to ask him next time I see him.. I know the owner and always get free drinks when we dine at Tea Tree Plaza. :thumbsu:

Macca's. I saw fast food nation (and supersize me) and I don't ever plan to eat that **** again (unless its the only thing I can get). see the film and you'll understand

Box 3 in Cannington, WA.

Any Hans Cafe obviously.

There is nothing worse than crap Asian food, I've had better from a bloody food hall.

Thing is, I know this going into places like that but I have knuckle dragging friends who settle for absolute crap. I always seem to lose out because someones chick likes crap noodles.

Grill'd at Ozone in Knox.

ordered 2 burgers to find out they dont come with chips! so i ordered a side of chips, 2 drinks all up arond 24 i think (i know it was > 20).

I thought it was a restaurant, but it was like a fish n chips take out place. basically a few young guys working a grill while you wait. to top it off i had the runs after eating the burger! shouldve stayed home and made my own, would've been cheaper too!

Went to the Retro Cafe the other day in Brunswick St, Fitzroy, and was disappointed with their overall service and standards.

Firstly I ordered a porterhouse stack 'well done' but it came back medium-rare. Also, the service was shoddy with incorrect food and drinks being dished out all over the place. At one stage when I had the (correct) plate of food served to me, just as I began to eat it a waitress came and took it away thinking it wasn't mine!

Ironbark Brewery in the Swan Valley

Great place to go for a few beers but the tucker is awful.

Last I was there with a group, we ordered 3 pizzas, a Kangaroo burger and a steak sandwich with a side of wedges.

We then had staff forget about our wedges, take 1 hour to cook 3 pizzas which tasted no better then McCains frozen ones and then the 2 of us had to wait a further 1 hour for our burgers. Simply terrible. The burger and sanger were OK but clearly over the top. Buggered if I know why a brewery wants to whack every gourmet ingredient they can think of in a burger to the detriment of cohesion or taste. By all means, use fresh, quality ingredients and garnish with some delicacies but don't make it a deli in a bun.

But as I said, at least the brew was good. Iron Bock :thumbsu:

If the restaurant I used to run ends up in this thread, the reason your food tasted like crap is because I spat in it.

Restaurants in Perth are horrible, over priced or over pretentious. If it's a simple pub peed your lookig for it will cost you about $25-35 ofr something as simple as pie and chips, steak snadwich and chips, fish and chips, or it will be some wanky piece of crap you'd expect to get from an asian vegetarian resaurant. like vegetarian spring rolls with wasabi mayonais in a bok choi whatever. Then there's the actual resaurants. FFS how hard is it to make a decent curry? apparently it's pretty frking hard in Perth witht he only one i'd eat on a regular basis being go-gos in Mt Lawly, however knowing some of the students who work there I wouldn't anymore. They don't know the meaning of hygine. Just because they have gel in there hair and smell of cologne, doesdn't mean they have showered or even washed their hands in the last week.

Restaurants in Perth are horrible, over priced or over pretentious. If it's a simple pub peed your lookig for it will cost you about $25-35 ofr something as simple as pie and chips, steak snadwich and chips, fish and chips

Then don't go to shitholes.

Some examples of pubs with a good and well priced feed include the Vic Park, Manhattans, The Foundry and 7th Ave. There are many about the place.

Then don't go to shitholes.

Some examples of pubs with a good and well priced feed include the Vic Park, Manhattans, The Foundry and 7th Ave. There are many about the place.

The majority of pubs in the Western Suburbs have great food. The Wembley, The Floreat, Captain Stirling all have good kitchens and good menus. Problem is they are a bit pricey (not over the top though), but at least you'll get restaurant quality food.

all the ones you have mentioned are bars not pubs, you do know the difference don't you?

"pub Audio Help /pʌb/ Pronunciation Key - Show Spelled Pronunciation[puhb] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation
–noun
a bar or tavern."

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/pub

"Although the terms may have different connotations, there is no definitive difference between pubs, bars, taverns and lounges where alcohol is served commercially."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pub

If it's a simple pub peed your lookig for it will cost you about $25-35 ofr something as simple as pie and chips, steak snadwich and chips, fish and chips

If you are talking bar food then 7th Ave have quality food for half of "$25-35" that you state. It tastes very good.

Lunch Specials/Bar Snacks
Dish Description Price
FISH & CHIPS $9.70
FISH BURGER & CHIPS $9.70
CHICKEN BURGER & CHIPS $9.70
GRILLED CALAMARI & SALAD $9.70
STEAK & SALAD ROLL & CHIPS $9.70
PASTA OF THE DAY please ask your waitperson for today’s flavour $9.70
LIGHTLY BATTERED CHICKEN WINGS & CHIPS with dipping sauce $9.70
TOASTED TURKISH BREAD SANDWICHES with a choice of two flavours $9.70

http://www.the7thave.com/index.php?page=menu-specials

Even those others I listed that have a more formal eatery, $25 would be one of the most expensive meals and it's generally a pretty good Reef and Beef or something.

Couple of weekends ago I was down at Lorne for a few days. Their pub is atrocious. Service was deplorable, food was worse and it cost me around $30 for a parma and my mate $26 for a lamb wrap.

Only going there for the beer and footy in the future.

Let me preface this by saying that I worked for Crown so I may be biased but I have been to Steakout many times and have NEVER found a problem with the food. The service can be slow sometimes but never long enough that I have been upset or angry about it.

The girls there are friendly and always up for a chat and the steaks are always juicy with a great flavour. I know this sort of thing is always up to an individual and that what one person likes another may not but anyone who has been to Steakout once and had a bad night, go again and give it another shot and anyone who might have been put off going there by reading the previous posts give it a go at least once and try it for yourself.

Alpha

(Note: I go there alot ie: I take my mates, my girly and a couple other girls there at least once a week. Like I said I am biased but I wouldn't go there if it was shite.)

Geez, I regret that I didn't recall this getting a mention in this thread when I went with a group of friends down to Crown last night. We considered going to 'The Pub' but because it was a shorter waiting time we chose the Steakout.

The 'well done' porterhouse I ordered was about as bad a porterhouse I've had in a restaurant, totally lacking in flavour. And others I was eating didn't think much of their steaks either.

Having worked in a few kitchens in my time, ordering a well-done steak may have meant they gave your meat some "radar love" (microwave time - thanks Tony Bourdain) or dunked it in the deep fryer to ensure it was ready at the same time as your companions' food.

Attitude in the kitchen is - if you're ordering steak well done, your taste is in your arse anyway :eek:

all the ones you have mentioned are bars not pubs, you do know the difference don't you?

Not sure I do, please elaborate.

The Boathouse on the Maribyrnong River. Absolute shit. Worst $30 steak in the state and ridiculous service (which is not something I usually worry about). Everything was rubbish.

Restaurant Dis-Honorable Mentions