King
Nixon
Hall
Morrison
Morrison
Freeborn
Cummings
Walker

..........you've been hiding under a rock if you think Cole's the worst player we've had on our list recently. He has his skill deficiencies, so do most young players, but he has plenty of ability. Thats why we got a second round pick for him. The trade value of the above list is nil.

well f k me, how many duds can one side have, i agree with you wholeheartedly, and i reckon we could name about a dozen more.
Freeborn, mcgough and even Lokan a bit stiff there, but i still rate cole as one of the worst.

Has plenty of potential, but lacks a football brain. I can see why he went high in 2001, but he really needs to kick on. Is more than handy when his team is up and running.

Great tackler, but there is a massive gap between his best and worst.

hotpie said:
Career to date - no he has not achieved what they did, as he's still only 21 years old.

But he's likely to have a far better career than McKee, and as good a career as Freeborn.

Wash your mouth out!!

If he has as good a career as Freeborn that includes a premiership.

I don't want to even think about it:eek:

Cole's career:
2002 - Got a few early games, impressed with his tackling. Not much else.
2003 - See 2002 but more games. A few mini-glimpses.
2004 - Good solid year in the backline, released Johnson to play further up the ground.
2005 - crap

So it's not all bad. Sure he's only had one decent year but the first 2 were developing years. But in his 5th season he should have shown more than he has. Even in his best year, 2004 he never really cemented the fact that he will be a good player.

The boy certainly has ability and I was of the belief that he could have turned things around, but with Krispy Kreme opening stores soon in Melbourne this sadly spells the end of Richie's career. Rioli, Richie, and donuts, a lethal combination!!!

Le-Paizo said:
Walker needs a chance to prove himself still. Dont write him off already!

Tex Walker is a spud, Lokan and Cam Cloke not much better, how can Collingwood fans seriously believe we're on the right track by cluttering up the list with blokes who clearly aren't up to it. I keep reading the same old stuff "give him another year" & "he'll mature in time" etc. etc.. How come players like Reiwoldt, Ball, Hodge, Judd, Dal Santo all seem to make the transistion and our recruits ar given 3-4 years before we realist we were wrong and turn em over to start again. How many draftees have truly been standout players in the past 5-6 years?

If you ask me, the recruiting team have a lot to answer for.

Doona2 said:
Tex Walker is a spud, Lokan and Cam Cloke not much better, how can Collingwood fans seriously believe we're on the right track by cluttering up the list with blokes who clearly aren't up to it. I keep reading the same old stuff "give him another year" & "he'll mature in time" etc. etc.. How come players like Reiwoldt, Ball, Hodge, Judd, Dal Santo all seem to make the transistion and our recruits ar given 3-4 years before we realist we were wrong and turn em over to start again. How many draftees have truly been standout players in the past 5-6 years?

I don't disagree that our recruiting in the past has not been as good as it should have been, but it was not as bad as many supporters make out it was.
Leaving aside the last two years as they are yet to prove much;
Maxwell
Rowe
Didak
Wakelin
Swan
Clement
Holland
Lonie?
Shaw
Fraser
Richards
Were all recruited by the old 'recruiting team'
Which ones of those should we get rid of?

Doona2 said:
Tex Walker is a spud, Lokan and Cam Cloke not much better, how can Collingwood fans seriously believe we're on the right track by cluttering up the list with blokes who clearly aren't up to it
Agree on Tex but not on Cam. Lokan isn’t on the list any more.
Doona2 said:
How come players like Reiwoldt, Ball, Hodge, Judd, Dal Santo all seem to make the transistion and our recruits ar given 3-4 years before we realist we were wrong and turn em over to start again. How many draftees have truly been standout players in the past 5-6 years?
Because they were taken top 3 apart from Dal Santo who was a genuinely good get by st. Kilda and that who we passed over for Cole. There is a bit of luck involved in when you finish low. A couple of boom years surrounded by ordinary years. We got 1999 and St. Kilda got 2000 but we could have had Pavlich had we had St. Kilda’s mentality and kept the prized pick 3 in 1999. We’ve been a bit unlucky with timing and a lot stupid with trading and selecting.
Doona2 said:
Spot on. Not just them though.

