BUBBALOUIS

Jan 9, 2001
Victoria, HAWTHORN, GLENF
leeds united
Pres Casey really got stuck into the Western Bulldogs at his President lunch today. He called Libba a repeat thug, claimed it was a gutless kinghit behind play, insinuated that Bulldogs coach, President and CEO condoned those sorts of actions and generally slammed just about everyone. Apparantley Smorgon is going to return fire tonight at his pre game talk, should be pretty interesting as talks of legal action waft through the air. I know Casey was just defending Campbell and his "honesty" but did he go to far? Should he left well alone and let the issue die a quick death?

Bubba
It has been a very interesting week, I heard Sheedy's interview today on 3aw, he slammed walls for labelling our guys as natural born killers & for slagging big Stevie Alessio as useless, Sheedy said he will defend his team to the end, well done Sheeds, walls is a moron.

------------------
RED & BLACK, THE COLOURS OF FENG SHUI

Totally disagree Ripper,
Sheeds asked him to prove it & walls came out with nothing but inuendoes & guesses.
I think it is a case of sour grapes, walls pathetic coach, Sheeds brilliant.

------------------
RED & BLACK, THE COLOURS OF FENG SHUI

Ripper,

Walls has no respect with me - football wise. I could list numerous example that question how much he really knows about football. The guy is articulate and pleasant, but his thoughts about the game are indicative of someone who thinks they know it all, but don't.

For someone who has been in the game 30 years, it is astounding how he can make some of the comments that he has.

Whether Walls has any football nouse or not is beside the point. Klever Kev doesn't like him (and that's fairy nuff), but the way he resorted to peurile sledging was totally unprofessional and left me with a severely diminished opinion of him, not just as a football identity, but as a person. It was a pathetic performance.

------------------
Olmy knows best

[This message has been edited by Mr Ripper (edited 14 April 2001).]

Originally posted by BUBBALOUIS:
Pres Casey really got stuck into the Western Bulldogs at his President lunch today. He called Libba a repeat thug, claimed it was a gutless kinghit behind play, insinuated that Bulldogs coach, President and CEO condoned those sorts of actions and generally slammed just about everyone. Apparantley Smorgon is going to return fire tonight at his pre game talk, should be pretty interesting as talks of legal action waft through the air. I know Casey was just defending Campbell and his "honesty" but did he go to far? Should he left well alone and let the issue die a quick death?

Hmmm, very strange isn't it. You would assume he took legal advice on the speech before hand. What was he trying to proove.

Libba got five weeks, Campbell lied in public and both Campbell and Knights should consider themselves very lucky not to have been rubbed out in the ensuing fraca.

Not sure why he would continue to bring it up.

Are u an idiot!!!

Wayne Campbell for the 500th time did not lie, but made an error of judgement in saying he saw nothing!! Libba is a dirty no good rodent and deserved a hell of a lot more than what he got.

I do agree though that Knights and Campbell were lucky not to get reported, but in the circumstances u could understand!!

LIBBA SUX

You can really only be sued for making bad stuff up about people and uttering it in public.

As far as I can tell, Casey was only stating facts - is any of it actually incorrect?

------------------
Marshmallow War - TigerFury.net -Independant Richmond Tigers website

Originally posted by JUBJUB:
I loved Clinton Casey's speech.He was 100% correct.

Smorgon is just a sook.He's been bagging Campbell all week but when he gets bagged he whinges.

I think we all know who the sooks are !

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Everything Casey said was probably correct, but why woud he bring it up again when the issue was dying, or even dead? I don't understand what he is trying to achieve. The guy has been suspended (Libba), the tribunal has handed down their penalties, so why bring it up again?

Originally posted by tigerboy:
well, although the stuff he said about Terry Wallace and Smorgon is probably right, he cant prove it is a fact, can he?

Websters dictionary defintion of condone:
to pardon or overlook voluntarily; especially : to treat as if trivial, harmless, or of no importance

Casey said that Liberatore's actions had been condoned at the least by Smorgon and Wallace.

Given that they have not internally disciplined him and have in fact publically supported him, it is fair to say that they condone his actions.

------------------
King of the Jungle - TigerFury.net -Independant Richmond Tigers website

CJH,

Saying that Smorgon Patterson Wallace condoned it, and in fact promoted it, was correct? He knows does he? Or maybe he missed the fifteen articles, with Smorgon and Wallace saying "We in no way condone it- he will be reprimanded and we will not argue with the tribunal's decision". Maybe he also missed the Talking Footy interview? I considered that a good example of how to go about dealing with an issue.
wink.gif

In all honesty, I thought it was just stupid (as did most of the media) to be going on about it in that manner. He's the one that's lost respect amongst the footy community. "Dirty little mongrels" and "Bulldogs suck" style comments probably belong on Bigfooty.... not from the president/figurehead of an AFL club at luncheons. Gee, wonder what he says before your Geelong game? Handbags? Nice touch Mr AFL President.

