Rich v Ess

• Thread starter Thread starter tigerboy

tigerboy

There is talk that the Richmond v Essendon match on Saturday could be the biggest crowd that there has been in the Home and Away season for a while.

Some have said 80,000, while some have said 85,000 - 90,000. What does everyone think??

IMO, there will be around 85,000 give or take a little - depends if the MCC/AFL memebers turn up.

('Cause isn't that the only way to fill the MCG to a capacity crowd?) :confused:

On Richmond Club Corner on Monday night, they were saying that they were expecting 90,000 for Saturday.

Which is the perfect setting for football's most exciting debutante, Andrew Krakouer! :D

Yeah its going to be a 'huge' game! But i think i am going to resist the urge to prebook and just get there early. I have an 18 game Ess membership, so i'd obviously prefer to get in without having to part with any cash (w/o having to book a seat).

Realistically, i think there will be a crowd of around 70,000-75,000. I doubt that it'd hit 80,000...but then again...you never know. But 75,000 would be my tip, so there'd be no trouble getting a seat. Hope so anyway!

Originally posted by topdon
Yeah its going to be a 'huge' game! But i think i am going to resist the urge to prebook and just get there early. I have an 18 game Ess membership, so i'd obviously prefer to get in without having to part with any cash (w/o having to book a seat).

Realistically, i think there will be a crowd of around 70,000-75,000. I doubt that it'd hit 80,000...but then again...you never know. But 75,000 would be my tip, so there'd be no trouble getting a seat. Hope so anyway!

Of course Top Don, Dan always tells us that Essendon are the biggest drawing team ahead of Richmond and Collingwood and as the latter 2 had 79,000 a few weeks back anything less than 80,000 will be a disappointment!

Originally posted by CJH

Of course Top Don, Dan always tells us that Essendon are the biggest drawing team ahead of Richmond and Collingwood and as the latter 2 had 79,000 a few weeks back anything less than 80,000 will be a disappointment!

Yeah CJH! I think the crowd will be dependant on how many of your mob shows up (as it is a Richmond home game). I'd love to see 80,000+ but somehow i don't believe the game will crack 85,000-90,000 as the RFC seem to believe. I could be proved wrong though :D

CJH, there is no dobt that Essendon is a high drawing club, in terms of crowds, and stats can back that up to a certain extent. But in all honesty, making comparisons on such a matter are futile. There are no definite answers!

The crowd will be about 77,000. If it was on a Friday night, it would get about 82,000, and if it was on a public holiday, it would get about 87,000.

It will be a huge game.

Everytime there is a big game (eg Carl vs Coll last week) we see stupid predictions of 90,000. Very few Home and away games ever get that. This will be in the mid to high 70,000's. Maybe if we are lucky, it could puch into the low 80,000's but I doubt it. If it was on a Friday night, it would definately push 80,000.

Rich Vs Ess crown

Dan 25, you so called stats guru (get a life son!!).

I will bet you anything this match gets at least 80,000.

And will actually go close to 90,000.

You are not the stats guru, you are full of sh*t and make up half the stuff you post here.

I remember on a Sunday back in '98 we drew a crowd over 80,000 against the Tiges. I wouldn't be surprised if we got that tomorrow, particularly with Richmond havin' such a good start to the season. Should be a great match, i've been impressed with what i've seen of the Tigers this year.

where's wally?

I come from a rural country town in Victoria and when I rocked up to our tiny local Ticketmaster outlet on Monday afternoon to buy tickets I found myself in a queue of around 25 people. Virtually unheard of in these parts. So, on that assumption, I'm guessing it'll be a BIG crowd.

I'm taking my two kids for their first ever trip to the MCG. It'll be a buzz for them to see a crowd which may be up to 5 times the size of their whole town's population.

Originally posted by Dan25
The crowd will be about 77,000. If it was on a Friday night, it would get about 82,000, and if it was on a public holiday, it would get about 87,000.

It will be a huge game.

Everytime there is a big game (eg Carl vs Coll last week) we see stupid predictions of 90,000. Very few Home and away games ever get that. This will be in the mid to high 70,000's. Maybe if we are lucky, it could puch into the low 80,000's but I doubt it. If it was on a Friday night, it would definately push 80,000.

I agree

Originally posted by topdon

But in all honesty, making comparisons on such a matter are futile. There are no definite answers!

TopDon meet Dan25,

Dan25, TopDon! :D

Originally posted by Wally
I remember on a Sunday back in '98 we drew a crowd over 80,000 against the Tiges. I wouldn't be surprised if we got that tomorrow, particularly with Richmond havin' such a good start to the season.

Wally,

I think that was when Sheedy had his 400th game as coach or broke some record or something.

That was a huge day and was neither a Public Holiday or a night game!

If you are reading this Jethro Q Walrustitty (O guru of crowd figures), would you be able to provide us with the crowd figure for this match?

Originally posted by Dave
CJH, he broke Dick Reynolds Essendon coaching record of 415 games (ie coached his 416th game).

Crowd was 83773.