Doona2 said:
Tex Walker is a spud, Lokan and Cam Cloke not much better, .

Walker may be a spud but he's one of the last spuds on our list. Had a bad ankle last season so his performance in 2005 should be discounted. On his last legs but not a complete write-off. Could still turn in to a very good CHB but he's only got a year left to prove he's worth keeping.

Lokan is gone, not sure if you knew that. And he was a fourth round pick which is pure speculative stuff. Far from the worst fourth rounder we've ever drafted.

Cam has also struggled to make the next step but has had two serious shoulder injuries in the past two years. Needs time but could be a good player for us either forward, in defence, and in the ruck.

Murray said:
I don't disagree that our recruiting in the past has not been as good as it should have been, but it was not as bad as many supporters make out it was.
Leaving aside the last two years as they are yet to prove much;
Maxwell
Rowe
Didak
Wakelin
Swan
Clement
Holland
Lonie?
Shaw
Fraser
Richards
Were all recruited by the old 'recruiting team'
Which ones of those should we get rid of?

Wakelin, Clement and Holland were recycled players (different category). Didak and Rhys Shaw are about the only two you could confidently say would be in our best 22, but then again we dont have a best 22 so some of those guys would be forced in by our lack of good players.Swan aint up to it, Lonie is too hit and miss, Fraser will never reach the heights this big word "potential" promised us, and Richards looks like another Fraser in that he seems prone to injury. For me the jury is out on Maxwell and Rowe

pieman1 said:
The boy certainly has ability and I was of the belief that he could have turned things around, but with Krispy Kreme opening stores soon in Melbourne this sadly spells the end of Richie's career. Rioli, Richie, and donuts, a lethal combination!!!

When and where are Krispy Kreme opening. I love those fricken donuts and will gladly sit beside dean and richie and stuff my face with 'em!

I'd have to agree with The Russian here, Richard Cole is one of the worst players ever to put on a Maggies jumper, but.......... there are many many more which also fall into the same category. Russian, will be interesting to see you compile a list of hacks that have been drafted by the Pies in the last 10 years or so. I too was there when Richard Cole sh*t himself in the backpocket on grand final day, it was a disgrace and will never be forgotten by the magpie army!

Matthew Lokan is definately one of them, as too was Andrew Williams, but there is none bigger than one Jason Wild. As for Glenn Freeborn, he has had a tremendous career, premiership player, played in two or three grand finals, might have finished in the top 10 in the b & f a few times. Richard Cole's career will never equate to that!

Tex Walker, built like Tarzan, plays like Jane. Hopefully he can shake off the injuries and show the footy public what he can really do! Hopefully he has been spending every training session with King Carey!

Also, can anyone please tell me how Stephen Patterson played more than 50 games?

bomber5 said:
I'd have to agree with The Russian here, Richard Cole is one of the worst players ever to put on a Maggies jumper, but.......... there are many many more which also fall into the same category. Russian, will be interesting to see you compile a list of hacks that have been drafted by the Pies in the last 10 years or so. I too was there when Richard Cole sh*t himself in the backpocket on grand final day, it was a disgrace and will never be forgotten by the magpie army!

Matthew Lokan is definately one of them, as too was Andrew Williams, but there is none bigger than one Jason Wild. As for Glenn Freeborn, he has had a tremendous career, premiership player, played in two or three grand finals, might have finished in the top 10 in the b & f a few times. Richard Cole's career will never equate to that!

Tex Walker, built like Tarzan, plays like Jane. Hopefully he can shake off the injuries and show the footy public what he can really do! Hopefully he has been spending every training session with King Carey!

Also, can anyone please tell me how Stephen Patterson played more than 50 games?

