Richmond preview

Here's what I got:

From TW:

Lot's of lectures used to teach the new gameplan, using plenty of video analysis, then taking it on the training track and putting it into practice.

Practice match wins important to help boost the confidence.

New game plan - all about goals and attractive footy, entertaining the fans.

Was a key to have big experienced rucks. Needed 'men to go with the boys' Happy to play Simmonds, Stafford and Knobel in the same side.

Had a feeling we would get Lids and Tambling, but still some doubt up until the draft day.

Tambling - good motor, will play forward and midfield, wins his own footy plus great speed.

Graham there to help Gaspar and Kellaway, also to mentor the kids, basically another asssistant coach.

Vital to get our kids up to 50 games as quickly as possible.

Coughlan - Flying. Winning the ball is a weakness, Cogs will be a major help

Shane Tuck - added bite to the middle

Bowden - great at CHB, but side didn't win a game when he was there, so a good move for him, but maybe not for the team.

Major changes this year:
Lot of forward practice early in the preseason without Richo to take the focus off him to help get 10 goalkickers a game. If Richo kicks 8 we should be winning by 8. Opposition double/triple/quadruple teaming Richo, definitely needed to add more dimensions to our attack.

Campbell - playing a lot forward. Can't play a full game on ball. Very smart player. Good pinch hitter on the ball.

Tuck and Coughlan to add hardness to the midfield, with class added through Deledio and Tambling.

Kraks - our best stoppage player, where the ball needs to be won. Needs to work on endurance, has improved during TW's time though.

Hartigan - been used up the ground more

Newman - solid, quality leader around the club.

Gas - No consideration at moving him on. All about getting his confidence back, took all the criticism in his stride. Confidence and speed are back, happy with him at FB. Happy with the experience in the backline, talked about Johnson spending time on the HBF.

Should have a fair idea of where we are at after the first month. First 8 games in Melbourne, very happy with the draw.

Best theme song going around, can't wait to sing it

Just had alot of the stuff we have already heard, changing the culture gameplan etc. Terry said that he hopes cogs and tuck can be good main midfielders with johnson playing off half back. Said they had to do 3 lectures a week in the classroom to help change the gameplan. Said tambling will be both midfielder/forward with his great endurance.

Yeah i don't think Terry gave away much in the interview... He only gave the stock standard answers.. :D His media training really helps explaining to all us "GRASSROOTERS" ,it's not like others at the club are pulling his strings,he knows what he's doing.. :)

hotdogandsauce said:
personally i reckon opposition supporters under rate wallet...

I dont.

Ive always rated him. Many years ago I thought both Eade and Wallace were very good coachs.

Im sure most footy fans feel the same way.

I really like the thought of Cogs and tuck playing in the midfield together. both strong, both very good mates (were along with Zanners i might add), and will surely both spur each other on in the tough stuff in the middle.

On Terry, as im glad we have him as a coach - because of his far more professional approach over Danny, it would be silly not to be mindful of how he left the Doggies. He had next to no input and communication with the younger players coming through, and thats why when the likes of Libba and Jose retired, he really struggled to find ppl to take over for them - with our younng list, im sure he will be much more mindful of that.
But it was a real problem and also a major reason why Rohde did originally get given the job, as he dealt with the younger guys a majority of the time, and held their respect. Talking to a few former/current doggies, not much love lost between them and TW. If Terry isnt happy, he isnt interested.
If you havent got what he needs right now, he doesnt care, he made manyt of them, especially the younger guys feel worthless and had no time for them whatsoever.
Talk about the opposite of Danny! LOL

terry left the bulldogs because of cuts made to the football department when he was told specifically that he would have his football department kept intact, all this crap about him walking out is a furphy, put out there to discredit him..this is FACT.

lets look at the bulldogs and their history of changing their tune all of a sudden im sure peter rhode will attest to that..

i would like to know who you were talking to because it is only half the truth=FACT

hotdogandsauce said:
terry left the bulldogs because of cuts made to the football department when he was told specifically that he would have his football department kept intact, all this crap about him walking out is a furphy, put out there to discredit him..this is FACT.

lets look at the bulldogs and their history of changing their tune all of a sudden im sure peter rhode will attest to that..

i would like to know who you were talking to because it is only half the truth=FACT

The players, which ones is not your business, and not my business to paste onto a internet site.

