Richmond hate explained?

AFL is all about hype, the AFL is a shameless hype machine out for mass money.

Commentators are told to act this way, this weeks super star is easily replaced by the next player who does a few flashes thing in a match of the round tv game.

Two weeks later when said player goes back to having an ordinary game commentators by then would have picked the next super star to rabbit on, hence keeping the interest of footy fans alive and creating this fake notion that the code has super stars on every line who are freaks of nature.

And they do the same with teams. You have to keep fans wanting to come back and Richmond after years of being shit are the fairytale story so far of 2017 and AFL fans being children first, they love fairytales. So the media is sensing a mA$$ive ca$hcow by indulging and writing chapter after chapter of the 2017 fairytale. And fans are lapping it up.

After 2016 the AFL now knws that fairytales is what the AFL fan loves, even more so if it includes a traditional victorian team.

My prediction is the tigers will dominate for a while, drop off for around 5 weeks and then com back strong and will win the flag provided thats what the AFL wants, like the bulldogs last year.

The AFL is basically WWE and there are HUGE amounts of WWE fans who are obsessed with the AFL as well.
Lol good to see you've got over last years loss to the Doggies.

I dont particularly have anything against the players themselves (bar jack riewoldt being a sook) infact the playergroup is far more likable since Tyrone left .. Damian Hardwick on the other hand comes across as such a prima donna that the hatred just boils. Take alook at the strut he had walking across the ground after last nights game.. He just has such a cloud of smug surrounding himself it gives me great satisfaction to see his precious team lose.

I don't think anyone hates Richmond moreso than any other club, it is just we don't respect them. Respect has to be earned. In the early 2000's we won more H&A games then anyone and we were a choking laughing stock. We had to win finals to break that tag and earn that respect. It was the same with Geelong and Collingwood where there were doubts expressed right to the bitter end if they could actually win a GF. Richmond quite frankly has the worst record of any club in finals and, generally whenever they are looking good midseason, they choke. You could be 21-0 and we would still be saying the same thing. Having said this, if you string a few finals wins together, you will pretty quickly see a change.

Lol good to see you've got over last years loss to the Doggies.

i dont have anything against the tigers but the AFL is what it is, entertainment. Its not a sport and stop being a sport decades ago.

When you have a fixture in place where top teams get to decide who they play and where, then yeah its just entertainment.

I dont particularly have anything against the players themselves (bar jack riewoldt being a sook) infact the playergroup is far more likable since Tyrone left .. Damian Hardwick on the other hand comes across as such a prima donna that the hatred just boils. Take alook at the strut he had walking across the ground after last nights game.. He just has such a cloud of smug surrounding himself it gives me great satisfaction to see his precious team lose.

Really? I reckon he's been given a very good run by the media because they perceive him as a good bloke.

i dont have anything against the tigers but the AFL is what it is, entertainment. Its not a sport and stop being a sport decades ago.

When you have a fixture in place where top teams get to decide who they play and where, then yeah its just entertainment.
Funny coming from a Sydney fan who havent been allowed to fail.

I'll just sit back and laugh. Can't be bothered.

Just not sure I'd be doing cartwheels and handstands over beating a depleted Melbourne who nearly had the game.

Where are the cartwheels and handstands? Are there any Richmond supporters here who are confident about next week?

Myth.

So what came first, the hate or Richmond's arrogance?

As Hafey famously said after the 1974 GF: "It was Richmond against the world today - and we won."

The club thrived on being hated.

I don't know, I remember trying to be encouraging on the Richmond board once, with one Richmond poster commenting getting sympathy from a bulldog was like dancing with your sister. I guess you can no longer be arrogant because you have achieved nothing for awhile now.

"Your club has only won 3 flags in 10 years but you don't have as many members as we do!!!"

That's what Big 4 is all about isn't it?

"Why does everyone hate us, oppo fans are salty, they hate us, we're everyones grand final! We're so big! Big 4!"

And then a Richmond fan starts this thread... Bobby Sands here's your answer

But we didn't systematically cheat the salary cap right?

Amazing you are still a club.

You're angry that we have too many members?

Your club is the worst in the land, across the board.

It makes me ill.

I don't know, I remember trying to be encouraging on the Richmond board once, with one Richmond poster commenting getting sympathy from a bulldog was like dancing with your sister. I guess you can no longer be arrogant because you have achieved nothing for awhile now.

