Mr Ripper

Pink-cheeked and robust
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy FC
Well, it was the worst game I've seen, that's for sure!

And a big sarcastic "well done" to the three blind mice, who got right into the spirit of the occasion and, if it was at all possible, made a shocking game even worse! Not singling any maggot out though *cough* Goldspink *cough*

Agree totally Rip. - but what do you expect - remember that picturesque game in Round 4?

I was about to post something similar Rip, but you beat me to it. Not the most attractive football you will ever see.

Games like this one, make you appreciate those 'epic' encounters!

It wasn't great, but it wasn't too bad.

It's a myth that a game has to be high scoring to be a good game. This game wasn't of a high standard, but I can't say I was bored. It was an arm-wrestle, and sometimes those types of games can be enthralling contests, jsut to see who can "break" first.

Richmond might not be the greatest team to watch, but they don't have to be. They are not there to entertain, they are there to win footy matches, something which they are doing very well at the moment. I'm a bit mystified as to how they're 12-6, but apparently, "somehow" they have won 12 games so we have to give them credit.

But, in response to Ripper, I won't be buying the game from Australian Football Video, but as a contest, I can say I was still entertained, even if the skill level was lower than what one may have hoped for.

Originally posted by Dan25

I'm a bit mystified as to how they're 12-6, but apparently, "somehow" they have won 12 games so we have to give them credit.

Which incidentaly is only 2 less than Essendon at the moment!

I did not see the Freo / Sydney game earlier on this year, but tonight must surely be down there with it as one of the worst games of the year!

Oh well, give me an ugly win rather than a pretty loss anyday!

Very forgettable game, which I'll be quite happy to forget.

Now ... what game were you talking about? Was there a game on tonight?

Aw gee, I must have forgotten about it already. Lucky me.

CJH,

I've seen a fair bit or the Tigers this yearand you are the masters of winning ugly (against Collingwood twice, Carlton, Sydney etc)

I just worry that under the pressure of finals, your tall players, if they are shut down, will prove to be your downfall. You need more crumbers, I reckon. You percentage is still a worry in my opinion, and it would be nice to see you crush some sides. Strange as it sounds, I think a top line goal-kicking midfielder (and I mean of a higher quality than Leon Cameron) of the mould of a Voss is what you need. You need someone who can break the game apart in the midfield. Easier said than done I know, but there is just something "missing" and I can't put my finger on it.

Einsteins theory of relativity Ripper.

Compared to soccer, Rugby, basketball etc, it was entertaining. Compared to the Ess-North match two weeks ago, it wasn't entertaining. It's all about perspective. ;)

BTW, where were you sitting? I was in Q16 row D.

The last four games I attended (before Rich v Coll) were Coll v BL; Ess v NM; NM v BL; and Haw v Carl, so you could say I've been spoiled rotten for high quality footy over the past week or three! Really showed up what a shocker the Rich v Coll game was.

Oh, I was in Q19; on the aisle adjacent to Q18, third row.

CJH,

...but there is just something "missing" and I can't put my finger on it.

Actually Dan, I think you did put your finger on it.

Tonight we kicked 10 goals. Of these 9 came from set shots - 8 marks and 1 Free. The only goal that came from what could be described as general play was when Richo marked outside 50, handballed to Rogers' back and then goalled of the rebound.

1 goal from general play is terrible. This has been our pattern for most of the year.

While we do seek to set up a marking option up forward - which is to be commended - we do not pick up anywhere near enough secondary goals caused by midfielders pushing forward.

Joel Bowden does fit the bill (though isn't in the same class as Voss) of a midfielder that can tear a team apart. Interesting that he was tagged by Buckley (and not vice versa)!

BTW, I was sitting in Level 3 - P14 E1. You must have been near enough to right above me Dan!

None of you guy's saw the Hawthorn/WCE or Hawthorn Melbourne games now...did you?

The Hitman

Einsteins theory of relativity Ripper.

Compared to soccer, Rugby, basketball etc, it was entertaining.

Got to agree. Give me the worst game of AFL, or any local league, and it still is much better than those sports you mentioned, as well as others.

--------------------------------------------------------
Ball says the crowd, play on says the umpire
--------------------------------------------------------

Originally posted by The Hitman
None of you guy's saw the Hawthorn/WCE or Hawthorn Melbourne games now...did you?

The Hitman

Hitman
Can't believe I am going to agree with you, those 2 games were shockers, in fact I fell asleep watching the hawks/weagles match. :)

Now I fell asleep too - that's why I'm not going to colonial this afternoon. I might go to box hill hawks instead.

That match, in particular in the first half was a complete bore. By far the worst match at least on a Friday night for sometime. If any of those teams make the finals, on last night's effort, they won't cause much trouble.

Anybody who went to the Syd Vs Freo game at the SCG would agree that was the worst game played all year. Also the 1st and 3rd quarter last week in the Syd Vs Weagles rates a mention..i almost fell asleep in the 1st quarter and almost brought out the deck of cards in the third.

:(

Originally posted by CJH
Actually Dan, I think you did put your finger on it.

Tonight we kicked 10 goals. Of these 9 came from set shots - 8 marks and 1 Free. The only goal that came from what could be described as general play was when Richo marked outside 50, handballed to Rogers' back and then goalled of the rebound.

1 goal from general play is terrible. This has been our pattern for most of the year.

While we do seek to set up a marking option up forward - which is to be commended - we do not pick up anywhere near enough secondary goals caused by midfielders pushing forward.

Joel Bowden does fit the bill (though isn't in the same class as Voss) of a midfielder that can tear a team apart. Interesting that he was tagged by Buckley (and not vice versa)!

BTW, I was sitting in Level 3 - P14 E1. You must have been near enough to right above me Dan!

After thinking some more Chris, I have come to the conclusion that Richmond's problem is the following:

They don't score their goals quickly

When Malcolm Blight coached Adelaide and Geelong, a simple philosophy of his was to score goals quickly. His teams were capable of kicking 5 goals in, say 8 minutes to turn a game.

If you look at this season, Essendon, Carlton, Port, Brisbane, and even the Bulldogs occasionally can all score quick goals. They can all score 5 goals in an 8 minute burst which can change the game. Now, Richmond, admittedly, did kick 5 consecutive goals against Collingwood last night, but the problem was it took them 45 minutes to get them.

I havn't seen the Tigers get on a roll, where they score frequent quick goals, for ages. I can't remember when the last time was. How do you solve the problem?

As you said, you need more goals from general play. I get the feeling, that the Tigers think that their hopes depend on their tall forwards. Now, as you would be aware, Richmond's forwards have taken the most contested marks inside 50 in the AFL, so their tall forwads have been "working." The problem is that this success by Ottens and Richaradson, can lead to the rest of the team thinking that they don't need to score goals in general play. In other words, just let Ottens and Richardson do all the work.

Perhaps it is time to give Krakouer another run? Wouldn't someone like a Bewick, or a Daicos be handy? Richmond really do seem to lack that type of "shifty" forward.

Kick goals quicky.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Well, it was the worst game I've seen, that's for sure!

cant agree there Rip.
For mine the two worst games ive seen this year have been Adelaide v Geelong and Adelaide v West Coast.
I actually fell asleep watching Adelaide v Geelong - and i never fall asleep watching football.