You are only believing what Terry told you and there is absolute no secret that the Sydney job was his until the supporters rallied behind Roo's. He advised the Bulldogs before the round 22 match that it would be his last, despite giving no indication of his stance before this. He had one year left on his contract and he chose not to honour that. This is all just fact.

astro_toby said:
The players, which ones is not your business, and not my business to paste onto a internet site.

You are only believing what Terry told you and there is absolute no secret that the Sydney job was his until the supporters rallied behind Roo's. He advised the Bulldogs before the round 22 match that it would be his last, despite giving no indication of his stance before this. He had one year left on his contract and he chose not to honour that. This is all just fact.

sorry mate you are only believing what the press release was, just as the bulldogs promised him that his football department would not be cut....then preceded to do....

i can assure that terry always gets a laugh out of this......and yes i do know the guy....fact.

hotdogandsauce said:
sorry mate you are only believing what the press release was, just as the bulldogs promised him that his football department would not be cut....then preceded to do....

i can assure that terry always gets a laugh out of this......and yes i do know the guy....fact.

No

Im believing what the CURRENT day players for the Bulldogs told me, and what the FORMER players told me about Wallace.

Wallace is a great coach, but he is not a great guy. Even his former mentor, Alan Joyce (TW was Asst coach) still believes to this very day that Terry went behind his back and led the players to the board to hold a mutiny over getting him sack and gettting Terry in.

There are more than enough stories around, with very credible sources behind them, to suggest Terry hasn't got alot of friends in the football world who dont work for him now. Even Miller bad mouthed him at the start of last year

im sorry mate but i have known him now for over 15 years, and i find one of the most approachable guys around...unfortunately in the coaching game you dont always make a lot of friends as it is a pretty cut throat business...

seems you are basing your facts on what people have told you in regards to their experiences with the guy which if they werent great im sure they arent going to be flattering...

im basing mine on personal experience and have spent a lot of time with him and his family and they are really nice people...

as they say each to their own.

astro_toby said:
Don`t half tell a "story" Astro

If it is not our business then don`t post it .

Terry Wallace was the hottest coaching commodity - period , sought by many .

If the young bulldogs were not mature anough to cop a knock back or two on the chin then that is thier problem . In fact it is typical behaviour of teenagers to ark up at authority figures , like we all did in school when we felt we were "victimised" by a teacher .

If you choose to take the venting (rumoured) of teenage boys as gospel and the way of things then that is your choice .

I would suggest that it would be a better idea to go down to punt rd. and ask the young blokes at Richmond what they think of him ..... it would be a hell of a lot more relevent .

Remember Astro , we are being positive and looking to the future and being supportive .... as supporters do , isn`t that right ?

IDGAF said:
Don`t half tell a "story" Astro

If it is not our business then don`t post it .

Terry Wallace was the hottest coaching commodity - period , sought by many .

If the young bulldogs were not mature anough to cop a knock back or two on the chin then that is thier problem . In fact it is typical behaviour of teenagers to ark up at authority figures , like we all did in school when we felt we were "victimised" by a teacher .

If you choose to take the venting (rumoured) of teenage boys as gospel and the way of things then that is your choice .

I would suggest that it would be a better idea to go down to punt rd. and ask the young blokes at Richmond what they think of him ..... it would be a hell of a lot more relevent .

Remember Astro , we are being positive and looking to the future and being supportive .... as supporters do , isn`t that right ?

