News Richmond cheer squad being surveilled by undercover AFL spotters after umpire abuse

The vision I was curious about. Only caught the end
It showed two teenager lookign kids being escorted out, the rest was just the guys in orange jackets walking up and down aisles.

Made it sound like several people had been escorted out, but he had very little and reported there was a fight in the crowd at the end which you would of heard, but there was no footage of it

I'm not sure I want my footy experience homogenised. I can tune out to stupid language, I think most people can if they try. Even umpires. I respect that most people are different and have different views and I think that is what makes AFL the unique game it is to watch and support. Granted, there have been improving standards surrounding basic discriminatory rights, and that serves us all well, we learn, live and improve as human beings. But these steps are over the top.

It is interesting that someone was evicted from watching the game they love for abusing an umpire over his officiating standards (presumably) by calling him a flog, and yet we have a certain TV show on Foxtel using the same reference types as part of it's promotional material. Neither worry me, albeit I wouldn't be saying it. Would the AFL prefer more direct and accurate language be used like masterbater, ****** etc. Or perhaps we will need codes to express our deepest feelings - Umpire you are a 323! Umpire you green 587!;)

My message for the umpires is don't seek to have a profile, be nameless and faceless if you fear abuse. Whenever you have to make a decision that comes down to appeasing one side and aggravating the other side, you will have disapproval. That won't change, and most of us who do and have done it, get used to the disapproval for the two hours.

The AFL's realisation of the need to apologise to Adam Goodes has in part driven this I think. They now view abuse as a Duty of Care issue.
Calling an umpire a “flog” is worlds away from the racist abuse Goodes and his indigenous mates copped. Go hard on racism, homophobia etc. please let us tell the umpires when they are not correct. (Often not umpires fault as the powers that be change the rules every two seconds. Many of the rules are no longer cut and dry)

If someone like Nat Edwards - a mild mannered female reporter - reckons she felt uncomfortable with this insanity, then there’s the proof that these AFL losers have lost their minds.

What a disgrace the AFL are. Nobody actually likes the AFL. They like their teams and the game they were once familiar with. Otherwise most people can’t stand the AFL the entity. The AFL would do well to understand this and that at the end of the day, the game belongs to us, not them and their dishonest, manipulative and often incompetent corporate machine.

WOW...historically it use to be Brown and Black shirts one had to keep a watch out for...
Now Australia has gone one better and entered the big league with blue jackets!
Where have been the complaints of anti-social behaviour warranting crowd control?!?

WOW...historically it use to be Brown and Black shirts one had to keep a watch out for...
Now Australia has gone one better and entered the big league with blue jackets!
Where have been the complaints of anti-social behaviour warranting crowd control?!?

Gil says it’s happening because people are reporting it.

Is he lying or has there been an increase of Helen Lovejoy types at AFL games?

Gil says it’s happening because people are reporting it.

Is he lying or has there been an increase of Helen Lovejoy types at AFL games?

What do you reckon ? He’s the biggest liar since...well ...Andrew Demetriou.

I know exactly what’s happened here. In light of some unsavoury incidents in the crowd this year and also after games, the AFL has decided to take some action. Which is actually fair enough. Nobody wants punch ups, assaults, villification etc. But in typical AFL fashion they’ve totally and utterly cocked up their response by going waaay over the top and getting all the fans offside.

They do this all the time: unnecessary and over the top rule changes; unnecessary and over the top rules interpretations; unnecessary and over the top judiciary processes; and on and on it goes.

This is just another example, and with it, their absolute dishonesty again by saying that they’re not behind it.

I call complete bs on the AFL again.

Calling an umpire a “flog” is worlds away from the racist abuse Goodes and his indigenous mates copped. Go hard on racism, homophobia etc. please let us tell the umpires when they are not correct. (Often not umpires fault as the powers that be change the rules every two seconds. Many of the rules are no longer cut and dry)

Don't disagree, but there are cause and effects, irrespective how how tenuous you might think the link is. It's issue on issue building. The root of the action I suspect is a realisation that the AFL has a duty of care in regards abuse. Abuse comes in many forms.