Play Nice Richmond, set to become the biggest club in Australia, now with 100K members

Wrong on WCE being $6m more before pokies are removed. Below are The_Wookie financial summaries from 2018:

Firstly total revenues for 2018. Richmond is 4th largest, and $1.1m above WCE

Revenue
  • Collingwood -$77,736,469
  • Hawthorn - $70,742,464
  • Essendon - $65,165,407
  • Richmond - $65,164,372
  • West Coast - $64,013,222
  • Carlton - $58,618,876
  • Port Adelaide - $57,907,188
  • Geelong - $57,804,052
  • Adelaide - $54,954,790
  • Brisbane - $52,060,420
  • Melbourne - $51,988,711
  • Western Bulldogs - $51,944,472
  • Sydney - $50,837,971
  • Fremantle - $49,263,474
  • St Kilda - $47,952,666
  • GWS - $42,605,892
  • North Melbourne - $39,717,822
  • Gold Coast - $39,656,365

Then you have gaming, and Wookie has conveniently removed all of the gaming revenues from this:

Gaming & Social Revenue
  • Collingwood - $22,887,477
  • Hawthorn - $19,087,366
  • Carlton - $18,825,869
  • Brisbane - $15,687,630
  • Essendon - $13,351,296
  • Melbourne - $11,641,049
  • Geelong - $10,537,358
  • Richmond - $7,180,170
  • Western Bulldogs - $7,061,232
  • St Kilda - $1,934,045
Revenue without Gaming
  • West Coast - $64,013,222
  • Richmond - $57,984,202
  • Collingwood - $54,848,992
  • Essendon - $51,814,111
  • Hawthorn - $51,655,098
  • Sydney - $50,837,971
  • Fremantle - $49,263,474
  • Geelong - $47,266,694
  • St Kilda - $46,018,621
  • Western Bulldogs - $44,883,240
  • GWS - $42,605,892
  • Melbourne - $40,347,662
  • Carlton - $39,793,007
  • North Melbourne - $39,717,822
  • Brisbane - $36,372,790
Where WCE destroy financially is profitability. This is because pokies need a decent turnover to cover their costs (total profits below, and profits from pokies below too - the the case of RFC $7m in pokies turnover delivers the club less than $1m in actual profit to use in the club)

Profit/loss
  • West Coast - $12,804,032
  • St Kilda - $5,267,414
  • Essendon - $5,054,186
  • Hawthorn - $4,933,128
  • Richmond - $3,063,298
  • Fremantle - $2,489,714
  • Melbourne - $1,363,060
  • Western Bulldogs - $1,643,050
  • Carlton - $667,803
  • Adelaide - $648,715
  • North Melbourne - $242,656
  • Sydney - $105,186
  • Gold Coast - $19,219
  • Geelong - ($339,849)
  • GWS - ($522,896)
  • Brisbane - ($2,261,990)
  • Collingwood - ($2,732,624)

Gaming Profit
  • Collingwood - $6,037,992
  • Brisbane - $3,744,228
  • Melbourne - $3,720,679
  • Carlton - $3,169,884
  • Essendon - $2,276,154
  • Western Bulldogs - $1,390,994
  • Richmond - $942,060
  • St Kilda - $616,340
  • Hawthorn - No costs available
  • Geelong - no costs available
  • Carlton - no costs available.
Finally you asked about Richmond's non-football revenue streaming (saying they were $10-20m).

AFL distributions and prize money $12,505,575
Gaming and hospitality 7,670,839
Stadium contributions and consumer products 29,645,214
Health, fitness and community groups 14,237,718
Sponsorship, fundraising and corporate products 15,450,025
Interest 194,666
Other 73,800

Its actually more at just under $22m, as the club is branching out into managing health centres and providing Swinburne uni courses so its less dependant upon onfield success to keep the club afloat

I don't know where you have cut and pasted that from but those are 2017 figures.

WCE 2018 Report

1557923880594.png

Richmond 2018

1557924070016.png

Collingwood 2018

1557924195772.png

And look at Net Equity for the true gauge of financial might at the end of 2018

West Coast. $77,014,459
Collingwood $32,690,470
Richmond... $31,364,372
Hawthorn....$51,592,955 group $42,484,269 Football Club

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
The Eagles pay the WAFC a royalty each year that goes to operating footy in that State, no such royalty paid by Vic clubs. Over the past 32 years t royalties paid of $140 mil.

https://thewest.com.au/sport/west-c...e-back-of-2018-afl-premiership-ng-b881095694z
Even after paying a royalty to the WA Football Commission, which helps fund WA football and is likely to be about $3.9 million, West Coast will post a profit of about $7.5 million.