It isnt the done thing to release current players names on who told you this information. Jeez, i thought that seemed pretty obvious :confused:
:confused: I just passed on the info because it was of interest. I never said i never thought he should not be coach, but only that the way he left the dogs left many ppl at the club and players feeling bitter and betrayed. He had not given any indication whatsoever he was considering quitting the club, and only did so once he was giving them the notice. To say im taking a "venting of teenage boys as gospel" in regards to how his own players felt about him in his last few years, is a little confusing. THEY were part of his team, and any bulldogs fan would tell you that he struggled to find ppl to replace many of the senior blokes who were getting to the end, around the 2001+era.
If i was to mention names, id be an arseh*le

Astro.... enough knifing goes on about TW in the footy world as it is without you adding to it in our own circles ......Especially from someone like you who has been very vocal about supporting the club instead of bagging it all the time .

The number one element in all facets of life ( for mine ) is to learn from ones mistakes and not repeat them . I`m sure TW by his own admission would probably do some things a little different but beauty of it and that is what life is all about , he gets another crack at it . And this is why i am very optimistic about his presence at punt rd. I have no doubt that TW has learnt a sh1tload in his first stint and will be all the better for it .

And don`t forget ... the bulldogs history is littered with people who have left that club under acrimonious circumstances . They hated Mick Malthouses guts when he left and he went on to be dual premiership coach . Look at the spats some of thier former players have had with the club . Doug Hawkins , Paul Dimmatina and Brad Hardie but to name three . When people leave the Bullies , it is generally not done with a warm handshake .

Don`t take on thier carp

astro_toby said:
... He had not given any indication whatsoever he was considering quitting the club, and only did so once he was giving them the notice. ...
:confused: That's why its called giving notice. Are people meant to give notice that they intend to give notice? :confused:

Crumden said:
:confused: That's why its called giving notice. Are people meant to give notice that they intend to give notice? :confused:

If you notice this notice you will notice that this notice is not worth noticing.

Sorry folks....but since the post that re-opened the lid on TW's departure from WB's it has become pretty silly........just adding to the theme. :D

I went to uni with a couple of doggies players, sedat sir and simon cox, knew them quite well and they absolutely loved wallace, they were youngish guys at the time....

wen he left it was bound to put a few noses out of joint, everyone at the doggies was gutted wen he left bc they knew they were losing a GUN coach, simple as that

IDGAF said:
Astro.... enough knifing goes on about TW in the footy world as it is without you adding to it in our own circles ......Especially from someone like you who has been very vocal about supporting the club instead of bagging it all the time .

The number one element in all facets of life ( for mine ) is to learn from ones mistakes and not repeat them . I`m sure TW by his own admission would probably do some things a little different but beauty of it and that is what life is all about , he gets another crack at it . And this is why i am very optimistic about his presence at punt rd. I have no doubt that TW has learnt a sh1tload in his first stint and will be all the better for it .

And don`t forget ... the bulldogs history is littered with people who have left that club under acrimonious circumstances . They hated Mick Malthouses guts when he left and he went on to be dual premiership coach . Look at the spats some of thier former players have had with the club . Doug Hawkins , Paul Dimmatina and Brad Hardie but to name three . When people leave the Bullies , it is generally not done with a warm handshake .

Don`t take on thier carp

I'm not bagging the club at all, i'm talking about what Terry did before he was a tiger. I am glad he is coach, and i quote 3 tiger players in reference to Danny Frawley during last season "Nice guys finish last" (and since they didnt tell me that, but someone else i know - it was Cogs, Zanners & Tuck :D )

i couldnt care less if Terry is a great bloke, or a shady character - As long as he can improve RFC - as a member - Thats all i want

tigerT said:
I went to uni with a couple of doggies players, sedat sir and simon cox, knew them quite well and they absolutely loved wallace, they were youngish guys at the time....

wen he left it was bound to put a few noses out of joint, everyone at the doggies was gutted wen he left bc they knew they were losing a GUN coach, simple as that

back in those days there wasnt that problem - it came later on, in his last two or three years. he continued to play alot of older blokes who were performing avergae at best - libba,dimma, etc and didnt even give the kids a show or time at training - i have no doubt that when sedat and cox where considered young - there was no problems

Richmond preview