Opinion Richmond game day chants

• Thread starter Thread starter EagleOz

Always here this during ashes tests... Never had a clue wtf they're saying? Anyone know the words?

Usually its just

We're in the middle, in the middle, in the middle over here
We're the right side, are the right side, we're the right side over here
We're the left side, are the left side, we're the right side over here

Basically just singing for the sake of it. Good to see them branch out and ad "convicts over there".

Always here this during ashes tests... Never had a clue wtf they're saying? Anyone know the words?

This...I think haha

Usually its just

We're in the middle, in the middle, in the middle over here
We're the right side, are the right side, we're the right side over here
We're the left side, are the left side, we're the right side over here

Basically just singing for the sake of it. Good to see them branch out and ad "convicts over there".

I heard this chant back in 2002 i think it was. When i was in middle school. I think they've always had the convicts bit in it, at least when they play us.

Lol'd!

To be fair this goes alright compared to the:

wogga wogga tigers on a whisker R.I.C.H.M.O.N.D thing...whatever that awful thing is LOL

F*** me, mate, that's Richmond history right there. Been going since before my time and I'm pretty old. Hope you can tolerate "Eat 'em alive"

i've been researching and got one for brandon ellis

(oh my darling clementine tune)

Brandon Ellis
Brandon Ellis,
Brandon Ellllllliiis number 5
F* your Hodgies (or whoever we are playing that day)
F* your Fyfies (or whoever we are playing that day)
We've got Ellis number 5

Feel like stringing myself up every time I hear that 'Wogga Wogga, rah rah rah' chant.

Would be okay if it was sung maybe once a match, but it's basically the only chant they know and they just continue to flog it.

You young blokes are killing me. I hear that and I feel like it's 1973 and I'm wearing my duffle coat.

i've been researching and got one for brandon ellis

(oh my darling clementine tune)

Brandon Ellis
Brandon Ellis,
Brandon Ellllllliiis number 5
F* your Hodgies (or whoever we are playing that day)
F* your Fyfies (or whoever we are playing that day)
We've got Ellis number 5

I quite like this.

I remember as a 10yo kid those big Tiger Army / Richmond chants were one of the best things about going to the footy. We need to do more to create that feeling of group identity for the kids.

I don't know how to do it, but the atmosphere doesn't feel as 'together' as it felt when I was a kid due to the lack of chanting / lack of mad tiger supporters standing up and shouting out to start chants all the time.

Or maybe as a kid I just noticed that kind of thing more because I didn't know what was going on on-field like I do now.

F*** me, mate, that's Richmond history right there. Been going since before my time and I'm pretty old. Hope you can tolerate "Eat 'em alive"
Haha sorry mate. Obviously none of the cheer squad chants are actually audible so I only heard it a few years back when i sat particularly close to them. Maybe my prejudgments of the people singing it blinded my biased opinion. I do think it sounds a bit like a kids chant and don't love the cheer squad but ill try and get into it from now on! :D

I think at this stage the chant/song doesn't matter if it is good or bad. But I would like to hear a simple non comical one that can reach around the whole ground. That is loud.

Was bored during lunch so thought this one up.

Here's one that could've been used for Travis Choke last week (sung to the tune of Hokey Pokey):

You kick a point to the left
You kick a point to the right
You kick it out of bounds
And you shake it all about
You do the Travis Chokey and you turn around
That's what it's all about

Whoooaaa, the Travis Chokey
And that's what it's all about