As pointed out earlier, things are not equal across the clubs, never have been, never will be.

The Eagles pay the WAFC a royalty each year that goes to operating footy in that State, no such royalty paid by Vic clubs. Over the past 32 years t royalties paid of $140 mil.

https://thewest.com.au/sport/west-c...e-back-of-2018-afl-premiership-ng-b881095694z
Even after paying a royalty to the WA Football Commission, which helps fund WA football and is likely to be about $3.9 million, West Coast will post a profit of about $7.5 million.

As pointed out earlier, things are not equal across the clubs, never have been, never will be.

That would be Royalty + Rent. The Eagles haven't averaged $4.5m royalty every year over 32 years.

Eagles chairman Russell Gibbs yesterday told The West Australian the royalty would take the club’s payments to WA football over its 32-year history past $140 million.

Still a s**t load, and shows financial strength to have net equity of $77m after those payments.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
That would be Royalty + Rent. The Eagles haven't averaged $4.5m royalty every year over 32 years.

Eagles chairman Russell Gibbs yesterday told The West Australian the royalty would take the club’s payments to WA football over its 32-year history past $140 million.

Still a **** load, and shows financial strength to have net equity of $77m after those payments.

To lazy to look at the numbers, my apology,

I don't know where you have cut and pasted that from but those are 2017 figures.

WCE 2018 Report

View attachment 674611

Richmond 2018

View attachment 674612

Collingwood 2018

View attachment 674614

West Coast. $77,014,459
Collingwood $32,690,470
Richmond... $31,364,372

Also said at the start, from wookies financials thread (straight cut and paste of his lists)

Dec 18, 2005
It’s great being the biggest in the country. If Benny was a dodgy money grabber with 3 chins we’d probably get an extra 2 games at the G and less Sunday games. But Benny is a good bloke :D

dave10

Apr 26, 2004

WCE 2018 Report

View attachment 674611

Richmond 2018

View attachment 674612

Collingwood 2018

View attachment 674614

West Coast. $77,014,459
Collingwood $32,690,470
Richmond... $31,364,372
Just to complicate the discussion a little further. Essendon’s net asset position is $36.08M :)

Go and have a look at the OP it has the 2017 links and therefore 2017 summary and the post is dated August 2018.

The next post ( dated has August 2018 but last edited March 2019 ) links and therefore 2018 summary. Think a bit before you just cut and paste.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2018-financial-results-links-rankings-now-in-post-2.1202176/

No need to be an a-hole mate. You asked where I got the info from and I said it. I won't post here again

Oct 3, 2007
West Perth

It's a dividend more than a royalty, royalty makes it sound like we are donating it and deserve an award. THE WAFC own the Eagles and rightfully so substantial profits made by the Eagles and Dockers go to their owners.

Is BHP or Rio donating money when they pay the WA government a royalty when they sell a tonne of iron ore?

It's not a dividend, otherwise the WA clubs would lose their tax exempt status.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
Is BHP or Rio donating money when they pay the WA government a royalty when they sell a tonne of iron ore?

The point is some clubs put money back into local footy, different models.

Oct 3, 2007
West Perth

Whatever you wish to call it I get fed up with hearing how we give up half our profits to the WAFL or SANFL. When you own your club you won't have to do that. At the moment the WAFC own the Eagles and Dockers. Not sure in SA

Part of the move to AO was the SANFL handed back the licences to the AFL, but the 2 clubs are paying for that privilege by paying to buy them back for over $1m a year between them for 15 years. The starting point at the end of 2013 was the crows around $620k/year and Port $400k/year and its adjusted for inflation each year.

Yes we've had that that type of spin for years in the media here. The crows proudly boast they are now paying SANFL game development grant, and Port don't report it because our mob don't want us "paying anything to those bastards." Similar sort of thing happened before the licences were handed back with the annual royalty fee paid. Ours was a bit strange for 5 or 6 years, as we had to pay it but received a grant back from the SANFL.

Both clubs had to pay an AO Underwrite Fee as Football Park was being disposed of, because like the Waverley Park sale for the AFL, the SANFL are getting monies paid out over several years and distributing that to its member clubs over several years. Both clubs had to pay out over $600k/year each between 2014-18 years. From 2019 this is no longer being paid.