So which team do you actually follow?

Murray said:
Fair dinkum, this place gets weirder and weirder every day

Please dont think it's weird that there are Collingwood supporters out there who are realists and not fixated on this rot that things are ok at the Lexus Centre.

Doona2 said:
Please dont think it's weird that there are Collingwood supporters out there who are realists and not fixated on this rot that things are ok at the Lexus Centre.
No, not talking about that mate.
Have a look at bomber5.
North
and follows Collingwood

richie was a major disappointment

he is not the only player to squib it, as noted before c.johnson etc. didn't get dragged thru the coals like richie did, richie was only a youngster playing against the might of the brisbane juggernaut.....still no real excuse tho

richie put in a good 2004 and all signs showed he was over the GF, but who knows what happened in 05, he was never interested in trying to force his way back into the seniors or work off his excess weight

he is a frustrating player in that he attacks the man extremely hard, lays ferocious tackles.....but if the ball is to be won he wont charge at it

also he often misjudges the distance of his kicks, ie often balloons them over a leading (more often than not tarrants) targets head

also been noted that he doesn't take the first option and is pinged for holding the ball usually once a game, the worse thing is usually u can see it coming, ie he will do a good baulk charge up the ground take a bounce and you have been screaming at him to get rid of it but too late he is chased down and BALL

maybe being where he always wanted to play football may help him.....good luck to essendon if they get something out of him, but he didn't really have a place at collingwood anymore as r.shaw, d.swan, h.shaw, b.johnson, r.lonie, j.rowe, b.davies had all moved past him

bomber5 said:
Tex Walker, built like Tarzan, plays like Jane. Hopefully he can shake off the injuries and show the footy public what he can really do!
Minor correction. He’s built like Tarzan and plays like Tarzan. Nothing girly about how he goes about it but you’d recon he never played a game before he has so little clue how the get the ball. If the penny dropped he‘d be good hut it probably would have happened by now if it was going to happen at all. Having said that, it took Rocca a long time and a year at CHB to show much more than Tex has. I don’t think we can carry him in either the backline or the forward line so he really should have been chopped IMO.

boncer34 said:
So putting aside the facts that Im an Essendon supporter and he came to Essendon what do you guys really think of him? Is he any good? Does he have the potential to be great? Is the labelling him of a dud by some Collingwood supporters just bitterness that hes no longer with you or is he really that bad?

When he first came to our club i thought he had a lot of potential. However the fact is he has no awareness or peripheral vision. Hence he chooses the wrong option and gets caught with the ball way too often.

Should slot in nicely at Bendigo though.

jlc

MarkT said:
I don’t think we can carry him in either the backline or the forward line so he really should have been chopped IMO.

I think we need to carry as many players as possible in defence until we find a replacement for Presti and Wakes. Its not as if we are blessed with options. I'm happy for Walker to get another year. Hall too. And J Cloke and C Cloke. Until the likes of John Anthony put their hands up as potential long term key defenders, we need to give these players all the time they need.

Agree Walker will never be a forward. Not full time anyway.

hotpie said:
I think we need to carry as many players as possible in defence until we find a replacement for Presti and Wakes. Its not as if we are blessed with options. I'm happy for Walker to get another year. Hall too. And J Cloke and C Cloke. Until the likes of John Anthony put their hands up as potential long term key defenders, we need to give these players all the time they need.
Where do you carry a player? Or more to the point at the expense of whom? If you play Presti, Wakelin, Clement and Maxwell where does Tex fit in? We are already carrying/developing Maxwell, H.Shaw and Swan down back. If we have to carry another development tallish player I’d rather it was O’Brien or even someone like Travis Cloke getting CHB experience. We have J. Cloke for depth. I just don’t see how Walker can play a role short of massive pre season improvement or a big injury count. I think he's had his shot and isn't good enough. I don't really mind him getting another year but on balance a call should have been made between him and Hall IMO. I'd rather have punted on Davidson or O'Brien myself.