Richmond hate explained?

You've beaten an injury depleted Melbourne. And beaten Carlton, Brisbane and Collingwood and West Coast who struggle at the MCG. Nothing to write home about yet according to your supporters you are going to win the GF.

Wtf injury depleted Melbourne, who? Spencer who did sweet FA when he was on with 4 disposals and 13 hit outs and a 2nd gamer in smith who had 4 disposals also...Don't have pot shots which dont have any merit....Petracca had a sore knee but u wouldn't have thought that as he did really well out marking some of our guys and bowling anyone in his way...
Bottom line we still had to come back from almost 4 goals down to win it and all their main players were on the field, so give us some bloody credit....

What Tiger supporters? u dont come across credible so i want to see these supporters advocating a GF, heaps that i know are still skeptical but i believe we should make finals and thats it who can think about a granny in round 5, i mean i haven't even looked at the ladder after last nights win

Yes they have Gawn out who is a big out but thats footy players get injured they will miss him and Lewis back next week.
We have players out too Edwards, vlastuin and Griffiths...

Anyone can post nothing to write home about wins, cats and crows only beaten one top 8 side and bulldogs haven't beaten one.
Next week we play the crows on their home deck they will and should start favorites im not confident but hey anythings possible just hope the boys give it a crack like they've done for the first 5 rounds and if we lose thems the breaks we move on as no team will win every week.

the only reason i dislike Richmond is that for the last 27 years since I've been watching footy, they've never been a threat.
in all that time, you've made the top 4 twice but you've never been serious contenders. not once.

i'd like Tiger fans if they just accepted that they've essentially been impotent for all that time but every second to third year you either recruit a big player or two, or win a couple of games in a row and we have have to sit through the rigmarol of how the Tigers have arrived. That they're this big club that deserve big matches, how they're contenders and are going to light it up in Sept...
and it hasn't happened once in nearly 3 decades.

it hasn't even looked like happening

In the history of the AFL north Melbourne have been more successful than Richmond. That is a fact.

You plodders can't even win a final. Laughable.

Yes mate that's true.

Unfortunately for you the overall outlook of a club is more complex.

I hope for your sake you win a few games this year. Because bottom 3 will lead to some heavy discussions..

Good luck

I love the tiges. Have always been my 2nd team. But this year they are setting themselves up for their biggest reality check yet . Let's be honest, coll'a poor kicking was the only reason they won rnd 2, west coast's inability to convert easy chances in the 1st half was the only thing that kept them in the eagles game, and last night melb's injuries handed them
The game on a platter. The tiges are light years away from the likes of the crows and Giants , it is ridiculous that they are being spoken of as top 4 material. It's been a very lucky start to 2017 for the yellow and black, but one suspects the thud as they return to earth in the next few weeks is going to be a loud one

the only reason i dislike Richmond is that for the last 27 years since I've been watching footy, they've never been a threat.
in all that time, you've made the top 4 twice but you've never been serious contenders. not once.

i'd like Tiger fans if they just accepted that they've essentially been impotent for all that time but every second to third year you either recruit a big player or two, or win a couple of games in a row and we have have to sit through the rigmarol of how the Tigers have arrived. That they're this big club that deserve big matches, how they're contenders and are going to light it up in Sept...
and it hasn't happened once in nearly 3 decades.

it hasn't even looked like happening

So, what do you want exactly?

Us to sit down and shut up, not say anything until we win a flag?

I find footballs most loyal yet fickle fans amusing, not hateful. They are guileless and innocent as 10 year olds, rejoicing in minor victories before throwing tantrums at the first setback.

They haven't won a final in 20 years yet when they place in the top 8 at any point in the H&A season their fans get all cocky and actually believe they're a chance. In the processing sledging and believing themselves above greater sides they should instead be respecting. Their fans take the lid off after winning 4 pts and put themselves as premiership favourites.

You're talking about 40-55+ years ago. It's not just me...anyone younger than their mid-40s would struggle to remember the Tigers as a successful club and they've been a punchline for most of that.

Richmond's dominant period (which was - what - something like 1967-74?) has about as much relevance to most of us as Melbourne's domination of the league in the 1950s.

