Richmond hate explained?

Cant say i sense the hate from opposition supporters other than when we play them.

Dont know where the idea is drawn from.

Too many years as underdogs has had people baracking for us in games either to see an upset or to unearth a top side that they are in ladder position competition with.

Dream draw hey? 2015 bulldogs sounds familiar. Absolutely carried into the 8. Won the flag the following year. I like the way we're trending. :D

Sorry to sound arrogant but you don't have the young talent we do and even more importantly you don't have BEV.

We nailed 4-5 drafts in a row

That's another reason for the hate - the word 'passionate'. You don't have a mortgage on the word passionate when it comes to supporting your team.

We are all passionate about our teams !!!. Just because most of you carry on like loud-mouth flogs doesn't make you any more or less passionate in your support.

Haha I like this one.

You can't seriously think Richmond are claiming passionate?

That's another reason for the hate - the word 'passionate'. You don't have a mortgage on the word passionate when it comes to supporting your team.

We are all passionate about our teams !!!. Just because most of you carry on like loud-mouth flogs doesn't make you any more or less passionate in your support.

How many clubs would've drawn 85K on a wintry night after 35 years like Richmond's? We're a lot of things, but we're as devoted as they come.

RFC fan: Why are we so hated? Jealousy?

giphy.gif

That's a lot of ******* victories hahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahaha Keep going hahahahahahaha

Why do people hate us?

Probably because there is plenty of halfwit posts like this one from our supporters on BigFooty.

Not getting ahead of myself, but happy we have set up our season nicely. Obviously still some weaknesses in the side.

Sorry to sound arrogant but you don't have the young talent we do and even more importantly you don't have BEV.

We nailed 4-5 drafts in a row

We've been a Top 4 contender previously with a side slightly worse than what we have at the moment. Next season we'll have a shiny new CHF (Reid, Gunston, Schache etc) and another 1st round draftee + F/S selection Patrick Naish. Travelling quite nicely.

I'll explain it. Richmond have been the footy comic relief for 2 decades. Everyone loved laughing at your expense. All those years of finishing 9th and then to finally make the finals only to bomb out in the first week. It was real life slapstick comedy. We just don't want that to end. So if you guys actually become good, then who else do we laugh at?

This is not a dig. It's my honest assessment.

Probably... you guys?

Don't hate, just think its hilarious when they are failing bad and the fans and board melt like last year, or better yet, they have some success for a fleeting moment and then it comes crashing down (i.e recent finals.) Fans rival Baby Boomer West Coast fans as the biggest booers too.

No disrespect at the moment they would touch anyone up over there.

Tigs just need to keep winning "the games they should" and after a 5-0 start should make September.

Personally don't think they can and will win a final but the more important thing may be showing Dusty there is some hope and he stays.

At present I have him leaving but I do hope You can keep him he is a bloody beast id love him at dogs
At the moment I'm trying to keep my focus on the next few weeks. You're dead right though, at 5-0 I'd be disappointed to not be there in the last month. Adelaide presents by far our toughest test yet. With all factors considered, it'd probably be an unbelievable effort to get within 5 goals. But so far, we've passed all the tests.

Don't hate, just think its hilarious when they are failing bad and the fans and board melt like last year, or better yet, they have some success for a fleeting moment and then it comes crashing down (i.e recent finals.) Fans rival Baby Boomer West Coast fans as the biggest booers too.

Biggest racists.**

I dare anyone saying we haven't beaten anyone to post their ladder predictions from preseason. I guarantee at least 2 of the sides we have beaten a majority had finishing higher than us, and more likely 3 of them. We got ahead of ourselves? Maybe people overrated other teams and or underrated us.

We have beaten sides we have struggled to beat recently in the Pies, Dees and West Coast.

We could easily been 2-3.

Collingwood - Tigers have won four out of last five games.

West Coast - Tigers have won three out of last five games.

Melbourne - Tigers have won two out of last five games.

So only Melbourne is the team that has had the wood on the Tigers in recent times.

I'm 26 and to be honest most people I know find my Richmond passion somewhat endearing. Assume this is the case across the board. When we next play in a grand final we'll have a lot of neutrals on our side because a premiership will mean a lot to a lot of people. Non threatening, passionate, captivating, irresistible.

We've been a Top 4 contender previously with a side slightly worse than what we have at the moment. Next season we'll have a shiny new CHF (Reid, Gunston, Schache etc) and another 1st round draftee + F/S selection Patrick Naish. Travelling quite nicely.

Lol ok

I said a flag contender and when is the last time the Tigers have been a Flag chance??

1980?

You know the ironic stupidity of the argument "you havent beaten anyone good yet"? If your team is genuinely good, then they will beat most of the other teams rending those beaten teams as ironically...Not very good hence the argument can never be satisfied because it is inherently constructed to fail.

I would have said going into this season West Coast, Melbourne and maybe Collingwood were better than Richmond. The Blues are a total gimp side and Brisbane are a long way back but they have some spirit. But the Eagles, Magpies and Demons were all teams that were either above or on par with Richmond before the season began. They have all been vanquished.

Carlton is probably the only team around that can say on any given week they are up against teams that are better than them but who would want to be in their position???

We kicked 12.16, if we'd kicked straight we'd have won by 6 goals.

True, and Melbourne actually kicked very accurately, most of their behinds were rushed behinds, not missed goals.

And before you say bad kicking is bad football, did you make the shots on goal excuse for Collingwood and West Coast when we (as underdogs) beat them?

For WC, yes I did, and certainly you could have used that excuse if you lost. I think 'bad kicking is bad football' is oversold. I don't like watching a team lose after dominating play simply because a few too many shots went a foot or two to the wrong side of the post. Often when it happens you walk away with the feeling that the wrong side won.

All I'm hearing is excuses for the teams we've beaten, 'young team' 'should've put it away early' 'can't travel' 'tigers should've won by more' 'had injuries'. We mightn't be contenders but bloody hell, a bit of credit wouldn't go astray.

Sure, it has been a good start, and will remain a good start even if you lose 3 of the next 4 which seems likely. However, I also think some fans have inflated ideas on where the club stands given you've only played one team that finished in the top 8 last year, and that win was unconvincing given WC were beaten on the same ground by a team that was last at the start of the round, and had lost their last two by 80+. If you can win half of your next 4 games, I think you'll start to get more credit from neutral fans.

Ok I got that off my chest. I'll stop melting now :)

Just one more thing

We don't hate that people don't rate us, we only hate when people don't give us credit for a good performance, but then tear us to shreds when we are poor (which has been a lot :(
Get used to it mate, if you want fans from other clubs to give your team credit, you'll be waiting a long time.

Hawks won three in a row and still - take a look at freekickhawthorn / "the competition is the weakest it's ever been". Just be happy with you're own teams performance, and enjoy it while you can.

I would take Melbournes list over Richmonds. Melbourne have a way better spread of talent imo.

Meh I really don't rate Either list that much.

Tigs have Martin who IMO is the best player in the Comp at present and if he went down they would be in massive trouble.

Melbourne just don't excite me. Viney is good but don't see the excitement Oliver. Hogan is ok but won't be what some think he will.

Can't see either being a real contender with current lists

Should I shut this down?

I think we are starting to go in circles.

Much appreciate the responses, genuine and banter.

Probably... you guys?

As a Collingwood fan, we've been the butt of the colliwobble jokes for almost 50 years. People loved hating on Collingwood for that exact reason. People loved seeing us lose grand finals and want us to keep the colliwobble tag forever. To be honest i'd rather not make the finals than to make it all the way to the gf and lose it. It's way more agonising.

No one remembers the runners up.... unless it's Collingwood.