Review Reviews and Views v Suns

Regarding Polec, he did a kick-in last night and pin-pointed a kick to a Lions player outside 50 on the chest.
He's got talent no doubt, but it's his ability to impact contests consistently and attack the ball.
Maybe that's why Voss put him in the backline to test out his defensive structure?

I am a bit annoyed I went to the effort and expense yesterday to go down and watch one of the worst games of footy I've ever seen.

That said, I am not too upset about our performance. Voss is right... some days it just doesn't get going for you and you have to rely on grunt and a bit of arse to win. That is what happened last night. Last year we would have almost certainly lost in that situation.

Good educational game for the developing side too. Should get a bit out of that.

I think last night also shows that Rockliff actually is the type of player to stand up when it counts. His contested mark in the goal square was magical, and is starting to become a trademark of his.

He is Jimmy Bartel MK II.

Ok, what a game. Realise it's been dissected in almost every way possible in this thread, but my thoughts:

Yeo. It's rare that I make a call that ends up being right, but I thought he was great last week while others were worried. Was even better last night. High hopes that he could permanently play on one of the wings in our future line up.

Banfield and Polks: Two of our best for me. I'm not sure how visible it was on tv, but Banfield's pressure was as good as always, and he had a few exciting moments of attack which included no fumbling at all. I was particularly rapt about that. Polks definitely played his best match for a while now. Hopefully he's on the way back.

If Ace had been able to hold onto maybe 3 or 4 of those marks and convert, we would've been saying brilliant game by him. His ability to do that seems considerably diminished of late though, which is worrying when it's his primary job in the side.

I'll save any criticisms of others until I see what happens in the West Coast game.

Oh, and after working at Metricon games for a year, last night was my first time there as a spectator. Not a great stadium really. Was freezing all afternoon/night, there's clearly an issue with the lights that complicates marking (has anyone ever kicked a bag there in the past 2 years?), and bus lines are much more annoying to be standing in then directing and being paid for it.

A few Suns fans around me were very annoying too. Didn't seem to understand the rules at all (they called ball on us once when there was clearly no prior and a Suns player actually had the ball. I could only laugh).

At the end, though, we've been in a position the past few years where wins are rare and cannot be taken for granted. As odd as this game felt (from the start it really just didn't feel like an AFL match - maybe NAB Cup or something, I'm not sure. Just didn't feel... right), we came away with the four points. Nothing wrong with that.

Does anyone know where I can find the before the game stuff? I wanna see if I got on TV :)

Can't help you sorry, but am annoyed didn't see you, was watching it too, but only reading the actual banner and the boys going through, not looking as to who was with it...wish we'd known to look for you:)

p.s.....My husband just said to check when the game is going to be replayed on foxtel, and tape it..

For those who went... The ground looked quite heavy, especially around the flanks and pockets. Was this the case? Have always thought it unlikely to be a ground that drains well...
Having actually gone on to the ground (you'll be hearing about it for the next week lol) it seemed quite dry, however the grass was somewhat thicker than at the Gabba IMO

A little time off from the Bay. Thank god the boys won or I would of copped it along with the team.
My mate is a Tigers supporter and I could smell the finger on the "send email" button.

Thank you Rocky I owe you one after I did my back flying off the coach in a spasm of relief.

Ace needs to dip his hands in Glue so he can "MARK the dam ball". My kingdom for a mark !!!

Yeo. It's rare that I make a call that ends up being right, but I thought he was great last week while others were worried. Was even better last night. High hopes that he could permanently play on one of the wings in our future line up.

He actually reminds me of Stiller in size and a bit of poise, with a much better kick and vision up field. That's not too bad given Cheynee's racked up 100 games for us.

As long as he knows we won that's all that matters.

Save him the pain of watching it.

:p

I watched the replay when it came up on the Lions site. I really don't mind it, footy is footy and I enjoy it.

(Says me who loves to watch the Auskickers at half-time. Some of those bubs have skill!)

Hey, we got the 4 points, and for those of us who made the trek, we won a quarter pounder!

If I was in charge of the Lions bus (both Players bus and the 'Road Trip members bus) would have swung by the nearest drive through on the way home. That's a whole lot of free greasy cheesy goodness.

And I am IRKED.

Three photos in the Sunday Mail. Big one of Hunk-I mean, Joel and brennan, one of Lester and hunt, and one of Toddy and weller. Guess whose name ISN'T listed in the caption (hint: UNDERRATED!).

Up yours Sunday Mail.

On the other hand that IS a nice picture of Joel.

BTW, that sound that the Suns play when they kick a goal, does it remind anyone else of the old Fitzroy song?

Review Reviews and Views v Suns