On the other hand, most footy supporters around my age know those 3-4 die-hard Richmond supporting mates (or St Kilda, or Melbourne, or the Bulldogs until last year), who have seen barely any success since they started following the footy. That's who I'd be happy for.

Mate i will give you an example - seeing you are a fellow Cats supporter

When Geelong lost the 2008 GF to Hawthorn - the Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett said publicly Geelong were mentally week - pretty insulting i would of thought

Well when Richmond won their 5 flags ( and they did have champion teams ) they were 10 times worse - after they won their flag each year - their president /committee would ridicule laugh at who they beat - they would say stuff like - oh their as weak as pisss - we thrashed them - flogged them - their no good - their hopeless - and we will smash them again next year . That was the Richmond club line - after they won each of their 5 flags in that 67-74 period !!

So if you have lived through that - i dont think you would have a soft spot for them - as a Club

They haven't won a final in 20 years yet when they place in the top 8 at any point in the H&A season their fans get all cocky and actually believe they're a chance. In the processing sledging and believing themselves above greater sides they should instead be respecting. Their fans take the lid off after winning 4 pts and put themselves as premiership favourites.

again, please show me one post that says we are premiership favourites?

When Geelong lost the 2008 GF to Hawthorn - the Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett said publicly Geelong were mentally week - pretty insulting i would of thought

Well when Richmond won their 5 flags ( and they did have champion teams ) they were 10 times worse - after they won their flag each year - their president /committee would ridicule laugh at who they beat - they would say stuff like - oh their as weak as pisss - we thrashed them - flogged them - their no good - their hopeless - and we will smash them again next year . That was the Richmond club line - after they won each of their 5 flags in that 67-74 period !!

So if you have lived through that - i dont think you would have a soft spot for them - as a Club

In my opinion, not that I was alive, this is a genuine reason to dislike Richmond.

Completely get it. Appreciate the response.

What a load of bollocks. I lived through that era as an adult and I can't remember them belittling sides like that. Why don't you find some proof and post it before you go off on your rant!

I didn't know Richmond were hated this year. Interesting. Here's some things I've witnessed that might explain it:

Richmond fans booing the umpires off, at the conclusion of the West Coast game.

Richmond fans mocking Melbourne fans after the final siren last night.

Who mocks Melbourne fans? The Dees have hardly been a powerhouse. I reckon the supporters of each club are a reflection of the players, and let's face it, Richmond's highest profile players are great players, but mentally they're NQR (Riewoldt / Martin / Rance).

Maybe the Tiger supporters need to vent because the media spent all summer writing them off. Here's a message for Tiger fans: why did you listen to the media. They're a bunch of f'ing morons. 5 wins does not a season make though. Your history suggests you could win the first 10 and still miss the finals, so let's pull our heads in a little bit.

I didn't know Richmond were hated this year. Interesting. Here's some things I've witnessed that might explain it:

Who mocks Melbourne fans? The Dees have hardly been a powerhouse. I reckon the supporters of each club are a reflection of the players, and let's face it, Richmond's highest profile players are great players, but mentally they're NQR (Riewoldt / Martin / Rance).

Maybe the Tiger supporters need to vent because the media spent all summer writing them off. Here's a message for Tiger fans: why did you listen to the media. They're a bunch of f'ing morons. 5 wins does not a season make though. Your history suggests you could win the first 10 and still miss the finals, so let's pull our heads in a little bit.
I was at the game last year and many of us copped it from the cocky Melbourne fans. Although I didn't bite back this year, I can't blame those who did.

Haha thanks mate.

Think you might have bigger worries.

Mostly the supporters on here, not all of them though. I used to love them when they took Cousins and I thought Cotchin would develop into a superstar, I was wrong. I don't hate the team really, certain players I do and some of their fans but the things that spring to mind would be:

Vickery cheap shot on Cox
Jack Reiwoldt's punchable face (not his fault)
Cousins and Deledio are gone (the reasons I tuned in)
Miles is the worst type of ducker up there with Christensen
I don't rate them as that good a team

Reasons to not hate:
Their small forwards
Their jumper
Their song
Martin is exciting