The crows BS "operating profit" figure they announce is always pre depreciation, pre this fee, and pre paying the SANFL a $400+k licence fee to play in the SANFL. So its at least $2.3m higher than the true bottom line.

Port between 2014-16 would report their bottom line as their operating profit. In 2017 and 2018 they would say the pre depreciation figure but would never report they were paying this underwrite fee because they didn't want the mob to know we were paying the SANFL this fee. If you got the full accounts it was noted but you had to guestimate what it was from the operating lease note.

So when comparing the two clubs it was never apples vs apples until The Wookie got pissed off and started getting his hands on the official accounts lodged with ASIC.

So yes I understand your frustration with spin over figures put out by the AFL clubs and their state footy governing body.

But the other side of that is that its a fee not all clubs have to pay these fees to state bodies, and the AFL have to include it when they are making their financial assistance models for different clubs.

lol 5 out of the last 6 Collingwood games are at the mcg!! Collingwood are bigger then Richmond by some Margin. Richmond are the 4 biggest Victorian club around Australia. Outside Victoria no one follows Richmond
You're right. Collingwood do get more games at the MCG than the Tigers. Yet in the last 2 years, Richmond has out-drawn you.
Don't you just hate those pesky facts. They always seem to completely destroy every single argument you come up with.
Back to quoting faceboook surveys for you :thumbsu:

gopies1981

Feb 25, 2007
You're right. Collingwood do get more games at the MCG than the Tigers. Yet in the last 2 years, Richmond has out-drawn you.
Don't you just hate those pesky facts. They always seem to completely destroy every single argument you come up with.
Back to quoting faceboook surveys for you :thumbsu:

Collingwood are outdrawing Richmond easily 2019!! We are biggest club on social media and have drawn 9.3 million more then Richmond in Home and away attendance’s since 1921!!

It has taken Collingwood coming off a grand final appearance to completely smash Richmond in attendance’s.

Come back to me when Richmond can actually draw more then 1.2 million during the home and away season. Not even going to mention the 1,306,604 people who attend Collingwood games in 2010 during the home and away season when Richmond cannot even break 1.2 million.

2019 attendance ladder Collingwood Ave 11,000 more per game then Richmond.

9F84CDED-9B2B-407F-81AC-4B37A06BD651.jpeg

Only Richmond fans think they are the biggest club in the afl. Every other fans stats it is either Collingwood or West Coast!!

Collingwood are outdrawing Richmond easily 2019!!
I get you want to use part of a season where Collingwood have played more games at the G and in more popular time slots for attendance. That you can only make an argument based on very selective use of statistics, and facebook surveys, indicates that you know that Richmond is the bigger club at this particular period in history.
Get over your pathetic insecurities and let it go.

Craze

Aug 7, 2013
Steelers
Come back to me when Richmond can actually draw more then 1.2 million during the home and away season. Not even going to mention the 1,306,604 people who attend Collingwood games in 2010 during the home and away season when Richmond cannot even break 1.2 million.
Richmond's 1.194 million last year is actually superior to Collingwood's 1.306 million, if you analyse both fixtures.

In 2010 Collingwood played the following teams twice ... Geelong (who finished 2nd that year), the Saints (who finished 3rd, ultimately making the GF), the Dogs (who finished 4th), Hawthorn (who finished 7th), Carlton (who made finals and were top 4 until Rd 21), Essendon (obviously a major crowd puller), and Melbourne (including the traditional QB game). The Pies played on two public holidays, and played 14 games at the MCG. Only three times did the Pies travel interstate, and did not have to play GWS or the GCS.

In 2018 Richmond drew 112,000 fewer people to their 22 matches. They played the following teams twice ... Geelong (who had a poorer year, finishing 8th), Collingwood (who finished 3rd, and are a big crowd puller), Adelaide (who missed finals), St Kilda (who had a terrible year missing finals), and Essendon (who finished in a similar position to that of 2010).

So in comparison to Collingwood playing five of the other top 8 teams twice, Richmond played just two other top 8 teams twice. Collingwood played away from Melbourne only 3 times. Richmond played 5 interstate games, including games against the GCS and GWS.

I would argue that had Richmond had double-up games against Hawthorn and Melbourne (two other Melbourne-based sides who made finals), and did not have to travel to the Gold Coast and GWS, given an MCG crowd average of 55,000, Richmond would have drawn 1.4 million.

Any impartial analysis of the two would say that Richmond's 1.194 million in 2018 was superior to Collingwood's 1.306 million in 2010.