Yeah, that's right Dave.
Was a pretty good contest too.

where's wally?

Yeah it was a good game. Bit funny in that in both teams when they scored a goal got on a roll. Essendon opened up a lead, then richmond piled on a heap of unanswered goals then the dons did likewise.

I doubt we will get the 83,500 that the two teams got in 1998. Kevin Sheedys record breaking game probably pushed the crowd to 83,000, when it would have normally been 78,000 or so.

It will be difficult to get over 80,000 on Saturday (I hope so, though!), but I think a crowd of about 77,000 approx is more realistic.

Re: Rich Vs Ess crowd

I said this:
The game will get about 77,000

The game actually got 77,576

CK Tiger said this :

Originally posted by CK Tiger
Dan25, I will bet you anything this match gets at least 80,000.
And will actually go close to 90,000.

You are not the stats guru, you are full of sh*t.

Well, don't you look like the biggest dickhead.

Re: Re: Rich Vs Ess crowd

I said this:

CK Tiger said this :

Well, don't you look like the biggest dickhead.

And weren't we all waiting for this series of posts, LOL :rolleyes:

Well Dan ma man I dips me lid to ya!!

Well done mate, good prediction. I certainly do have egg on my face!!!

I think there may have been a few thousand that knew Richmond were'nt up to it and therefore stayed away!

Bookies odds (Ess $1.22 for the win), certainly showed the Bombers were very warm favourites.

Had we been a more proven team I think the crowd would have been much bigger. But as we saw Richmond has a long way to go to reach the Bombers benchmark standard.

Anyway, well done Dan I have newfound respect for ya!!!

Wash your mouth out CK Tiger!

Dan25 got lucky, and you have "new found respect"?

The reality is any "Blockbuster" can draw between 70,000 and 95,000 based on: (a) how many people are "turned away" by the possibility of being unable to get in; and (b) how many AFL members/MCG members turn up.

Dan25's self-styled "stats guru" status is as questionable as ever.

Re: Re: Rich Vs Ess crowd

The game will get about 77,000

Then posted by Dan25

Now I was expecting this kind of post to occur, so had already done a little research...

Originally posted by Dan24 in a previous topic: biggest bandwagoners - in order

1.Carlton - biggest bandwagoners
2.Collingwood
3.Richmond

Richmond is in a similar category. Though they have missed the finals for the last 5 years, they have still had great crowds. However, there is no doubting the bandwagon nature, when they really get on a roll.

Over the last 5 years, Richmond and Collingwood have missed the finals every year, and they have been 3rd and 2nd respectively, in the attendances in that time.

Both clubs have large support. Both clubs have large CORE support, so they will always get big crowds anyway. But the propensity for Richmond and Collingwoods "bandwagon" supporters to jump on with the "core" supporters is massive.

Why do you think these two clubs have the worst bandwagon reputation?? It's no accident. You can be guaranteed that if the Tigers or Pies string 3 wins together, their supporter will start talking premierships. Like I said, they will get big crowds anyway, but the massive increase they both get when they start to win is phenomenal. .... but those "extra" bandwagon supporters that join the "core supporters' make Richmond, Carlton and Collingwod the worst bandwagon teams in Victoria.

Richmond had won 5 out of 6 games. Had won 4 in a row. Had beaten 3 of last years finalists. Had been on our biggest roll since 1995.

If all this is true, then where are the Bandwagoners?

If a Richmond / Essendon clash on a Saturday after noon normally attracts 77,000 and it actually attracted 77,576, does this mean that Richmond only have 576 bandwagoners?

Originally posted by TigerTank
Wash your mouth out CK Tiger!

Dan25 got lucky, and you have "new found respect"?

The reality is any "Blockbuster" can draw between 70,000 and 95,000 based on: (a) how many people are "turned away" by the possibility of being unable to get in; and (b) how many AFL members/MCG members turn up.

Dan25's self-styled "stats guru" status is as questionable as ever.

TT,

Mr Ripper and I, are the leading crowd experts, as shown by his crowd tipping competition. I usually get crowds accurate to within 2-3,000. You have no idea. There was no way Ess-Rich on a Saturday arvo would get over 80,000 in Round 7. Maybe on a Friday night, but not on a Saturday.

The only way they could get over 80,000 on a Saturday, is if it was on the eve of the finals, and finals positins were up for grabs or if it was a huge 1 vs 2 clash like last years Essendon-Carlton match.

If there is one thing I am good on, it is crowds. My predictions are always based on the propect of fine weaher, and I usually get it pretty accurate. You say that the crowd depens on how many AFL-MCC members turn up.

One of the things about predicting crowds is being able to predict just how many AFL-MCC members will turn up. I took this into account when predicting 77,000. Richmond don't have as many AFL members as, say, Carlton, so i predicted that the AFL members wold be about 3/4th full. I was right.

For Anzac day, I predicted the AFL memebrs would be full, and that the MCC wouldn't be. I predicted a crowd of 84,000 and was swrong by only 1,000. The crowd was 83,000

Trust me...... I know what I am talking about, okay.