No footy fan really wants sympathy except from their own. Even hate is preferable to pity. A bit of objectivity would be nice though.

Funny coming from a Sydney fan who havent been allowed to fail.

I'll just sit back and laugh. Can't be bothered.

Well doesnt my club being given massive advantages prove my point?

I really do feel sorry for the diehards who actually think they are paying thousands of $ every year to watch a fair and balanced "sport"

I've had to "unwatch" this thread as I can't see how to delete it.

It started off interesting, now is just the rabble & the saltiness. Which is fine & to be expected.

Hell has nine concentric circles of suffering.

Well doesnt my club being given massive advantages prove my point?

I really do feel sorry for the diehards who actually think they are paying thousands of $ every year to watch a fair and balanced "sport"

Using that argument in defensive of your teams getting every advantage makes me sick.

You will never get it & will always be a leaguey. Always.

Not to mention the constant shifting. Of goalposts

We comfortably beat Carlton "no you have to beat Collingwood then you'll see where you are at"

Ok fair enough, we beat Collingwood

"Nope they suck and are bottom 4, next round you face true contender

Fair enough again, we beat west coast

"Sorry changed our mind, they suck at the mcg, the real test is Melbourne"

We beat Melbourne and it's all about their injuries

If we beat Adelaide (not confident though) it'll be " they were due for a bad performance". Or " they were missing kjenkins and taila"

Thing is we can only play/ beat what's in front of us. We didn't choose to play three bottom four teams in the first four rounds, nor can we help injuries etc.. its not like we choose to play undermanned or poor sides

Nail on the head mate.

Most 'experts' had us pegged as a bottom 6 side whilst the likes of West Coast, Melbourne and Collingwood were considered better prospects or locks to make the 8. They tipped us to struggle. Questioned our mentality. Doubted our youth development. So far, we've beaten who we've played but still get our 5-0 start discredited. Can't win really. Win we get mocked for 'getting ahead of ourselves' and benefiting from a 'soft' draw. Lose and it's 'haha same old Richmond'.

The Richmond hate is only a contrived thing pretty much confined to Bigfooty and some other social media outlets. Out on the streets it's a different story. Even last night Melbourne was a sea of yellow and black and non Richmond supporters were yelling out "carn the tiges!" to the tiger fans. I see this all the time when we're up and about even for interstate games. To be honest I want us to be hated like everyone used to hate Collingwood. The hate comes from a deep seated insecurity so if your feeling that hate OP lap it up :thumbsu:

Using that argument in defensive of your teams getting every advantage makes me sick.

You will never get it & will always be a leaguey. Always.

I am not defending any perceived advantages.

And using hyperbole like "It makes you sick" when its just a ****en game of footy makes you sound like a big moron.

I've had to "unwatch" this thread as I can't see how to delete it.

It started off interesting, now is just the rabble & the saltiness. Which is fine & to be expected.

Hell has nine concentric circles of suffering.

Why? Because its not an echo chamber praising Richmond? You have the maturity and the brain capacity of a 5 year old.

The Richmond hate is only a contrived thing pretty much confined to Bigfooty and some other social media outlets. Out on the streets it's a different story. Even last night Melbourne was a sea of yellow and black and non Richmond supporters were yelling out "carn the tiges!" to the tiger fans. I see this all the time when we're up and about even for interstate games. To be honest I want us to be hated like everyone used to hate Collingwood. The hate comes from a deep seated insecurity so if your feeling that hate OP lap it up :thumbsu:
I think this is an interesting point. Growing up everyone I know used to hate Adelaide and want us to lose to every Victorian side pretty much. These days looking around here most people seem to be pretty ok with us. Maybe that's a combination of a lot of things, one of which might be our lack of complete success for 20 years? In some respects I'd rather be hated as it probably means we've won a flag recently. I mean I don't mind many people being positive about the way we play etc but I'd probably take being hated for having success over it.

I don't hate Richmond. I don't think I know anyone outside my father's generation (Over 60) who even gets close to 'hating' Richmond.

I do however think after 35 years on this planet, that they seem to be easily the most insecure fans.

Always trying to announce themselves as most hated
Always crowing about memberships and crowds
Always talking up their 'army'

I would of thought since they are finally showing some genuine good form on the field that this insecure "look-at-me" attitude would die down.

Guess not