And to add the icing on the cake, the "let's end this here-it's over" -after I've just tried to publicly humiliate/slander your club and it's people- line was just brilliant.... and ignorant.

I could have imagined his testimony on Talking Footy:

BRUCE: So Clinton, in considering the past weeks events, how have you gone about preparing for the Brisbane clash?

CLINT: Bulldogs are cowards and dirty and stuff. their president said that he went to terry wallace, and then terry said to libba go and king hit knights when he isn't looking because you've done that (king hit) 134 times before and that would be really good for the team/club.. i know this .. people told me.... people inside the bulldogs ... trust me... Caroline can back me up on this....

BRUCE: Did you see him king hit him Clinton?

CLINT: "Oh Oh...er... I was in queensland.. but .... Dafs told me ... and he doesn't lie .. that thing on radio ... that was nothing .. ignore that... we tell the boys to lie to the media at every opportunity .... oh ... that came out wrong .... what i meant to say was that we don't need to tell them to lie, they know to do it themselves.... we are such a proud club... can't wait for payback and stuff... but I want this to end here .... can we cut this interview here?

lol@above

I think the whole thing should never have ended up in public... Casey shouldn't have said what he said, where he said it... and Smorgan certainly shouldn't have responded the way he did...

All a bit childish really...

Originally posted by Dan25:
Walls has no respect with me - football wise.

and Robert Walls' care factor is?

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

Ah the truth hurts. All he said was correct. He didn't say that they encited it, he said that they condoned it by publicly backing their feral little thug. If I was the prez of richmond I would be saying the same thing. How ridiculous it is that one week Liba is the villian then Campbell is the villian a week later for speaking out against the little germ who is only playing the game now because he has to be a thug otherwise he wouldn't get a game anymore. His time is up, time to retire worm.

------------------
The future is black and white.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper:
Actually, it should be kudos to Walls for not being suckered in by Sheedy's childish taunting. KS lost the plot; RW escaped with dignity intact.

Regarding the Sheedy/Walls thing.

I don't give a rat's who's right or wrong.
Sheeds should concentrate on coachin' the team instead of gettin' into slangin' matches with the likes of Walls.

In recent times when he's done this, the team has lost focus and performances have suffered..ie; '98 and the 'marshmallow' thing. Apart from the 'seagull incident'..which was i think..umm..blown outta proportion..of last year, he was solely focussed on coachin'.

Sheeds..yer a legend an' all.
But shut up and concentrate on coachin' the Essendon Footy Club. Yer not doin' yerself or our club any favors by gettin' into public verbals just 'cause ya don't agree with one bloke's opinions.

where's wally?

Whether Casey's comments were accurate or not, surely Richmond supporters can see that they were ill-timed, irresponsible and totally inflammatory?

The one impression I got from the excerpts of the speech I saw was that of an immature, grizzling president. Maybe that's not an accurate description of the individual, but that's the impression he conveyed.

whats the difference between casey coming out and defending the honour of his captain and club the same way smorgon has been trying to cover up [opps meant defend} his thug [oops i meant club}.
i hope the dogs to take casey to court then the truth will be told under oath i bet a few doggie players will be a bit nervous when called up as witness,s for casey.
so its your move smorgan will u or wont u? to me you are in a corner u have been out smarted by clinton to go to court the truth will be told and if u dont then it will just add fuel to the fire that u are hiding the real truth even tho your attempts over the last week to make libba look like an angel is far from the truth.
cheers!

Originally posted by tiger of old:
whats the difference between casey coming out and defending the honour of his captain and club the same way smorgon has been trying to cover up

The difference is that Smorgon didn't come out and try and humiliate your club. He defended our club, without the need to bring down yours. He didn't come out and call you a bunch of marshmellows. He didn't come out and say that your club's honour/character should be questioned, just because of one stupid interview where Cambell was correct in doing what he did. He didn't call you a bunch of grandstanding sooks. That's the difference Tigerofold. Read DCFC's post. I think he summed it up well in his post.

Face facts, Clint was wrong in acting that way. I doubt it will go to court, but if I was you, I would be embarrased by his actions. He has a lot to learn. If there has been one glaring positive to come out of last week for me, it has been the instilled pride that I have in saying that David Smorgon is my president. The way he has handled himself has been nothing short of brilliant. Can you say the same after your presidents remarks yesterday? Not exactly proud were they?

Originally posted by tiger of old:
i hope the dogs to take casey to court then the truth will be told under oath i bet a few doggie players will be a bit nervous when called up as witness,s for casey.
so its your move smorgan will u or wont u? to me you are in a corner u have been out smarted by clinton to go to court the truth will be told and if u dont then it will just add fuel to the fire that u are hiding the real truth even tho your attempts over the last week to make libba look like an angel is far from the truth.
cheers!
Whenever you want to speak some sense, give me a yell. Hang on, is that you Clinton?

Richmond Pres to be sued?